The No Longer Random Chat Thread I

As long as they keep to themselves and not push their hypocritical propaganda on others…ie - ‘you can’t eat meat’

Otherwise we’re good.
“Hypocritical propaganda” is a strange choice of words for someone seemingly keen on an individual’s right to make their own decisions on what suits them. Maybe “lifestyle choices” is a better fit.

I'm not talking about the photo, people are panic buying like lunatics in SE Syria and Northern NSW.

Its ****ed up because those people have been thru decades of floods and storms and didn't behave like this before. Panic buying rarely happened in Australia in the past and was usually associated with specific shortages.
In the past people would prepare for storms and floods in the week beforehand but wouldn't buy every ****en thing on the shelves.
Someone seems to have panic bought all the eggs at my local supermarkets 😣

It’s wild mate, I can understand the panic up Lismore way but I’m based in Coffs and people are losing their minds.

So far we’ve had around 150mm of rain which is bugger all. Winds up to 80km/h which isn’t even that much. We’ve got evac orders in place for low lying areas yet the locals rivers aren’t even flowing brown (at this stage). Well below minor flood level. It’s like they are over compensating for the terrible response to previous flood/natural disaster events.

We’ve had panic buying and closed schools but the forecast isn’t anything close to being catastrophic.

Just doesn’t make sense to me.
I've heard there were 750mm at Dorrigo during the week. That's a fair bit.

Heaps up around where I used to live too, just near the Border Ranges.

I've heard there were 750mm at Dorrigo during the week. That's a fair bit.

Heaps up around where I used to live too, just near the Border Ranges.

Yep, seems like the escarpment copped more rain than the coast. The local rivers Nambucca & Bellinger are above the moderate flood level (Bello is pushing the major flood level as we speak), but that was mainly due to the inland rainfall.

We’ve had about 200mn across the last 4 days on the coast.

Looks the same up the coast a bit too, the mighty Clarence looks like it’s going to push the major flood level, but mainly due to the rain received higher in the catchment!

Yep, seems like the escarpment copped more rain than the coast. The local rivers Nambucca & Bellinger are above the moderate flood level (Bello is pushing the major flood level as we speak), but that was mainly due to the inland rainfall.

Looks the same up the coast a bit too, the mighty Clarence looks like it’s going to push the major flood level, but mainly due to the rain received higher in the catchment!
Any chance of trucking some of that west?

The top of the Clarence, west of Kyogle copped heaps of rain as well.

This is 'Straya Mate!!! Rain never falls where its needed.
Previous Premier Mr Barnett wanted a canal running from Kimberleys down… just saying!

Any chance of trucking some of that west?

It’d be bloody nice if they could trap some of it and send it west. Flooding is a pretty regular occurrence in these parts.

Luckily plenty of the western flowing rivers are copping a drenching so plenty of the water will end up in Copeton and the eventually the Murray Darling basin.

Nah, just a bit of fun. Chito being a badass is a meme.

Do you know him? He’s not the greatest MMA Fighter, no slouch though, he’s my favourite because of his personality and the way he came up.

What's the point of being a UFC fighter if when challenged by someone you just reach for a gun?

“Hypocritical propaganda” is a strange choice of words for someone seemingly keen on an individual’s right to make their own decisions on what suits them. Maybe “lifestyle choices” is a better fit.
I don't think you read my post properly.

Eat what ya like...I don't care and it's none of my business.

However that changes when you and others protesting in a steak house restaurant screaming and trying to guilt me and the other patrons inside.

Or blocking traffic in the street and not allow myself and others to pass.

Or lectured at in person or on an internet forum.

And lastly from a moral stand point........Whether you're a vegan that buys their food from a shop, someone who likes wearing certain materials or even just a footy fan......if any of those apply to you....guess what!?!?!?

You're part of the death cycle of other animals no different to other people that eat red & white meat.

Think about it.

For those that remember me posting about my son and his heart condition a few years ago, we got an update with some not great news a few weeks ago. It’s taken a while to process things. Not completely doom and gloom but will mean an extra open heart surgery than what we anticipated (making his fifth so far) and that the path forward looks a bit more rocky than previously hoped. If anyone is interested, I can provide more updates as we learn more.

Sending the little dude big love.

Geez mate, all the best to you all, particularly your innocent little man. If you are willing and able I’m sure we’d all like updates, and I know we’re all hoping they’re increasingly positive.

The No Longer Random Chat Thread I