List Mgmt. Trade Week 2016 - Live Thread

Rockliff doesn't add much, particularly if he wants the reported $800k per year to add it.

Barlow doesn't add anything, he's pretty much done.
You didn't watch Barlows 2nd half to the year? Turned it around. Don't let a fall out with Lyon fall you.

Rocky adds heaps to our team. Another ball winner which we badly need. $800k a true figure? The media had Ballaynte at the Eagles too. Don't believe everything.

Seems as though our club is accepting mediocrity at this stage....team isn't quite good enough for a flag yet they continue to stick with it as though they are ignorant to the fact we need midfielders. Pickett would've been cheap, a potential solution to our small forward gap and would inject some pace into the team but he is off to Victoria?! Offer him something to come home ffs. If we can't even get WA boys to come home we may as well pack up shop and leave trade week for clubs hungry to create success. If we get Petrie or don't pick up some mids i'll lose it.
Pick up which mids in particular?

Seems as though our club is accepting mediocrity at this stage....team isn't quite good enough for a flag yet they continue to stick with it as though they are ignorant to the fact we need midfielders. Pickett would've been cheap, a potential solution to our small forward gap and would inject some pace into the team but he is off to Victoria?! Offer him something to come home ffs. If we can't even get WA boys to come home we may as well pack up shop and leave trade week for clubs hungry to create success. If we get Petrie or don't pick up some mids i'll lose it.
Maybe we should spend a couple of seasons near the bottom playing the kids and just drafting players. Get a few great picks. Try and wedge Hogan to replace Kennedy in the future. Not like we're gonna catch GWS, Sydney or Bulldogs anytime soon. Lets open our window when those at the top are on the downward spiral. The Petrie, Ballantyne stop gaps are not worth it.

B
A captain with serious attitude problems who's a renowned chipscab, an old guy who's past it and another who may never get on the park again? Yep, can't take us seriously at all :rolleyes:
Barlow would be our 3rd best hard ball getter. Sheed and Redden who knows what they will deal up. Don't be fooled what a change of scenery would do to help him. Gets away with it on Brisy not so much at a top 6 club

How do u know they haven't offered "something"?

I think you are a little over reacting.

You didn't watch Barlows 2nd half to the year? Turned it around. Don't let a fall out with Lyon fall you.

Rocky adds heaps to our team. Another ball winner which we badly need. $800k a true figure? The media had Ballaynte at the Eagles too. Don't believe everything.

Barlow's still slow and can't kick. Both of which are traits will hardly endear him to our fan base.

Rockliff's not a hell of a lot better in either department. I'm happy for the club to ask the question about him but if his asking price is anything even approaching the numbers being bandied about then I'd pass.

There's a reason why Pickett would be cheap. He has a lisfranc injury. Players have retired from this before.

B

Barlow would be our 3rd best hard ball getter. Sheed and Redden who knows what they will deal up. Don't be fooled what a change of scenery would do to help him. Gets away with it on Brisy not so much at a top 6 club
Wouldn't it be harder to rack up the ball at a bottom club? Pretty sure we know what we'll get with Sheed, which will be better than what Barlow will provide us. Who does Barlow replace?

If I was coach and I believed my window was open then getting in Gibbs and losing Duggan in a couple of years is a no brainer. Would you not be getting Gibbs to play good solid footy for 5 years? What guarantee you have of Duggan ever being able to do that?
Ultimately it is where you see yourself, if you believe our window is not open then you go to the draft. After playing in a GF and following up with 16 wins is not in a window then I don't know what is.
Just my opinion mate.

Except one little problem...Gibbs wants to go to Adelaide. So why do u even mention him?

I didn't want pickett but ffs this is becoming beyond a joke. There is about as much integrity in relation to having a fair competition as there was equity in dick smith. TBH if i didnt love the eagles i would have given up on this joke of a competition years ago.

The afl only wants things to be seen to be fair upon a very casual glance. But **** it as long as clubs fit into the basic points of the salary cap and they are willing to sign off on whatever the afls rule of the week is then well, **** it. As long as the nsw and victorian clubs get their fair share then **** the rest.
That's the way it has always been and my gut feeling is that's the way it will always be unfortunately:mad:

Love the mentality of the "Trade for some mids" crowd. Every chance they've been criticizing the club all year for trading for Redden and Jetta.

It's the equivalent of the numpties who sit near me each game yelling "Just kick the thing!" followed inevitably by "Why'd you kick it there?"

We want action at any cost but we also reserve the right to criticize those actions when they fall over.

Barlow's still slow and can't kick. Both of which are traits will hardly endear him to our fan base.

Rockliff's not a hell of a lot better in either department. I'm happy for the club to ask the question about him but if his asking price is anything even approaching the numbers being bandied about then I'd pass.
Rockliff is a good player and a genuine 500K a year midfielder. 600K if he is playing at his peak of a couple of years ago... But he's only an 800K (the reported figure) a year midfielder at the Lions (or similar club) because they need to fill 90% of their cap. We definitely shouldn't be looking at him on that sort of contract.

Wouldn't it be harder to rack up the ball at a bottom club? Pretty sure we know what we'll get with Sheed, which will be better than what Barlow will provide us. Who does Barlow replace?[/QUOT

Hutchins Hill? Too many outside mids and an upgrade on Hutch. Plus depth which you need and we don't have.

Barlow had a 'below average year' and racked up 25 disp at 70% and 12 contested. Leave stats out of it his impact was high once he came back into the team. Lyons arrogance only reason he doesn't play

Except one little problem...Gibbs wants to go to Adelaide. So why do u even mention him?

We're a rich club so we can afford to convince him to join us instead.

Even though there's a salary cap and we couldn't actually pay him any more than the Crows.

but if they've got pick 3 it takes that out of the equation so they can draft a non academy kid and still have later picks to match any bid on one of their academy kids.
This is exactly why GWS would do this.

Barlow runs at 70% and 12 contested.

There's a reason why Pickett would be cheap. He has a lisfranc injury. Players have retired from this before.
My wife has had this - and was practise manager at a podiatrist. Its incredibly ludicrously dementely difficult just to manage the pain from it let alone try and think about playing competitive sport. It retired her from top flight netball.

I
Everyone keeps saying its the travel factor but like you I am starting to wonder, maybe we are just not an attractive club from the outside.
There would be heaps of factors but I think one of them is that we are not seen as winners. But that is just my view.
In the past the only players that have been interested in coming West are those players wanting to come home eg Chick & Stenglein and in latter times Jetta). Apart from Redden can't think of another player who is not home-grown wanting to come West, so it's nothing new. Why would you want to get on a plane every 2nd week when you can get picked up by a Club in either Melbourne or Sydney. Also a lot of the players on the move are either going or staying wherever they originally came from, so don't think it's anything personal against the Club - it is just we are located in the West. At least we don't lose too many players (like Brisbane or Gold Coast).

List Mgmt. Trade Week 2016 - Live Thread