Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Vote 1 for the Janus "Tax the **** out of unions and religion because they are useless as **** on a bull" party.

A sure fire winner :p

Cma_pSJUIAE2xqJ.jpg:large

Let's continue the discussion of Labor's Medicare privatisation scare campaign when the Coalition tries to privatise Medicare.

The Libs don't have their jimmies rustled because it's bullshit, they have their jimmies rustled because it's correct.

There's several industries unions have definitely done their job and their continued campaigning is nothing short of selfish and detrimental to "jobs and growth", and as a general rule I'm a very pro union person.

Dem Holden factory workers on their EBA earning nearly triple the award wage...

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Tapatalk

I'm not offended by anyone in any movie. Tokenism however, when it is plain as day to see...
151209103057-star-wars-china-racism-poster-exlarge-169.jpg

Spot the difference. Does it look lie they backed their casting choice to the hilt when trying to appeal to a market not known for it's diversity?

Also, Feel basically had the same problem with ID4:2

You have identified a problem with China, not a problem with tokenism.

My partner has Crohns Disease. I put my hand up to jumping at shadows at any Medicare scare campaign. With the amount of scans and operations and such she needs to have regularly as she is at a higher risk of developing cancer (already had one last year when they found pre-cancerous cells), any cuts to that kind of thing would seriously break our budget.

Even if it is all BS, if any of the swing can be attributed to it, it shows how much Australia want it left alone and should send a message to whoever is governing.
They wernt bluffing,the fact that they where taking bulk builling of blood tests of was enough for me .

If people dont get better they dont pay tax.

Possibly an unpopular opinion... But how on earth does a party exist whose main and only policies seem to revolve around punishing paedophiles more in line with medieval times?

Preying on the Facebook parents that share shit like "share if you think this should be how paedophiles are treated!" over an image of something graphic, which is funnily enough closer the sharia law beat up they spend the rest of their time online shitting their pants over

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Tapatalk

And I agree that mistakes were made, but the clear imperative at the time was urgency, nobody knew what was coming next.

Barry Cassidy on ABC has just gone through the most up to date figures and last night's seat count for the coalition was too generous. ABC now has Labour ahead on confirmed seats, and one ahead at the end if they win every seat they currently lead.

The senate will have Hinch, maybe 2 Xenaphon, maybe 2 Lambie, and at least Hanson. Pauline Hanson. Turnbull is an idiot.
Either that or a cunning mad scientist type and wanting another election in 6 to 10 months time ie with a half senate going up for re-election and over half those extra senators will be eliminated because 6% can turn into a 7.7% in a double dissolution for a quota but not a 14.8% for a half senate quota under the new voting preference rules. The first 6 senators elected in each state get to serve 2 terms ie max of 6 years, and the second lot of 6 would have to stand for relection. Apart from a few of the greens and Xenephon, the rest of the minor party senators around Oz would have to run again. So you probably end up with Xenephon + 1 in new election, Hanson in Qld and maybe Lambie in Tassie. I don't reckon Hinch would get back in. The Greens probably would end up with 1 less senator based on last night's figures and the 2 main parties securing more senators.

Senator Derryn Hinch.

Lawd, we can only hope he rises to lambast a bill/senator/party and bellows:

"Shame, shame, shame."
Watch out pedophiles, you will be named and shamed and he wont be going to jail! He has parliamentary privilege now.

So who wins from here libs or lab?
If the seats in doubt stay with the same parties in the lead it's 73 Coalition, 72 ALP and 5 others. Others been Katter, McGowan and Xenophon leaning Right and Wilkie and Bandt to the Left. I'd expect both parties would offer independents the Speaker role and hope one takes. The ALP especially would go nowhere with their own Speaker if that count is accurate. They'd need all five independents to agree. And that's before the Senate. The Coalition if that's the count and they can get an independent Speaker leaving them requiring 2 of 4 other independents is about the only case that'd get any legislation that isn't agreed to by both major parties through.

Senate is looking something like 29 or 30 Coalition, 23-24 ALP, Greens 6-10 then the rest. ALP won't get anything through without the Greens plus at least half the rest. The Coalition needing the Greens or around two-thirds of the independents.

Again policies aside, the ALP is going to get nothing much through that's not agreed by both parties, the Coalition some, but not much. Whoever wins is going to be stuck with lots of pointless pork barrelling, whilst hard decisions that could upset voters (cut backs etc.) will go nowhere. Hello Southern European chaos. woot!

y'know, I've never actually heard of anyone being fined for not voting, has anyone else? ...
Many years ago one of my brothers-in-law forgot to vote and received a letter saying he would be fined unless he could provide a valid reason for not voting. At the bottom of the letter was a disclaimer "If you are of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander heritage please disregard this notice".

He wrote back saying that he was in the process of researching his heritage because he thought he might have Aboriginal ancestry and when he'd found out one way or the other he would get back to them. He never heard another thing.

.... I think it's only compulsory to vote if you're enrolled and I don't think it's compulsory to enroll. I could be wrong. .....
It is compulsory to enrol to vote if you are over 18.

If the seats in doubt stay with the same parties in the lead it's 73 Coalition, 72 ALP and 5 others. Others been Katter, McGowan and Xenophon leaning Right and Wilkie and Bandt to the Left. I'd expect both parties would offer independents the Speaker role and hope one takes. The ALP especially would go nowhere with their own Speaker if that count is accurate. They'd need all five independents to agree. And that's before the Senate. The Coalition if that's the count and they can get an independent Speaker leaving them requiring 2 of 4 other independents is about the only case that'd get any legislation that isn't agreed to by both major parties through.

Senate is looking something like 29 or 30 Coalition, 23-24 ALP, Greens 6-10 then the rest. ALP won't get anything through without the Greens plus at least half the rest. The Coalition needing the Greens or around two-thirds of the independents.

Again policies aside, the ALP is going to get nothing much through that's not agreed by both parties, the Coalition some, but not much. Whoever wins is going to be stuck with lots of pointless pork barrelling, whilst hard decisions that could upset voters (cut backs etc.) will go nowhere. Hello Southern European chaos. woot!
Yeah it looks like 73 to 72 + 5 or 72 all with Xenophon's Andrea Broadfoot winning Grey. We wont know for another 10 days I reckon. Nick might finally get his national pokies reform.

I'm continually surprised that in our preferential system there aren't far more independents. It is no risk preferencing labor and liberal behind a couple of independents or minor parties you agree with, but you stand to gain some nice electorate goodies if you are needed to form government.