Society & Culture Things in life you just don't understand - Part 5

And even if you were poor you could buy a unit somewhere at least. Now, you're just screwed. Keeping in mind the cost of petrol if you have to commute a lot then you're never getting ahead anywhere.

If I was a financial advisor I'd be encouraging young people to either start selling drugs or get an only fans. If you leave uni without enough for a house deposit you may as well just live in your car.

And even if you were poor you could buy a unit somewhere at least. Now, you're just screwed. Keeping in mind the cost of petrol if you have to commute a lot then you're never getting ahead anywhere.

If I was a financial advisor I'd be encouraging young people to either start selling drugs or get an only fans. If you leave uni without enough for a house deposit you may as well just live in your car.

i tried starting an only fans and like a lot of businesses i tried giving away free samples to give the public a taste of what they would be getting for their money but apparently sending hundreds of people unsolicited pictures of your dong is classed as 'harassment'

Or move to a regional area where there’s been stuff all Covid lock downs, shit loads of work and you can still buy a 4 bedroom house for 500k.

i hear that all the time but it's not a real answer. there is shit loads of certain kinds of work. there are heaps of careers where moving regional means it is extremely hard to find work, or if you did you're sacrificing money and career prospects to do so.

In Victoria at least regional places like Geelong, Bendigo and Ballarat went insane with housing prices.

When I lived in England you were already seeing cases of people commuting to London from Bristol which is an insane amount of travel each day.

Move to the country and you can establish yourself with a basic job and get a foot in the door.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

I had to google what 'Inspo' meant, yeah that's bad. That's even worse than 'selfie', 'my bad', 'LOL', 'SMH, 'Meh', 'Whatevs', 'Obvies' and the absolute worst - 'brekky'.

had never heard of inspo before it was mentioned here

Mate, these cars are like 50k at the bottom, most would be in the 60k range and up. At some point... it's not responsible? It shouldn't always boil down to a 'lol ok boomer'.

The change in car culture has been one that the companies are loving because consumers are spending more than ever.

What age group are you talking about?

When I was 17 I bought my first car for $1000 with my own money. COVID tax on used cars aside you can still do that now, adjusted for inflation. Some friends were lucky enough to have cars bought for them, but we're talking about a 5 year old Hyundai Excel or Ford Laser which is hardly cutting edge motoring. I have noticed over time more and more young people being given better and better cars by their parents. Not sure if that's anecdotal or a function of boomers/gen Xers becoming wealthier over the last 20 years and more financially able to buy cars for their kids. I would never have thought of asking my parents for $5,000 in 2000 but in 2010 or 2015 it wouldn't have been as big a deal.

For people say 18-25 how much you can spend on cars is usually a function of how much someone will lend you. If you've got a $60k Ford Ranger then you must be doing something that pays enough for a bank to give you a $60k car loan which is going to be somewhere upwards of $300 a week in repayments. I would think you'd need a full time wage to do that. I've been working full time for 15 years and have never owned a $60k car and am not likely to in a hurry.

Speaking from my own experience all money I spent on cars as a student had no real impact on getting a house. But I never had a car loan or spent more than I earned or anything. Once I started working full time I had grown out of car stuff for the most part and worked a couple of years before deciding to look at houses. Would be pretty depressing starting saving for a house at 17 earning $15 an hr doing 10 hours a week. Pints to drink and girls to be awkward in front of at that age.

Never mind the cost of petrol, sitting in traffic for an hour each way is soul destroying. At least if you can sit on a train for 15 stops you can get your phone out and play candy crush or start a twitter beef with Kevin Durant or whatever.

My advice to younglings is that you're a long time dead. Property is already bullshit expensive so if you are comfortable at home stay at home. If you are ready to move out, start with a share house. 'Rent money is dead money' is boomer nuffery. Bank interest is dead money. If you aren't paying down principal or your house value isn't going up you aren't getting ahead. Go and be a pretentious vanlife kent if that floats your boat. Houses aren't going anywhere. Unless they are Sydney apartments.

Syrups in coffee

Mumma mia
Italian Pizza GIF

You shouldn't have to uproot, change your whole life and move 150km away just to afford a house.

Some people think anyone can just quit a job and relocate at the drop of a hat.

You shouldn't have to uproot, change your whole life and move 150km away just to afford a house.

Some people think anyone can just quit a job and relocate at the drop of a hat.

You dont have to move 150kms away - move 10kms-20kms-30kms - plenty of housing going up 30kms out of melbourne.....

otherwise, for those who say 'but i dont want to live 30kms from the city', then rent and stop complaining, prices in and around the city arent going to be $600k ever.....EVER

Are people really still trying do the “it’s the travel and avo on toast that’s stopping today’s kids buying a house”.

Really?

You think there's absolutely no middle ground between that, and maybe, maybe, discretional spending amongst youth is greater proportionally than it has ever been?

like young local footballers who 'cant afford' to pay their footy fees but can spend plenty on a few pingers and a shit load of grog every saturday night. Used to shit me up the wall watching club volunteers chase them up week after week and them basically shitting in their face saying 'i cant afford it this week'

which is kind of the point
its much easier to blame the kids for their own situation than to take any responsibility yourself and push for something to be done about it

much like people lamenting (to a point right) screen time and children (kids spend too much time on devices). but responsibility also needs to be that of the parents, not just its the kids fault

I think the middle ground isn’t even close to the middle (and I’m a 35 year old that just recently bought my first house, without any help from parents).

I can appreciate the very very lucky position I was in to have a very well paid job and a partner who also had a very well paid job, we waited to have kids and still had to move much further than our parents ever did.

Compare that to say my wife’s Aunty, who had a gap year, came home and worked in a bank for a few years then got the deposit for a 2 bedder in Footscray off working 3 days a week.

I think young people now spend their money elsewhere because their own home is so far out of reach that they may as well enjoy life in a different way.

like young local footballers who 'cant afford' to pay their footy fees but can spend plenty on a few pingers and a shit load of grog every saturday night. Used to shit me up the wall watching club volunteers chase them up week after week and them basically shitting in their face saying 'i cant afford it this week'

that happens a lot?

I think the middle ground isn’t even close to the middle (and I’m a 35 year old that just recently bought my first house, without any help from parents).

I can appreciate the very very lucky position I was in to have a very well paid job and a partner who also had a very well paid job, we waited to have kids and still had to move much further than our parents ever did.

Compare that to say my wife’s Aunty, who had a gap year, came home and worked in a bank for a few years then got the deposit for a 2 bedder in Footscray off working 3 days a week.

I think young people now spend their money elsewhere because their own home is so far out of reach that they may as well enjoy life in a different way.
I grew up in Malvern which is pretty swish, my neighbours were a printer and a seamstress and my best friend who lived just up the road parent's were a teacher and a stay at home mum. There is no way the modern equivalent of those people would get a look in in that suburb now.