The Premiership Favourite 2026

I'm not buying into the Brsbane dynasty just yet. I think there are 8/9 sides at the moment that are just as good or potentially as good. The deciding factor this year is that Brisbane performed well when it counted when other teams had bad patches. Keep in mind Brisbane only won 16 from 23 and won 4-5 games by under 10 points - if they lose 2 of those games they miss the finals - they did not dominate this year - they just dominated Geelong on Saturday. Saying they will dominate next year based on the GF is just narow visioned / recency bias. Most people on this forum would've written them off at some stage this year.

If Brisbane were playing any other top 8 team or bulldogs or Sydney next week the odds would be pretty even imo.

Performing when it matters is ultimately what defines great teams but it also over-inflates reputations. All it takes is a couple of key injuries, some players losing form, maybe some different tactics from other teams and things can change very quickly. I think next year is going to be a very even race for the top 8 and top 4.
They lost to Adelaide by under a kick and drew with the roos. It goes both ways. As if the odds would be even with dogs or swans who couldn't even make finals.

16, 6 and 1 record is still good. Lions had to overcome various injuries and got to the granny without neale who only played a half in it. He's one of the best in the comp hands down.

They lost to Adelaide by under a kick and drew with the roos. It goes both ways. As if the odds would be even with dogs or swans who couldn't even make finals.

16 and 7 record is still good. Lions had to overcome various injuries and got to the granny without neale who only played a half in it. He's one of the best in the comp hands down.
The dogs and swans would've been a threat in the finals. Bris lost to the swans in rd22 in bris and only won by 10pts against bulldogs in rd19 - in bris.

They did have some injuries but there were clubs with a lot worse injury lists - which can happen and derail seasons/form - even a little bit of bad luck can swing it enough. Brisbane were a couple of dodgy bounces or a few bad ump decisions away from missing the finals. Sometimes it doesn't even out and sometimes it doesn't go both ways.

Lachie Neale will be 33 next year and dodgy calves at that age aint good.

All I'm saying is that it doesn't take much to derail a season - especially when the comp is so even - brisbane did not dominate this year and they are not that good that a litle bit of bad luck wont derail their season.

The team that wins next year will have a good share of luck on its side.

The dogs and swans would've been a threat in the finals. Bris lost to the swans in rd22 in bris and only won by 10pts against bulldogs in rd19 - in bris.

They did have some injuries but there were clubs with a lot worse injury lists - which can happen and derail seasons/form - even a little bit of bad luck can swing it enough. Brisbane were a couple of dodgy bounces or a few bad ump decisions away from missing the finals. Sometimes it doesn't even out and sometimes it doesn't go both ways.

Lachie Neale will be 33 next year and dodgy calves at that age aint good.

All I'm saying is that it doesn't take much to derail a season - especially when the comp is so even - brisbane did not dominate this year and they are not that good that a litle bit of bad luck wont derail their season.

The team that wins next year will have a good share of luck on its side.

It’s a fair point. Obviously Brisbane went berserk in the last quarter but the game was effectively won when they broke free in the third and we were barely hanging on. Charlie Cameron kicked a few plus another 45 seconds into the last.

A week earlier a freak incident with Mabior Chol that was nobody’s fault rules out Tom Stewart. Maybe if that doesn’t happen Cameron has no impact whatsoever (I realise Stewart doesn’t play on Cameron I’m just referencing the backline set-up). And yes I’m aware that the Lions themselves had heaps of injury concerns through the season including Berry missing the game altogether as well.

It’s a fine line between what can make a difference when you have a group of sides contending. Brisbane at the moment are better than us and everyone else and I’ve got no problem saying they should be clear favourites to win but I’m looking forward to seeing how we and others go about trying to beat them. The hawks in particular should improve again and I think we can be better.

I'm not buying into the Brsbane dynasty just yet. I think there are 8/9 sides at the moment that are just as good or potentially as good. The deciding factor this year is that Brisbane performed well when it counted when other teams had bad patches. Keep in mind Brisbane only won 16 from 23 and won 4-5 games by under 10 points - if they lose 2 of those games they miss the finals - they did not dominate this year - they just dominated Geelong on Saturday. Saying they will dominate next year based on the GF is just narow visioned / recency bias. Most people on this forum would've written them off at some stage this year.

If Brisbane were playing any other top 8 team or bulldogs or Sydney next week the odds would be pretty even imo.

Performing when it matters is ultimately what defines great teams but it also over-inflates reputations. All it takes is a couple of key injuries, some players losing form, maybe some different tactics from other teams and things can change very quickly. I think next year is going to be a very even race for the top 8 and top 4.
8 teams just as good, aye? Yet everytime they faced Brissie in a must win game they weren't just beaten, but smashed. They've been poorer vs sides they should beat than other top 8 sides too. It's undeniable they are in a class of their own, and they will be stronger next season. Another side will have to improve significantly to match them.

Kind of a shame the Dockers and Dogs refuse to try other coaches, would add some real spice to the comp if they did.

Brisbane
Bulldogs
Gold Coast

In that order next year.

It's undeniable they are in a class of their own,
We disagree on this - I think there are 10 teams that will contend next year.

Keep in mind that they did lose a final this year - and lost 6 games throughout the year. I for one wrote them off at one point - they looked very poor at various stages. % of 114 which was the 8th highest. won 4 games by under 2 goals + a draw. They did not dominate the year but played a good 3rd Qtr against a flat Geelong.

