News The thylacine has returned!!!!! *Post 536*

Re: Thinking of you Thy

Must seem weird for you Dramoth - snow like crazy in Eng whilst we have floods in Qld and fires in Vic (and WA but to a lesser extent)

Welcome back Five and I am very saddened for your loss but I am very glad that you & your family are OK.

I have had this page open all day & I keep refreshing it in hope that the title of this thread will change to -
THY IS FINE !!!!!!!

Thank you FIVE for the updates as well and welcome back once again as you have been missed :)

All the best to your family.

I'm with Geelong Sicko, great camraderie, kudos for that and I also hope we soon hear positive news on your blues mate thylacine. :thumbsu:

I hope (and pray) that Thy is okay and focussing on the important things right now (which, unlike most other times, isn't footy or the internets).

Thy: you were one of the first people to welcome me to the site (at least I think it was a welcome :)), and your cutting wit is one of the lightbulbs that drew me to this board like a deranged moth.

I hope you and yours are doing well, you are looking out for your family and community (which are often the same thing), and once you have done that you will come and join us for more slagging of our foes on the Blues Board. You may have to change your name to Phoenix though.

Abandon all despair!

I must admit I rarely ever post anything on here but I do manage to read most of the stuff. I have always found Thy to be one of my favourite posters due to his very subtle wit and humour.
I can't wait for the moment I hear he is ok. I think it's obvious what regard he is held amongst us all on our board. Guys from a long way away my thoughts and prayers are with you all.

Must seem weird for you Dramoth - snow like crazy in Eng whilst we have floods in Qld and fires in Vic (and WA but to a lesser extent)

yeah it is... and cyclones as well...

It's frustrating seeing all the news about areas that you know so well or where your family is and not being able to find anything out apart from what they are releasing as news.

I have lived in a lot of places in Melbourne and Yarra Glen and Mt Evelyn have to be two of the most peaceful places ever...

And seeing all the devastation in the surrounding areas is breaking my heart at times as well as knowing that there are people there who I will know who are now homeless or even worse dead.

I chucked 20 bucks to the Red Cross appeal... but I am thinking that it might not be enough

Glad to hear your all safe and sound Five! Even better to hear you have a great band of people surrounding you to help you through these tough times!

As someone said earlier houses and other material items are replaceable but friends and family are irreplaceable!

All the best to you and your family chief!

PS: Keep the great ODN up to date on the striped tiger as he is the last of his kind! :(

Glad to hear your all safe and sound Five! Even better to hear you have a great band of people surrounding you to help you through these tough times!

As someone said earlier houses and other material items are replaceable but friends and family are irreplaceable!

All the best to you and your family chief!

PS: Keep the great ODN up to date on the striped tiger as he is the last of his kind! :(

Many of the great band of people are your incredible IGS family Chels :)

I am off to try the road block now - if they dont let me through I will go and get some hiking boots - bit short on footwear LOL, and hike in - will be keeping ODN informed of any news so that he will post for me. Hiking will take quite some time so we all will have to remain patient and keep everything crossed

ps Chels - did you know that McKinleyisgood now lives in Western Vic after picking up a teaching posn

gee, that just goes to show how loved and respected he is around here. if the thread hits 1000 posts (although there will be no need for it to reach that many posts as Thy will be back long before we reach the 1000 post mark) are the mods going to make a "Thinking of you Thy II"? surely not!
Won't be splitting or ending this thread until after Thy makes a reappearance.

Message from Five. Turned away at the first road block. Is now buying hiking boots and is going to leg it inside area.

I've told him to make sure there is no further danger to himself.

Message from Five. Turned away at the first road block. Is now buying hiking boots and is going to leg it inside area.

I've told him to make sure there is no further danger to himself.

Gosh it's so selfless of him to do that when he's got so much on his plate, what a good man. I hope he stays safe.

Howdy my old friends

I am very grateful to ODN for letting me try to help - looking for Thy (clearly a living legend as the interest in this thread suggests) has not only been on my mind like it has yours but also been something I can do something about

I apologize if I end up multi-posting instead of multi-quoting but I will admit to being pretty sleep deprived so bare with me

In regards to ODN's quote that i have emboldened - today they would not let me through - tomorrow I reckon I will make it as today I got through the first block as I had no other way to get the insurance assessor to my house - so tomorrow a little white lie about my 'stepbrother' Thy might get me there.

