The Vent Thread

Without wanting to make this thread into another Dockerland thread, I'm not arguing that it's moderated heavily, but I think it's a good thing. Why do you think so many people rate Dockerland as a great read but not much good for posting? Because only the very best material gets through the editing floor. There's nothing like the "JLo is a cancer" threads or the OMG ROFLMAO YOU GOT PWNED crap and my god am I grateful for that. BF is great if you can wade through the half of it that is baseless rumours, trolling, pessimism and uninformed opinions.

I agree.

C'mon guys, this was just meant to be a "let it all out in a safe and friendly environment" type thing.

You know, "out with the hate, in with the love"... ;)

No need to attack other people for having a say on what is or is not annoying the living crap out of them.

Noone is setting themselves up to be "the expert" - just letting out some frustration at the way ths season is panning out.

I don't love the club any less.

But by christ it is frustrating me this year. :o

Many of the young guys have not been getting a go because they aren't ready. Sometimes over the last few seasons we've had to stick with more mature players because throwing a Rob Warnock, Garrick Ibbotson or Marcus Drum into the deep end was akin to feeding them to the sharks.
On the flipside, you don't know which players love the big stage until they are given a go. Some players thrive given a chance, and you don't know who they are until you try them. Some will match any level required, without being a standout in the level below. Again, you don't always know who they are.

And if young guys aren't given a go regardless, it creates a bad attitude, which I think eventuated under CC with his absolute refusal to blood the young guys.

My vent... the club's seeming perfection in cutting guy's lunches. You only have to look at the Tarrant rationale to see that. Getting us a player to help win us a premiership... but forgetting the player that got us within a win of a GF (I know he didn't play finals but...). Nice way to ____ off a genuinely developing up and comer.:thumbsu:

Same with Sandi. As far as I'm concerned, on merit, our #1 ruck spot should still be up for grabs. But the contract given to Sandi precludes that competition, given he still hasn't produced to that level, it gets rid of any incentive for anyone competing for that same position, it reeks of favourites and rewards mediocrity. :thumbsu:

And we talk of a bad culture. :rolleyes:

Rob Warnock, Garrick Ibbotson or Marcus Drum into the deep end was akin to feeding them to the sharks.

Our favourite neighbours have bitten the bullet and elevated an 18yo rookie (from the NSW scholarship system) to make his debut against Kangas. Armstrong has been left out. They play their kids to test em out and leave out the hacks. We persist with our hacks. I want to se Dunn elevated and played soon and Head given game time. Why have them on a list at all if we can't do that with our so called injury crisis.

I'm pissed off about supporting Freo from Melbourne. It's so ____ing frustrating especially when you have hacks like Robert Walls and Mike Sheahan to sink the boot into you every couple of weeks.

I'm pissed off about going to the "few" games I can and seeing crap and unacceptable efforts.

I'm pissed off about getting told off by my parents for abusing the TV when Freo are playing. I have every right to vent frustration (according to them I need to shut up)

I'm pissed off with the people (i.e media and BF Posters who have NFI) sinking the boot into Mark Harvey. I'm a big fan of his and am prepared to give him time.

I'm pissed off with half-hearted efforts from the players. You're playing AFL football and are supposed to be professional. How about you show some guts and actually play hard, attcking football.

I could go on but I'll be here all night typing my vent. Carry on

I'm pissed off that people keep crying about Mark Johnson. He definately wouldn't be among our ten biggest recruiting **** ups. Heck, he's probably not even in the top 30 stuff ups our club has made.

I'm disappointed that the players still go missing for periods of each game.

I'm not impressed by the fact that Harvey has been making excuses of late. Just say the players were shit then flog them on the track like he did at the start of the week.

I'm angry that Schwab is staying until October.

I'm furious that bigkev bleeds purple keeps tipping shit horses, and that I keep backing them.

I'm pissed off that people keep crying about Mark Johnson. He definately wouldn't be among our ten biggest recruiting **** ups. Heck, he's probably not even in the top 30 stuff ups our club has made.

I'm disappointed that the players still go missing for periods of each game.

I'm not impressed by the fact that Harvey has been making excuses of late. Just say the players were shit then flog them on the track like he did at the start of the week.

I'm angry that Schwab is staying until October.

I'm furious that bigkev bleeds purple keeps tipping shit horses, and that I keep backing them.

I agree. There are no excuses. If Harves is to fix our "culture" issue, then the first thing he needs to do it come out and say it how it is. Last weeks effort was simply not good enough.

By all means back up the blokes 100% at the club behind closed doors - but he has to put them on notice and say it bluntly. Lift your game, or you're a candidate for delisting at the end of the year.

I agree. There are no excuses. If Harves is to fix our "culture" issue, then the first thing he needs to do it come out and say it how it is. Last weeks effort was simply not good enough.

By all means back up the blokes 100% at the club behind closed doors - but he has to put them on notice and say it bluntly. Lift your game, or you're a candidate for delisting at the end of the year.

Wouldn't it be better to back them up in public and blast them in private rather than the other way around?

Does that mean you think our bad start to the season is purely Mark Harvey's fault?

My point was that if the Fremantle Football Club was run the way that most people around here wanted it run we would be -1/8. Picking players based on age is totally ******ed and advocates for this method are a waste of perfectly good oxygen. I swear if another person says "the season is over, we may as well just play the kids and go for draft picks" I will set Brock onto them.

Spot on Big Kev:thumbsu:

Im still pissed off from the round 1 team, it was probably the worst I have ever felt coming into a new football season. The time of the year when there should be the most excitment all I felt was "same old same old".

