Free Agency Tom De Koning - Joins St Kilda as an RFA, Carlton get Band 1 compensation (Pick 9)

If NWM is looking to stay on huge money its quite likely that the Saints wouldnt have the crazy money being claimed for TDK.

Saints would have heaps of cap space with their list. Not the issue.

Saints surely have pulled the massive offer off the table.

I doubt it if they do that they will never get a high profile player to nominate them again for a while.
Their best hope is he picks Geelong or another contending club for less cash (he won't stay at carlton) and solves the problem for st kilda.

Maybe for now. But in 3 years? 6 years? The good kids are going to want more money. And no club is going to win the flag on the back of an excellent HBF and moderate ruckman. The Saints need at least 4 or 5 more elite players. Who surely also want the money.

I think it’s going to be a lot less than we thought, especially if Nas stays. I reckon if he stays he’ll cost half a mil PA more than we would have budgeted for, and Hall will probably also cost at least $300K PA more than we expected, while Windhager if he stays could take the total for the 3 up to a mil PA more than we expected.

It was reported that we cooled on Bergman because we wanted to focus on retaining Nas, which presumably means we couldn’t afford both.

If we can get out of this without burning any major bridges doing so would be ideal.

I think it’s going to be a lot less than we thought, especially if Nas stays. I reckon if he stays he’ll cost half a mil PA more than we would have budgeted for, and Hall will probably also cost at least $300K PA more than we expected, while Windhager if he stays could take the total for the 3 up to a mil PA more than we expected.

It was reported that we cooled on Bergman because we wanted to focus on retaining Nas, which presumably means we couldn’t afford both.

If we can get out of this without burning any major bridges doing so would be ideal.
Then you have players like Keeler & Dodson that will start to attract attention from other clubs with big offers to move if they start showing the potential to become high level AFL players.

But TDK
Imagine if he is seen as the player that cost StKilda NAS by the Saints supporter base
Life would get difficult

Then you have players like Keeler & Dodson that will start to attract attention from other clubs with big offers to move if they start showing the potential to become high level AFL players.
Yeah that’s the exact argument I’m making on our board, as are some others, but some think we’re “jumping at shadows”, and reckon Dodson in particular will be happy to just stick around and be back-up to TDK, for potentially the next 7 years! Ignoring the extra money and no.1 ruck opportunities at other clubs! 🤣

I mean it’s obviously possible, we’ve seen guys like Preuss stick around behind a Gawn, when other clubs came knocking, but not everyone is as dumb as he was.

It’s a big gamble to be hoping for that.

But TDK
Imagine if he is seen as the player that cost StKilda NAS by the Saints supporter base
Life would get difficult
Yeah it won’t go down well if it happens. Whether the TDK contract is the cause or not.

I doubt it if they do that they will never get a high profile player to nominate them again for a while.
Their best hope is he picks Geelong or another contending club for less cash (he won't stay at carlton) and solves the problem for st kilda.
Hello darkness my old friend
images (8).jpeg

The way things are going, TDK could be despised by large portions of the Saints supporter base if the narratives around other players continue and certain players leave the Saints as he comes in. He'd want to play REALLY good footy next year.

Any poor game and he'd be crucified by the supporters because of the huge salary.

If NAS or another good player leaves them- he will cop it for that too, magnifying any bad game. He will be automatically seen as costing them players to the point he may actually be despised. It's a lot of pressure he'd be walking into.

Saints fans are already pretty split 50/50 on whether it's a good move. Could get very ugly.

Any poor game and he'd be crucified by the supporters because of the huge salary.

If NAS or another good player leaves them- he will cop it for that too, magnifying any bad game. He will be automatically seen as costing them players to the point he may actually be despised. It's a lot of pressure he'd be walking into.

Saints fans are already pretty split 50/50 on whether it's a good move. Could get very ugly.
TDK isn't even in the top 10 hit outs category at number 12, well behind Marshall. He is 7th in clearances for ruckmen, 6th in disposals, 13th in goals, 14th in tackles, and 10th in marks. He is a average ruckman with some upside. As a Carlton supporter I see upside in getting a high end pick as compensation. Not sure how STK are justifying, and not sure how they can pay the type of money discussed.

TDK isn't even in the top 10 hit outs category at number 12, well behind Marshall. He is 7th in clearances for ruckmen, 6th in disposals, 13th in goals, 14th in tackles, and 10th in marks. He is an average ruckman with some upside. As a Carlton supporter I see upside in getting a high end pick as compensation. Not sure how STK are justifying, and not sure how they can pay the type of money discussed.
If we could get out of this I would absolutely prefer if we did, but there are certainly still “pros” for the move.

