Arsenal
top 8? i dont think so

was there
watched the game

first quarter had the writing on the wall, pies looked more hungry for the win, swans thought they would turn up and win it.

2nd quarter started positively, got 8 points up, some really really bad umpiring helped the pies, but the swans just stopped.

pies piled on 4 goals unanswered, and that was game over from there.

3rd was just horrible.

you know, no gloating, but i was right last week, this team isn't anywhere near good enough to contend with anything.

wouldn't be suprised if hawthorn came out onto the scg and completely destroyed us.

When you are playing the likes of mcveigh, mathews, bevan and crouch, all 4 of which have been liabilities during the year at some stage or another in a crunch match, especially when all 4 have been proven to be under performers all year and should have been dropped from the side, then its just asking for a loss.

McVeigh - trade/delist/throw away, i don't care get him the hell off the list.
Bevan - same as above
Mathews - retire him
Crouch - retire him

When you have players such as brabazon, laidlaw, schmidt, philips & co waiting and they play these hacks, what does that tell the fans and younger players trying to force their way into the squad? that when you play decent successive games, a lot better than the 4 hacks i mentioned above, that it counts for nothing, that the coaching staff would rather play project and sentimental favorites when it is clear that they do not belong anywhere near AFL level.

McVeigh had an outstanding year in 2006, this year he has been vomit in the simplest description.
Mathews has been alright, but he needs to go in place of an attacking younger player.
Bevan had a first good year, and has been woeful since. Worst premiership player i've seen.
Crouch - great player till injured, but is now a liability. Should be asked to retire anyway as the younger players are better than he is now regardless how much rehab and training he will do to come back.

Roos wants another tilt at the premiership, then he needs to start playing the kids and piss off the hacks.

And if Brennan is anything to go by, it might even come down to a case of using LRT as trade bait.

if Brennan is anything to go by, it might even come down to a case of using LRT as trade bait.

couldnt agree more. i think we're in for a difficult couple of difficult years ahead. decisions now will be crucial as to just how difficult those years are to be...

was there
watched the game

first quarter had the writing on the wall, pies looked more hungry for the win, swans thought they would turn up and win it.

2nd quarter started positively, got 8 points up, some really really bad umpiring helped the pies, but the swans just stopped.

pies piled on 4 goals unanswered, and that was game over from there.

3rd was just horrible.

you know, no gloating, but i was right last week, this team isn't anywhere near good enough to contend with anything.

wouldn't be suprised if hawthorn came out onto the scg and completely destroyed us.

When you are playing the likes of mcveigh, mathews, bevan and crouch, all 4 of which have been liabilities during the year at some stage or another in a crunch match, especially when all 4 have been proven to be under performers all year and should have been dropped from the side, then its just asking for a loss.

McVeigh - trade/delist/throw away, i don't care get him the hell off the list.
Bevan - same as above
Mathews - retire him
Crouch - retire him

When you have players such as brabazon, laidlaw, schmidt, philips & co waiting and they play these hacks, what does that tell the fans and younger players trying to force their way into the squad? that when you play decent successive games, a lot better than the 4 hacks i mentioned above, that it counts for nothing, that the coaching staff would rather play project and sentimental favorites when it is clear that they do not belong anywhere near AFL level.

McVeigh had an outstanding year in 2006, this year he has been vomit in the simplest description.
Mathews has been alright, but he needs to go in place of an attacking younger player.
Bevan had a first good year, and has been woeful since. Worst premiership player i've seen.
Crouch - great player till injured, but is now a liability. Should be asked to retire anyway as the younger players are better than he is now regardless how much rehab and training he will do to come back.

Roos wants another tilt at the premiership, then he needs to start playing the kids and piss off the hacks.

