The omen thread

• Thread starter Thread starter SJ

My omens are:
- In 2007 I watched the Grand Final at a friends place, who out of the blue called on Friday asking whether we wanted to drive down and watch the game. Agreed instantly.
- In 2009 I was in Sweden staying with my best mate over there, listening to the game on-line. Out of the blue late yesterday afternoon, he sent me a message to have a catch-up on Skype for the first time in 12+ months
- In 2007 and 2009 my parents were interstate for the GF. They have also gone away this year
- In 2007 and 2009, my sister had to work on GF day. She is rostered today
- In 2008 I went to the GF parade. I refused to join my mates from work to have a look yesterday in our lunch break

I'm not a superstitious person, except when it comes to football. Hoping like hell the boys get over the line today. My wife and her family are all Pies fans, as is the rest of my extended family. Don't think I could put up with all their crap if we lost.

GO CATS!

I'm constantly getting this Foxtel ad with the Geelong boys huddled together in the middle of the MCG.

Can only mean one thing surely. :footy: :heart:

I didn't post this one before the game because I didn't want to jinx it. :p

We don't really have any cats near where we live in Hobart, it's more a dog suburb.

I heard a commotion this morning in our back yard, looked out the window and there's a brown cat chasing the neighbourhood magpies. I hadn't ever seen this cat before in the 15 months we've been living here. When he'd had his fun, he just sauntered off down the driveway... :thumbsu:

2007 - Won the footy tipping at work

2008 - Lost the footy tipping at work

2009 - Won the footy tipping at work

2010 - Lost the footy tipping at work

2011 - Won the footy tipping at work by 8!!!

You better win your tipping next year or I will be hunting you down like a dog :D

Every single time Malthouse came up against these blokes in a GF, pain followed. Let’s hope the trend continues tomorrow. :thumbsu:

chrisscott-1-246a.jpg

BC_246a.jpg

2009_Lappin_246px_v1.jpg

These dudes were all part of the last GF (2001) prior to Saturday in which the flag went to the team that won the previous encounter of the GF combatants. In 2010 Collingwood caused this sequence to be changed from "every GF winner 2002- has lost the previous meeting" to " .... has not won the previous battle."

Sadly for Caracella he was on the losing side that day. Like Shannon Grant (lost to North as a Swan then won in 1999 winning the NSM with NMFC) he is in a rare group of players to win a GF with a team after he played in a losing GF against that team. I can't think of any others besides these two and they are born within 5 weeks of each other; both taken top 10 in the 1994 ND.

Steven King did the opposite: 2007/2009.

Jason Ball in 2005 beat the team in the GF he had won it with in 1994.

-------------------------------------

Another trend that had a 5 year run prior to 2009 was the "team enduring the longer flag drought wins the GF" has now resumed. Why didn't this pattern exist in 1989, 1992 (technically the WCE drought was infinite at this point but they didn't exist prior to 1987 so I don't know where they sit), 1994 or 1995? :(

---------------------------------

No team since Essendon 2000 has won 20+ games in the H&A and won the flag; GFC 2008, StKFC 2009 and Collingwood 2011 all lost the GF.

---------------------------

After the Cats lost to Sydney I thought they would lose to Collingwood in R24 and it would have been an awesome omen to have another 18 win season like 2007 and 2009 and also have lost to Collingwood in the event of facing them in a GF considering the trend of "premier not winning the previous battle" since 2002.

How wrong I was. :o:thumbsu::):D

After the win on Saturday I am adding my poncho as my omen. I have worn it to 4 Collingwood Matches and they have lost them all. The 2002-03 Grand Finals, 2009 Prelim and of course on Saturday! Also I wore it to the 2005 Elimination Final against Melbourne and the 2008 Qualifying Final against St.Kilda and we won both of those.

My omens are purely based on superstition. No impressive statistics. So, here I go.

2007 - Chris Scott played his last AFL game against Geelong, Lions lost.

