TradeDraft's 2012 Random Thoughts Thread

SWOOOP said today after the VFL I should start this thread where I can put my Thoughts down without getting Personally Attacked like I was last night and I don't start silly threads over a Small Thing.

So I decided I might as well do that.

The Reason I was banned last night as I had a Go Back at some people who had a Shot at me and I did not like it and I was not in a Great Mood as people might of Saw

Re: TradeDrafts 2012 Random Thoughts Thread

Good idea Dave. I think people were getting annoyed by the amount of threads you were starting which didn't have a great deal of substance behind them. Keeping them in this thread will solve that problem. Look forward to reading your thoughts.

Can u make it in a diary format?

11/03/12
Dear diary...

Tippet is overpayed.

... this has major potential

Can u make it in a diary format?

11/03/12
Dear diary...

umm NOT a good idea after last years efforts ;)

but yes dave, a sound option for the mountains of data pulsing thru your skull.

maybe even add dave's 'tip for the day'.

By the end of the season, this will be the No 1 visited thread on Big Footy.:thumbsu:

Go for it Dave.

Personally I love your thoughts mate.

You are a breath of fresh air.

Good idea Dave. I think people were getting annoyed by the amount of threads you were starting which didn't have a great deal of substance behind them. Keeping them in this thread will solve that problem. Look forward to reading your thoughts.

What do you mean no much Substance?

Well, when you created a thread on a kick Pendlebury did you could have just posted it in the match day discussion. It didn't deserve it's own thread. It would have been different if you created a thread about players kicking on their non preferred and then mentioned the Pendlebury kick as an example because then people would have had a whole topic to discuss, rather than one kick which is pretty limited.

SWOOOP said today after the VFL I should start this thread where I can put my Thoughts down without getting Personally Attacked like I was last night and I don't start silly threads over a Small Thing.

So I decided I might as well do that.

The Reason I was banned last night as I had a Go Back at some people who had a Shot at me and I did not like it and I was not in a Great Mood as people might of Saw
Good on ya mate :thumbsu:

Well, when you created a thread on a kick Pendlebury did you could have just posted it in the match day discussion. It didn't deserve it's own thread. It would have been different if you created a thread about players kicking on their non preferred and then mentioned the Pendlebury kick as an example because then people would have had a whole topic to discuss, rather than one kick which is pretty limited.

SO it's just Thoughts I have on stuff but does not need a Whole New Thread and People can still comment on it here in this thread

So when do these thoughts begin?

Here is one:

In the last RD of NAB Cup games when teams get Behind they really did go for a comeback they just let teams pile up the Points on them - Why?

SO it's just Thoughts I have on stuff but does not need a Whole New Thread and People can still comment on it here in this thread

Yep, whenever you have your thoughts like that, put them in here and you might start up a good conversation! If it's something that's big or important feel free to make a new thread for it, but for opinion related stuff/your thoughts, use this thread or post in an existing thread that it's related to.

Here is one:

In the last RD of NAB Cup games when teams get Behind they really did go for a comeback they just let teams pile up the Points on them - Why?

I reckon it's principally because the teams aren't fussed about the winning / losing result - there have been a few exceptions for sure ; but it's more about game time into the kids, experimenting with postional moves, blowing out the cobwebs and less about busting your gut, ripping hamstrings to win at all costs etc etc

BTW, I hope people can see this thread for what it is and make it a good place to visit.

I'm sure others can post their random footy thoughts aswell for others to
discuss, that may not be threadworthy in itself.

Thanks.

Sorry to intrude on your thoughts Dave but here is one of mine.

Given what we have seen and also the fact that Didak, Tarrant, Brown, Johnson, Wood, Goldsack and Beams will at best have one game before the season proper I can see a very interesting lineup for round one, despite the hard game that it is. Possible we will see some of the following in the team, Paine, Yagmoor Clarke and Young. I think Dawes will be backup ruck.

Here is one:

Firstly surfer, I think Dawes is a cert for back-up ruck in round 1.

Dave, experienced senior player will be thinking of self preservation for a game that means nothing and unlikely to record a win at that point anyway. There is no incentive for them to do that. All they would be doing is risking injury. Far better to just run around, get a few touches, make some tackles and get some miles in the legs.

On these threads, can you come up with a better name for the threads Dave. Something with a bit more spunk. Like:

Daves' Ball Bursters
Dave giving the bird to the AFL
Daves' 'kiss my arse' weekly review
The inquisitive mind of DTM

Your a paasionate guy Dave, let's see it in all it's glory without going to far and resulting in personal abuse.

Perhaps we could have a poll in a thread looking for titles after we get a few different ideas in here. I'm not taking the piss. We should just have some fun with this. That's what footy and supporting the Pies is all about.

This seems a good idea. Trouble is after a while, it will be hard to follow anything. I guess we will have to get used to navigating to last page each time we look.
I guess we are all struggling for understanding in the face of this year's NAB cup results. It is worth remembering that the sides in the first week were very weak, and an indicator that the club was not looking to win this competition.
It is hard to look at these games without remembering the intensity that won 2010 for us and worrying about its current absence. That super intensity only appeared at the end of 2010, so its hard to predict whether it will come this year. Nothing is clearer than that we will not get a premiership without it.

Here is one:

I think it relates to the kids we are playing.
They don't have the stamina to run out a full game.
Adelaide played only 7 kids, we played 15.

Kids need to be in "the system" for about 4 years before they get to the fitness levels required.

The NAB cup is not a genuine concern this year as the players need to peak late in the year. The greatest interest I have in the NAB comp is seeing the young guys play, and at least this year some of the new guys have really shown some talent. Bucks is obviously none too concerned about the NAB comp because he has insisted on giving the new guys a run ahead of established players. Geelong set the player management standard last year and they have just been savaged by Richmond, so our lack of success so far is not a real concern. What is a worry is the number of players missing through injury.

Daves' Ball Bursters
Dave giving the bird to the AFL
Daves' 'kiss my arse' weekly review
The inquisitive mind of DTM

Your a paasionate guy Dave, let's see it in all it's glory without going to far and resulting in personal abuse.

I like the top suggestion there! Got any thread title ideas Dave?

On the bold, personal abuse in here will be treated with very little sympathy.