Regarding our % - probably a terrible indicator for how good we actually were. We don’t flat-track it against the bottom 8, like some top 8 sides do - just go through the motions and get the job done (most of them time…).

We tended to produce our best results in the harder fixtures, evidenced by our 5 biggest H&A wins all being away from home:

Freo - 57
Saints - 45
Geelong - 41
Carlton - 37
Hawks - 33

In fact, our 2nd and 3rd biggest wins of the year came in the finals (53 and 47, Suns and Geelong) - dominant when it mattered, I guess.

They save their best for when they need to, I think it's strategic. Also had a lot of injuries.

They'll get back many players and Allen, Draper etc. That's scary. You think the likes of GC or Freo, even Hawthorn can stop their finals run? Id like to see that. They were in complete control over those sides when it mattered.

Couple of key injuries- you mean like what we dealt with this year? Neale, Payne, McInerney, Starcevic, McCarthy, Lohmann, Answerth, Coleman, Doedee; all missing for big chunks of the year. Hipwood and Berry missing finals also.

Out of form players- we had out of form players, e.g. Charlie

Tactics- we can play well lots of different ways. Master coach Scott couldn’t stop us.

Even race- you mean like the top 8 this year?

We had an answer every time we were challenged. We played the best footy this year. Best top 8 team record, hardest draw.

You can’t get more challenging than what we already endured this year.

Best young talent in the league, 5 in best U22 team. Bring in Draper, bring in Allen, Top 5 Pick.

Lions are strong favourites going into next year, and rightly so.

Dynasty in the making, until proven otherwise.

Brisbane will add Annable, Prindable, Waller, and Oscar Allen in the off-season.

2025 was the chance for someone to pinch one between Daniher and the dynasty, but even then they were miles ahead of the next best team.

We had a two tier comp this year. Next year it will be 3. The top tier is just 1 club. Tier 2 fighting to lose to them, and the rest in tier 3.

People who think Brisbane will have an Essendon 2000 year next season have not been paying much attention to them over the last 18 months.

They get the best out of themselves when in the toughest circumstances. The old "pressure makes diamonds" saying comes to mind.

If their form line continues they will probably lose 5 home and away games next season with most of those losses being against bottom 10 sides.

They deserve to be premiership favourite and even if they finish 5th should still be premiership favourite until proven otherwise with a knock out finals defeat.

Hate this talk of dynasties early though I can understand why people are doing it. Just let them cook and enjoy the ride.

It’s a fair point. Obviously Brisbane went berserk in the last quarter but the game was effectively won when they broke free in the third and we were barely hanging on. Charlie Cameron kicked a few plus another 45 seconds into the last.

A week earlier a freak incident with Mabior Chol that was nobody’s fault rules out Tom Stewart. Maybe if that doesn’t happen Cameron has no impact whatsoever (I realise Stewart doesn’t play on Cameron I’m just referencing the backline set-up). And yes I’m aware that the Lions themselves had heaps of injury concerns through the season including Berry missing the game altogether as well.

It’s a fine line between what can make a difference when you have a group of sides contending. Brisbane at the moment are better than us and everyone else and I’ve got no problem saying they should be clear favourites to win but I’m looking forward to seeing how we and others go about trying to beat them. The hawks in particular should improve again and I think we can be better.
All valid points save that it seemed to me that Geelong basically gave up leading me to think that they were just hanging in there and suddenly it got all too hard.

With Oscar Allen?

Brisbane. next.

Hate this talk of dynasties early though I can understand why people are doing it. Just let them cook and enjoy the ride.
They've already won two.

This isn't an army of premature takes like Melbourne 2021. They're already 2/3 of the way there with a stacked list that's only going to get better.

It's really not that big a call, nor is it early. If anything, it's odds on to happen.

All valid points save that it seemed to me that Geelong basically gave up leading me to think that they were just hanging in there and suddenly it got all too hard.

Oh absolutely.
Whately - and I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea but he is knowledgeable - made a good point. When Blicavs got that goal from the 50m penalty we were still theoretically in the game and at that point we just needed to find a way to scrap for 5-10 minutes, lock down and slow the game and do what we had done for a lot of the match either side of half time and look for an opportunity to work our way into it. Instead from memory we didn’t change anything, gave up a centre clearance immediately and a mark inside 50 and from there it was just a procession.

It’s something that teams like Hawthorn and Collingwood did very well throughout the season and even us as a general rule have done well in the past. I guess in a grand final it doesn’t take long for reality to sink in though sometimes

Whately - and I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea but he is knowledgeable - made a good point. When Blicavs got that goal from the 50m penalty we were still theoretically in the game and at that point we just needed to find a way to scrap for 5-10 minutes, lock down and slow the game and do what we had done for a lot of the match either side of half time and look for an opportunity to work our way into it. Instead from memory we didn’t change anything, gave up a centre clearance immediately and a mark inside 50 and from there it was just a procession.

That was the centre bounce where Smith had the opportunity for a centre clearances but struggled to control the ball and Rayner came off the square with one of his two big tackles on Smith. I think the next ball up Neale was in a similar position as Smith but didn't fumble the ball and got it out of stoppage.

Guthrie then missed O'Sullivan with a short kick across the goal face, and Rayner picked it up to kick a goal.

The Premiership Favourite 2026