ImperialPurple

In it for the long haul
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
In no particular order:

1. Drop Scott Thornton and then delist him immediately so they are not tempted to play him ever again. (Sorry Scott, you're a tryer, but you're just not up to it.)
  2. Have a quiet word to Macca that we need to look to the youth, and he won't be playing anymore - until a send off game versus the weagles later in the year.
  3. Drop David Mundy for shirking that contest in the 4th. He did some good work, but that was blatant. If he can straighten out that aspect of his game, he's a definite keeper for the long term.
  4. Play Josh Head - at least let us see if he is up to it!
  5. Give Kiwi a run as a stay at home FF. Play Taz further up the ground off a HFF, and let Pav rotate between CHF and the middle.
  6. Give Peter German a rocket up the arse and tell him to coach his midfielders to rove Sandi's taps FFS!
  7. Give Ryley Dunn a go. He's been injury free and playing good footy for East Freo - he's on the list, let him at least have a crack. He couldn't be worse than Thornton.
  8. Do not play Mark Johnson even if he is fit and in good form at Perth. Accept it was a mistake and move on.
  9. Play Kepler every week.
  10. If Dodd is fit, drop him! He needs to learn some discipline.
  11. Play Drum, Mayne, Foster, O'Brien, and of course Palmer and Ibbo, every week - injuries permitting.
  12. Give Hinkley another 3-4 games at intervals for the year.
  13. Do one of those hard-arse boot camps where team-mates have to rely on one another to get through. Force them to work together as a team and forge strong bonds of friendship and "brotherhood".
  14. Fit Warnock in there somewhere also, at the very least to push up his trade value at the end of the year.

Any further suggestions? I'm trying to be positive here - looking forward! (Even though there are a few "negative" suggestions, it really is meant to be positive...)

In no particular order:

1. Drop Scott Thornton and then delist him immediately so they are not tempted to play him ever again. (Sorry Scott, you're a tryer, but you're just not up to it.)
  2. Have a quiet word to Macca that we need to look to the youth, and he won't be playing anymore - until a send off game versus the weagles later in the year.
  3. Drop David Mundy for shirking that contest in the 4th. He did some good work, but that was blatant. If he can straighten out that aspect of his game, he's a definite keeper for the long term.
  4. Play Josh Head - at least let us see if he is up to it!
  5. Give Kiwi a run as a stay at home FF. Play Taz further up the ground off a HFF, and let Pav rotate between CHF and the middle.
  6. Give Peter German a rocket up the arse and tell him to coach his midfielders to rove Sandi's taps FFS!
  7. Give Ryley Dunn a go. He's been injury free and playing good footy for East Freo - he's on the list, let him at least have a crack. He couldn't be worse than Thornton.
  8. Do not play Mark Johnson even if he is fit and in good form at Perth. Accept it was a mistake and move on.
  9. Play Kepler every week.
  10. If Dodd is fit, drop him! He needs to learn some discipline.
  11. Play Drum, Mayne, Foster, O'Brien, and of course Palmer and Ibbo, every week - injuries permitting.
  12. Give Hinkley another 3-4 games at intervals for the year.
  13. Do one of those hard-arse boot camps where team-mates have to rely on one another to get through. Force them to work together as a team and forge strong bonds of friendship and "brotherhood".
  14. Fit Warnock in there somewhere also, at the very least to push up his trade value at the end of the year.
Any further suggestions? I'm trying to be positive here - looking forward! (Even though there are a few "negative" suggestions, it really is meant to be positive...)

Agree with most of this ESPECIALLY 13.!!!!!!! Need to play for each other.

6. I think you'll find Keplar's taps were much better than Sandi's. Our clearances went up when he was in the middle. The reason the midfielders can't move when Sandi is tapping it, is because he can't hit them when stationary. Every highlight they keep showing with Sandi, there is an open player, and he can't get it there. I've said it before, and I'll say it again, he has absolutely no awareness of the players around him. Not good.

7. I doubt whether Dunn will get much of a go. Wouldn't surprise me if he was rookied for monetary reasons.

15. Write into our constitution that we never under any circumstances trade round 1 draft picks.

16. Completely clear out the fitness and strength department.

17. Look to increase the amount of kids we draft from east freo and south freo districts. No surprises that most of our players with heart, are from freo areas.

And if Mundy isn't dropped for that, it sets an absolutely disgusting standard at a time we need to get rid of that attitude. But who do we bring in?

I agree with all 13, and had been thinking similar.

With regard to that Mundy incident, i was at the game and saw. He is at risk of becoming Joel Bowden, despite being one of my favourite players.

