The 'Recruit'

Strauchanie ?

7ncf.jpg

Almost busted my sides :D:thumbsu:

Great idea for a show I reckon.

There are plenty of gun country footballers out there who weren't in "the system" as 15-17 year olds and don't come under notice. Often not because of their ability level, simply because of their personal circumstances (significant travel, family stability, other sports). These footballers miss the boat initially and unless they are going to be prepared to go through the SANFL/WAFL/VFL grind for many years for less money than they get with their local club, never get noticed.

There are also plenty of 18 year old draft hopefuls who might narrowly miss out on being drafted and decide to give football away at that point as a serious career pursuit. Instead work/Uni and play some amateur or local footy for a few years then this show comes along.

It's not as though there are 120 players drafted every year who are AFL quality, and player No 121 is a hack who is nowhere near it.

Also might be a few 'old school' football types who got overlooked initially because they weren't supreme athletes at a time when 190cm running machines were in vogue. Now the game has swung back a little towards valuing genuine football skill and specialist roles (inside mids, small forwards, elite kicks).

The biggest issue many of them face will be fitness. The difference between elite and non-elite footballers would grow every year you are out of the system.

Crap idea , with the amount of scouts and levels they go to to find talent. Extremely unlikely there will be a hidden gem that would succeed at afl level

Plenty of fair players going around in country leagues. Many of the country leagues do offer better coin than WAFL or VFL.

Sounds Fantastic - I watch suburban footy each week at the highest local leagure standard (either VAFA or Div1 Eastern league) and there are lots of AFL+ standard players.

But I don't have FOXTEL so i need to bag this idea and say it is a show that will never work and I will never watch it.

p.s. I think the 190cm running machines are now back in vogue again as the game had sped up in the last couple of years.

I feel sorry for the bloke who wins it, chances are he is going to cop a lot of flak just for winning a comp and trying to live his dream.

Lewis Jetta and Isaac Smith may have been eligible at some stage would they have not?

Also why does the guy go straight on to the list, I guess its fair enough but also a father son style bidding system may have been more appropriate.

They should just bring back the club, the show from 20 odd yrs ago
"we're the hammerheads, dadadada......
Not that long ago, maybe 2001-2002ish. My club were supposed to get relegated that year, but didn't as the Hammerheads folded after winning the GF

People don't realize that Dane Zorko would have qualified for this.

NEAFL North has some very talented players that never have a hope.

I think the idea is good in theory, donno how it will turn out in practice.

My house mate is an example. gun u/18 player, regular 50+ possi games, elite endurance. Loved beer, ciggies and women too much.

Now player captain earning 800 clams a game. I'm not saying he'd get there even if he he was placed in a system for a couple years, but at 16/17/18 not everyone is sold on early bed times, hard work and no beers. At the end of the day, there are some that just don't want it ether. ala nathan ablett

Rich farmers and the coin is only for a few players.

Yeah, nah, still doesn't quite add up for me, with some of the figures you hear getting thrown around. How can "rich farmers" realistically afford to pay 2-3-4-5 guys the equivalent of a full time wage just for a couple of hours of footy each week?

It adds up - particularly in one-club towns where you've got regular supporters tipping in rain, hail or shine. I know in Beverley, most of the local players who run farms designate one or two paddocks where they give all profits to the club.

Salary cap restrictions are also a lot looser in WA country leagues. When Darren Bradshaw played for Boulder in the GFL a couple of years back, they set him up with a house, car and cushy mining job in addition to his match fees. He paid it back with a 100 goal season and biting a bloke's ear off in a bar fight. Make of that what you will.

I think the most a WAFL club is allowed to offer is a car.

It adds up - particularly in one-club towns where you've got regular supporters tipping in rain, hail or shine. I know in Beverley, most of the local players who run farms designate one or two paddocks where they give all profits to the club.

Salary cap restrictions are also a lot looser in WA country leagues. When Darren Bradshaw played for Boulder in the GFL a couple of years back, they set him up with a house, car and cushy mining job in addition to his match fees. He paid it back with a 100 goal season and biting a bloke's ear off in a bar fight. Make of that what you will.

I think the most a WAFL club is allowed to offer is a car.

Absolutely - I know a guy that is getting $500 in match payment and $30k of house renovations done for 3 seasons work.

There is plenty of $$$ in country leagues.

When its a good year on the farm and everyone is looking for a tax break . . . . . . . . .

The 'Recruit'