Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Menz Bush Biscuit's, Gibb's pies and pasties, Amscol-'Its a food not a fad' ice creams, Bobo cordial, getting your arm caught in a Pope washing machine's wringer, Grandma's preserved apricot halves(not slices!) in vacuum sealed bottles...served with a brick of icecream from cardboard packaging, fish and chips with a lot of salt wrapped in newspaper, 6 kids on the back seat of the EH Holden.....
Root my boot Astro, a lot of that is familiar. Forget Grandma's preserves (both of them were too far away). But add in an off-white Kelvinator fridge and Rowley Park speedway. Plus we had an HD Holden at around the time I feel we are talking about (we had an FC before and an HQ later). Amscol Choc-Ices were the go when we went somewhere, but to be fair Golden North's Giant Twins replicate that today. Oh, and at the Royal Show showbags were called sample bags and were free but contained real stuff from various companies. I must say I feel I'm about a decade too early to be talking like this but SA is a very different place than when I was a kid.

That's it Skynet is active. Expect a nuclear strike and then various hunter/killer machines prowling around after us. Per Bureau of Meteorology revises its South Australian forecast with very hot weather for week ahead we no longer understand what our computers are doing or why. We just accept what they tell us as in "... Yesterday all of our guidance and several models - global models - were showing a very strong continuing trend Sunday night through Monday," he said."Today they're all turned around and suggested that the cool change will come through...."

Yes, he needed Monfries luck
If we want a comparison it is Broadbent missing a running shot late in last year's R23 Carlton game. But I've never blamed Francis for the narrow loss, our focus was 'Get it to Tredders' and Wazza butchered a series of set-shots. Baker meanwhile was kissed on the freckle by the footy gods - there's a Monfries' comparison for you!

That's it Skynet is active. Expect a nuclear strike and then various hunter/killer machines prowling around after us. Per Bureau of Meteorology revises its South Australian forecast with very hot weather for week ahead we no longer understand what our computers are doing or why. We just accept what they tell us as in "... Yesterday all of our guidance and several models - global models - were showing a very strong continuing trend Sunday night through Monday," he said."Today they're all turned around and suggested that the cool change will come through...."

There are 2 high pressure systems playing a game of tug of war with a low pressure system which has just become TC Dylan. I would expect the remnants of the cyclone after it has crossed the QLD coast to head in a southern direction giving some relief to the hot temperatures

If we want a comparison it is Broadbent missing a running shot late in last year's R23 Carlton game. But I've never blamed Francis for the narrow loss, our focus was 'Get it to Tredders' and Wazza butchered a series of set-shots. Baker meanwhile was kissed on the freckle by the footy gods - there's a Monfries' comparison for you!

Yeah, well you know what I meant. I don't know how any one could blame Francis for that loss. We lost a cult player after that day

.... We lost a cult player after that day
Sad but didn't his hammy go pretty early with Freo. Then there was all that stuff with his wife which I'm really pleased we dodged.

Yes, I think he had to stay out of Freo for a year...salary cap or something, and he did his hammy or knee or something playing in the WAFL?

tasty_toobs.jpg

These were my favourite growing up. Then all of a sudden they were gone.

I think I cried when I saw them back on the shelf a few years later.

Yes, I think he had to stay out of Freo for a year...salary cap or something, and he did his hammy or knee or something playing in the WAFL?
Ah yes, forgot about his ghost-like status there first. :eek:
Freo was the crazy kiss of career death in those days, players and officials.

Ah yes, forgot about his ghost-like status there first. :eek:
Freo was the crazy kiss of career death in those days, players and officials.

And it's still crazy. It may have lost the 'kiss of death', but I reckon Ross Lyon has recently given it a new dose

Yes, he needed Monfries luck

Nope, Monfries took his shot from 50 under pressure, Francis had no one in front of him, could of ran in all the way or at least kicked a normal punt, but decided to dribble it in what can only be described as the stupidest decision in finals football til Nick Riewoldt decided to play on from the goal square

Nope, Monfries took his shot from 50 under pressure, Francis had no one in front of him, could of ran in all the way or at least kicked a normal punt, but decided to dribble it in what can only be described as the stupidest decision in finals football til Peter Burgoyne decided to play on from the goal square

FTFY :oops:

re: the 2001 Semi Final, if I was to be harsh i'd say it was the coaching panel that lost us that game. We had noone to replace Paxman when he did his knee. Thurstans was SANFL CHB of the year that year and didnt get a game. Morgan didnt get a game. Bassett was playing up forward. We ended up having to rely on Mead who was absolutely rooted and couldnt keep up with Barker. Ive never seen so many joe the goose goals in a game of footy as hawthorn did that game.

The Francis kick was a ridiculous decision, but when Stuey snapped a goal to put us 9 points up with 3 minutes left we should have held on.

.... but when Stuey snapped a goal to put us 9 points up with 3 minutes left we should have held on.
I still remember the WTF feeling at the final siren. And again after the Collingwood final in 2002. But to my credit (I believe) I did not try to eat my membership card until I was walking out of the 2003 Sydney QF.

I was shattered after the Hawthorn final, upset that it was over. We would have really pushed Essendon the week after. The Collingwood final was just surreal. I think I was so perplexed at how bad we played that I left feeling absolutely nothing. The Sydney game I was just pure angry. Really angry.

Nope, Monfries took his shot from 50 under pressure, Francis had no one in front of him, could of ran in all the way or at least kicked a normal punt, but decided to dribble it in what can only be described as the stupidest decision in finals football til Nick Riewoldt decided to play on from the goal square

Yep. I didn't mean it was the same scenario, I just meant he needed the same luck with the bounce. Sure it was a stupid decision, but he also took the wrap for stupid decisions someone else made. Still remember Francis kicking 3 goals in a game from a back pocket, I believe someone said it was a first when it happened, just don't ask me who we were playing or where