This years draft

• Thread starter Thread starter atcocc

I really do hope we pick up a CHF with ou first pick.. Looking at our list balance we have alot of young talent through the midfield, but not as much up forward - Obviously we have Walker, but we have an unknown quantity in Sellar as well as an uncertain future with Tippett (with the Gold Coast being a threat). Rendell has said this is one of the best drafts ever to go tall, so hopefully thats the way it pans out.

We dont have alot of young KPD but I think these can be developed with a later pick with Bock and Rutten being perfect examples.

Craig mentioned that amongst others, he was looking for a key defender in the draft - I just wondered if Hurley was still around at our pick 10,
would/should we select him? (of course it depends on who else is there)

- Reviews suggest that he may be rather slow off the mark and consequently i've got doubts that the faster AFL style game will suit him (or perhaps i should say is whether he is worth no 10 pick)

VicCrow - any comments welcome please
If we get Hurley I will dry hump something. He's one of the more naturally talented footy players going around. He just gets footy.

Yes, he doesn't have pace off the mark and he isn't the most agile chap out there, but he counters this with an inate ability to read the play. His play reading ability is like a sixth sense.

He is an elite kick of the ball and has ridiculously powerful legs. I'm not exaggerating when I say his opposite boot is definitely better than most draftables preferred foot. He comfortably travels 55m on his left off a step. It's really something to behold (in fact, you can if you have a copy of that the VM vs. WA game that was on Fox because he did it once in that game).

He already has the body of a man, but you'd suspect he'll grow even more. He should end up a similar build to Truck. He's about the same height and has the same monstrous frame.

I would have liked to have seen him play a bit more up forward. The only place he could fit into Vic Metro as a bottom aged player was as a full back, and after he made AA there last year he got pigeon holed there for the 2008 VM team. For the Knights they need him in the back line to hold them together and they have plenty of good tall forwards (Still and Hill both a chance to get drafted this year and Walsh maybe next year). He would move any of them out of the way, but the point is that he's not required there.

When he has played forward he has dominated. I'm not sure if this is a result of his massively overdeveloped body, but that's not something that particularly concerns me, because I'm pretty sure he'll be able to do that at AFL level in two years. For those that are worried about him "only" being like Rutten (****, I wouldn't mind two anyway) I think he could just as easily be a power forward. I suppose his ability to read the play being such a strength is best utilised in the back line though.
I just have a feeling that come draft day, with MR excitement about this years talls and with NC looking to add to our defense we are going to draft Jackson Trengove with our first pick. He has all the attributes that NC loves in players, he's tall, athletic and is VERSATILE (can play ruck (not at afl level), KPB and KPF). TBH i wouldn't be too dissapointed if this was the case, he could potentially be the CHF we are craving.

Just a question for VC. One player i was surpirsed didn't get invited to draft camp was Liam Shiels (Easern). From the little i have seen, he looks like a pretty good player in the middle and absolutely loves to throw himself around. Also his disposal doesn't seem to be too bad. Was wondering why he got over looked for draft camp and what are your general thoughts on him?
Trengove showed so much last year as a bottom ager. He's the epitome of versatile, but it's hard to pin him on a draft position because he's been out for a few months (the most important junior months). This would only really prevent him from being a bolter I would imagine. Not playing has basically meant he can't further enhance his already good reputation. A few clubs will have been totally convinced by what he had already shown, so I can't see him sliding out of the first round and I wouldn't be surprised if Adelaide took him.

Shiels is a very neat player. I was talking to a recruiter about him last week and we were trying to really nail what he's all about. He's pretty good at everything, but not really elite at anything. His kicking actually really impresses me. It's rarely bad, often neat and sometimes damaging. It means he doesn't burn the ball, but will use it exquisitely now and then. Beats the piss out of a bloke who will burn the ball as much as he punishes the opposition if you ask me!

I can sort of see why he didn't get DC. To me he's a very good, ordinary player. He's got great ticker, but apart from that he's probably what you'd describe as vanilla. Good player though, with no glaring weaknesses.

I really do hope we pick up a CHF with ou first pick.. Looking at our list balance we have alot of young talent through the midfield, but not as much up forward - Obviously we have Walker, but we have an unknown quantity in Sellar as well as an uncertain future with Tippett (with the Gold Coast being a threat). Rendell has said this is one of the best drafts ever to go tall, so hopefully thats the way it pans out.

I totally agree.

I am only going off what I have read and what I have seen on youtube but Shoenmakers looks a very safe pick. I reckon he would complement our young forward line really well. Would fit in nicely once Burton retires.

Maybe there are others in front of him for pick 10 but if you were looking at forwards for this pick he looks as safe as they come. And wouldn't it be nice to have a first round pick that plays up front for 10+ years.

He looks like he plays like Ryan O'Keefe. If he tunred out to be as good as O'keefe and we got him I would be stoked. No backline could go with us and all our young talent up there.

There has been suggestions he may still be there at our second pick but I reckon he will be gone.

Again I haven't seen enough of any of them so don't rip into me but everthing I see and read about this kid says he will be real important to what ever club he goes to.

I think we have enough talls to persevere with up front so I don't think a 195cm forward is a necessity. Most clubs now have only 1 tall up forward at any given time with the other marking options being agile medium/tall forwards.

Obviously our best case scenario would be to get Shoenmakers with our second pick so we could get a quality mid & Shoenmakers.

So if we don't pick him first up lets cross our fingers he is still there as he could be the one that got away.