2009 - Friday before 2nd Qualifying Final - my cat chased a Bulldog from my house to Moore Park Road - opposite the SCG.

2010 - Magpie flew from right to left and landed on my balcony railing, just stared - looking at me inside and to the left - at my neighbour's house. Two weeks later my neighbour died. Geelong lost Prelim to Collingwood on 17 September - my neighbour's birthday.

2011: No. 4 - Bobby Davis died + Andrew Mackie played 150th game GF day. Both were born on a Tuesday.
No. 5 - Ablett Sr birthday + Travis Varcoe played 100th game GF day. Both were born on a Sunday.

Geelong lost 2nd last rounds of Home + Away in 09 + 11!

James Kelly's is aged 27 - 2+7=9. He wears No. 9, cats have nine lives and 2011 is our 9th Premiership.

Chris Scott is the 13th first year coach to win a Premiership. Tom Lonergan wears No. 13 and played his first winning Grand Final.

I won my first prize ever, in my life, at the Suns -v- Cats game in 2011 - the prize was a Sherrin Football. I booked a trip to Melbourne and Geelong, not knowing it was Grand Final weekend. Was given a ticket to the game on Friday 30th September!

Didn't record the Grand Final in 07, 09, 11. Did record the game in 08!

:eek:

Not really an omen but anyway

I had a feeling we would lose in 08
knew we would win 09
Had feeling we wouild lose to the pies in 10

Predicted we would beat Hawks by 30 points in the first final
Predicted we would beat WCE by 40 in the PF

Had dream that we would win Tomorrow 97 to 56 and I have made that my feeling though in the dream Lonners did a sholder in the first minutes of play and Bartel kicked the first goal so I don't think that will happen

Was listening to Rex Hunt on MMM this morning and he did a mock commentry for tomorrow's game and he said 56 as well but it was for both teams..

So Cats by 40 Odd Hope I'm right!!
OK, so whilst not the correct players (or time) - Podsy did a shoulder, cat (varcs) kicked the first goal and cats won by 38, not 41. Pretty scary effort (and maybe the Jimmy part was actually Jimmy winning the norm)....

Keep us updated on your dreams next year :)

OK, so whilst not the correct players (or time) - Podsy did a shoulder, cat (varcs) kicked the first goal and cats won by 38, not 41. Pretty scary effort (and maybe the Jimmy part was actually Jimmy winning the norm)....

Keep us updated on your dreams next year :)
except if it's a nightmare!

Went in 07 & 09 so only attended winning grand finals. Scored tickets this year so bring it on.

Also for the statistically minded the Pies beat WCE by 20, we beat them by 48.
The Pies beat the Hawks by 3, we beat them by 31.
28 points better to us in both games.

For those who like a laugh we have never lost a grand final to a side that we beat by 16 goals in round 24 of a VFL/AFL season.

Plus we're just playing better!!!!

Just thought I'd pump up my own tyres.

Been to 3 GF's now for 3 victories so if I miss out on the ballot, think to yourself, do you want to risk going to witness a possible losing GF or should you just give the ticket to Rosso and guarantee the result. I think we all know the answer to that.

By the way only 10 points out on the margin. We beat the Eagles and Hawks by 28 points more than what the pies did and then upped the GF to 38 points.

2007 Maggi (poor choice of name) the cat was inside,2008 outside,(over confident) 2009 inside again, 2011 puss,puss,puss.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
One of the funniest comments on here....i honestly did not expect that. Classi Mate.

Ok, mine....

07 - Standing around outside work at brew time, electrical transformer blew up.
08 - Our Cat died during QF.
09 - Prelim - Walking into work, saw 3 Magpies fighting eachother. -
10 - Walking into work - swooped by a magpie and he drew blood - the prick
11 - Wednesday before GF - Driving into work - hit a magpie, tried to swerve, but idiot flew infront of me.

One of the funniest comments on here....i honestly did not expect that. Classi Mate.

Ok, mine....

