Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

I really wanted to play soccer (goalkeeper) when I was younger. I don't believe I could have played at a professional level, but I never got near the chance. Almost replaced the goalkeeper at one of the better clubs, but their goalkeeper came back (he was very, very good). Who knows what could have happened had he not. I ended up playing for Brighton's 2nds without even being considered for the first team - I believe it had nothing to do with ability simply that I was new (same with school, though I was a bit lazy there). That first little stage seems to be the killer. My brother has had the same thing happen, and he is an genuine freak when it comes to playing midfield.

These days I just wish I played footy straight after school.. sitting on the bench all the time really put me off!

I'm watching through Sons of Anarchy, because I'm always a few years behind everyone else when it comes to TV shows.

Anyway, this second season is a pile of bullshit. It's like someone hired writers that went "let's slap the audience in the face with stupidity and then call them dickheads for bothering".

Just in case my SPOILER tags don't work, THIS IS A SPOILER.

So I'm about five stoopid episodes in. The last two episodes have literally been Jax saying "don't retaliate it's a trap". Like, that's basically the entire storyline. Don't retaliate against the white power nutjobs, it's what they want us to do, it's a trap. Half the people agree, Clay Morrow is an idiot.

So the entire length of these two episodes, all I can think of is "can they hurry up and get to the trap already, it's obviously going to happen". Like after hitting me in the face with predictability, they expect me to be shocked when they walk into a trap. I could put up with it though, because at least I was kinda interested in what the trap would be.

Then they go Simple Jack on the audience. Jax out of nowhere starts going behind everyone else's back and teaming up with the dude who wishes he could get his shirt off more, Hale. SAMCRO don't actually care too much that he's doing it, they just sorta smirk at him and exclude him from anything that they're doing. Makes no sense, but hey.

Anyway, Jax finds out where the white power bastards are and tells Hale to send some sheriffs their way, cos he wants to bring Adam Arkin in for questioning. SAMCRO also find out where they are and decide it's time to get some revenge-uh!

Then it defies belief.

Jax waits til they're about to go in before even saying anything, but then just throws in a "sheriffs are on their way, if we go in there, we'll all go to jail". Just decides to throw it out there seconds before they make their assault. Of course, the Sons of Anarchy, a rebel motorcycle club whose entire existence is founded upon living outside the law, with decades of practice of circumventing the law to live their way, think it's an incredible idea to go in anyway.

This is where I got Half in the Bag - Prometheus style questions exploding in my face.

- Why did Hale let Jax break into a house, just to get someone for "questioning"?
- Why did Hale steal a couple of kids when he'd just illegally broken into their house?
- How did Jax honestly think Hale taking Adam Arkin in for questioning for 24 hours would stop any retaliation against other white power members?
- Why did he wait so long to tell the other members what was going on?
- Why did he go in anyway?
- Why did Gemma and Tara decide it was a good time to start shooting up posters of pr0n stars outside the pr0n warehouse?
- Why did they then completely shoot up a car? Was this meant to be comic relief?
- Why would anyone in their right mind decide to go into a packed building with illegal weapons, knowing that there are Police literally minutes away from going to the exact same building?
- Why didn't a single member of SAMCRO actually look into a window before charging in? Surely they would have liked to have known what they were up against before charging in? If they'd looked in a window, none of that would have happened.

The thing that pisses me off the most though is, I already know exactly how this season is gonna end. SAMCRO get justice with the white power buttholes and Gemma gets her revenge. So in the first couple of episodes, you've basically told me how the season is going to end, and now you're trying to be as predictable and obvious as possible to annoy the shit out of me throughout the season, until we get to that final point?

Goddammit.

So yeah, anyway. That annoyed me a little bit.

Casual Keith next month as part of his AFL trip to look at NFL and other major sports equalisation policies will go and speak to New England Patriots owner Robert Kraft. WhyAlwaysMe being a Patriots fan might be interested in the following.

On the weekend Kraft gave a speech and announced that he met Vladmir Putin in 2005 in St Petersburg. Putin liked his ring so much he stole it. From a story last night on ABC Radio PM program. There is a link to the audio as well as the transcript link

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-06-17/putin-denies-he-stole-a-26000-ring/4761110
Putin denies he stole a $26,000 ring

Updated Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:47pm AEST

PETER LLOYD: Russia's president, Vladimir Putin, has hit back at allegations that he stole a diamond-encrusted ring from the billionaire owner of an American football team.
Robert Kraft is the owner of the New England Patriots, and he says Mr Putin pocketed his Super Bowl ring during a visit to St Petersburg back in 2005. The ring is worth around $26,000 and has turned up on display at the Kremlin. A spokesman for the Russian president insists it was gift.
Rebecca Armitage reports.

