Things bogans like

LOL! Nice work soupofficial!

although, while I'm impressed that you guys got on the news I must say is a sad indictment on the state of journalism that it rates as news. I wonder if this is the sort of quality journalism we will all have to pay for to access in the not too distant future?
wrygrin.gif

Good to see that Big Footy is first for breaking news in Melbourne, Australia and around the world. Who needs a paper- just read BF :D

^^ Wouldn't surprise me if some lazy journo saw the thread and decided to make a story out of it. Happens all the time at a drugs forum I peruse, whenever there is a slow news day some tabloid rag picks up a thread and prresents it as the next sensationalist drug craze coming to kill your children.

Oh, man, I laughed so hard at the following part:

Six Melbourne men calling themselves Michael Jayfox, E. Chas McSween, Intravenus DeMilo, Ben Chapleski, Hunter McKenzie-Smythe and Lance Romance claim responsibility for the site.

LOL! Nice work soupofficial!

although, while I'm impressed that you guys got on the news I must say is a sad indictment on the state of journalism that it rates as news. I wonder if this is the sort of quality journalism we will all have to pay for to access in the not too distant future?
wrygrin.gif

What a good outcome, publicity-wise! And many thanks to you all for providing the crucial initial support to the blog.
The journo in question initially found us through our twitter page, but it's a fact that bigfooty was a key source of visitors in the first few days when hardly anyone was visiting.
We have many more entries still to come. We'll be addressing the odd bogan phenomenon that is the spring racing carnival on Monday and Tuesday.

Playing in premierships for Port Adelaide and assaulting people in airports.

What a good outcome, publicity-wise! And many thanks to you all for providing the crucial initial support to the blog.
The journo in question initially found us through our twitter page, but it's a fact that bigfooty was a key source of visitors in the first few days when hardly anyone was visiting.
We have many more entries still to come. We'll be addressing the odd bogan phenomenon that is the spring racing carnival on Monday and Tuesday.

Since you seem like such a nice guy I might take it upon myself to start promoting this on other forums I use.

With the misspelt bogan names, you could do a whole section on the Jadyn Leskie case, with the mum Belynda and her sister Mylynda or whatever the hell she was called. They hit the news at a critical time for boganism, you can almost think of them as a transitional phase between the palaeo-bogan and the neo-bogan.

like the entry on bogan clothing... perhaps you could write one on the evolution of bogan clothing... from the Pop your collar phase, followed by the flouro phase...

look forward to reading your future entries...

The thing I don't like about a lot of bogans is their fear of anything foreign, and that doesn't just include race.

I pity their xenophobia.

You're obviously talking about the ignorant bogans. I pity them, but at the same time I envy them. Life is so simple. If they have a job that pays the bills and allows them to buy a carton of beer each weekend as well as a flatscreen tv, they're happy. A simple woman with a kid and a dog and they're happy. Ignorance is bliss, and I often wish I was ignorant.

I hear you. I look at some of the folk I went to school with on FB and have feelings of envy sometimes when I see what they post on each others pages.

Not sure if anyone has said this one yet, but Ministry of Sound compilations would have to rate, surely?

A lot of people on the news.com.au site are referring to the stereotypical bogan as being the true bogan, but that kind of misses the point. They have no pretence of trying to maintain an image or one-upmanship, they just go about their biz.

Anyone who grew up in Zone 2 (or 3) knows the Bogue. Was one themselves? grew up with one? had one hang shit on them? left a flaming **** in a bag on the bonnet of one of their VT's?

Conspicuous consumption, or "big stuff", or keeping up with the Joneses, has to be on the agenda. Probably as an offshoot of "new shit".

Why does the image of a polo-shirted sales rep come to mind? Popular at school, shit academically, left his TAFE course in management halfway through and thinks it's cool to colour his hair.

TISM had a song about the "bogue"....what are ya?.....you're a......

The Bogan is the most powerfull political force in Australia
Both sides of Politics can not win government without courting them
Howards Battlers= Rudds Working Familys
Sad days indeed when policy has to be directed to win the hearts and minds of Nationalistic,self obsessed,dog in the manger,braindead rascists.
Tampa,Cronulla,Hansen,tough on refugees,Middle Class Welfare,Getting the Grand Prix to Victoria,tough on dole bludgers and single mothers and those on disability,Climate Change sceptecism are all ways the Liberal Party has tried to woo the Bogan Vote.
Labor has to steer carefully when formulating refugee policy in fear that they may offend the rascists they require to keep them in office.They also have to appear not too aloof or cultural incase it alienates them,maintaing middle class welfare is now mandatory,remove it and die electorally .

Sad sad days for Australia unless this can be altered and I cant see how in the short term.Longterm it will be Old Ex Hippy Pensioners pulling the strings.

Not sure if anyone has said this one yet, but Ministry of Sound compilations would have to rate, surely?

This is definitely on our to do list. The bogan thinks Ministry Of Sound is its own genre.

Melbourne cup day special edition just went onto the site a few mins ago. I'm not sure of the ones that'll be appearing during the rest of the week. There's one in the queue about killing stuff, and one I wrote on the weekend about energy drinks. Thanks for reading and contributing guys, it's very unexpected to get an audience of this size.

The Bogan is the most powerfull political force in Australia
Both sides of Politics can not win government without courting them
Howards Battlers= Rudds Working Familys
Sad days indeed when policy has to be directed to win the hearts and minds of Nationalistic,self obsessed,dog in the manger,braindead rascists.
Tampa,Cronulla,Hansen,tough on refugees,Middle Class Welfare,Getting the Grand Prix to Victoria,tough on dole bludgers and single mothers and those on disability,Climate Change sceptecism are all ways the Liberal Party has tried to woo the Bogan Vote.
Labor has to steer carefully when formulating refugee policy in fear that they may offend the rascists they require to keep them in office.They also have to appear not too aloof or cultural incase it alienates them,maintaing middle class welfare is now mandatory,remove it and die electorally .

Sad sad days for Australia unless this can be altered and I cant see how in the short term.Longterm it will be Old Ex Hippy Pensioners pulling the strings.

If compulsory voting was removed you may have a chance, as most elections are on Saturday and bogans are still comatose from drinking Melbourne Bitter

Double negatives: "I didn't do nuthin'!"

Stretch Hummers