Jun 30, 2009
Deroesfromgero
east perth
Discuss:

For years now our democracy has been subverted with bribery. Open bald faced bribery. No show jobs for life in mining oil and gas.

It straddles both sides of politics - our former treasurer wayne swan took his silver a couple of weeks ago.

we sit there supporting footy teams with politics defending the indefensible when its our side and all faux outrage when its the other side - this needs to change

when we behave like this we get the politicians we deserve and the country gets f#^}}^ over.

heres a list of this governments obvious failings. Make no mistake - the opposition do the same sorts of things.

Copypasta

<<<<<I often refer to this Government as the most corrupt in Australian history. I need to stress; this is not hyperbole, it is fact.

As we find ourselves immersed in the Sports Rort Scandal:

Let's reflect on just SOME or the other corruption and integrity scandals that have plagued this Government.

This is unquestionably unprecedented in the short history of our democracy.

This is why they are doing everything they can do avoid having an Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC). This is why we need one more than ever.

#SpyGate
Bo 'Nick' Zhao, a Chinese born Australian goes to ASIO telling them he's been offered a $1million from the Chinese Government to run as a Liberal Party candidate and then infiltrate the Australian Parliament as a Chinese Spy.

He then turns up dead in a Melbourne hotel room in March.

Enter Gladys Liu, the Liberal Candidate with a host of concerning connections to the Chinese Government who earns Liberal pre-selection thanks to miraculously raising a million dollars in donations.

Fairfax then discovered a photo of Liu at her home with Nick Zhao in the back ground.

Gladys is now the Liberal Member for Chisolm.

#SignGate
Liberal Candidates Gladys Liu and Josh Frydenberg both have Mandarin signs at polling booths in the colours of the Australian Electoral Commission branding telling Chinese citizens how to vote (by putting 1 next to the Liberal Candidate). There is no Liberal Party branding on the sign

Liberal officials admit in court that the signs were designed to convey the appearance of official electoral commission material.

#LetterGate
Angus Taylor writes a public letter, published in the Daily Telegraph, to Sydney Mayor Clover Moore criticising her for her millions of dollars of domestic travel. The document he quotes is a forgery.

Taylor refuses to disclose where he got the fake document from and refuses all Freedom of Information requests from the media that might give an insight.

#DuttonGate
Fake 'How To Vote' cards were handed out in Peter Dutton's seat of Dickson designed to trick Greens Voters in voting for Dutton.

#PhilippinesGate
George Christensen charges tax payers for domestic flights and ComCar trips that were part of his trips to known red light districts of the Philippines. When he is caught he simply pays back $2,100 with no consequences.

#DroughtenEnvoyGate
Barnaby runs up a bill of $675,000 in 9 months in his role as Special Drought Envoy. When asked what he did in the roll, Joyce explained that he sent his "report" in the form of multiple text messages to Morrison. When The Guardian submitted a Freedom Of Information request for these texts it was rejected on the grounds that Morrison was too busy to retrieve them.

#reefgate
The Coalition granted $444million to a little known organisation called the Great Barrier Reef Foundation. The process involved no public tender, no transparency, and the organisation was later found to have business partnerships with BHP and Rio Tinto.

#paladingate
The Coalition awarded a $423million contract to run Manus Island detention facilities to a tiny and almost unknown company called Paladin as part of a "limited tender" process only meant to be used under special circumstances. The company's head office was a small shack on Kangaroo Island and family members of the PNG Parliament were found to be directly profiting from the contract.

#helloworldgate
Helloworld travel agency paid for Finance Minister Mathias Cormann's family holiday to Singapore within two weeks of the Coalition awarding Helloworld a Government contract worth over $1billion.

Cormann claims he didn't notice his holiday had been free.

#aupairgate
On two seperate occasions, Peter Dutton personally intervened to have European au pairs allowed into the country after being initially refused by Border Force.

The first was on behalf of an old Police colleague, the second on behalf of the AFL Chief Executive and son of a Liberal Party donor.

#vikkigate
Barnaby Joyce's mistress, Vikki Campion was forced to leave her role as his staffer when rumours of their affair started causing tension with colleagues. As a result she was given a plum $190,000 a year job with good friend Senator Matt Canavan despite Parliamentary rules prohibiting jobs for 'partners'.

There were a number of allegations suggesting she never attended work whilst in this role.

#foxtelgate
The Coalition granted $30million to Foxtel, ostensibly to assist with "sports coverage" (whilst simultaneously slashing ABC funding). There was no public release of any conditions or oversight regarding the funding. News Corp, the largest newspaper owner in Australia and the owners of Foxtel, vigorously and unapologetically proceeds to support the Coalition whilst attacking Labor in the next election.

#mundinegate
The Coalition granted $200,000 to Foxtel station Sky News to fund a new show featuring future Liberal Candidate Warren Mundine. The funding was taken from money budgeted for "Indigenous Advancement".

Inquiries later found that the funding had been officially approved before Mundine had even formally applied for it.

#internetgate
Assistant Treasurer Stuart Robert charged tax payers $2,000 a month for home internet, blaming "connectivity issues". He was later forced to repay $38,000 in inappropriately claimed expenses but was not further investigated.

#darwingate
The Coalition award a Chinese company a 99 year lease on Darwin Port. A year later, Andrew Robb, the Trade Minister at the time of the deal, leaves the Government to assume an $880,000 a year job as a "Consultant" with the same Chinese company.