Im pissed off that Harvey and co keep picking McManus, I dont care what people say there is no way he should be playing this weekend. When was his last game for Fremantle considered above par?

Im pissed off we dont play Gilmore in the guts to try and get some clearances, we were after tall running midfielders coming into the season and then we play Happy as a backup ruckman/backman. DUMB!

Im pissed off we dont play with an open forward line, as a result of this it makes it much harder for our mids to spot an open forward.

Im pissed off that when a forward gets open the mids dont have the skills to hit them on the chest.

Yet I still love the club and will turn up to every home game...akin to your girlfriend cheating on you time and time again but staying with her.

Wouldn't it be better to back them up in public and blast them in private rather than the other way around?

There comes a time when we just have to come out and say publicly that their efforts are not good enough, and that careers are on the line. Otherwise it just looks like we're making excuses.

I think these players have been mollycoddled for too long.

We've all had our gripes about players geting a game on name rather than form, and how WAFL form stands for nought. Well it's time these players realised that they need to lift, and perhaps a public kick up the backside is what's required.

Remember when CC had a go at Hayden for ducking his head against North IIRC. (Or perhaps it was just for simply trying to mark from behind instead of punching?) In any case, he said that player's careers are at stake and they have to learn fast in this comp.

I reckon a bit of the Malcolm Blight "Pathetic Pitman" is in order. Let these players know we will not settle for anything less than 100%.

I tell you what: that loss to Melbourne has still got me fired up :mad:

That's what I thought. You don't hear other coaches flogging their players in public, if anything but to give that sort of pleasure to those vultures armed with mics, recorders and accrods.

I am just pissed off that every morning I wake up I come back to this nightmare of a year for footy.

I just can not put into words the dissapointment I am feeling. Alas I will continue to go to the games as I always have, but the spark has left me for now, after so much anticipation for this year, it has just gone in one half of football. Geelong gutted me the other was just too much for me to even get angry at, now I am left with an empty feeling.

I figure if the players dont have their heart in it, then why should I? I have friends from interstate over and was going to take my leave for a couple of hours for the game but after the Melbourne game, would rather hang with those guys instead.

Quality mids who went 1st round from pick 5 onwards:

07 - Palmer #7
06 - Boak #5, Selwood #7
05 - Pendlebury #5, Jones #12,
04 - Lewis #7
02 - Salopek #6
01 - Bartel #8, Dal Santo #13
00 - S.Burgoyne #12

Some decent players there that prove you don't need to finish bottom 4 to find quality. And that's not even counting the guys who go later in the draft like Mitchell, Cornes, Kerr, etc...

Yeah spose..... but it is of course easier the earlier you get your turn.

I am also pissed off at the "we've come close to beating teams in the top 4" comment. What infuriates me most about this is it is said in the face of the facts that we have been flogged by Richmond at home and given the bottom side their first win for the season after leading by more than 50 points. AND we didn't beat the teams that we came close to that are in the top four. PLEASE DON'T USE THIS AS AN EXCUSE ANYMORE!!!!! IT IS RIDICULOUS AND IT PISSES ME OFF!!!

/end vent

On the flipside, you don't know which players love the big stage until they are given a go. Some players thrive given a chance, and you don't know who they are until you try them. Some will match any level required, without being a standout in the level below. Again, you don't always know who they are.

And if young guys aren't given a go regardless, it creates a bad attitude, which I think eventuated under CC with his absolute refusal to blood the young guys.

My vent... the club's seeming perfection in cutting guy's lunches. You only have to look at the Tarrant rationale to see that. Getting us a player to help win us a premiership... but forgetting the player that got us within a win of a GF (I know he didn't play finals but...). Nice way to ____ off a genuinely developing up and comer.:thumbsu:

Same with Sandi. As far as I'm concerned, on merit, our #1 ruck spot should still be up for grabs. But the contract given to Sandi precludes that competition, given he still hasn't produced to that level, it gets rid of any incentive for anyone competing for that same position, it reeks of favourites and rewards mediocrity. :thumbsu:

And we talk of a bad culture. :rolleyes:

Yep, exactly! Our culture stems from rewarding mediocrity. Sandi's big contract was given to him on the PROMISE of what he MAY do in future. He has not yet earnt it IMO. (geelong game aside, he played well then) I would like to see Warnock in the team just to keep Sandi honest.

My vent is that i support a club who only once have made me look forward to football season. In 2007 i looked forward to the season after our great finish in '06, only to be dissapointed. This season i didn't expect much, but we have again gone and reached new lows, choking a 50 point lead and handing a team that looked like they would go winless for the season their first win. It seems Freo have to make every mistake you can think of before (if they ever) get it together.

It's a shame my first post is in a 'vent' thread, but I'm really disappointed in the number of our players who don't bleed purple. Some of the imports need a big Freo-culture lesson, and to start playing for the jumper instead of their inflated egos and salaries :thumbsd:.

Today one of us needs to stay home with a sick youngest child.

As always in a situation like this, there is a discussion over who stays and who goes to the game. Only this time, we're both "baggsing" the "stay at home" option - whereas anytime in the past we would have been arguing over which one drew the short straw and was the unfortunate one that had to stay home.

I'm peed off that my enthusiasm has been dulled so much that I don't even want to go today. :(

How about how bad Melbourne actually are (watching them getting pumped by Adelaide).

Yep that's just making me depressed all over again.

I seriously think we will be the only team to lose to them all year. How humiliating.