1- He’s one of the guys who will be seriously significantly advantaged by the almost certain changes to the ruck rules for next year, given he’s a “leaper”, and the current rules significantly advantage the strong brutes who love to stay down and wrestle.

Next year he’ll be jumping on their heads.

And Marshall is very ordinary in ruck contests, so Tom could be a big upgrade in that department.

2- Week after week this year we’ve been too short all over the ground and getting smashed in contested marks, so if we happen to have both of them next year, plus King, we’re likely to be vastly more competitive in the air.

3- If on the other hand we trade Marshall, we’re going to get an almost certain first rounder in return, so we bring in a younger replacement, plus a first round pick, for Marshall and cap space.

4- Tom might have been average in recent months, but prior to that he was going great guns (both in his last several games last year, and to start this year), so we’d be hoping he returns to that sort of form.

He might have checked out, while it’s also been reported that he copped a knock to his throat or whatever around the time we played you guys, and that he’d been having breathing difficulties after that, so who knows whether he’s even 100% at the moment.

He’ll probably never live up to his paycheque, but I’m confident that he’ll still be very good and a key piece for us going forward.

If we could get out of this I would absolutely prefer if we did, but there are certainly still “pros” for the move.

1- He’s one of the guys who will be seriously significantly advantaged by the almost certain changes to the ruck rules for next year, given he’s a “leaper”, and the current rules significantly advantage the strong brutes who love to stay down and wrestle.

And Marshall is very ordinary in ruck contests, so Tom could be a big upgrade in that department.

2- Week after week this year we’ve been too short all over the ground and getting smashed in contested marks, so if we happen to have both of them next year, plus King, we’re likely to be vastly more competitive in the air.

3- If on the other hand we trade Marshall, we’re going to get an almost certain first rounder in return, so we bring in a younger replacement, plus a first round pick, for Marshall and cap space.

4- Tom might have been average in recent months, but prior to that he was going great guns (both in his last several games last year, and to start this year), so we’d be hoping he returns to that sort of form.

He might have checked out, while it’s also been reported that he copped a knock to his throat or whatever around the time we played you guys, and that he’d been having breathing difficulties after that, so who knows whether he’s even 100% at the moment.

He’ll probably never live up to his paycheque, but I’m confident that he’ll still be very good and a key piece for us going forward.
Can you list the "cons" please?

He is playing like a guy who doesn't want to get hurt because it could cost him $6M. Pretty simple human nature I think the ridiculous offer from SOS has weighted heavily on TDK and one of many factors derailing Carltons season. .After a terrible 3 quarters against GCS he was a large part of the come back in the last quarter.

He will be much better next year

Yeah I wouldn’t be reading too much into how he’s playing at the moment.

Think it’s pretty clear Tom is gone and is very much in self preservation mode.

He has plenty at stake and can’t afford to put that at risk. And I don’t blame him for it.

I don’t think we should’ve been playing him from mid way through the season after ours was very clearly done.

Supposedly the Saints have upped their offer to De Koning to $1.8m for 8-years.

If the Saints are silly enough to make that offer, then TDK would be even sillier to say "no".

Best thing is that a deal of that magnitude will be a 'noose around their neck' down the track & I will be extremely pleased to see them squirm because of it.

No doubt, they will once again go back to the AFL and ask for some assistance to bail them out.

If the Saints are silly enough to make that offer, then TDK would be even sillier to say "no".

Best thing is that a deal of that magnitude will be a 'noose around their neck' down the track & I will be extremely pleased to see them squirm because of it.

No doubt, they will once again go back to the AFL and ask for some assistance to bail them out.
Why would they 'up' their offer when, according to reports, he's agreed to go to them a few weeks ago?

Supposedly has bad mail.

You are just making this up.

No need to go up on the offer TDK has had fora while. No other Club is close.

Also the larger $ are only for he first two years. The same as with the Aleer deal.

Why would they 'up' their offer when, according to reports, he's agreed to go to them a few weeks ago?

Especially as if he did change his mind he would be get vastly less elsewhere or at the Blues.

If he changes his mind, it will not be $$ elsewhere that would be the reason. So offering any extra $$$ would be pointless.

Supposedly, where?
Can you point me to where I can see the detail of the contract?
Carlton supporters just soothing themselves about another player leaving for St Kilda.
That's what feeder clubs are for mate.

Feeding the chooks mate.