MRP / Trib. Tom Lynch -How many?

You simply don't get it at all. Nobody is sympathising with him. He did the wrong thing. However, had the umpiring been consistent, he probably would have never got to the point of doing that WRONG thing. Frustration isn't an excuse to clobber someone. Preventing frustration by officiating better though, is not a totally unreasonable suggestion. Or do you think that the umpiring has been super stellar this year?

The whole point of the 4 umpire system was to pick up these holds off the ball or holds heading into contests. When we had one umpire (unfortunately I can remember that) it was impossible to pick these things up. Two umpires still found it hard. Three umpires were supposed to better and four was supposed to pick up all these things.

Oh, i get it - it's total and utter deflection.

You dont think things are missed in every game? We have 6-9 games every round and for years every player has managed to not hit someone despite some absolute rubbish calls.

Crows hit harder than most in the big moments - none of them belted the oppo.

Do you seriously think Tom Lynch didnt get away with holding the defenders? You are kidding yourself.

If this was Tom having a crack at the umpiring in the post-game then maybe we can have this conversation.

When he belts someone he loses ALL right to any type of sympathy and yet the Victorian media have been on a crusade to sympathise with him.

It's a disgrace - do not tell me I am missing the point.

This is an amazing rant. Not sure what it means except that you are clearly unhappy about a thug getting the weeks he deserved.
He has a great point though.
Lynch did not even connect FFS.
They were talking 2-3 range, as if swinging haymakers was part of the game and since it didn't connect, he didn't do anything wrong.
Well Dangerfield ran through Vlastuin in the 2020 gf and gave him concussion.
No penalty.
Lynch cops five for not connecting.

So I repeat my question from the previous page.

On Saturday, if Ben Miller scrags and niggles Jeremy Cameron, and Cameron isn't paid sufficient frees by the umps, then Cameron belts Miller in the head. You'll be on here writing 30+ posts tying yourself in knots to downplay and deflect what Cameron did, blame the umps, blame Miller, play "Whatabout", and "I'm not making excuses BUT" for Cameron?

Yes or No?
Curiously, not one Richmond OP here has responded to your post.

Amazing.

a) He definitely connected. Not flush, but he didn't miss.
b) Bumps are irrelevant to haymakers.
Haymaker which did not connect?

Unbelievable.

Bumps are irrelevant which cause players to go off concussed?

SMH

On Saturday, if Ben Miller scrags and niggles Jeremy Cameron, and Cameron isn't paid sufficient frees by the umps, then Cameron belts Miller in the head. You'll be on here writing 30+ posts tying yourself in knots to downplay and deflect what Cameron did, blame the umps, blame Miller, play "Whatabout", and "I'm not making excuses BUT" for Cameron?

Yes or No?
If Miller scrags Cameron and Cameron belts him because he is not being adjudicated properly, then the umpires have contributed to the incident yet again! So, if the umpires did their job properly and frees were paid to Cameron, the whole incident would have been averted.

It’s so logical and so obvious, only your hatred of Lynch cannot let you see what I’m saying.

He isn't a special breed. However, he is the only experienced key forward at his club and thus he is targeted by opposition backmen more so than most. If they can cover him and prevent him from having any influence they basically take away Richmond's one wood so that then becomes any opposition teams aim. The fact he gets only 0.7 frees per game over his career shows that even when he was at his best, he wasn't attracting many free kicks.

Jed Walter? You have to be joking. How many games has he played?

Charlie Curnow? Well he is the exact opposite as he DOES get free kicks pretty frequently (1.82 per game) and so why would he get frustrated?

Shit examples to justify your statement.
Are the 1.82 frees per game in the room with us now? Where are you getting that number from? Curnow has never averaged 1.82 frees over a season. His highest is 1.6 back in 2018.
Lynch's highest is 1.5 (2024 and 2017).

Your argument seems to be based on false data or your own misguided misconceptions.