07 - Standing around outside work at brew time, electrical transformer blew up.
08 - Our Cat died during QF.
09 - Prelim - Walking into work, saw 3 Magpies fighting eachother. -
10 - Walking into work - swooped by a magpie and he drew blood - the prick
11 - Wednesday before GF - Driving into work - hit a magpie, tried to swerve, but idiot flew infront of me.
Eerie.
2007. Wife got a friends MCC Ladies tkt for GF. Win
2008. Tkt not available. Our black Poodle got stolen. Don't laugh, SJ, the real SJ has poodles. Loss
2009.Tkt available for GF. Wife goes. Win
2010. Replacement dog. Whippet. Named MACKIE, after BF vote. Catches a magpie, fair dinkum, brings it inside proudly, but still alive. Magpie escapes. No GF for us.
2011. Tkt available. Wife goes. Win. 2 days after GF, short lunchtime walk, got pecked by a feral magpie, also drew blood.At least it was AFTER GF.!!

Couple days after the GF I was out walking my dog and got hit by a magpie - was like somebody had punched me in the head. Been swooped plenty of times, but first time one's ever actually hit me!

They are really angry this year. Heard in Albury they are scary. In all seriousness, I was wearing a Geelong FC tie on that Monday. I swear that magpie hated it. Also my first hit in 55 years!

Oh Veedubs, that is very funny, (not your being hit) being swooped by a Magpie, who recognised your GFC tie!

At half time on GF day, I went to have a beer and was Shang Hai'ed by a Magpie fan, who told me how happy she was it was a Collingwood -v- Geelong GF, because our teams and supporters were such good friends!!! She explained that all the other Clubs' supporters were horrible to Pies's fans, but that Geelong supporters were lovely and friendly! Being from Sydney, at my first GF, I went into shock. She bought me a beer and fortunately, she was chatty, because I was struck dumb!!! lol

Oh Veedubs, that is very funny, (not your being hit) being swooped by a Magpie, who recognised your GFC tie!

At half time on GF day, I went to have a beer and was Shang Hai'ed by a Magpie fan, who told me how happy she was it was a Collingwood -v- Geelong GF, because our teams and supporters were such good friends!!! She explained that all the other Clubs' supporters were horrible to Pies's fans, but that Geelong supporters were lovely and friendly! Being from Sydney, at my first GF, I went into shock. She bought me a beer and fortunately, she was chatty, because I was struck dumb!!! lol

Maybe she was just keen on you. hhmmm

There are certain Friends who follow Geelong who I will not go to a game with unless I am wearing black socks. No, I lie about the socks, but I have only ever seen Cats lose when I have been with the friends.

This is where it gets really scary,I bought Maggi the good luck cat at a flee market mid 2004 and we won our next 6 games,every thing I said regarding 2007,08,09,and 10 I swear is the truth as is this,I was siting here in Brisbane watching the 2011 GF with my two adult sons,my wife walked in to the room just before 3/4 time to check the score,she go a quick there's nothing in it,and then she dropped the bombshell you haven't got the cat in side:eek:.

With the cat back where she belongs one day of the year world order was restored the Pies never kicked another Goal.:)

This is where it gets really scary,I bought Maggi the good luck cat at a flee market mid 2004 and we won our next 6 games,every thing I said regarding 2007,08,09,and 10 I swear is the truth as is this,I was siting here in Brisbane watching the 2011 GF with my two adult sons,my wife walked in to the room just before 3/4 time to check the score,she go a quick there's nothing in it,and then she dropped the bombshell you haven't got the cat in side:eek:.

With the cat back where she belongs one day of the year world order was restored the Pies never kicked another Goal.:)
****, that is creepy. Make sure nothing happens to the cat!

Now I don't like to bump threads, but right now I'm drinking a nice red and Internet shopping for jeans, but that's not important right now. In each of our premiership years I have made an online purchase from the Cats shop. This year I did no such thing but I did purchase a Ford, does this count??