Tom Boyd

In hindsight was not the deepest draft really so he was one of few to pick. Though most missed Patrick Cripps it must be said also. Though you did well with Marcus but definitely not a Hodge-Ball-Judd kind of draft by any stretch.
Pretty happy with Bontempelli.
Actually I lie I'm absolutely in raptures over Bontempelli.

That gave me a chuckle, apologies for any offense caused in previous posts. Dont worry, we arent Melbourne so we will get the job done. Heck not hard to beat a team that kicks 0 goals in 2 quarters and has stick figure Joe as their best forward :D
North struggled a bit. Definitely will be going for the Saints in that one.

No offense taken. All in a good banter.

LOL at the self importance! Quite a chip on that shoulder.

This ain't the mainstream media, some of us here can have a view on football that doesn't involve the Dogs. Hope you can handle that.

Haha have a look at you

You spend most of your time here in dogs threads poking at us and then say we are self important.

Haha irony isn't a strong suit I'm guessing. TRY a comment that isn't about the dogs or a game we are involved in.

Keep flapping mate

Last year? He was 19.
Just think of the headlines "2nd year player plays reserves football to find form".
I'm shocked to be sitting here.
Wait. He's "so important to our team structure", but then "plays reserves football to find form".

You lot sure have a funny way of demonstrating importance at the kennel. Heck, if he was any more important they'd promote him to the Western Jets!

Wait. He's "so important to our team structure", but then "plays reserves football to find form".

You lot sure have a funny way of demonstrating importance at the kennel. Heck, if he was any more important they'd promote him to the Western Jets!

Wow

Who said he is so important to out structure? Someone with no idea?

He hardly played last year when it mattered so didn't have any real effect to our structure and the tall who plays this year is important to our structure so if that is him then so be it but if it isn't it's the next cab off the rank.

Keep using the opinion of a couple blokes who don't know footy to tar us all with.

Perhaps I should bring up the Norf muppet that said Cunnington is elite and top 5 mids in the comp lol. Lucky to be top 5 at Norf

But again TRY a comment non dog related , I know you can do it just try.

You took hours to respond and that's the best you can do. Haha try again mate.

He was out of form so he played reserves. I know Scott only plays 25 players but Beveridge actually likes to play players who are in form not the same 20 geriatrics and swapping out a couple of fringe players.

But please keep living up to your username it's quite entertaining.

Would we make the same trade again of we had our chance over? Of course we would.

At worst, the trade was a symbolic punch thrown back both to GWS's harvesting of all young talent as well as a club in a crisis with our captain and coach walking out and the club in disaster mode, salvaging something.

At a medium level, we will have a solid structural forward who can also rotate through the ruck, maybe playing a similar role to what Tippett has at Sydney being both a key forward and a 1st ruck at various times over the last few years.

At best, if Boyd lives up to his potential demonstrated at the U/18 level, we will have one of the best key forwards in the game which nearing the end of his contract with the salary cap to be 40-50% increased from now on a bargain basement price.

The third scenario could still happen especially given Tippett and Hawkins' (the two players he's most similar to) relatively lengthy period of time before becoming dominant. The second is most likely. The first whilst unlikely doesn't really matter because we don't have any salary cap issues whatsoever.

Considering he's been injured for the last month what else could the thread be created for?

You saying Tom Boyd will be better then Peter Wright guaranteed then?

Or maybe the real question should be if Tom Boyd and Bontempelli had both been available at number 4 in the 2013 draft who would your team have chosen?
Obviously we would have picked Boyd. Currently our list has both though, so why is this even a talking point?

He's obviously paid an absurd amount of money.

The proof will be in whether the Dogs can manage the salary cap around it as their young stars come out of contract. That's the risk.
How much more proof do you need? We signed plenty up last year on long term deals while managing to sign Suckling as a FA. If we couldn't afford to keep our young guys, we'd have foregone Suckling. Our list management team isn't as stupid as some people seem to think. And the fact that people in the know have reported we still have room in the cap to target another free agent should we choose, I think that speaks volumes for the way we're going about it.

How about last year when he was banished to the VFL for the final rounds including finals?
Last year he was on his draftee contract. So on no more than any other 2014 draftee playing state league. Expensive stuff, that. :rolleyes:

Look at Freo's current predicament. I can guarantee that everyone giving it to the Dogs for the deal would have also been the same people saying "Gee, the Dogs really need a key forward" back in the prelim years. Well guess what, they don't grow on trees, we stumped up some cash, we got one and in three years time, teams are going to have to decide whether to send their #1 defender to a 23yr 200cm 100kg KPF or Stringer. A small minority of Dogs fans at most still question the trade, the rest are pretty happy.

No one in this thread knows (i) the particulars of Boyd's contract or (ii) the club's salary cap breakdown. It's all uninformed conjecture as to the implications of the Boyd deal on our future list management. Having said that, it hasn't yet cost us retaining a player and all the young gun players are signed to the end of 2017 at the earliest.

As to whether Boyd will realise his talent, it would be sensible to wait three to five years. He's only 20 with a handful of matches under his belt. Boyd's form this season was promising until he injured himself. Give it time.

Our recruiting has been fantastic over the past five years. We've had very few early round picks compared to the franchises and other recent cellar dweller clubs.

why? they were both in the same draft.
Not hard to work out. Brown was already playing in the VFL, probably because in the 3 years prior he had shown bugger all, which is why clubs passed on him at the previous drafts.

3 years for a KPF makes a huge difference. Jesus, I hope in 3 years time he'll be better than Ben bloody Brown, hardly a forward to aspire to.

Hogan is not a star yet he can't kick

Travis Cloke Mark 2 at the moment

And Freo are loaded if you don't think they will offer him at least 800k for at least 5 years you are kidding urself
I didn't say they won't offer him big money I said no way they would get him for 800k it would take at least a million

Not hard to work out. Brown was already playing in the VFL, probably because in the 3 years prior he had shown bugger all, which is why clubs passed on him at the previous drafts.

3 years for a KPF makes a huge difference. Jesus, I hope in 3 years time he'll be better than Ben bloody Brown, hardly a forward to aspire to.
lol, brown his acl in his draft year, played 1 season in Tassie and 1 at Werribee and was then drafted.

don't be too upset when Boyd doesn't surpass Ben Brown.

lol, brown his acl in his draft year, played 1 season in Tassie and 1 at Werribee and was then drafted.

don't be too upset when Boyd doesn't surpass Ben Brown.
So he was playing VFL, as I said. Big step up from the TAC Cup, you know, where most players are drafted from.

We'll see what happens in 3 years.. a lot can happen. Hell, North will be a season or 2 into a full rebuild by then. Winter is coming.

So he was playing VFL, as I said. Big step up from the TAC Cup, you know, where most players are drafted from.

We'll see what happens in 3 years.. a lot can happen. Hell, North will be a season or 2 into a full rebuild by then. Winter is coming.
I'd be surprised if Boyd ever reaches Browns level. He's unco and doesn't seem to know what he's meant to be doing out there. Tom Boyd has more vfl experience than ben brown lol

This game is about winning premierships, not the future (as nafan figjam supporters are suddenly realizing). Given your reliance on Bob Murphy, you may as well start your rebuild now too buddy.

Reminds me of Dawes mk2 but if they can get any decent output from him it's all they can do. Can't imagine he'd ever got close to being worth his paycheck, but it ain't his fault.