I have got off point - the collection of names of survivors (who may not have registered) only started in my area today as the army joined the check for bodies and took my name while I was there with the assessor

I will return shortly and keep reading posts and answer anything I can

We once had a crazy poster who used to tell us off for not thinking positively enuf and I am coming around to his way of thinking and I am believing the big fella is still with us.

PS I also think he adopted Thylacine as his name as he may be the last in his branch of his family - I have spoken to dozens of other branches and it is hard to believe that none of them know him - other than that Thy, your branch must be all the disconnected people with names in common with you - Not big on paying bills?
All the best 5man, good to hear you are safe.:thumbsu:;)

As much as people here want to know information, I certainly don't think Five should be potentially putting himself in danger or risk running foul of the law.

I know it is his choice of course but it concerns me greatly.

As much as people here want to know information, I certainly don't think Five should be potentially putting himself in danger or risk running foul of the law.

I know it is his choice of course but it concerns me greatly.
I don't think Five is doing this to please us, he is genuinely concerned and has been since the fires came through, long before he contacted me. He just happens to be in a position to know the area and get into the area. The primary focus is to see if Thy's house is standing. That will tell us an awful lot.

I don't know if there are still small fires in that area but I imagine nobody would have been allowed back in if there was. There only concerns would be other fires turning back but you would imagine the progress would be slower as most of the fuel for the fires have gone.

The other consideration here is that Five just needs to be doing something. It must be such a traumatic time and if he can keep busy and alleviate his fears at the same time, all the better.

I was alerted to an old thread where Thy said he lived alone due to his priorities, so it is unknown how many people are around to keep an eye out for him. Who knows, maybe we are the only ones looking?

this is getting harder and harder by the day and im not involved with any of it... feel so lost and feel as i cant do anything to help.... when ever you watch the fire shows tears flow . arg... freaks you out more when they say that hot weather is on the way next week and that the fires have not yet finished and may last another week or two...
come on Thy please give us some good news... we miss you buddy

I don't think Five is doing this to please us, he is genuinely concerned and has been since the fires came through, long before he contacted me. He just happens to be in a position to know the area and get into the area. The primary focus is to see if Thy's house is standing. That will tell us an awful lot.

I don't know if there are still small fires in that area but I imagine nobody would have been allowed back in if there was. There only concerns would be other fires turning back but you would imagine the progress would be slower as most of the fuel for the fires have gone.

The other consideration here is that Five just needs to be doing something. It must be such a traumatic time and if he can keep busy and alleviate his fears at the same time, all the better.

I was alerted to an old thread where Thy said he lived alone due to his priorities, so it is unknown how many people are around to keep an eye out for him. Who knows, maybe we are the only ones looking?

Hopefully not... but it will be a tragedy if it is...

ODN and Five, thanks so much for all of the updates. The way you are handling this under these circumstances is quite amazing and as I sit at my desk I raise my water bottle to you! Many have commented thus far about how concerned we all are. It is very weird how this BF Carlton board is very tight nit. In reality we are a bunch of strangers who know very little about each other outside of what is written on this board. I think for many of us it is a wonderful escape from our daily lives and it is when something like this happens that we all realise how important it is to us (some more than others HBF as i have just seen the amount of posts you have written!!:)) even outside of the football rhetoric.

Anyway, keep up the good work and here is hoping we have the happy ending with Thy that we all hope for, it will be like the 1999 Preliminary all over again! :thumbsu:

ST KILDA ruckman Ben McEvoy has dashed to the tiny town of Dederang to help his family prepare to fight threatening bushfires... oh god please dont let it be

Fantastic to hear that you and your family are all well Five. Life is the most important thing in life, and although you may have lost a great deal of precious possessions they are replaceable and will be stored in your memory forever, but you can not replace life which you were all so lucky to survive.

We are all here if you need anything.

News The thylacine has returned!!!!! *Post 536*