REBECCA ARMITAGE: He's rumoured to have billions of dollars in secret bank accounts; 20 mansions, four yachts, and dozens of private jets at his disposal. But an American billionaire claims that when Vladimir Putin laid eyes on his diamond-encrusted Super Bowl ring, he couldn't resist a five-finger discount.
For the past eight years Robert Kraft, the owner of the New England Patriots football team, has kept quiet about his meeting with the Russian president. But according to US media at a gala in New York at the weekend, Mr Kraft told the crowd that Vladimir Putin swiped a ring that commemorates his team's victory in the 2005 Super Bowl.

ROBERT KRAFT (voiceover): He put it on and he goes, 'I can kill someone with this ring!' I put my hand out and he put it in his pocket! And three KGB guys got around him and walked out.

REBECCA ARMITAGE: The Kremlin insists the ring, which is encrusted with 124 diamonds that spell out the words 'World Champions', was a gift for Mr Putin. In a statement his spokesman, Dmitry Peskov, suggested Robert Kraft should see a psychoanalyst.

DMITRY PESKOV (voiceover): What Mr. Kraft is saying now is weird. I was standing 20 centimetres away from them, and I saw Mr. Kraft give this ring as a gift. If the gentleman is really experiencing such excruciating pain from his loss, the president is ready to send him any other ring he can buy for that kind of money.

REBECCA ARMITAGE: Robert Kraft says he tried to get the ring back in 2005, but was advised by the White House that it would be in the best interest of American-Russian relations if he dropped the matter. While he still has emotional ties to the ring, in a statement his spokeswoman, Stacey James, said Mr Kraft says he's happy for it to remain in Moscow.

STACEY JAMES (voiceover): It's a humorous, anecdotal story that Robert retells for laughs. He loves that his ring is at the Kremlin. And, as he stated back in 2005, he continues to have great respect for Russia and the leadership of President Putin.

REBECCA ARMITAGE: And for those who want to have a look at Vladimir Putin's stash, official gifts, including the Super Bowl ring, are on display at the Kremlin Library.

Well that was thrilling.

Jesus.

That was one of the conflicting emotions until I read the words erect, stiffens and roots on one page in my finance text book and giggled to myself. I think I've got along way to go before I get old.

Feel the same way, mate, and I'm only sixty-@#&!
You've got a heap of Hombsching ahead.
Just go for it.

Don't think Wendy will do as well as there is a pre-nup agreement. Reports on the weekend says the non voting shares held in a trust set up for her and their 2 kids is worth about $250mil.

Getting a bit worried about you, REH. You're not on the other end of these secret phone calls Mrs Road has been getting of late, are you?

Loved them playing Peter Allen's I go to Rio after the game blaring on the stadium PA system.

My intention from June last year, is to go with a mate from school days, his soccer playing son and a mate of his, a couple of days before the tournament starts and celebrate our birthdays in style.

Great to see Timmy Cahill give Holger Osieck a massive big bear hug after spitting the dummy at him.

Johnny Warren told us so, and how much would he loved to see the Socceroos playing in Brazil

I was hoping we wouldn't make it. We are no chance of winning and now we have to put up with every idiot and his dog thinking he is a soccer expert for a month or however long it goes

Just like any supporter here when the opposition is one that you dislike immensely reaches the final 8 and your team misses out. Don’t hold back buddy...

I cant wait for this World Cup, its going to be a bloody cracker, and one to remember.

I don't understand that comment. We are 20 to 32 years away from being close to winning it, but we have to take progressive steps. Bit like saying I hope Port don't make the finals because we can't win the flag. Just ignore the drongos. It's easy if you make an effort.

As of right now I will try and have an open mind about the Socceroos right up until I hear about some dickhead insists it is called 'football'/it is 'the real football'

I expect to have a closed mind on this again by tomorrow evening.

I watched the last 30 mins trying to see what the hell 80k people could find so interesting.

Saw a bunch of Iraqi players diving like a uboat being depth charged and apart from that the only real entertainment was seeing Sasha Ognenovski? unleashing a tirade of naughty words at an ump and watching Cahill drag his bottom lip off the field.

Just ignore the drongos.

REH's eloquent use of this prehistoric but once common derogative had me rechecking my Macquarie. Its full definition carries on to be more sophisticated than I remember:

' drongo - a slow-witted or stupid person... a raw recruit (perhaps from Drongo, the name of a racehorse in the early 1920s which never won a race)....

' drongo (or) spangled drongo - any of the oscinine passerine birds of the African, Asiatic and Australian family (usually) black in colour, with long forked tails, and insectivorous habits.'