Should Lynch get more frees? Absolutely no doubt. I'm of the opinion that ALL forwards should get more frees than they actually do.
They all also have games where they get no frees and get frustrated with the umpiring, but they don't lash out like that.
Curnow has had 47 games out of 145 where he has received no frees and another 49 where he's only got 1 free.
Lynch has had 89 games out of 233 with zero frees and 68 with only 1 free.

If you break those down over percentages, they aren't that different.
Curnow
Zero frees = 32% of games
1 free = 34% (66% of games with 1 free or less)
2+ frees = 34%

Lynch
Zero frees = 38%
1 free = 29% (67% with 1 or less)
2+ frees = 33%

I reckon you will find that the numbers don't deviate much across forwards from all clubs.
Every supporter thinks their forwards are hard done by and other teams forwards get more frees or cheap ones.

What's everyone's thought on this, for 'potential to cause harm'?

How about you post the full video clip .. instead of the curated version that cuts out Lynch swinging a punch initially at Butts before 'your' clip starts and also includes the vision of Lynch swinging again at Butts after 'your' version finishes

If you expect to be taken seriously, you need to be honest

Yes or No?
Does Miller get concussed, because the act you're describing would cause serious damage?

What about if Miller goes in on Cameron like Moore did on Petracca, and Cameron tries to courageously play on, what happens then? Because that can potentially happen on Saturday?

How about you post the full video clip .. instead of the curated version that cuts out Lynch swinging a punch initially at Butts before 'your' clip starts and also includes the vision of Lynch swinging again at Butts after 'your' version finishes

yeah but it defeats the purpose of the narrative.

I notice no one from richmond has posted this clip and asked why Lynch wasn't sanctioned

Probably because Lynch escaped any sanctions for initially kicking Worrell in the head while he was lying on the ground, and then racking his boot up the side of his face

Nah, probably too busy making more tin foil costumes

This is going to be my biased Richmond supporter post for this thread.

Let's not act like Butts is a complete angel throughout this whole saga either. As far as I can tell, 4 minutes into the game (apparently), Butts wraps Lynch up, Lynch takes a swing at Butts, Butts tries to punch Lynch twice, Lynch throws one back and then the two start wrestling. From then on, Butts clearly trying to not give Lynch space in behind, and Lynch feels he's not been given free kicks for marking interference and stupidly decides to take things into his own hands.

But the lack of furore over Butts swinging fists at Lynch compared to the noise around Lynch is, from a biased Richmond view, astounding.

Lol this clip is the moments after Lynch literally threw another full force punch to Butts' head because he was sooking about being held. Show the whole cip.

Show the whole cip.
Forget about the "whole cip," we all saw what Lynch did had the potential to cause serious damage.

But if the AFL are serious now after this miscarriage of justice, and because they don't tell us a male player's weight anymore because of female sensitivity, they should get the male players to do that punching power test that Ngannou did. If we all knew that Lynch doesn't have the punching power of other players, he wouldn't have to get the same penalty as someone with serious ko power would, because as it is now he's getting 5 weeks for nothing but not playing with harmless femininity.

I don't have it, nor the technological know-how to create it from a replay - I'm just sharing from someone else's link.

If I accept at face value your remark that this incident includes further strikes thrown by both players, why were neither of them sanctioned for it? Lynch included.

I don't have it, nor the technological know-how to create it from a replay - I'm just sharing from someone else's link.

If I accept at face value your remark that this incident includes further strikes thrown by both players, why were neither of them sanctioned for it? Lynch included.
They were, both were fined thousands of dollars.

Are you trying to justify Butts taking a swing at Lynch?

Now where have I heard thst argument before...

Are you trying to justify Butts taking a swing at Lynch?

Now where have I heard thst argument before...
Where in that post did I try to justify anything?

I pointed out the posters dishonesty in presenting an incomplete video clip in an attempt to present Lynch as being treated unfairly and to support your (richmond) collective victim complex

As another poster pointed out, both players were sanctioned with fines over that altercation

Where in that post did I try to justify anything?