And if Brennan is anything to go by, it might even come down to a case of using LRT as trade bait.

mate, like others, i was angered by the way you put your thoughts last week, but there's no doubt there was a lot of painful truth in what you said, and that was justified last night....
you're reight about those four players, and all this crud about "role" players such as bevan is just convenient use of buzzwords....i'd be seriously looking at those four, as well as davis, schneider and jude bolton, i think micky o's gone, his body's had enough, and i think we're killing blokes like malch, brennan and craig bolton because we have no key tall forwards and they keep having to play on bigger forwards....

mate, like others, i was angered by the way you put your thoughts last week, but there's no doubt there was a lot of painful truth in what you said, and that was justified last night....
you're reight about those four players, and all this crud about "role" players such as bevan is just convenient use of buzzwords....i'd be seriously looking at those four, as well as davis, schneider and jude bolton, i think micky o's gone, his body's had enough, and i think we're killing blokes like malch, brennan and craig bolton because we have no key tall forwards and they keep having to play on bigger forwards....

Fair go guys!!

Thank God Bevo whacked a few last night. I was at the ground & you could hear the bone on bone crunches that this bloke made when he went in head first into a contest & without any fear nor concern for his own safety.

If anyone went to this match thinking we were going to win, then they need to have a real look at the whole competition. Here are a few reasons why we were never going to beat Collingwood last night.....even before the ball was bounced.

- Two consecutive interstate trips.
- The pies haven't left Melbourne for six or so weeks.
- The Pies played Friday last week at home, we played on Saturday night.........................interstate! Meaning we had one to two less days to recover for last nights game.
- The Pies had their strongest team in for the year. We had our weakest.
- The Buckley Return Hype factor. Refer to the Cousins Return Hype factor earlier in the year.
- The Pies 'recruit of the year'.............................McLaren????
- The Pies wonderful new rotation innovation.....................that's where McLaren rotated decisions against the Swans with his other two wonderful 'rookies'!!
- The Bloods have given their all for so long that eventually they have to ease up.

Now that last point is where I have to stand up for the Bloods against what some of you 'supporters' are saying. The facts are that we have been spoilt for too long by these guys. They NEVER give up! NEVER! Even last night they never gave up. It could have become ugly once we lost MOL & Brennan. We know Hall is not right, Ablett is not himself since he hyper extended his knee earlier in the year. "Leo Barry you star" hasn't played since the Ben "Sponsored by Ice" Cousins game!! MOL can't run. ROK can only run in a straight line.

Here's where I think we need to go!

Spider..............................WHY oh WHY???
Benny Matthews.........love him...............but please give Schmidt a go!
Crouch................as with Ben!
Brennan..................couldn't get a game in a poor Hawk team. Rusling kicks 3.1 on him.he gets moved to Rocca who kicks 3 on him. Not the answer to our probs. Nice fella though!
Buchanen......................doesn't hurt the opposition as is required. And I don't mean with illegal bumps.
John Blakey...............................our forward coach. Can't EVER remember him in the Kangaroos forward line when they used to whip our arses all those years ago. NEVER! WHY is he our forward coach? It ain't working Roosy. Make him our runner...................hell he used to run like the wind when he played.

Now for who we musn't touch for sheer courage & determination, even if they lack a little polish.

Kirk, Jude Bolton (whatever many of you think), Bevo, Barry, Craig Bolton, Ed Barlow (from what I have seen of him - a real goer).
McVeigh has been given the 'dirty' jobs week in week out & does it quite well. It's hard for him to be an attacking player when he is told to run with a top midfielder all the time. It's time to free him up Roosy.

Finally, the year is not over yet. Port Adelaide dropped right away after they won their flag. A couple years later they are back. At least we are still in the 8 with a chance of yet another finals campaign. How are the doggies travelling? Not very competative are they. At least we know that we are a chance to beat anyone if we put it together.

Just my slant on the whole situation.

Cheers!

Fair go guys!!

Thank God Bevo whacked a few last night. I was at the ground & you could hear the bone on bone crunches that this bloke made when he went in head first into a contest & without any fear nor concern for his own safety.

