HB: David Mundy, Luke McPharlin, Roger Hayden
C: Garrick Ibbotson, Peter Bell, Brett Peake
HF: Rhys Palmer, Chris Tarrant, Ryan Murphy
F: Mark Johnson, Matthew Pavlich, Chris Mayne
Foll: Aaron Sandilands, Ryan Crowley, Josh Carr
I/C: Jeff Farmer, Dean Solomon, Robert Warnock, Byron Schammer
EMG: Steven Dodd, Clayton Hinkley, Brock O'Brien

No change

Hope Dodd comes in for Mark Johnson, but I can't see it happeneing.

He'll probably come in for Ryley Dunn, and MaJ will play, which would be a useless move as we know what we'll get from a 30 year old MaJ, while Dunny is still a bit of an unknown...

But of course I am just speculating...

Did Brock or Hinks travel? I don't think they did... will Brock have to prove himself by backing up his BoG from last week before he gets a run??

I'd bring both those young blokes in next week at home against Essendon. :thumbsu:

Not sure why Murphy is getting another run...

harvs is apparantly very happy with his defensive pressure, and the structure that he provides to the team

I mean, I couldn't really disagree with the 'structure' side of things, considering we won easily... but defensive pressure? What a load of shit, he was almost as bad defensively as Pavlova.

Watch the game again before you comment as uneducated as you just did.

I know Dodd is coming off an injury, but seeing as Kosi isn't playing and knowing Dodd usually does a good job on Riewoldt, I thought he would be a massive bonus because it would free Pharlap so we could switch him forward or back.

Considering this scenario, that Dodd would be handling Riewoldt but we are getting smashed in the center, we could put Pavlich into the midfield knowing we have a key forward in Pharlap, who is in great form, pulling them from the skies.

Pav has never liked chasing.

It was one of his biggest problems when he was a midfielder. I remember bringing a couple of neutrals to the game when he was in the middle... (about 04????) and their typical response was "What the ____ does Pav do off the ball? He doesn't do anything!!!"

It's something he has never overcome. And you don't pick it up unless you are there watching it most weeks.

Yeah, I'll spend 2 hours re-considering something I already noted. It was the off camera shit, the very same Murphy that gets canned every week for his 2nd and 3rd (or lack of) efforts in the WAFL.

So you didn't see his 4 tackles. This kind of annoying prejudice has got to stop at Freo. Enough is enough.

dodd isnt that great, im happy to see a team that played so well go in unchanged.

ryley dunn better play, i thought he was handy in the first half last week and will only get better. just needs to get given a good run at it. ive always thought that he was a stronger paul hasleby. after injuries he may now be restricted to the half forward line but i still reckon he will be good for us

is it really true dalsanto got dropped? :eek:

So you didn't see his 4 tackles. This kind of annoying prejudice has got to stop at Freo. Enough is enough.

mate if someone disagrees with you, you get straight to obviously they must be uneducated...... or prejudiced, couldn't be that they may possibly be coorect could it?

watching at the game you do notice his lack of second and third efforts, he should be working harder and needs to be. 4 tackles, good, i admit that surprised me a tad, but he didn't do much at all really.

The one area that Pav needs to work on is his defensive pressure, he just looks really slow and uncharacteristically pav-like when he's chasing.

He has only had 23 tackles in his career (avg 0.7 per game). Around about the 1 tackle per game mark isn't all that bad for a full forward to be honest. He is averaging more tackles this year than Kepler for example.

It's always been his chasing and repeat efforts (or lack of) that have annoyed me. Personally, I thought he was much better in that regard on the weekend though.

I've probably been one of his biggest critics, high expectations since 2006 i guess. He hardly deserves to be dropped after last weeks game though. Structurally he straightened us up a fair bit, and if he continues to work on his pressure what more can we ask? If he can get back to kicking 1-2 goals a game it'd be pretty nice as well.

Jesus, this season has got me trying to find the positives in EVERYTHING.

The Saints have gone with youth and pace - should be a really good contest.

I'd prefer to see Dodd come in for Murphy. The guy lacks mobility, and will get run off too easily at the Dome, plus he did sfa last week.

I guarantee Dal Santo will come back into the 22 for the Saints.

mate if someone disagrees with you, you get straight to obviously they must be uneducated...... or prejudiced, couldn't be that they may possibly be coorect could it?

watching at the game you do notice his lack of second and third efforts, he should be working harder and needs to be. 4 tackles, good, i admit that surprised me a tad, but he didn't do much at all really.

But they are not correct, hence those comments are made. If they had made an effort, they would form the same opinion as me and be correct. I am probably a little too harsh and mean etc and I should cut that out (Like Josh and his constant suspensions) but what can you do. I'm not saying they can't have opinions, just that they are wrong ones ;)

Lets compare Murphy to People who acctually do apply pressure

Murphy compared with other forwards
I think it says everything about him

Now I didn't include Pav because he doesn't chase anyway.
Why include Mayne, Solomon and Farmer. They are different types of forwards who are meant to provide the defensive pressure.

Also, tackles don't equate to defensive pressure by themselves. If you pin someone to the boundary line without tackling them, force them a rushed kick up the line and it causes a turnover (See last week) it is as good as a tackle.