No Oppo Supporters The Melt Thread

Ethan Hughes a young player on the plane not playing any competitive game even WAfl , FFSick Ross this is not how you develop players.

Rosich already has an offer from the Hawks.

Hawks will pull back now . Why get somebody that is no longer relevant to the game.

Silly comment

You have to have an emergency
Just take Dawson or ibbo out. Is not that hard. You either play them at AfL or giving them time to develop not half /half. He did it with deboer who is more mature last year.

1. Piss poor from all players and coaches today. I don't think there was one good player out there.

2. Johnson, I've loved watching you play for us over the years and you have been a great servant of the club. But your time is up. You actually make it harder for us when you are out there. Listen to your body and please retire this week.

3. For all the shit Dawson cops, and he was ordinary today, he is far from the biggest problem in our defense. At least he can lock down on a forward most of the time. Ibbottson, Sutcliffe and Johnson offer nothing. None of these guys are able to perform the quick kick into the corridor. They don’t have the guts nor skill. Piss the 3 of them off and persist with Collins, Logue and Pearce when fit. May as well blood now, because we can't do any worse than today.

4. Fyfe - worst performance from a Freo captain that I can remember. Not only did he have a crap game (started to care in the last) but body language was not fit for a leader of the club. Maybe Mundy wasn't so bad after all.

5. If we can get a top 10/15 pick for Neil I think we should consider it. We have too many good accumulators and not enough good disposers.

6. Training - What the fun do they do at training? Skills have gone backwards. Game plan in non-existent. Surely if they just spent the time getting on the piss it would be better. At least they would gel more and be happier.

7. Speed - Made port players look better than they actually were by slow running, decision making and ball movement.

8. Tucker was average. Looked like a dear in the headlights.

9. The writing on the wall in the first qtr and no changes to structure. Did we intend on losing today?

10. What was the point of getting McCarthy when we either can't supply it to him properly or the forward structure is chaotic nullifying his presence?

11. Tackling was absolutely atrocious. Port players fending off with ease.

12. Inability to make a contest out of a 50/50 situation. Too many times it looked like we just gave up and conceded that they would mark the ball.

13. If you chase a chook around long enough its flight response eventually wanes and it will cower down letting you do whatever you want to it. Our players resembled chickens but without the running around part. As soon as a hand was laid we’d go into our shells and allow them to roger us in the tackle. Contrast to Port who would fight their way out (example, SPP throwing Walters off him in the centre of the ground).

14. Umpiring – not like it would have made a difference in the end but how they were seeing and paying the Port ones and not ours had me swearing black and blue. It is time for the league to go to professional umpiring but this is a vent for another thread.

I look at our list and cannot believe we are this bad. Our midfield should be shitting on most teams in the league and competing with all of them. Yet if we don’t win the tap at a centre clearance we look ordinary all over.

There must be more at play here. Either the players are playing to get the coach sacked or we are tanking again. For all the crap that is said about used-by game plans etc, you can’t convince me that a game style of 2013 would have got slaughtered like that today. Even one which slightly resembles ’13 would have been competitive. I don’t buy that Ross is that bad a coach to lose by that amount, to not make structural changes before the margin becomes unrein-able.

We have publicly said that we are going to the next few drafts and it’s obvious now we intend on getting the lowest picks possible. If only there was a ski resort just out of Perth you could escape to, for the winter, for the next few years.

You know your going bad when former delisted players are having a go at our club.
421a29d8bca7998b6621bd37d9a38919.jpg

You know your going bad when former delisted players are having a go at our club.

He has been sniping a bit. He took some shots re Suban's call up for game 1. This sort of noise is only going to get louder.

Yep, complained about Suban getting a game ahead of his mate Crozier.

What hurts a bit right now is how great the game is currently looking. There is some slick, exciting and dynamic footy being played around the comp and we are just no where near it. It's one thing to lose, it's another to look like we're playing a different, irrelevant game.

My big fear about our rebuild is we just don't have the star youngsters to lead
us out of the hole. We'll need 5 years of low first rounders at this rate to make a dent.