If anyone went to this match thinking we were going to win, then they need to have a real look at the whole competition. Here are a few reasons why we were never going to beat Collingwood last night.....even before the ball was bounced.

- The Pies played Friday last week at home, we played on Saturday night.........................interstate! Meaning we had one to two less days to recover for last nights game.
- The Buckley Return Hype factor. Refer to the Cousins Return Hype factor earlier in the year.
- The Pies wonderful new rotation innovation.....................that's where McLaren rotated decisions against the Swans with his other two wonderful 'rookies'!!
- The Bloods have given their all for so long that eventually they have to ease up.

Now that last point is where I have to stand up for the Bloods against what some of you 'supporters' are saying. The facts are that we have been spoilt for too long by these guys. They NEVER give up! NEVER! Even last night they never gave up. It could have become ugly once we lost MOL & Brennan. We know Hall is not right, Ablett is not himself since he hyper extended his knee earlier in the year. "Leo Barry you star" hasn't played since the Ben "Sponsored by Ice" Cousins game!! MOL can't run. ROK can only run in a straight line.

Brennan..................couldn't get a game in a poor Hawk team. Rusling kicks 3.1 on him.he gets moved to Rocca who kicks 3 on him. Not the answer to our probs. Nice fella though!
Buchanen......................doesn't hurt the opposition as is required. And I don't mean with illegal bumps.
John Blakey...............................our forward coach. Can't EVER remember him in the Kangaroos forward line when they used to whip our arses all those years ago. NEVER! WHY is he our forward coach? It ain't working Roosy. Make him our runner...................hell he used to run like the wind when he played.

Now for who we musn't touch for sheer courage & determination, even if they lack a little polish.

Kirk, Jude Bolton (whatever many of you think), Bevo, Barry, Craig Bolton, Ed Barlow (from what I have seen of him - a real goer).
McVeigh has been given the 'dirty' jobs week in week out & does it quite well. It's hard for him to be an attacking player when he is told to run with a top midfielder all the time. It's time to free him up Roosy.

Finally, the year is not over yet. Port Adelaide dropped right away after they won their flag. A couple years later they are back. At least we are still in the 8 with a chance of yet another finals campaign. How are the doggies travelling? Not very competative are they. At least we know that we are a chance to beat anyone if we put it together.

Cheers!

Very Interesting...

Fair go guys!!

Cheers!

I think Brennan did very well considering he was playing in a position where he doesnt normally play. Defence is tough area to play in and you cant expect a player like Brennan to just start playing well when you put them there.

I agree 100% with you in regard to Port Adelaide. The Swans should pay close attention to how Port were able to get back to the top in under 3 years. It is very important for the Swans staff to make the correct decisions now as the difference between good decisions and bad decisions could be 3 or 4 years on the bottom half of the ladder. Does anyone know what Port did to get back to the pointy end of the ladder so quickly?

Fair go guys!!

Cheers!

i think we're entitled to our opinions, and it's not wrong or unfair to be a bit honest about our players, and our situation in general....
also, your rundown on why we were never going to win would've looked pretty ridiculous after hall goaled to put us up 40-30 and looking pretty good....what happened after that had a lot to do with the stupid mistakes and bad decision making of a number of the players you've just defended

also, i reckon collingwood fans would have something to say about their "best team of the year" last night that did NOT include josh fraser

brenna was pantsed last night, and however you cut it, he made some bad decisions and showed a lack of footy smarts...yes, he's brave and never gave up, and maybe he's being played outa position, but he was ordinary last night, as was crouch, who has got to be nearing the end of a great career, bevan, mcveigh, schneider and jude bolton
and i thought barlow was sposed to be quick, he looked anything but trying to chase that sluggish pie midfielder after buckley had somehow knocked away a pass barlow should've made a better fist of

i'm as loyal a swans fan as there is, and i've tried to be optimistic all season, but enough's enough.....we're in strife....who knows, we might bounce back, beat the hawks and forge a historic run through the finals, but i doubt it

Fair go guys!!