Zheesh... such long words in an Aussie dictionary. I had to do some extra research:

'oscinine - a large group of passerine birds, containing those with the most highly developed vocal organs, and commonly termed the songbirds.'

I didn't bother going on to 'passerine'. I already had the answer. The Drongo - especially the Spangled Drongo - would have to be, on an AFL field ... guess who.

I don't understand that comment. We are 20 to 32 years away from being close to winning it, but we have to take progressive steps. Bit like saying I hope Port don't make the finals because we can't win the flag. Just ignore the drongos. It's easy if you make an effort.
I just have no enthusiasm for Australian soccer. I can watch premier league but only about 1 game a month otherwise it getting boring for me. Watching Australia play is like watching paint dry.

Love the word drongo.

And yes I use it based on Drongo the horse. I believe his record was 37 starts and never won, but wasn't completely hopeless but got a second and a third once each in his career.

I'm watching through Sons of Anarchy, because I'm always a few years behind everyone else when it comes to TV shows.

Anyway, this second season is a pile of bullshit. It's like someone hired writers that went "let's slap the audience in the face with stupidity and then call them dickheads for bothering".

Just in case my SPOILER tags don't work, THIS IS A SPOILER.

So I'm about five stoopid episodes in. The last two episodes have literally been Jax saying "don't retaliate it's a trap". Like, that's basically the entire storyline. Don't retaliate against the white power nutjobs, it's what they want us to do, it's a trap. Half the people agree, Clay Morrow is an idiot.

So the entire length of these two episodes, all I can think of is "can they hurry up and get to the trap already, it's obviously going to happen". Like after hitting me in the face with predictability, they expect me to be shocked when they walk into a trap. I could put up with it though, because at least I was kinda interested in what the trap would be.

Then they go Simple Jack on the audience. Jax out of nowhere starts going behind everyone else's back and teaming up with the dude who wishes he could get his shirt off more, Hale. SAMCRO don't actually care too much that he's doing it, they just sorta smirk at him and exclude him from anything that they're doing. Makes no sense, but hey.

Anyway, Jax finds out where the white power bastards are and tells Hale to send some sheriffs their way, cos he wants to bring Adam Arkin in for questioning. SAMCRO also find out where they are and decide it's time to get some revenge-uh!

Then it defies belief.

Jax waits til they're about to go in before even saying anything, but then just throws in a "sheriffs are on their way, if we go in there, we'll all go to jail". Just decides to throw it out there seconds before they make their assault. Of course, the Sons of Anarchy, a rebel motorcycle club whose entire existence is founded upon living outside the law, with decades of practice of circumventing the law to live their way, think it's an incredible idea to go in anyway.

This is where I got Half in the Bag - Prometheus style questions exploding in my face.

- Why did Hale let Jax break into a house, just to get someone for "questioning"?
- Why did Hale steal a couple of kids when he'd just illegally broken into their house?
- How did Jax honestly think Hale taking Adam Arkin in for questioning for 24 hours would stop any retaliation against other white power members?
- Why did he wait so long to tell the other members what was going on?
- Why did he go in anyway?
- Why did Gemma and Tara decide it was a good time to start shooting up posters of pr0n stars outside the pr0n warehouse?
- Why did they then completely shoot up a car? Was this meant to be comic relief?
- Why would anyone in their right mind decide to go into a packed building with illegal weapons, knowing that there are Police literally minutes away from going to the exact same building?
- Why didn't a single member of SAMCRO actually look into a window before charging in? Surely they would have liked to have known what they were up against before charging in? If they'd looked in a window, none of that would have happened.

The thing that pisses me off the most though is, I already know exactly how this season is gonna end. SAMCRO get justice with the white power buttholes and Gemma gets her revenge. So in the first couple of episodes, you've basically told me how the season is going to end, and now you're trying to be as predictable and obvious as possible to annoy the shit out of me throughout the season, until we get to that final point?

Goddammit.

So yeah, anyway. That annoyed me a little bit.

Hahahaha just wait, it gets worse, they not only take on the FBI but the IRA as well! Ridiculous show that the missus makes me watch.

I just have no enthusiasm for Australian soccer. I can watch premier league but only about 1 game a month otherwise it getting boring for me. Watching Australia play is like watching paint dry.

I like watching the german league, not sure why.

Not that I ever watch soccer.. I don't even know when the matches are on and I'm too lazy to find out.

Osieck made a big call in taking Cahill off for Josh Kennedy, but he got it right.

And as REH said, it was great to see Cahill hugging Holgar after the match.

All but staked his tenure on the decision. Took baws.

Hahahaha just wait, it gets worse, they not only take on the FBI but the IRA as well! Ridiculous show that the missus makes me watch.

Harley Davidsons of Our Lives.