Torpedo Punts

FHTours

Apr 11, 2017
starts at Docklands Drive
Hi, I'm sure there have been threads about this before, but I'd like to get this discussion going now.

The torpedo punt is rarely used, but when it comes off it is a weapon breaking lines & exciting the crowd.

As a kid in WA we called them torys (said like Tory Dickson), & I've heard them called torps, barrels & spirals. Whatever.

My questions: 1. what do you call the torpedo?
2. Which player/s do/did the kick really well?
3. Do you have one kick which you remember with special fondness?

*wondering which post number a particular kick I have in mind is posted*
I didn't post this in polls as I reckon there could be too many different players nominated.

1) torp
2) sav rocca
3) I hate to be a spoil sport but I preferred Derek Kicketts grass cutters over any torp
3a) fletchers torp from the goal square

Yep they were tory's or torps when I was a kid.

A couple come to mind for me that I remember seeing live both resulted in goals.

I remember seeing Goddard kick a beauty at Subiaco against us.
Also Dustin Fletcher kicking a ripper.

My favourite however is this booming kick for goal by Jeff Fehring from behind the centre circle at the 1.30 mark of this video

Yep they were tory's or torps when I was a kid.

A couple come to mind for me that I remember seeing live both resulted in goals.

I remember seeing Goddard kick a beauty at Subiaco against us.
Also Dustin Fletcher kicking a ripper.

My favourite however is this booming kick for goal by Jeff Fehring from behind the centre circle at the 1.30 mark of this video

I saw that Goddard kick live as well. Level 3 left forward pocket city road end. Was a monster!

3. Do you have one kick which you remember with special fondness?

When I was kicking out from full back for Willi Juniors against Werribee Juniors in Under 15s. Strong breeze at my back and got on to one straight down the guts. Bounced right in the centre circle and carried on to our CHF area. Even the kid on the mark was impressed as I heard him say "What a boomer".

Why are they called torys in the West?

The other names are obvious but tory...
short for torpedo.
quite typical to add "y" sound on a shortened word for Aussies
Australian - Aussie
breakfast - brekky
barbeque - barbie
etc.

Remember watching Blight's kick at the time and will never forget it. After the siren and to win a game, it went all of 85m. Astonishing and unforgettable given the context.
and there we have it.
this is the one I expected to be quoted.
cheers

I like the torpedo punt - apart from the kick itself - it brings in a bit of excitement - because you dont where the ball will go - so something spectacular could be on the end of it

Gary Malarkey ( Geelong fullback ) was one of the best - he used to kick them in from fullback

Went to a Geelong v Hawthorn in the late 70s at Waverly - terrible game - both sides outside the 5 - but in the 3rd qtr Malarkey kicked about 3 70 metre torps in a row from fullback - could have sat their and watched him do it allday . So even though it was a very ordinary game - i thought i got my moneys worth watching Malarkey kick his torps

Best I've get seen was at an SANFL GF western woodville-west torrents and centrals. Eagles guy got a handball from a turnover and could've ran it all the way from the center circle and kicked it from the goal square, instead opted to go the barrel from well within the center square and goaled it. Thought it would surely get my boys up and about to see my first premiership win. Got flogged

The torp is a thing of beauty. The best I've seen (as silly as this sounds) is a mate kicking them. Purely because of the number of times he did it. I was horrible at it. I could kick them but they never had the lift and depth of the really good kicks.

This mate of mine was a bit of a midfield bull. He'd win the ball in the middle, run 5 steps and just smash it.
Absolutely loved watching it time and time again.

Torpedo Punts