Cheers!

and one more thing: i don't think spider everitt's been one of our problems this year, and again last night he at least showed how to bring the ball out of defence without panicking

Benny and Bevan have had great years. Ben's had his best year since 2004 and Bevan is finally showing why we're keeping him on the list.

both need to go, simple as that.
both are slow, poor skills, poor decision makers, both too defensive.

we dont have 1 single attacking mid this year, not one.

Ben dropped a sitter of a mark in the back line that was kicked straight to him last night because he reacted to the pressure arriving from behind.

I find of late his perfromamces become inconstant as a tagger he over watches the man and waites for them to get the ball rather thna snaffle it from him.

who's an idiot? mathews was good earlier in the year, as was malceski, neither of them are going real well now, but malceski's a future captain, mathews' best footy is behind him

and bevan? he's a hard goer, good tackler, and has had some good moments this year but he just gets beaten too often and his judgment is poor

Bolton, Goodes, Snides, Buchanan, Davis, O'Keefe?????
bolton, as in jude? can't kick
goodes, agreed
schneider....his best is triffic, his worst is not worth a spot in the team, and he's not fit enough to be a true midfielder
buchanan, creative and can run but makes bad decisions
davis?????? i've been waiting for him to show he has the stamina to play mid, but read same as schneider
and o'keefe.....if he was kept in that one role, yes, he's all class...but he keeps getting shifted around

and one more thing: i don't think spider everitt's been one of our problems this year, and again last night he at least showed how to bring the ball out of defence without panicking

That's the way you've seen him, fair enough. I've seen a very talented footballer who is in his FINAL year & who has smacked the lesser teams but when we need a blinder ( meaning a few marks in the forward line for goals) from him against the top teams.

Take a step back to last week against Brisbane. We had control of the game in the first Q & then Charman went off injured leaving a 19 YO junior ruckman to do all the work against Jolly & Everitt.
What exactly did you see here? Did you see the same game that I saw? Our two rucmen got Smacked by this inexperienced young kid. Did you see those three tap outs to his midfielders at the beginning of the last Q. We were up 17 points & those tapouts resulted in 3 goals in 1 min & 40 secs. That's disgraceful!

Again last night. How many times did the opposition score 3 or 4 quick unanswered goals by our tap outs going to opposition players.
And you said it yourself (I think). Josh Fraser wasn't playing. Who the heck is Guy Richards. He's just hanging on to his career by the skin of his teeth. They got beaten by this bloke.

I'm sorry, but Everitt ain't cutting it in the games that matter.

Great games against the Tigers (16th), the Demons (15th), the Blues (14th). Tigers had no Simmonds or Nobel. Demons had an out of form solo Jeff White. The Blues had that champion ruckman..........what's his name........................oh yeah..........O'halpin.....................Spider showed him how to ruck.
And one more thing..............................Spider talks too much & it's un Swans like to hear a player yap on footy shows & in the media so much. Other then Davis & you saw how that was handled by Roos.

Lets chat again after the hawthorn game & the first final & we'll see if I will need to apologise to you & all the other Everitt fans.
That will be an absolute pleasure should I have to come on here & do that. I only hope I have to.:)

Cheers!

That's the way you've seen him, fair enough. I've seen a very talented footballer who is in his FINAL year & who has smacked the lesser teams but when we need a blinder ( meaning a few marks in the forward line for goals) from him against the top teams.

Take a step back to last week against Brisbane. We had control of the game in the first Q & then Charman went off injured leaving a 19 YO junior ruckman to do all the work against Jolly & Everitt.
What exactly did you see here? Did you see the same game that I saw? Our two rucmen got Smacked by this inexperienced young kid. Did you see those three tap outs to his midfielders at the beginning of the last Q. We were up 17 points & those tapouts resulted in 3 goals in 1 min & 40 secs. That's disgraceful!