Ibbotson squibbed a big collision earlier in the game also (vs Fevola from memory) unfortunately. Agree with comments on the main board re his balance and great long term potential however

Check stats today on our guys without tackles, bit surprising. Pav, Bell ...

6. I think you'll find Keplar's taps were much better than Sandi's. Our clearances went up when he was in the middle. The reason the midfielders can't move when Sandi is tapping it, is because he can't hit them when stationary. Every highlight they keep showing with Sandi, there is an open player, and he can't get it there. I've said it before, and I'll say it again, he has absolutely no awareness of the players around him. Not good.

7. I doubt whether Dunn will get much of a go. Wouldn't surprise me if he was rookied for monetary reasons.

15. Write into our constitution that we never under any circumstances trade round 1 draft picks.

16. Completely clear out the fitness and strength department.

17. Look to increase the amount of kids we draft from east freo and south freo districts. No surprises that most of our players with heart, are from freo areas.

And if Mundy isn't dropped for that, it sets an absolutely disgusting standard at a time we need to get rid of that attitude. But who do we bring in?

Agree. I reckon Harvey had already made his mind up about him last year - and wanted him dumped, but the bottom line was that we have to pay him out for 2008; hence he ended up on the rookie list.

Last year we assumed he was dumped because of injury, but now he's had a run of fitness and good form for East Freo, and he's still not getting picked... you'd have to wonder what the real reason is.

I reckon he's gorn at the end of the year - but FFS - so are we for this season, so may as well try the bloke and see if he has anything to offer now that he's uninjured and in decent form. But IMO there is more to it.

whats with dropping mark johnson ip? (didn't see the game) but still he's better than thornton

Last year we assumed he was dumped because of injury, but now he's had a run of fitness and good form for East Freo, and he's still not getting picked... you'd have to wonder what the real reason is.
I'd say his work ethic stinks.

I keep saying it, 4 years of leg injuries, and with a big frame, and you wouldn't even be able to tell if he's done a bicep curl in his life or not. Pathetic.

The boot camp thing is a must on the off season. The Hawks did the Kokoda Trail I think during this pre season. The Aussie cricket team did one before the last Ashes series.
Speaks for itself.

Another on my personal hitlist is Brett Peake. He's running around like a chook with its head cut off at the moment. Not sure if he wants to be there.

1) Learn how to play 5 quarters of footy:eek: so we know that we can last for the full 4 quarters of a game.

2) Stop loosing.

3) Win, win, win.

whats with dropping mark johnson ip? (didn't see the game) but still he's better than thornton

Seriously nothing personal against MaJ, and yes he would be a better option than Thornton - but he's just not the way forward for our club. Much like for Essendon really.

What's the point of comparing Mark Johnson to Thonton and why would be be a better option? THey are completely different players and when has Mark Johnson played a decent game for Freo? Thornton has played quite a few of them. He was an integral member of the team during "The Streak" and he offers more than any other player on our list the ability to get the ball and just run & carry from defense. Clearly he has a license to back himself and with more match fitness it's starting to come together for him. He did some nice things yesterday. When you play a kamikaze role (run at all costs every time you get the ball) like he does you are going to win some lose some but he's starting to win a few.
Maybe we should stop ganging up on players and just get behind them..

What's the point of comparing Mark Johnson to Thonton and why would be be a better option? THey are completely different players and when has Mark Johnson played a decent game for Freo? Thornton has played quite a few of them. He was an integral member of the team during "The Streak" and he offers more than any other player on our list the ability to get the ball and just run & carry from defense. Clearly he has a license to back himself and with more match fitness it's starting to come together for him. He did some nice things yesterday. When you play a kamikaze role (run at all costs every time you get the ball) like he does you are going to win some lose some but he's starting to win a few.
Maybe we should stop ganging up on players and just get behind them..

Hes the only one who decided to break the lines, run hard and kick it long down the guts in the last part of the last quarter yesterday, as much as he frustrates me, it did show hes at least trying to do the right thing for 4 quarters, ie keep running!

That's true enough. But what value is there is a guy who gets the ball maybe 10-12 times a game, 3-4 of those times he dishes off to a guy in a worse position than him, and a couple of times a game he kicks directly to the opposition? I have always been a Scott fan, but there was one time yesterday - kicking to the left of screen, so 2nd or 4th quarter... pretty sure it was the 4th, when Scotty got it somehwere near the BP - and runs. Yay go Scott! Gets to CHB and kicks it towards CHF. One blue jumper standing alone - no-one around him - and Scott picks him out and hits him on the chest. :(

Now I know it's unfair to pick on one error, but that is indicative. He can't beat an opponent in the air, body-on-body nor on the ground; and together with the fact he's worth probably only half a dozen effective possessions per game; I just don't think it's enough...

