Things That Shit Me the Eighteenth

20% better. Have walked a lot
Was like a turtle last night on my back and couldn’t roll over.
Painkillers helping
going to watch a movie pacing the lounge
None of the painkillers have done anything other than make me drowsy.

When you look online for something and find it at a discounted price, and then you go to the store and it's a different price. You show them the online price and you get told they can't match the online price.

That’s no good mate, hope it’s feeling better today. Is it disc related? I’m getting a lumbar injection into my l4 l5 on Thursday hoping it relieves my issues.

Yeh 4/5 was the issue and would be same again

I've also had problems with my L4/L5. It caused sciatica down my right leg. The pain was excruciating. I was lucky I only needed drugs/physio/exercise.

All the best to you both.

When you look online for something and find it at a discounted price, and then you go to the store and it's a different price. You show them the online price and you get told they can't match the online price.
Then you have to buy it online but the delivery cost brings it up to or over the store price 🤨

I've also had problems with my L4/L5. It caused sciatica down my right leg. The pain was excruciating. I was lucky I only needed drugs/physio/exercise.

All the best to you both.
It’s a different sort of pain and yeah it’s excruciating but as soon as I lie down it goes away which I guess is a good thing. I’ve just started seeing a physio and he’s got me doing core exercises, unfortunately I can’t do much else as sciatica flares up so quickly

Leaning into being a massive tightarse now I bought a $7 ticket for the Ess/Carl game, yet you gotta pay $3.80 service fee. Cheeky fkers

Complaints about a $10.80 footy ticket.

200.gif

*won't

People. businesses etc. love saying they can't do something because it shifts the tone of the conversation. Pretty common if you ask 'will you match this price?' that the response will be 'sorry we can't'. My previous bank "couldn't" do a lot of things until I started a refinance application with new one. Then all of a sudden they "could" offer me the same interest rate and the same cashback etc.

It's 2025 so I think we should be past the point of "internet prices" for things. Sure some things aren't stocked in stores and are sold only via warehouses or third party sellers but if a TV is $1000 at JB Hifi then it should be $1000 online and in store. If you can get a cheaper price from Appliances Online that don't have physical stores great go do that.

People having to take photos of everything. Any opportunity to take a photograph really annoys me for some reason. I deliberately don’t take photos whilst on holiday as I hate showing people photos.

I’ve been to a lot of places and I prefer to take it in via observation. When I return and people want to see photos I tell them I don’t have any and they are gobsmacked.

No split bills I totally get and support

There's a local cafe I occasional go to and on my last two visits the staff have ended up being tied up for extended periods due to tables wanting to go the split bill option, items left unpaid and no one being willing to owning up to it being theirs or offering to pay

If a group going out for a meal want to go the split bill option, ask for the bill to be bought to the table & work it out amongst yourselves, exchange funds as needed and then one person pays. Or agree to split the bill equally amongst yourselves type things

Alternately, find places that still offer the QR code ordering where you can each pay as you order, or venues that allow you to pay as you order - either with EFTPOS at table, up at the bar etc

People having to take photos of everything. Any opportunity to take a photograph really annoys me for some reason. I deliberately don’t take photos whilst on holiday as I hate showing people photos.

I’ve been to a lot of places and I prefer to take it in via observation. When I return and people want to see photos I tell them I don’t have any and they are gobsmacked.

You don't have to show them.
You can keep your photos for yourself.

I don't like people posting photos etc hey look where I am.
Well where is the photo taken and how did you get there?

The local Cafe can get stuffed.
Took Mrs R and her olds there for dinner when they were open late.
I was the only one who order6a drink they had water.They didn't like that.
I asked early on if the discount was OK as I have the entertainment book deals.
We had dinner and sweets but they treated us like dirt.

I even asked if I could buy a whole lemon tart before Christmas they complained how hard was to make.

The Cafe up the road was better they have a drive thou.
I walked thou with my dogs and they go ohh walk thou.i asked if it was ok if I could get a coffee and cake and sit out the front and they were happy with that.

I used to take lots of photos and put them on social media, then over time I took fewer and fewer and posted even fewer publicly. If I see or do something interesting I might take photos but 99% of the stuff people post just isn't interesting and I am not special that I am excluded from that. It was a novelty once but I think I've seen the same generic photos from Europe 100s of times now.

People have also lost the ability to do something without documenting it. I have nothing to show for any of the concerts/festivals I went to other than some old stubby holders and the odd t-shirt and that's fine. The enjoyment was attending, not being able to prove I was there.

I used to take lots of photos and put them on social media, then over time I took fewer and fewer and posted even fewer publicly. If I see or do something interesting I might take photos but 99% of the stuff people post just isn't interesting and I am not special that I am excluded from that. It was a novelty once but I think I've seen the same generic photos from Europe 100s of times now.

People have also lost the ability to do something without documenting it. I have nothing to show for any of the concerts/festivals I went to other than some old stubby holders and the odd t-shirt and that's fine. The enjoyment was attending, not being able to prove I was there.

I like looking at some old photos at places we have been over the years.

some places I done even remember.

first time we went to Wineglass bay there wasn't a big lookout like there is now.

posting them on socials is ok.

I lost some pics went putting them on the HD don't know where they went.
I can go and save them from where I posted them e.g. FB but cant save vids tho.

My previous bank "couldn't" do a lot of things until I started a refinance application with new one. Then all of a sudden they "could" offer me the same interest rate and the same cashback etc.
I've been on both sides on the phone with this little song and dance and while I am extremely good at it, I'd rather it not be a thing at all.

That being said, $2000 or so in cash back (in 120 days after accepting the new interest rate ofc) is an okay outcome from 45 or so minutes on the phone with an admittedly very pleasant person just doing their job.

No split bills I totally get and support

There's a local cafe I occasional go to and on my last two visits the staff have ended up being tied up for extended periods due to tables wanting to go the split bill option, items left unpaid and no one being willing to owning up to it being theirs or offering to pay

If a group going out for a meal want to go the split bill option, ask for the bill to be bought to the table & work it out amongst yourselves, exchange funds as needed and then one person pays. Or agree to split the bill equally amongst yourselves type things

Alternately, find places that still offer the QR code ordering where you can each pay as you order, or venues that allow you to pay as you order - either with EFTPOS at table, up at the bar etc

It used to be that everyone had cash and most people would throw in more than what they owed, such as rounding up from $22 to $25. To maybe leave a tip or cover for a forgotten item.

But no-one uses cash any more. Split bills can get a bit tricky with 4 or more people. Personally, I have no problem paying up front for what I order.

I've been on both sides on the phone with this little song and dance and while I am extremely good at it, I'd rather it not be a thing at all.

That being said, $2000 or so in cash back (in 120 days after accepting the new interest rate ofc) is an okay outcome from 45 or so minutes on the phone with an admittedly very pleasant person just doing their job.

Definitely. Loan applications are a complete **** around so you would prefer not to do it, but if you have a $500,000 loan then every 0.1% is another $500 out of your pocket each year. Banks seem to think that if you are paying 6% and someone else offers you 5% that if they offer you 5.8% that will make you stay. They also do weird shit like refer to account holders as customers. I am not a customer, you aren't providing goods and services. You lend me money and I pay you interest, or you hold my money and pay me interest. That's the extent of the relationship.