Again last night. How many times did the opposition score 3 or 4 quick unanswered goals by our tap outs going to opposition players.
And you said it yourself (I think). Josh Fraser wasn't playing. Who the heck is Guy Richards. He's just hanging on to his career by the skin of his teeth. They got beaten by this bloke.

I'm sorry, but Everitt ain't cutting it in the games that matter.

Great games against the Tigers (16th), the Demons (15th), the Blues (14th). Tigers had no Simmonds or Nobel. Demons had an out of form solo Jeff White. The Blues had that champion ruckman..........what's his name........................oh yeah..........O'halpin.....................Spider showed him how to ruck.
And one more thing..............................Spider talks too much & it's un Swans like to hear a player yap on footy shows & in the media so much. Other then Davis & you saw how that was handled by Roos.

Lets chat again after the hawthorn game & the first final & we'll see if I will need to apologise to you & all the other Everitt fans.
That will be an absolute pleasure should I have to come on here & do that. I only hope I have to.:)

Cheers!

i'm no particular spida fan, and if he weren't in red and white i'd still have him as one of the bigger tools in the league, but he DOES seem to have improved his attitude generally, and he has been good in some games when few others weren't....richmond in rd 2 was the one i saw close up....it's been an ordinary season and i don't think everitt has been our worst, or even in our worst dozen or so....cheers

who's an idiot? mathews was good earlier in the year, as was malceski, neither of them are going real well now, but malceski's a future captain, mathews' best footy is behind him

and bevan? he's a hard goer, good tackler, and has had some good moments this year but he just gets beaten too often and his judgment is poor
Earlier in the year?? What, last week and the job he did on Power?? Infact lets look over the few weeks that proceeded that shall we?

Rd 15 - 24 pos .............vs Carlton on Bentick (12 pos) - WIN
Rd 16 - 15 pos + 2 goals vs West Coast on Braun (21 pos) - LOSS (JUST)
Rd 17 - 10 pos .............vs Richmond on Krakouer (8 pos) - WIN
Rd 18 - 14 pos .............vs Melbourne on McDonald (16 pos) - WIN
Rd 19 - 19 pos + 1 goal..vs St.Kilda on Harvey (3 kicks) - WIN

Hardly "not going well now"....

i'm no particular spida fan, and if he weren't in red and white i'd still have him as one of the bigger tools in the league, but he DOES seem to have improved his attitude generally, and he has been good in some games when few others weren't....richmond in rd 2 was the one i saw close up....it's been an ordinary season and i don't think everitt has been our worst, or even in our worst dozen or so....cheers

I can see what you mean. It's more that he is a very skillfull player & the few possesions he gets are almost never wasted. But we do still need a little more from him.

Any ways Rancidpants. We're in the finals no matter what happens against the 'high flying' Hawks next week.

How do you think The Pies/Hawks/Kangas feel about having the 'Easy' first final against The Bloods on the MCG. They'll be bleeding. Absolutely bleeding!

So chin up all us Swans supporters. We follow this team because they never give up. I'd like to think that we don't give up on them.

So let's all get to the MCG in the first week of the finals because it will be irrelevant who we play as we are the finals hardened outfit.
That counts for plenty. I say rest a few players & let the Hawks beat us next week. That way the Pies, Hawks & Kangas will all think they will beat us easily in the finals.
Bring it on!:thumbsu:

pies and hawks in particular will be licking their lips to line up against sydney at the mcg finals week one. kanga's, well their probably quietly confident too, tho they wont get beyond finals week 2. Any finals team lining up against our boys this year will be confident of a win. But to be honest, i think thats a good thing, cos whenever the swans have been expected to win this year, theyve lost, so they may just surprise come finals, and step up a gear or two, despite injuries, despite tiredness, despite the odds. they are not playing well, but neither was muhammed ali before he regained the title in 74, when noone gave him a chance.

go to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muhammad_Ali and scroll down to 'the rumble in the jungle' and read how he won. the swans should read it too.