Society & Culture Things you do/did that you probably think no one else does the sequel; More Things

Why confine this method to cake? Have you seen the movie Tom Jones (1963)? Set in 1749. There’s a banquet scene where the diners spear their food - meat, bread - with knives in the manner you describe.

Not sure it’s the done thing three hundred years on though.
IM TOM JONES!

Does anyone else keep every single Allen key/hex key they get from flat packs? :think:

I have full proper metric and imperial sets (which I actually use to assemble stuff) but also keep all the ragtag one-offs that come in the boxes from IKEA, etc.

Does anyone else keep every single Allen key/hex key they get from flat packs? :think:

I have full proper metric and imperial sets (which I actually use to assemble stuff) but also keep all the ragtag one-offs that come in the boxes from IKEA, etc.
I used to up to a point. Now I'm at a point where I've got all my bases covered

I now use my hex key set any time I need to use Allen keys.

I just eat straight out of the frying pan, wok, oven tray
george costanza eating GIF

Paper/plastic plates, disposable cutlery, no dishes!

Use foil on oven trays, liner in air fryer, so easy.
My dad is very precious with the ceramic hotplate on his new bbq so covers it in baking paper to cook chicken.

I've long been a fan of what I call the 'executive lunch': cracking open a tin of tuna and consuming directly over the sink. Only need to wash a fork when you're done.

I figured out a way to get free sausages at my sons hockey. The canteen is where you pay, they give you a bit of bread in a yellow serviette and then you go to the barbecue to get the sausage. So I figure all I need to do is get a loaf of bread and some yellow serviettes, go straight up to the barbie and collect free snags!

Note that I would never do this, I feel like it's poor form to steal from a local sporting club run by volunteers etc etc, I'm not sure why I think of shit like this ha ha

Bunnings you could never do this, every one I've been to they give you the snag as you pay, so no dice there.

I figured out a way to get free sausages at my sons hockey. The canteen is where you pay, they give you a bit of bread in a yellow serviette and then you go to the barbecue to get the sausage. So I figure all I need to do is get a loaf of bread and some yellow serviettes, go straight up to the barbie and collect free snags!
You could even just ask that they don't cook them! Get the sausages, go straight home and put them in the fridge. Snags for DAYS!

I feel like that would draw attention to myself "hey why is that bloke getting raw sausages on his bread", might look a bit weird, but thanks for the suggestion.

if you really want free food*, just go to a hospital around meal times**. walk the wards, dementia area particular, and take food from trays

* if you can call it that
** yes, dinner is 4pm

Or if you CBF wearing a suit and going to the city there are heaps of networking functions, breakfasts etc, just research events at MCEC and hotels around the CBD and go on a food crawl!

Note that I would never do this, I feel like it's poor form to steal from a local sporting club run by volunteers etc etc, I'm not sure why I think of shit like this ha ha

Bunnings you could never do this, every one I've been to they give you the snag as you pay, so no dice there.
Awkward Clap GIF by Amanda Cee Media

Society & Culture Things you do/did that you probably think no one else does the sequel; More Things