MRP / Trib. The MRP thread

• Thread starter Thread starter grimlock

Given the incident has sidelined one of our most promising players for a year you'd expect that North supporters would know this place is more sensitive than usual and stop with the self-righteousness.

I am absolutely genuine when I say I know how you feel. We lost Jesse W Smith, hugely talented f/s to a broken ankle. In his best game, Jesse was BOG against the Hawks in the 2007 semi final. He played two more senior games after that.

I hope Rohan recovers not only to his full capacity, but higher and faster and better. He's young enough to do it. The kid is a jet and I was disappointed we didn't take him when we had the chance (love Ben10 but).

Thing is, I don't blame Aaron Davey for falling on JWS in the contest that saw him sustain his ultimately career ending injury.

LT didn't cause Rohan's injury. There was NOTHING offside about what he did. It is one of those horrible things that happens in footy.

I hope that doesn't self righteous. It isn't meant to be. It is meant to say we know how you feel losing a young gun to such a hideous injury.

Given the incident has sidelined one of our most promising players for a year you'd expect that North supporters would know this place is more sensitive than usual and stop with the self-righteousness.

Actually you wouldn't expect it but one can hope. Maybe some (including myself) are overreacting but I don't think so, the majority of their comments are laced with a pompous attitude.

Its just a few of them that are dolts.

I am absolutely genuine when I say I know how you feel. We lost Jesse W Smith, hugely talented f/s to a broken ankle. In his best game, Jesse was BOG against the Hawks in the 2007 semi final. He played two more senior games after that.

I hope Rohan recovers not only to his full capacity, but higher and faster and better. He's young enough to do it. The kid is a jet and I was disappointed we didn't take him when we had the chance (love Ben10 but).

Thing is, I don't blame Aaron Davey for falling on JWS in the contest that saw him sustain his ultimately career ending injury.

LT didn't cause Rohan's injury. There was NOTHING offside about what he did. It is one of those horrible things that happens in footy. All we want is just consistency, EITHER WAY!!!

I hope that doesn't self righteous. It isn't meant to be. It is meant to say we know how you feel losing a young gun to such a hideous injury.

No Swan supporter ever said that Thomas should be suspended, we're tired of the inconsistency of the tribunal system. Goodes should have gotten off for his incident. No one here is saying that Thomas should have been rubbed out, as both Thomas and Goodes should have been let off, as both cases, all 4 players Goodes, Surjan, Rohan and Thomas, were all going for the ball.

But Goodes i felt was hung out to dry and was guilty before he was tried, because of his past and by the media, which was unfair on him. All we want is consistency EITHER GODDAMN WAY!!!!

LT didn't cause Rohan's injury. There was NOTHING offside about what he did. It is one of those horrible things that happens in footy.

You're full of it and your smarmy attitude in the other thread proves that. You then have the nerve to come here and try to butter us up? What a pathetic, two-faced attitude you bring and it's not fooling very many.

No Swan supporter ever said that Thomas should be suspended, we're tired of the inconsistency of the tribunal system. Goodes should have gotten off for his incident. No one here is saying that Thomas should have been rubbed out, as both Thomas and Goodes should have been let off, as both cases, all 4 players Goodes, Surjan, Rohan and Thomas, were all going for the ball.

But Goodes i felt was hung out to dry and was guilty before he was tried, because of his past and by the media, which was unfair on him. All we want is consistency EITHER GODDAMN WAY!!!!

I'm not going to get into the Goodes v Thomas decisions debate. Not the time or especially place I reckon.

If you want to to discuss, you probably know where the MB thread is.

I'm not going to get into the Goodes v Thomas decisions debate. Not the time or especially place I reckon.

If you want to to discuss, you probably know where the MB thread is.

Why don't you want to discuss it here? Is it because you have mates on the MB thread on your side? :confused:

You're full of it and your smarmy attitude in the other thread proves that. You then have the nerve to come here and try to butter us up? What a pathetic, two-faced attitude you bring and it's not fooling very many.

Fair enough, I was shitty as about the JWS thing too. Like I said, I know how you feel.

Now Thomas has been let off I am totally confused by the rules. This makes absolutely no sense.

