ferball
desperately terminally-contrarian
- Jul 24, 2015
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
I just keep thinking of more I'd forgotten. LOL.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Khe Sanh was two or three spots short of a placement. If Don Walker had picked an actual battle Australian army troops fought in instead, it would’ve made my top 10. I like good music but I hate historical inaccuracies.Hard to argue with some of them songs MP. Maybe Dirty Deeds tho.
I forgot to vote in that but Shark Fin blues is an amazing song.
So is Hand of Law.
There's a bunch of songs by Slim Dusty and Chad Morgan that sound very similar but some are amazing.
Wide Open Road. Bow River. Khe Sahn... for all the cliches about that song I knew a bunch of guys who were in Vietnam. That song is about PTSD and they all love it.
Paul Kelly's "little" songs. Little Decisions, Little Things, Little Kings ... and Everything is Turning to White. He could probably fill the top ten on his own on the right day.
When you get into it there are sooo many good songs from Australia. About Australia too. My Island Home by Warumpi's. IN December I saw Shane Howard sing Solid Rock at Mannalargenna in a tent in a paddock at Cape Portland, behind Little Musslerow Bay, to about 100 people. That was spine chilling, hairs on your neck kind of stuff.
Bloody hard work narrowing it all down to 10.
Absolutely agree with this.Paul Kelly has written some ripper songs but Everything's Turning to White is an absolute masterpiece, especially if you hear him sing it with one of the Bull sisters.
Its almost perfect.
100%If I'd done the list a dozen times each one would have been different.
Could have been a truck driver tho. They went everywhere. I had a mate who drove trucks in Vietnam. Died of one of the rarest blood cancer's on earth. Only two populations on earth get it. Vietnamese people and Vietnam Vets.Khe Sanh was two or three spots short of a placement. If Don Walker had picked an actual battle Australian army troops fought in instead, it would’ve made my top 10. I like good music but I hate historical inaccuracies.
Paul Kelly can put lines in songs that just nail you. Just take the wind right out of you.Absolutely agree with this.
It’s Springsteen-esque in the best possible way.
Yeah cool.Paul Kelly can put lines in songs that just nail you. Just take the wind right out of you.
Bicentennial is another of my favorites.
Powderfinger will probably win it.
I listened to These Days the other. Hit like a freight train.
Yep.. they are the Copa/Viva Airlines of Europe.Question.
Anyone ever flown Iberia (Spanish airline) before and had a suitcase, not lost - but left off the flight because of weight.
Short flight from Ibiza to Nice and these idiots checked my bag on but not the mrs. And no we don’t have air tags (first time a bags ever gone missing)
I realise this happens all the time and is totally randomised, but as Australians we hop a lot once in Europe and don’t stay in the one location for long.
We’re in France until Monday and then off to Italy.
Anyone had a similar issue like this but more so - what are the do’s and don’t’s?
Any tips would be helpful but the lessons learnt, never ever book Iberia EVER and air tags compulsory.
Not worth the risk once you go through it once.
It showed up this morning.Yep.. they are the Copa/Viva Airlines of Europe.
Tip; carry every thing you can't lose on you, in carry on... if possible upgrade, they tend to not lose their Premium/Bizo customers things.
Have fun, stay safe.
massive win.. huge.It showed up this morning.
Got an email that a courier was due to deliver it “shortly”.
Didn’t risk it and went and collected it from the airport.
Feel this is a massive win with some of the other experience’s I have read in relation to this.
Basketcase airline
Triple J playing Highway to Hell at #31.
This song never gets old.
Pretty confident the remaining songs areUnsure if I want this countdown to finish before our game tonight.
Good ol' Northerner Johnny Farnham at #15
Pretty confident the remaining songs are
Nosebleed section
my happiness
never tear us apart
scar
dumb things
don't dream its over
untouched
Missing a little bit of WPaHottest 100 for Australian tracks tomorrow.
I fully anticipate its gonna be full of awful music.
But because Triple J meant a lot to me as someone growing up in regional Australia, prior to the internet, where there was one CD store for a 50km radius, I felt obligated to submit some tracks for old-times sake.
Easybeats - Friday on my Mind
(there's a Flemington straight between this and the next best Australian track for me - I could rant almost religiously about the incredible composition, structure and immaculate production for weeks. In a roundabout way, its the birth of AC/DC too)
Go-Betweens - Cattle and Cane
(Honestly hard pressed to pick the best song by this amazing band, the best Australian band in my lifetime, but this is the one I never get sick of)
INXS - Don't Change
(The market is wrong - this is far superior to any of their Kick-era singles. Also the best exercise song made by an Aussie band of all-time)
Total Control - Flesh War
(easily my favourite Aussie track of the past 15 years. Great Madchester vibes. Why didn't they continue???)
AC/DC - Highway to Hell
(yes they were incredibly immature, yes they became an even more preposterous caricature of themselves soon after, and yet the the rhythm section is incredible and this track always seems so prophetic to Bon Scott's destiny that it feels otherworldly decades later)
The Moles - Bury Me Happy
(Australia's answer to early-career REM who should have been huge, a local indie classic)
The Saints - Know Your Product
(Right up there with the best of the Clash as far as late 70s punk goes, still hits hard, Kuepper deserves an AO)
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Revel - Talking Straight
(love the jangly guitar tones, love the relentless and simple rhythm section, evokes modern Australian suburbia better than just about any track I know)
Stevie Wright - Evie
(I have a bonkers theory this was written by Vanda and Young ABOUT Stevie Wright- the third part always makes me dance wildly)
Nick Cave - The Mercy Seat
(You could pick so many by this bloke, got such an amazing discography, it was between Deanna and this, but I just couldn't leave this beauty out, have so many indelible moments getting wasted to this song as a teenager)
Ok replace untouched with flame trees and I think that's itLong Way to the Top... if you wanna sausage roll? or have I missed it?
I didn't think Untouched would be that high, but they did get some promotion for this countdown, so you might be right.
Haha ok I was wrong
untouched
then
nosebleed section
never tear us apart
Port fans must be very excited about now
I actually reckon dumb things is cherry ripe for metal style cover.You were either looking at odds, or should change your name to Nostradamus. Oh wait!
Actually, it was Dumb Things that Flame Trees replaced. I'll still pay it.
Saved me cause the wife’s happymassive win.. huge.
Haha ok I was wrong
untouched
then
nosebleed section
never tear us apart
Port fans must be very excited about now