MRP / Trib. Tom Hawkins "made an example of" - accepts 1 match suspension

Stanley CHF
Harry FF

I'd be worried about that. Harry has been a useful foil for Hawk but he's shown he isn't a natural forward - understandably - therefore I wouldn't want him to be our key go-to tallish forward.

I'd take a punt on Black who has played most of his career forward and leave Harry in his present role.

I'd be worried about that. Harry has been a useful foil for Hawk but he's shown he isn't a natural forward - understandably - therefore I wouldn't want him to be our key go-to tallish forward.

I'd take a punt on Black who has played most of his career forward and leave Harry in his present role.
I'm a worrier, and I would have no worries about that setup I proposed, BUT, Black could be an option.
I think Stanley is a more natural CHF than Taylor, and Harry closer to goal would pose problems for WCE

I'm a worrier, and I would have no worries about that setup I proposed, BUT, Black could be an option.
I think Stanley is a more natural CHF than Taylor, and Harry closer to goal would pose problems for WCE
Stanley's form in the twos has been ordinary according to reports and he's played his best football on the ball.

He punched a guy in the neck/chin. It's bullshit other players got off, but that's a reflection that intentionally punching people should never have been tolerated in the first place, no matter the level of force.

So why has it been changed? Are we supposed to accept that they just suddenly care about player safety now and didn't before? As i don't accept that

Based on the available video evidence and a medical report from the Melbourne Football Club, the incident was assessed as intentional conduct with low impact to the body. The incident was classified as a $1500 sanction. The player has no applicable record which impacts the penalty. An early plea enables the player to accept a $1000 sanction.

hmmmm - pretty "high" low impact if the guy loses the contents of his gut

Sounds pretty bad , no wonder the public don't like the MRP it's too inconsistent. I hate all this low impact stuff . If he hits him hard then he gets suspended, how hard is that.

Sent via HAL

I reckon the ump was as close as 2 metres away and watched it very closely. I expected a free to be awarded to the Crow's player. I knew Hawkins was near certain to be cited by the MRP but the inaction by the ump was confusing.

If the umpire had penalized the Crouch bros for holding the man (Hawkins) there would have been no altercation....the umpire was impotent and should be sent back to the VFL and taught how to umpire high intensity games.

I haven't read the whole thread, just in case it's already been mentioned. But do people remember the incident just before Tom's jumper punch?

Joel is awarded a free kick and is lying on the ground, front first. Jake Lever in his disgust or frustration over the free kick, forcefully shoves Joel's face/head (which already has the damage from earlier in the game) into the turf. The Geelong players in the immediate vicinity react straight away.

If it's gotta be a week then so be it. Well done Tom sticking up for your skipper, if that's what it takes then a week is a small price to pay.

I haven't read the whole thread, just in case it's already been mentioned. But do people remember the incident just before Tom's jumper punch?

Joel is awarded a free kick and is lying on the ground, front first. Jake Lever in his disgust or frustration over the free kick, forcefully shoves Joel's face/head (which already has the damage from earlier in the game) into the turf. The Geelong players in the immediate vicinity react straight away.

If it's gotta be a week then so be it. Well done Tom sticking up for your skipper, if that's what it takes then a week is a small price to pay.
Yep very happy that Tom stuck up for Joel, but don't let yourself become easy to bait for other teams and don't do it in the finals. Shove them to the ground and sit on them or something less likely to cop a week Tommy! (Very poor form by Lever if he did that and hopefully he regrets it)

Just re saw the love tap, and the fall is two actions. He falls backwards and then goes loose and buckles at the knees while throwing the arms up. Bloke was staging for a free kick and didn't even get that. In the words of the Simpsons, "ee's a flopper".

Not based on VFL form.

I wouldn't play Stanley either.

It's either debut Buzza or play a smaller set-up.
Stanley has that capacity to get himself up though for his very important game, and he needs to have a chance again. Buzza has not yet produced anything at VFL level comparable to what Stanley has done at AFL level?

So why has it been changed? Are we supposed to accept that they just suddenly care about player safety now and didn't before? As i don't accept that
Tom has priors though. Like it or not, it must have an impact on their decision making .
He is a massive man and throat punches are not on. He has not learned despite the discussions only a week before.

The guy's got a lot of form. Ben Stratton nearly lost his head a few years ago and the Hawkins wasn't sighted for it. Time to send a message.

You wont last long coming on here talking of prior form representing that jumper...

Thats not a bias - thats protected species anger management kicking in - you've had blokes get more protection than the Tassie Tiger, White Lion and Blue Whales ever saw...

GO Catters

The problem is he is not being suspended because of what he's done but because they have decided to have a sook about 'image of the game' and change the rules mid season. Numerous players have done the same and worse this year and not been suspended. You can't legislate on the run like that no business would get away with it. I would challenge it all the way to court if needs be but i doubt the club will they will take the week (clubs are soft at challenging now).
This bit I totally agree with. The AFL has a shocking reputation for realising that things are a problem all-of-a-sudden and then ramming through the changes.

3rd man up rule is a case-in-point. If I tried to ram through a significant change like that without a trial period, followed by evaluation and recommendations, I'd be fired and rightly so. We *have* perfectly appropriate trial periods (preseason, intraclub, even lower leagues if you really want to push it) - why it's not used is beyond me.

The only exception is really when a loophole is found (Joel Bowden kicking points from the kickout, for example).

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-06-06/stop-the-jumper-punches-tom-says-bartel
JIMMY Bartel has some advice for former teammate Tom Hawkins – stop throwing jumper punches.

With Geelong having the bye this weekend, Hawkins will miss the trip to Perth to face West Coast in round 13 after accepting a one-match ban for striking Adelaide's Matt Crouch.

Bartel was part of the Match Review Panel that deemed Hawkins' hit as intentional, but low impact to the head.

Speaking on RSN radio on Tuesday morning, Bartel said his premiership teammate was far too valuable to Geelong to be getting involved in undisciplined incidents.

The 28-year-old was lucky to escape suspension last year for a similar hit on Giant Phil Davis.

"He just needs to get it out of his game," Bartel said.

"He's such a valuable part of the Geelong side … he's been the big key forward who's kicked a lot of goals.

"In that situation he asserted himself on the Crouch boys enough. and it was the last action in that little wrestle, but he got him high."

Bartel also explained why the MRP only gave Swan Zac Jones a fine for a strike on Hawk Breust in round 10, while it deemed Hawkins' indiscretion worthy of a suspension.

"Zac Jones hit Luke Breust in the body, Tom Hawkins hit Matt Crouch in the neck, chin – wherever you want to put it, it was still above the shoulder," Bartel said.

"(The Hawkins call) definitely wasn't an easy decision at all."
The 28-year-old was lucky to escape suspension last year for a similar hit on Giant Phil Davis.

Amateurs.

If Hawkins got a week for a glancing blow to the chin, how did Scott Thompson manage to get away with just a week for this?

That was deliberate, he looked down and aimed his elbow into Dangerfields face . It is Dangerfield isn't it ? And he only got a week , that is so wrong. What are the MRP thinking . Surely you would look at that and say he did it deliberately and tried to hurt the other player therefore he should get 3 or 4 weeks because the player was wide open with no way to defend himself. The umpire probably couldn't see it so Thompson was hoping Dangerfield would react back and give away a free kick .

Sent via HAL

MRP / Trib. Tom Hawkins "made an example of" - accepts 1 match suspension