We've absolutely butchered our first rounders since 09. Guys like Weller, sure he'll be handy but doesn't look like elevating to star status. A number 11 pick- just pick Jake Lever FFS!
Tom Sheridan, pick 16. Goodness me. He's a high 2nd round selection if that. Selectors got burned by Josh Simpson and have refused to take a risk since. You know I'm right, every year it's either "I can't believe he slipped to us" or "yeah we reckon he'll be a solid 200 gamer for us". Here's a free tip FFC recruiters, perhaps there's a reason they slipped that far?!

One of the oldest lists in the league and rebuilding, you've got to be kidding me. Some of the worst list management in our history- and that is saying something!!

Huge fears about our ability to retain Fyfe. Big litmus test coming in the coming weeks.

Just watching Ross's presser he is Kidding himself he just doesn't understand the game anymore why have no changes from last week. Sends a crap message to the squad.

He needs to be ruthless and get rid of the favourites

All off season there were rumours of discontent in the playing list. I wonder if we are seeing the result of that.

Surely it must cause resentment among young players to see the same experienced players spud it up week after week?

I have no knowledge of the inner workings of the club but it is painfully obvious that there are deep issues there.

I had a feeling he held a bit of a grudge. He had a go at a few Freo listed players yesterday.

Which ones? I saw this guy out once and he is 110% flog.

Off the top of my head I think Collins, Cox and Ryan. Basically whoever was in the Peel backline would have taken a bit from him at some stage.

My big fear about our rebuild is we just don't have the star youngsters to lead
us out of the hole. We'll need 5 years of low first rounders at this rate to make a dent.

We've absolutely butchered our first rounders since 09. Guys like Weller, sure he'll be handy but doesn't look like elevating to star status. A number 11 pick- just pick Jake Lever FFS!
Tom Sheridan, pick 16. Goodness me. He's a high 2nd round selection if that. Selectors got burned by Josh Simpson and have refused to take a risk since. You know I'm right, every year it's either "I can't believe he slipped to us" or "yeah we reckon he'll be a solid 200 gamer for us". Here's a free tip FFC recruiters, perhaps there's a reason they slipped that far?!

One of the oldest lists in the league and rebuilding, you've got to be kidding me. Some of the worst list management in our history- and that is saying something!!

Huge fears about our ability to retain Fyfe. Big litmus test coming in the coming weeks.

I completely agree we don't have the star youngsters on our list currently. Fair enough to say that we need to start making wholesale changes to our 22 but the problem I see is that likes of Crozier, Sheridan, Tabs have all had plenty of opportunities to prove themselves and simply haven't stood up. Then there's Apeness who just can't stay on the park. I find it really hard to believe that those guys are capable of playing a key part in our rebuild.

Which means that we start playing the next group down...Balic, Darcy, Logue etc.
But according to Ross, those guys aren't quite ready yet. His comments about Logue irritate me somewhat...if he's really that raw and not ready, why did we use our first round pick on him.

Then to make matters worse, aside from Fyfe, hardly any of the senior players on our list have any currency on the free agency or trading market. Guys like Dal Santo, McEvoy and Goddard who the Saints were able to deal during their rebuild.

Perhaps things aren't as bad as they seem right now, but there's really very little to give any confidence!

I'm only angry about one thing really: That we have wasted the whole pre-season, JLT, and first two rounds developing a game plan and preparing a select group of players that aren't the right ones (and it was pretty obvious to anyone looking in from the outside at the time). Not playing our depth and youngsters in JLT was absolutely stupid because we are now left needing to make significant changes but those coming in will be starting off the back foot and will take far longer to find their feet. They might also have to endure playing alongside senior players that are less confident in themselves, the coaches and the club. If we had ruled a line in the sand at the end of last year and punched Ross in the face over all his dual narrative BS and told him "We are in a rebuild mate, forget the past, develop a future focussed game plan and player development plan!". But now we are going to have to do that on the fly and be at the weekly scrutiny of the football media. And all this in a year where our best player is yet to re-sign. Ross and his team of "experts" should be on notice that they need to pull their fingers out and we need to see signs of progress on a weekly basis from now onward. Now that I have that off my chest - over to the positivity thread...

You know when Lyon says "play the kids" we're in for a long year.

I don't know why Sheridan and Collins are not in this side.

Why is Weller a defender and Blakely given a role that = don't touch the ball.