Society & Culture Things you do/did that you probably think no one else does

I quite like Fahrenheit as a measurement scale of human comfort temperature.

i.e

So Fahrenheit is not a perfect scale for that, but it is pretty close.

I don't feel as if we get full value from the Celcius scale in that mode. Mostly compressed between -5 and 40.

Yes, I think this post meets the thread criteria ;)
Isnt 0 degrees Farenheit like -20? I think thats a bit over "properly" cold

I think 100 is also like 38-39 anything plus 35 is dangerous for oldies and youngies.

10-30 is likely an easier way if thats farenheit its like 50-90 i think?

I quite like Fahrenheit as a measurement scale of human comfort temperature.

i.e

So Fahrenheit is not a perfect scale for that, but it is pretty close.

I don't feel as if we get full value from the Celcius scale in that mode. Mostly compressed between -5 and 40.

Yes, I think this post meets the thread criteria ;)
I've always admired the bloody minded English perseverance with imperial measurements particularly as it seems to be done for no better reason than to spite the French.

Isnt 0 degrees Farenheit like -20? I think thats a bit over "properly" cold

I think 100 is also like 38-39 anything plus 35 is dangerous for oldies and youngies.

10-30 is likely an easier way if thats farenheit its like 50-90 i think?

Agreed - that is what I meant by Fahrenheit being close but not perfect for my idea.

If I were to invent my own human comfort based temperature scale, my 0 - 100 would relate to about -3 to +36 Celcius I reckon

Agreed - that is what I meant by Fahrenheit being close but not perfect for my idea.

If I were to invent my own human comfort based temperature scale, my 0 - 100 would relate to about -3 to +36 Celcius I reckon
You could base it on the late and very much lamented Tony Greig's player comfort measurement on the weather wall.

I have a clock in my room that has a thermometer and so every 10 seconds it flashes up the temperature for a few seconds and then back to the time. The temperature can be shown in Celsius or Fahrenheit. I’ve left it at F. Just to learn a new thing.

Looking at a lot of american BBQ recipes I use farenheit a fair bit. Plus my electronic thermometer is in F automatically, you can press one button for C but who can be ****ed?

Also in terms of combat sports pounds is very prominent, if you say a fighters weight in kg I find it hard to immediately figure out what weight class they're in.

It's bin night. Bin is half full (or empty). Walk around the property to find stuff to put in so as to fill it up.

yeah i do it and almost get frustrated i cant fill it - more frustrated as there's heaps of shit the missus doesnt need and id love to throw away.....🤣

we've gone from moving in and having to use family members bins to get rid of lots of shit to being half full most weeks

yeah i do it and almost get frustrated i cant fill it - more frustrated as there's heaps of s**t the missus doesnt need and id love to throw away.....🤣

we've gone from moving in and having to use family members bins to get rid of lots of s**t to being half full most weeks
Its one of lifes great frustrations

The magic seventy as my aunt would say. The Scots are impressed when it gets to twenty one.
Thinking of changing my phone to F too. I mean ill always know celcius temps are and feel like. Really embracing this dual measurements knowledge

The best sort of knowledge is pointless knowledge.

The magic seventy as my aunt would say. The Scots are impressed when it gets to twenty one.
I had a mate from England who I went to uni with (his partner got a job in Tassie so he decided to study) and he called his mum one day just to tell her it was 25 degrees lol

I grew up in the Blue Mountains where it regularly hit minus degrees in the winter. I remember getting a letter from a friend in Perth who wrote, "I'm laying here in bed writing this letter as it's so cold. It's 18 degrees."

Its been 10 years almost to the weekend that i moved to the gold coast. In 10 years I haven’t watched one local news bulletin, nor bought one local paper. And with the online newspaper paywalled never seen one article online.
When i moved here i thought i would see how long i could do this for. Like when you go on a holiday and dont give two shits about news in the place you go (but may put cnn on tv particularly if overseas).
But ten years on i treat it as if im still on holiday (except not being in surfers gangsters paradise like most holidayers).

Its been 10 years almost to the weekend that i moved to the gold coast. In 10 years I haven’t watched one local news bulletin, nor bought one local paper. And with the online newspaper paywalled never seen one article online.
When i moved here i thought i would see how long i could do this for. Like when you go on a holiday and dont give two shits about news in the place you go (but may put cnn on tv particularly if overseas).
But ten years on i treat it as if im still on holiday (except not being in surfers gangsters paradise like most holidayers).

Avoiding news might be the path to a more relaxing life.

Same as football tv shows, pregame, SEN radio etc.....

Football so much better when you don't listen to people just talk shit week in week out based on last week's results or the latest 'controversy'

Sent from my CPH2005 using Tapatalk

Same as football tv shows, pregame, SEN radio etc.....

Football so much better when you don't listen to people just talk s**t week in week out based on last week's results or the latest 'controversy'

Sent from my CPH2005 using Tapatalk

Yeah I watch games and that's it, the media stuff doesn't add anything of value.