Food, Drink & Dining Out The Perth Thread - Part 3

Part 4 is here:

What's people's obsession with bagging and hating on cyclists? Barring holding me up for a few seconds on the very odd occasion are they really that much of a problem?

And no it's not because I ride them, I haven't even sat on any sort of bicycle in 10+ years.

I don't mind being 'held up' usually, but very often as Scotland said, they very often act in a purposely dumb and inconsiderate manner just because they can

People do love to take the actions of a handful of cyclists and apply it to thousands of people. Try doing it for motorists, you’ll find there are far more shithead drivers on the road than cyclists. I honestly can’t remember the last time a cyclist endangerered me or him on the road, I could fire off dozens of examples of motorists.

Everyone is shit. Pedestrians, cyclists, motorists, kids on skateboards, dogs on leads, posties on those little mopeds...

There aren't a "handful" of ****wit cyclists, there are at at least hundreds, probably venturing into 4 figure territory. I mean there are people that petition against having to wear a helmet. Every single Saturday morning there will be multiple pelotons clogging up Mounts Bay Rd while the cycle path sits there looking longingly at them. Every weekend there will be groups clogging up Mundaring Weir Rd which is windy and has poor visibility in some places and plenty of sections where vehicles cannot overtake. There's no cycle path up there and I don't think cyclists should be banned from riding on the road on that basis, but there really isn't a need to ride in big groups of 2 or 3 abreast. Orchardists with tractors, trucks etc. pull over out of courtesy in that situation. Cyclists? No way coz **** you. We have the stupid new 1m rule and cyclists go out of their way to be as close to cars as possible. Then wonder why people are infuriated by them.

I too can recount many examples of motorists being numpties, but very few of someone in a car just ignoring a set of traffic light signals because they are inconvenient, or driving on the footpath because they preferred it to the road, or driving side by side with their friend 30 km/h below the speed limit... plus if you dress up like an Olympic gymnast and drive your car no one outside an unlucky Muzz Buzz attendant is subjected to it.

I'm not a rampaging Prado driver either. I have two pushbikes, cycle regularly and don't drive often. But I have half a brain which I protect by wearing a helmet when I do so. If there is a cycle path or one of those painted lanes then as a cyclist you should use it.

well that would make sense as there are many more motorists on the road than cyclists. I'd say there are more rude and inconsiderate cyclists per capita though.
Not a chance, I find shit and aggressive drivers pretty much every time I drive, I’d come across shit cyclists only every now and then. One only needs to pay passing attention to the news to see the number of angry motorists acting aggressively to cyclists is on the rise. What’s more, shit drivers are a risk to my safety, bikes aren’t.

I ride and drive too, no leotards, no peloton, wouldn’t risk riding on highways because there are too many campaigners on the road. But whether driving or riding, I’m always acutely aware of the number of dangerous drivers there are on the road. I’m not even remotely aware of bikes threatening me. And no, a minor inconvenience is not a threat.

The issue is the numbers. An individual cyclist is fine. It's when you get groups. Some of them are quite large with them riding 2 or 3 wide. If you're clogging traffic then it's an issue.

On the same stretch of road I come in constant contact with cyclists. A dead straight 80kmh zone.

The only encounters that have turned bad are the Lycra clad gonads that deliberately clog the road.
One even was going around in a circle through an intersection to block me and make me slow down so his mates could all cross the road and clog it up ahead.

the kids going to school all ride in the cycle lane,old mate riding to work because he lost his license sees me coming 300 metres away and pulls into the lane.
The Hoodrat Bmx bandits riding all over the place pull out of the way.

But guaranteed every time the Asshat Lycra mob look back and deliberately take up the whole lane and force me to slow down and out into the oncoming lane to get past.
flipping Rant Over.

I don't think we need a big drawcard, just simple affordable stuff.

People want to be able to go to the beach and have fish and chips without having to queue up for an hour and it costing $80.

This. All the money that the state gov has thrown at upgrading Perth’s infrastructure hasn’t really done shit to make it a tourist drawcard. Perth’s CBD is full of shiny new buildings and sporting arenas that have been built in the past few years, but Perth at large is still a boring, uneventful shithole because it’s a ghost town after 9 oclock at night. Due to the extremely high cost of living, people just work themselves to death and don’t have time for much of a life outside of that. I know it’s the same in most cities around the world, but Perth has this distinct lack of vibrancy and feels like a place for working and making money and not much else. It’s like when you walk around the streets at night you feel like you’re the lone survivor of a ****ing apocalypse.

But I did feel isolated and disconnected being away from the east coast big cities.

Someone has to explain this to me since as a Perthian I don't quite get it. Are there people drinking coffee out of jars in Melbourne laneways going "Man this is a good brew, and what's even better - i feel so close to Brisbane right now"

I would have thought in this day of instant internet access most places you'd feel "connected" to pretty much anywhere in the world.

