The truth about Melbourne

Adelaide has a pommy accent,especially northern Adelaide.It is notorious.Anyone from the northern suburbs who joins the army - the first thing they ask you at Kapooka is "are you a ****ing pommy or what?"

Yeah I've noticed that when I've been in Adelaide for work. Sounds really snobbish to me, but then I probably sound like a bogan leprechaun to them so it evens out.

Perth people pick up on hte melbourne accent really quickly too, because they speak so damn slowly over there (too much sun I reckon) we stand out like dogs balls.

Yeah I've noticed that when I've been in Adelaide for work. Sounds really snobbish to me, but then I probably sound like a bogan leprechaun to them so it evens out.

Perth people pick up on hte melbourne accent really quickly too, because they speak so damn slowly over there (too much sun I reckon) we stand out like dogs balls.

Yep A's as E's and vice versa.Gary Lyon is the worst i've heard for that.You're right it is a bit Irish!

Ever notice how some American New England accents are almost Australian for some words?

As the OP to this thread, there is another point I would like to add...Melbourne's dress sense. Having now worked in the city for a number of years, every day I females who are dressed pretty nicely for work, eg skirts, dresses or trouses, and yet they are wearing runners. I see it all the time. You see these pretty hot looking women dressed pretty nicely for their office job and yet they are wearing sandshoes lol. WTF? I know the runners are worn for comfort but the fashion sense is a shocker. I never really saw this in Adelaide.

You do realise they wear them only when they are walking from somewhere to somewhere else yeah?

at 2am i assume? cessna?
no east link

ringroad from epping to greensborough get to doncaster then hour drive on east link

one tihng that always shitted me about going to Perth and Adelaide si that there isn't many bogans around.

In Perth there's a lot of country folk, and heaps of rednecks and poms, but very few genuine suburban/city style bogans like you find in Melbourne.

In Adelaide I saw heaps of freaks and aboriginals, but no bogans.

Step your game up Adelaide and Perth.

one tihng that always shitted me about going to Perth and Adelaide si that there isn't many bogans around.

In Perth there's a lot of country folk, and heaps of rednecks and poms, but very few genuine suburban/city style bogans like you find in Melbourne.

You obviously weren't looking all that hard. Having said that, the traditional bogan (well what was a bogan in the 1980's and into the 90's), ripple soles, flanney, Escort Reds, tight jeans, Black singlet, Torana etc doesn't exist that much anymore. Reckon about 15 or so years, they were replaced with the Home Boy/ Wigger/ Gangster look outer suburbs types. Whilst essentially the same demographic, I always thought you kinda knew where you stood with the Classic Bogans, but with these new little homie punks, you're not quite sure. Maybe I'm just getting old...

You really ain't bright. Feel free to go back to Adelaide at any moment mate.

Once again I like Melbourne, but another thing that shits me is the terrible accents of the inhabitants. Their inability to pronounce the letter e is particularly annoying.

"Walcome (Welcome) to Malbun (Melbourne). Are you whall (well)? Malbun (Melbourne) is grouse (great) and mullyons (millions) times better than everywhere else, although I've only ever been to Casselmaine (Castlemaine). I used to live in Muulvan (Malvern), but now I live in Alwood (Elwood). We could go to the zoo and see an Alephant (Elephant) or take a Halicopter (Helicopter) ride around the city. Malbun (Melbourne) is the best. Wooornie (Shane Warne) rules. Let's go to the G (MCG) and have a pot (285ml glass) of VB (Local Swill)."
Seems like you are only speaking to Kiwis and idiots!

A lot of melb people pronounce the word 'school', as 'skeeyul' (but it flows as one syllable). Hear it on tv all the time.

^They might be walking to work as exercise. Or, simply are walking a distance too sore for business shoes to take care of.

yeah, nothing to do and filthy deros must be great :thumbsu:

the place is quiet... it's the most isolated city in the world, its not a place for a young people i agree, but for family/retired life or a chilled out lifestyle by an ocean and great weather, it's fantastic... even the girls there seem to put a bit more effort into what they wear when out in the Perth CBD on a sunny day than compared to the girls in the Melbourne CBD who many like to wear sweat pants

don't know what a dero is, so i can't comment

\

* Melbourne's traffic is horrendous. It keeps on building freeway after freeway, and charges you for the privelege, and in the end, the traffic is just as bad. If you plan to go anywhere by car withing a 30 kilometre radius, give yourself at least two hours driving time to get there and back. For every additional 30 kilometres, add another two hours or pro rata it for any kilometre part thereof.
mate, japan try to cram all the traffic of a freeway onto a little tiny road. you can never pick up speed or even think about using cruise controll.

I drove around Europe and America for a year
when I came back to Melbourne peak hour seemed like a country drive.

If you want traffic in Oz try peak hour Syd. or Gold Coast

:eek:

i stayed in Elizabeth once, and only once

I'm from Melbourne and I know I do this myself, but I've been away so long I really notice it in people, and when i go home to Melbourne, it annoys me deeply.

Melburnians always finish their sentence on a rising inflection, so that everything sounds like a question.

Damn Aboriginals, having the nerve to live somewhere... :rolleyes:

When did I say it was a bad thing that I saw them?

Was just a bit wierd for a Melbournian to see them in the city is all. We have like a handful that hang out at the Church near Flinders St, but apart from that they've been largely wiped out in Victoria.