My first round draft predictions at this stage

Melbourne - Watts (Melbourne need key forwards)

West Coast - Rich (to boost their midfield)

Fremantle - Natanui (to cover the loss or Warnock)

Port - Vickery (need a ruckman, very hand forward as well)

Essendon - Hurley (to cover loss of Michael and Fletcher in a couple years)

Carlton - Trengrove (can play CHF and CHB, just what Carlton need)

Brisbane - Ziebell ( need more midfielders, great player)

Richmond - Johnston (a replacement for Richo in the next few years)

North Melbourne - Hartlett (need midfielders)

Adelaide - Sidebottom (need midfielders with strong body and good pace)

Collingwood - Suban (good midfieler, hard at it player)

Sydney - Mckernan (need key position player)

St Kilda - Heyne (still need more midfielders)

Western Bulldogs- Cordy (father-son ruckman- needed to replace Huddo in a couple years time)

Hawthorn - Lisle (Hawks dont have many weaknesses but maybe in defence maybe one area)

Geelong - Swift (top player who has been hit by injury. Geelong can take a risk with him

I think Yarran maybe in there somewhere as well,possibly Brisbane seem to be interested in him. Robinson also may be in there some where but just not sure where either.

Yeah. In reality, I really wasted my time on that post.

Just getting a headstart on next season's poster of the year award :p

Something I've been wondering, when it looked like Collingwood would have a pick before the Crows, many phantom drafts here on BF had Sidebottom going to Collingwood. Is this just a "fills a need" thing or has Collingwood been one of the clubs that has specifically shown interest in him?

Because now that we have a lower pick than them, I'm hoping it means we're in the box seat to grab him :)

[YOUTUBE]uYpPwj3EFvc[/YOUTUBE]

2.13 and 2.25 is the left foot of Hurley's Vic Crow was referring too.

after watching that tose to parts youd think he is a left footer he got 2 lethal legs

Just one of these kids that would fair dinkum eat a football if he could. Just has an appitite for the contest, and he reads the play better than most. Would be a huge surprise if he fell out of the top 5.

Much like Heath Scotland... One of those players who, if you didn't already know which was his preferred side, you couldn't pick it

Mitchell is another who has a great left leg.

It's a big advantage as a player gets more time to kick if he doesnt always have to get back onto the one leg to kick.

Hurley is in the same class which sets him apart from most of the other potential draftees.

He couldn't possibly be still there at 10 IMO.

Tom Harms and Lachlan Giles were excellent for Sturt today in the U17 grand final. I doubt they're around the drafting ability at the moment, but could be something to keep an eye on in the future.

[youtube]uYpPwj3EFvc[/youtube]

2.13 and 2.25 is the left foot of Hurley's Vic Crow was referring too.
And that was last year.
He has improved from then.
I see alot of Nathan Bock in Hurley, although, Hurleys kick is much longer then Bocks.

A mate of mine told me to look out for James Strauss if we're after skillful, pacy midfielders with a bit of height and a touch of arrogance. He reckons he'd be available around our second pick, which might be a handy selection if we grab a tall first up.
Anyone know much about him? In this clip from the champs, he looks reasonably composed, and seems to have a good leg on him. I dig the name too. The Maestro :D
[youtube]ZCfk8EHDDko[/youtube]

Mate James Strauss is someone who i rate pretty highly (Mostly through what i have seen in the Chapms) and is the reason why i'm hoping we can have 2 2nd round picks and with them i'd pick up Strauss and O'Keefe. With those 2 in with our 2nd and 3rd pick (I really think the club is going to go tall with our 1st) we are going to have our engine room pretty much complete.

With those 2 we are going to add some more pace, good skills and most importantly we're going to get 2 guys who have a bit of 'arrogance' about them and love to take on the opposition (more so in O'keefe's case) and they are natural footballers.

Trade week is going to be very interesting to say the least.

Mate James Strauss is someone who i rate pretty highly (Mostly through what i have seen in the Chapms) and is the reason why i'm hoping we can have 2 2nd round picks and with them i'd pick up Strauss and O'Keefe.
Agreed.
I would love to see both of them in the Crows colours.. absolutly would love it.
Schoenmakers may even be available around 3.
Also one to look out for is Tom Alright.
This kid will be gun.
Midfielder around 185cm tall.

We cant just fill up on midfielders though..

I we want all these we should get Trengove pick 10.

Mate James Strauss is someone who i rate pretty highly (Mostly through what i have seen in the Chapms) and is the reason why i'm hoping we can have 2 2nd round picks and with them i'd pick up Strauss and O'Keefe. With those 2 in with our 2nd and 3rd pick (I really think the club is going to go tall with our 1st) we are going to have our engine room pretty much complete.

With those 2 we are going to add some more pace, good skills and most importantly we're going to get 2 guys who have a bit of 'arrogance' about them and love to take on the opposition (more so in O'keefe's case) and they are natural footballers.

Trade week is going to be very interesting to say the least.

James Strauss is a quality prospects, seen him play numerous times this year and he got more and more impressive every time i saw him play. Such an all-round player, has both the defensive side and attacking side to his game. Very very good disposal on both sides of his body and has a bit of dash about him. Really like the chasing and tackling aspect of his game, puts in 3rd and 4th efforts if need be and really is hard at a contest. Not many question marks over him for mine, very solid player. I rate him very highly and think he'll be gone by your second pick, might even sneak into the top 20.

He is one of the most underrated players on Big Footy.