Someone has to explain this to me since as a Perthian I don't quite get it. Are there people drinking coffee out of jars in Melbourne laneways going "Man this is a good brew, and what's even better - i feel so close to Brisbane right now"

I would have thought in this day of instant internet access most places you'd feel "connected" to pretty much anywhere in the world.
The isolationism call is a crock of shit. I usually hear it from old people who spend every waking moment in their Sunbury house and the local IGA. Somehow a borderline country town you never leave is connected, hip, happening but a metropolitan city with an airport isn’t.

Reality is most people live in such a bubble, google maps know where you live and work. Even if you lived in London which is ten hours from New York and what, one from Paris, do people really feel wholesome and involved?

It’s just one of those old fashioned things that people hear once and latch onto.

It’s not like when Henry Lawson went to Albany in 1910 and said it’s full of isolated backwater bogans...

Isolation is weird full stop.

You might prefer Melbourne or Sydney or wherever over Perth but in a city of nearly 2m people you're not really missing out on anything. Perth being 3-4 hours away from Melbourne by plane compared to Sydney and Melbourne being an hour apart isn't a big deal. WA is highly centralised but even Mandurah, Bunbury, Geraldton, Albany etc. have everything most people need. You have to get down to places where the population is only a few thousand or fewer and then you are actually isolated from things, and in the SW even if you live in a small town you're not that far from a bigger one.

I reckon if I could do a heat map on Google maps I'd probably only be in about 2% of the metro area most of the time and maybe visit 25% over the course of the year. Draw a straight line from Scarborough to Midland and anything North of that may as well be 4 hours away by plane. Ditto anything South of about Jandakot.

Melbourne's CBD is really cool but the average Joe that has to live out (and probably a long way out now unless they want a shoebox apartment) or elsewhere in the state the place is really a dreary shithole compared to WA.
Is a lot of "hubs" though outside of the City limits though. Perth you have Fremantle, Joondalup (eek) and Cottesloe(?) where you have more than a couple of pubs/bars and a cafe in the one spot.
Isolation is weird full stop.

You might prefer Melbourne or Sydney or wherever over Perth but in a city of nearly 2m people you're not really missing out on anything. Perth being 3-4 hours away from Melbourne by plane compared to Sydney and Melbourne being an hour apart isn't a big deal. WA is highly centralised but even Mandurah, Bunbury, Geraldton, Albany etc. have everything most people need. You have to get down to places where the population is only a few thousand or fewer and then you are actually isolated from things, and in the SW even if you live in a small town you're not that far from a bigger one.

I reckon if I could do a heat map on Google maps I'd probably only be in about 2% of the metro area most of the time and maybe visit 25% over the course of the year. Draw a straight line from Scarborough to Midland and anything North of that may as well be 4 hours away by plane. Ditto anything South of about Jandakot.
That's ridiculous. For example you are born in Sydney and have family there. You can move to Melbourne and still easily fly home for a weekend. You can't really do that for Perth. The whole eastern seaboard allows you to live in either Brisbane, Sydney, Adelaide or Melbourne and still remains rather easy to keep up appearances.

Think of a weekend. Finish work Friday night and head to the airport. Take the first flight and what time do you land in Melbourne? Compare that to the eastern seaboard. Now do the same for returning on the Sunday night.

Melbourne has more old suburbs than Perth. Places like Subiaco, Leederville, Vic Park, Maylands etc. with a high street of sorts where you can actually do some stuff without driving to your nearest Westfield centre or Bunnings. But just like Perth most of them are expensive. Being a city roughly twice the size there are more people there living in dull suburbia than there are here. At least here if you live in a cookie cutter new suburb like Aubin Grove or Success you can get into the city quickly on the train (still 25km out, but there's only a few stations on the line) and pop over to South Beach on the weekends and annoy Silent Alarm.

People rave about London but there are wayyy more people from London living in Perth than vice versa. Because unless you are wealthy London is a shit place to raise a family.

That's ridiculous. For example you are born in Sydney and have family there. You can move to Melbourne and still easily fly home for a weekend. You can't really do that for Perth. The whole eastern seaboard allows you to live in either Brisbane, Sydney, Adelaide or Melbourne and still remains rather easy to keep up appearances.

Think of a weekend. Finish work Friday night and head to the airport. Take the first flight and what time do you land in Melbourne? Compare that to the eastern seaboard. Now do the same for returning on the Sunday night.

And for what percentage of the population is that a big deal?

If you regularly need to travel between Melbourne and Sydney then living in Perth probably isn't for you. But for most people who live in Melbourne proximity to Sydney and Brisbane is pretty low on the list of things impacting their day to day life.