Should Goodes have been sent up - no.

Should Thomas - no, but after the Goodes precedent yes and, unfortunately, should have gone for a spell.

This is insane. What do you do now? Just slide in? Don't? I concede defeat. The MRP has made this issue confusing. This whole thing is turning on split seconds. This is inconsistent and thus unjust.

Bah. Stupidity.

*edit spelling

Why don't you want to discuss it here? Is it because you have mates on the MB thread on your side? :confused:

Because it is your board and it is a fairly highly strung topic and I think it is safe to say that my views will differ rather markedly from the majority here.

Team boards are about people going in the cave and having a "mates only" chat.

That needs to be respected.

Fair enough, I was shitty as about the JWS thing too. Like I said, I know how you feel.

Sweet, so be a hypocrite somewhere else. If you have one view on the MB, have it here and be real. My comments on North or it's supporters don't change depending on the board, it's why I'm banned from there (for one comment, mind you).

Because it is your board and it is a fairly highly strung topic and I think it is safe to say that my views will differ rather markedly from the majority here.

Team boards are about people going in the cave and having a "mates only" chat.

That needs to be respected.

Respected? Why do Norf fans always seem to come on here, before and after our games and act like their god almighty and give us lessons in football, when half our supporter base is in Victoria? I'll never get why you do that for.

I am absolutely genuine when I say I know how you feel.

And you are the same arseh*le who started a thread on Bay 13 and felt the need to write this;

Lindsay Thomas cleared despite concerted sooking campaign by Sydney behind closed doors and in media.

Suck shit Sydney Sooks.

So why don't you just **** off.

I didn't see that post ScottWade, [love your work Scott] got to love Norf supporters and their smug attitude on this site. After seeing your post, you know nothing about how we feel DOS.:thumbsd:

That's the worst kind of poster, just like the one who applauded Parker being taken out and then came here for a civil chat.

I can't see what the afl is doing here surely the alternative of jumping in head first is much worse for the health of the players then sliding in feet first. Also if they are trying to rub out sliding for the football completely then stop players getting rewarded for it, ie surjan. As soon as a player slides on the ground(feet first) to get to a ball call a free kick to the opposition.

I also find norf supporters on this site to be quite hilarious seeing that we get more fans to go to the melbourne games then they do to theirs.

Kangaroo's should have gold coast infront of their name.

So thomas gets 3 weeks, early plea makes it 2, they appeal and he gets nothing..

for sliding into a player and breaking his leg, whilst goodes gives the port player grass abrasions, gets a week, appeals and still gets a week...

WTF IS THIS ****ING BULLSHIT,

HOW CAN THIS BE JUSTIFIED?

This from a poster on RWO

Re your point that Goodes didn't get anywhere near the ball - this is from one of the reports I read last week:

"he (Goodes' advocate David Galbally QC) submitted footage from a wider angle which showed both players started sliding from an equal distance, with only an unpredictable bounce of the ball meaning Surjan arrived first. AFL legal counsel Jeff Gleeson SC agreed Goodes had no intention of hurting Surjan and was trying to get the ball. But the jury's verdict backed Gleeson's contention that the Swans star still breached his duty of care by sliding in without regard for Surjan's welfare."

Goodes himself said:
""The ball was my target," he said. "I realised someone else was in the play, but my commitment was to win that 50-50 ball.
"I knew from the past, being reported for going in with my feet so I slid on my knees to try to get lower. I don't know what else I could've done."

Indeed, Goodes. Indeed.

Stay in Bay 13 you ****ing low ****

So thomas gets 3 weeks, early plea makes it 2, they appeal and he gets nothing..

for sliding into a player and breaking his leg, whilst goodes gives the port player grass abrasions, gets a week, appeals and still gets a week...

WTF IS THIS ****ING BULLSHIT,

HOW CAN THIS BE JUSTIFIED?

Its done now time to move on he will better for the rest

Just thought I'd offer my condolences for Rohan's injury, poor kid. It's not the sort of thing anyone wants to see in a game of footy and I hope he can get back next year in good form. Ankles are tricky to heal, so I hope he takes his time and gets it right.

All the best for the rest of the season. :thumbsu: