Power is another.
Simmo is another.
Harris is another.
Brown is another.
Grant is another.
Gibson is another.
N. Thompson another.
S. Thompson another.

I'm not knocking them all, it's just that we are really limited with flexibility and options.

You make Dr Kevorkian seem like a good option. :(

My theory is that they are teams that play with confidence without hestitation. WHY? Teammates keep running... understand the gameplan, know the weakness of each other and continually back up their teammates when under the pump. Experience is irrelavent. Look at Cyril Rioli @ Hawthorn who has confidence to take on 3-4-5 opponents and take his chances.

My Swannie's bro-in-law pointed out last night why Wells doesn't take on opposition players ?? I gave him a vacant stare... tapped the side of my head and said "lacks mental strength". I guess I could be WRONG here but it's all about confidence really and the rest of the team are expecting the likes of Wellsy to be our Geelong's Selwood, WCE's Kerr & Scraggers' Cooney ** guys that bust their arses** make plays and become play makers.

This is the thing, why haven't we been able to get to that level? I mean the Crows of all teams have the least talent yet look at them. They look like they have a team of Chris Judds.

Browny is a hard trainer, great clubman, and has wonderful thighs.

Thought his work at the players bbq was quite good, did a lot of heavy lifting, as did Watt, Petrie did heaps of work that day, and iirc Jones did heaps behind the scenes too.

And let's not overlook his appearance at the Roosistence gig. Have I mentioned that before?

DarwinRoo was rumoured to be disappointed at Corey's performance making shandys.

You make Dr Kevorkian seem like a good option. :(

You are schooling people about overreacting, but you are not heeding your own advice.

I'm not knocking them all

Some of them do actually serve a very good purpose in their preferred areas.

- Thommo is an exclusive lead up marking full forward. He is excellent at this when conditions allow.

- Harris is a pure in and under clearance machine.

- Watt is very good at covering leading type hit up forwards.

Etc, etc., etc.

My comment was more related to our lack of flexibility.

Let's face facts, we don't have a lot of it.

I'd kill for two more Drew Petries.

Right. And you wouldn't have criticized him for having nothing to say? :rolleyes:

You know kangalicious, instead of pre-empting my thoughts or putting words in my mouth, try and remain as balanced as you ask everyone else to be. How do you know I would of said anything. If he came out and said, haven't reviewed the footage or had time to discuss it when he was doorstopped then of course I wouldn't have said anything because that's the intelligent approach not the one he executed. Just because a reporter shoves a mic in your face doesn't mean you have to give an opinion.

Deans major focus has always been in how not to lose a game, instead of being how to win one.

Hasn't been true since the start of 2007, was a big issue before that but one he gets credit from me for addressing.

I suppose this discussion is inevitable when we lose a game badly, but it would be good to base it on what's happening now. (And maybe even what better options we'd have - last time this got a good run, there was a strong vote for Longmire, master of the attacking, exciting game plan, as it turns out.)

In perhaps the understatement of the century, I think everyone gets a bit trigger-happy in the heat of a loss.

Yep. Perhaps Bigfooty is the modern day equivalent of going home and kicking the dog after a loss (figuartively speaking of course). It's good that people can come on here and vent, but to call for the coach to be sacked after round 7 when we are 3-1-3 (including a narrow loss to a potential top 2 siade) is bordering on the hysterical.

We were definitely outcoached in certain facets of the game on Saturday night, but from where I sat, it looked like a good old-fashioned case of a majority of players not being switched on. Basic, repeated skill errors also killed us. In respect of the latter, perhaps it's the assistant/skills coaches who should be coming under some form of scrutiny.

Yep. Perhaps Bigfooty is the modern day equivalent of going home and kicking the dog after a loss (figuartively speaking of course). It's good that people can come on here and vent, but to call for the coach to be sacked after round 7 when we are 3-1-3 (including a narrow loss to a potential top 2 siade) is bordering on the hysterical.

We were definitely outcoached in certain facets of the game on Saturday night, but from where I sat, it looked like a good old-fashioned case of a majority of players not being switched on. Basic, repeated skill errors also killed us. In respect of the latter, perhaps it's the assistant/skills coaches who should be coming under some form of scrutiny.

And who is responsible for that? Laidley's game plans against teams we know are planning to shut us down is woeful and it's not as if he doesn't know what they are going to do? It's not that we lost that infuriates me, it's the manner in which we played, we gave ourselves no chance. Why keep bombing it in long when they had 3 loose players waiting....mind boggling stuff. Restructure to ensure options are there on the half forward line, play Thomas at CHF top create space, play Thompson on the HFF to extract Bock out of the middle of defence....do something.

The players are responsible for being switched on, for executing a game plan, for taking the right option and for hitting targets by foot or hand. They are professionals and are paid to do this. Simply put our players are falling down in these areas - areas they are responsible for.

Why keep bombing in long? That's not the coach's call - it's poor execution by the players.

Has anyone on this thread asked if the players are actually sticking to the game plan?

Every game we have lost this year (and the draw) the primary cause hasn't been Laidley's coaching it's been the players taking stupid options or displaying poor skill levels!

The players need to take a good hard look at themselves and yes I think Laidley can help there but he is not the one that is costing us games at present so calls for his head are way off the mark.

The players are responsible for being switched on, for executing a game plan, for taking the right option and for hitting targets by foot or hand. They are professionals and are paid to do this. Simply put our players are falling down in these areas - areas they are responsible for.

Why keep bombing in long? That's not the coach's call - it's poor execution by the players.

Has anyone on this thread asked if the players are actually sticking to the game plan?

Every game we have lost this year (and the draw) the primary cause hasn't been Laidley's coaching it's been the players taking stupid options or displaying poor skill levels!

The players need to take a good hard look at themselves and yes I think Laidley can help there but he is not the one that is costing us games at present so calls for his head are way off the mark.

Look, I'm not calling for Laidley's head at all, but at the risk of playing devil's advocate, this is now Laidley's list.
He's been there for six years, Nev has recently gone, and if we have poor skills the coach has been in charge of putting this side together and has to accept some of the blame.
Not all of it - just some of it.

I'm about to hit you with a bombshell here, brace yourself.

Do you think Dean could devise a game plan that better suited his playing list?

I know, I know, changing 40 blokes might seem easier than changing 1 at face value, but just think about it.;)

Look, I'm not calling for Laidley's head at all, but at the risk of playing devil's advocate, this is now Laidley's list.
He's been there for six years, Nev has recently gone, and if we have poor skills the coach has been in charge of putting this side together and has to accept some of the blame.
Not all of it - just some of it.

Scotty my comments weren't directed at you and I'm certainly not an apologist for JYD.

You have hit the nail on the head about him having to accept some responsibility but some of the posts in this thread you'd think that the posters have a personal vendetta against Laidley and that he was responsible for all things that have ever gone wrong including the holocaust, global warming and Britney Spears!

Not for the first time, another poster has much more logically and coherently put into words what I've tried to say in my post. There are certain things for which the coach can and should not be blamed. Currently, we are failing to properly and consistently execute the fundamentals of the game. I really think that our specialist coaches are the ones who are the problem in this respect and hopefully our expanded footy department budget will remedy this issue.

Ask yourself this - when a new coaching vacancy opens up, are any of our assistant coaches ever under serious consideration?

After 5 years at the helm, who is responsible for the teams performance?

Who makes draft decisions?

Who develops the list?

Who sets the game plan?

Who communicates the game plan to the players?

Who makes the team selections?

Who is responsible for motivating the players?

Who makes the gameday tactical moves?

Only one answer to all of these questions. He is the one who needs to accept responsibility for a worrying trend of poor outcomes. He must change or be changed before another year is wasted.

I agree sack the coach who should we replace JYD with I think John Longmire I have been saying it for ages

Not sure about Longmire, especially since he is lauded with the Sysdeny game plan...

I have been critical of laidley because he doesn't seem flexible. He plays the same dingbats every week. Surely he can see that these players are not going to improve whereas a team we have to improve. Logical but no, every week we see Brown, Watt, Hale, Harding (okay he has played okay this year) and Power lining up to do a "role". Once against reactionery stuff, not a proactive approach.

If Laidley turns around and starts playing the younger blokes or at least gives them a go then great I would be more supportive of the coach but until then, I am hunting for his head.

After 5 years at the helm, who is responsible for the teams performance?

Who makes draft decisions?

Who develops the list?

Who sets the game plan?

Who communicates the game plan to the players?

Who makes the team selections?

Who is responsible for motivating the players?

Who makes the gameday tactical moves?

Only one answer to all of these questions. He is the one who needs to accept responsibility for a worrying trend of poor outcomes. He must change or be changed before another year is wasted.

Agreed. There wouldn't be too may KPI's ticked off so far.

Sitting seventh, after a preliminary final last year. I doubt that now is the time to do it.

Yes, with a game plan exposed in the finals with two absolute thrashings which were embarrasing. Acceptance of mediocrity is the downfall of empires.

A lot of our people and mostly opposition fans say we over achieved and that Laidley did a great job in getting us in the prelim, me I don't accept that.

LOL

i was banned for suggesting this

but i think he is a shithead.

we should get Archer to take over as temp for the rest of the season then get clarkson.

LOL

we should get Archer to take over as temp for the rest of the season then get clarkson.

Dearie me.
Arch has no interest in coaching and do you reckon Clarkson is gonna do the hard work with the Hawks to desert arguably the most exciting list in the comp just as it is peaking?
Unfathomably bizarre post.

Clarkson will coach us within 3 years

Lets compare clarkson to laidley

Clarkson has developed a squad of young talent from the start
while laidley plays hacks like grant - sansbury-brown and gets sam power

LOL

Not sure about Arch...maybe as an assistant or specialist coach. We need to make a big offer to a coach who has shown he can spot and develope young talent. I know that's difficult but we need to get the cheque book out and make a decent offer. Clarkson won't consider it, especially what his team is potentially on the verge of but someone like Woosher??? He may need a change of environment.