#watergate
Barnaby Joyce approved a dodgy $80million water buy back from a property owned by a Cayman Island's based company that Energy Minister Angus Taylor used to be the Director of and his college mate now ran.

When Twitter users began to discuss it his lawyers sent letters to them threatening legal action for defamation if they didn't delete the tweets.

#grassgate
A property owned by Energy Minister Angus Taylor's brother was alleged to have illegally burned 30 hectares of native grassland classified as endangered under existing environment laws.

After Angus Taylor personally intervened and met with then Environment Minsiter Josh Frydenberg about the investigation into his brother, the Government suddenly announced a review into the part of Commonwealth environment laws that specifically deals with endangered native grasses.

>>>>

Excellent summary, and yes couldn't agree more that we need to transcend the partisan nature of political discussion on this board (and practically everywhere else on the internet).

Its the distraction they count on, keep the plebs fighting amongst themselves and keep shovelling money to your family and mates under the counter.
Now that its become common practice to essentially lie about everything and stonewall scandals till they blow over there is pretty much zero accountability in politics. These people need to be accountable to someone.

Look at Morrison's handling of this latest sports rorts. He goes on TV or radio and straight faced lies and evades. And there is no consequences.

We definitely need an integrity commission with teeth

Along with a change in politics to ensure policy over personality

Long gaol time and asset stripping of the whole family (divorce or not)

I read it. The point stands.

A lot of what you referred to as examples are actions that were either legal or were remedied according to law. What role does the ICAC have to play in such matters?
#watergate
Barnaby Joyce approved a dodgy $80million water buy back from a property owned by a Cayman Island's based company that Energy Minister Angus Taylor used to be the Director of and his college mate now ran.

When Twitter users began to discuss it his lawyers sent letters to them threatening legal action for defamation if they didn't delete the tweets.

This cannot happen soon enough.

It is a colossal problem for Australian politics that people do not trust them. We are not America; our distrust for our politicians filters out into distrust for everything, social programmes; it becomes about voting for oneself, getting whatever you can get from the system for your own benefit. After all, everyone's in it for themselves, got to get you own dime from the taxman.

Nevermind you should want to pay tax. Never mind that you should want to be part of a stable, coherent, moral, strong society; never mind that you should want a society without corruption, that is truly representative, that respects the voters and that accepts that truth is something that must be revealed, that should not be hidden for expediency's sake.

Would that our politicians - of both 'wings' - were less spineless, less self centred.

Did you read the summary?

Id suggest theres quite a lot an icac would love to investigate.

Take it to the AFP. If its that obvious then they have plenty to go on.

Or the summary is just a bunch of whiny hot air over the usual dodgy crap governments do.

I am pretty sure every Government that I csn remember was labelled as criminal. Going back to Whitlam. They guy who let Australians die to curry favour with Indonesia and who had a Minister handing out PRs to mafia dons.

Take it to the AFP. If its that obvious then they have plenty to go on.

Or the summary is just a bunch of whiny hot air over the usual dodgy crap governments do.

I am pretty sure every Government that I csn remember was labelled as criminal. Going back to Whitlam. They guy who let Australians die to curry favour with Indonesia and who had a Minister handing out PRs to mafia dons.
Its almost like....

We need.....

a federal.....

Icac........

Someone should start a thread saying exactly that now i think of it!!!

We need an ICAC given the behaviour of mps from all parties but will it achieve much unless we fix the laws first so that mps cant just work for contractors after given them contracts. Junior public servants can't, but MPs and senior bureaucrats apparently can legally.

On SM-G570F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Hmmmmm
wasn't an issue until Christopher Pyne

I WONDER WHY..........................................

Sure. It can be as effective as the NSW one which went after a Premier for doing nothing different when offering a politician a new job and another Premier over a pen.

yeah and innocent men have been jailed for murder - better ditch the courts and police

Icac in wa has just fingered a politician that stole millions.

we need this federally so politicians know there is someone looking over their shoulder - the important letter of that acronym is the first I.

its what the federal police obviously and clearly lack

i really wonder what motives anyone would have for opposing this.

Its seems fairly obvious to me that as a country we are becoming more and more corrupt with every successive government.

yeah and innocent men have been jailed for murder - better ditch the courts and police

Icac in wa has just fingered a politician that stole millions.

we need this federally so politicians know there is someone looking over their shoulder - the important letter of that acronym is the first I.

its what the federal police obviously and clearly lack

i really wonder what motives anyone would have for opposing this.

Its seems fairly obvious to me that as a country we are becoming more and more corrupt with every successive government.

Courts generally do well. We hear about the shockers. And they are not that common.

NSW ICAC generally costs huges amounts and does almost nothing. Include the NSW Crime Commission there too.

Thanks Greta.

On a serious note, anyone know how much one of these ICAC things cost? Nothing like a good old fashioned witch hunt to keep the bastards honest.
Imagine being so much of a bootlicker you'd think an ICAC is a bad idea

:drunk:
Methinks one secretly LIKES being violated

The lack of accountability in Canberra is something to behold. I even wrote to Bridget McKenzie's office the other day calling her out, saying 'no wonder your coalition was against the creation of a federal ICAC.' Hope that got at least a chuckle from the low-level staffer who must have read it.