Some of you must be watching a different game to me. Thornton's dash and long kicks stand out because of his unique appearance, but it only happens 4 or 5 times a game and many go straight to the opposition. Quite possibly the worst player to get a regular game for Freo this decade IMO.

Warnock shouldn't get a game unless he deserves it.. no one should, Josh Head may be an exception because I think there's a lot of us hoping to see how he goes.

Totally agree on thornton provides great run but normally ends up handballing to players standing still or in worse positions, cant hit a target when he kicks it and not a good enough defender 1 on 1.

Dont think he should be in team trade for whatever we can get or delist.

Warnock is gone at end of year no matter what everyone says he has huge potential he will believe that an thinks he should be playing AFL every week even if its just as a backup ruckman.
He will want to go to a club where he can play every game an a chance to be number 1 ruckman.

Must play him no matter how crap hes going in WAFL need to raise that trade value of his.
If he plays a few poor games in a row then yes hide him back in the WAFL.
I think he believes he should be playing AFL so when hes in WAFL he just doesnt put in.

Totally agree on thornton provides great run but normally ends up handballing to players standing still or in worse positions, cant hit a target when he kicks it and not a good enough defender 1 on 1.

Dont think he should be in team trade for whatever we can get or delist.

Warnock is gone at end of year no matter what everyone says he has huge potential he will believe that an thinks he should be playing AFL every week even if its just as a backup ruckman.
He will want to go to a club where he can play every game an a chance to be number 1 ruckman.

Must play him no matter how crap hes going in WAFL need to raise that trade value of his.
If he plays a few poor games in a row then yes hide him back in the WAFL.
I think he believes he should be playing AFL so when hes in WAFL he just doesnt put in.

No doubt about it, but that's not the sort of player I want playing in my first 22. I'd much rather a Kepler type that tries his heart out!

There was a passage of play that highlighted for me where Thornton is at with his AFL career. He received the ball in traffic in a stationary position, but with perhaps two seconds to decide what to do and dispose of the ball effectively. A good player would spot up a target, or at very least hoof it into open space. What did Thornton do? He fired out an instantaneous hand pass to a teammate standing one metre away, who turned the ball over under pressure.

Now tell me, what has Thornton done this year to demonstrate that he is capable of playing at AFL level? Peake and Schammer have been poor, but both show glimpses of their potential. Rash Thornton needs to go back to the WAFL and learn how to shut down an opponent. :thumbsd:

Put Bell Macca Johnson Thornton Haselby on long term injury list and promote all our rookie list, and give them ago.:thumbsu:

Now tell me, what has Thornton done this year to demonstrate that he is capable of playing at AFL level? Peake and Schammer have been poor, but both show glimpses of their potential. Rash Thornton needs to go back to the WAFL and learn how to shut down an opponent. :thumbsd:

I agree very much with most peoples points with respect to Thornton, his decision making is poor, and he seems to get the footy and you can see his thinking: run hard or pass, and thats what kills him, he has poor instincts, so he doesn't quite know what to do instinctively, more often than not, its a poor choice. (I do think his effort in the last should be highlighted to his team mates though, showing that breaking the lines by running hard and getting the pill forward in the last quarter is a good thing!)

I think thats what the problem is with a lot of blokes, the natural footy brain isn't there, so that extra fraction of a second to think, or pass to a bloke under the pump is whats doing us in. Whether that means they're not dedicated to their craft enough by working hard in that area, by say, watching lots of tapes of great players or even working on awareness at training, I don't know.

I agree very much with most peoples points with respect to Thornton, his decision making is poor, and he seems to get the footy and you can see his thinking: run hard or pass, and thats what kills him, he has poor instincts, so he doesn't quite know what to do instinctively, more often than not, its a poor choice. (I do think his effort in the last should be highlighted to his team mates though, showing that breaking the lines by running hard and getting the pill forward in the last quarter is a good thing!)

I think thats what the problem is with a lot of blokes, the natural footy brain isn't there, so that extra fraction of a second to think, or pass to a bloke under the pump is whats doing us in. Whether that means they're not dedicated to their craft enough by working hard in that area, by say, watching lots of tapes of great players or even working on awareness at training, I don't know.

I agree , if you noticed the reason that no one was on the mark was because Mundy did some gut running to draw the defender.

That should be praised and highlighted as well.