I pointed out the posters dishonesty in presenting an incomplete video clip in an attempt to present Lynch as being treated unfairly and to support your (richmond) collective victim complex

As another poster pointed out, both players were sanctioned with fines over that altercation
What Lynch did prior to Butts taking a swing is irrelevant. Why does it matter that the clip is clipped up?

Of course it's relevant, for at least 2 reasons

It framed Butts as either instigating or escalating the confrontation ignoring that apart from Lynch wrestling with Butts, he had thrown swings at Butts both prior to the start of the clip and after the completion of the clip presented

It frames Butts as the villain and Lynch as the victim. And by it's omission attempts to add to a narrative that Lynch was treated unfairly by the umpires on the field and later by the AFL via the MRO

It also fails to mention that the altercation was actually reviewed by the MRO and both players were charged and sanctioned with fines

The posting of that on twitter was designed to garnish an emotive response without providing context

Because it show beyond a shadow of a doubt Lynch is a gutless sniper and has been for years.

Also his eyes are too close together, and he pisses on the dunny floor on purpose.

If he never plays again nothing of value will be lost.

Did I say he did the correct thing? All I am saying is that poor umpiring of him contributed to his frustration, not that him losing his cool was the right thing to do.
Every great forward gets checked week in, week out.
I will give JK as an example, always had 2 or more players scragging him but never lost it.
He learnt how to play under that pressure.

Of course it's relevant, for at least 2 reasons

It framed Butts as either instigating or escalating the confrontation ignoring that apart from Lynch wrestling with Butts, he had thrown swings at Butts both prior to the start of the clip and after the completion of the clip presented

It frames Butts as the villain and Lynch as the victim. And by it's omission attempts to add to a narrative that Lynch was treated unfairly by the umpires on the field and later by the AFL via the MRO

It also fails to mention that the altercation was actually reviewed by the MRO and both players were charged and sanctioned with fines
The only framing of the clip was whether or not the potential to cause injury clause should have been used for Butts failed swing at Lynch. The fact that Lynch is a grub that started it is irrelevant.

So by bringing up that the clip is edited you're just doing the same deflecting or justifying the swing that people are accusing richmond posters of doing.

Lol this clip is the moments after Lynch literally threw another full force punch to Butts' head because he was sooking about being held. Show the whole cip.

Why does the whole clip matter? As has been pointed out for the majority of this thread, it shouldn't matter the lead-up to such actions, if the action itself is unsavoury (to put it tamely), then it is the person's responsibility for their action.

If everyone is being honest, Lynch only got suspended because of the reaction from Butts (and this isn't trying to blame Butts for anything), but Lynch on two separate other occasions made a similar action that did not come under the scrutiny of the MRO. The only difference? Butts doesn't go to ground, and commentators/footy media doesn't focus on those other actions as much as they did for the incident that Lynch was suspended for.

People in this thread/in the footy world wants to believe that the MRO/tribunal has finally suspended based on action rather than outcome, but like I posted before, it is not the case. The AFL has had to contort their own matrix to manufacture a rightful suspension for Lynch because of the optics.

If the AFL/MRO truly cared about suspending what Lynch actually did (ie. the action), then Lynch would be facing a 15 game suspension (potentially even more), Butts should be facing a suspension for his two punches, and Tex Walker would also be facing scrutiny for his whack to the back of Hugo's head/upper back.

But like always, the AFL don't care about the action.

I guarantee that if Butts doesn't go down, Lynch isn't suspended (and I'll reiterate and state the obvious again, I'm not blaming/criticising/another-buzz-word-here Butts for anything here).

I'd also like to point out that the fine could have equally as likely been for when Lynch and Butts were wrestling on the ground after this scuffle, as it is for the two swings itself. Nothing suggests that the fine was given for those two punches specifically.

MRP / Trib. Tom Lynch -How many?