U19 Under 19's North Divison 1

If we are talking about best ruckman of the competition surely humann from trinity must get a mention. Might not be the flashy type of player that greer sounds like but he is a workhorse and will not back down. Look forward to watching these two go at it. Enought about Individuals.
Shaping up as a pritty exciting season, although banyule trinity ivanhoe look like the front runners, I do not think that the fourth spot will be useless. essendon, camberwell, bulleen, and even fitzroy (who have had a pritty tought draw playing trinity and ivanhoe in first 3 rounds) all could take it up to the top 3 on their day.

Just a bit on Old Ivanhoe;

- Rumour has it Greer has been tamed by a young lady who doesn't really approve of his football playing. She's a country folk so when she returns home to see the family on the weekends he has a run.
- Dal Pos would probably have the best foot skills in the league.
- Darcy Hale is the brother of David. Stephen Ward is the cousin of Gemma.
- Buchley provides a fantastic target at CHF, although looks a little lackluster when on the run.
- James Mugavin will drink any man in the VAFA under the table.

- Rumour has it Greer has been tamed by a young lady who doesn't really approve of his football playing. She's a country folk so when she returns home to see the family on the weekends he has a run.
- Buchley provides a fantastic target at CHF, although looks a little lackluster when on the run.

You may be able to drink but you might have a problems if the boys dont learn how to put their foot down and tell their mrs who is boss....

has anyone seen the oval that banyule/viewbank play on. i heard they lost one of thier best last week? does anyone know of any other clubs injuries?

Reasonably easy round, 3 matches are automatic selections.
Carey, Sharks and Parade couldn't win if they started now!
Ivanhoe should be just too good for O Cam and I suspect that you could toss a coin in the other match but Peterson oval is a big home ground advantage so I'll pick the reds

Any body got any tips and insights into this week's games?
Im looking at you bw2 and white. I'll have my first crack for the year...

Old Carey V Old Essendon: Carey seem very lacklustre this year.
I think Essendon will be too strong around the ball. And should win by 60+ points

Old Camberwell V Old Ivanhoe: Ivanhoe haven't been challenged this year as yet, playing very poor sides.
This will be their first real challenge. Still should win by 40+ points

Old Trinity V Manningham Sharks: Very easy one to pick.
Trinity to continue on their merry ways. Will account for the sharks by 100+ points

Bulleen Templestowe V Old Paradians: Bulleen easily over parade, who don't look much chop this year.
Bulleen by 60+ points

Fitzroy Reds V Banyule/Viewbank: Another easy one to pick. Banyule going very nicely at the moment.
Will be interesting to see how they go against Ivanhoe and Trinity though. Banyule by 60+ points

Those are my thoughts for this round. We'll see how i go

has anyone seen the oval that banyule/viewbank play on. i heard they lost one of thier best last week? does anyone know of any other clubs injuries?

what a goose..... 'the cave'. if you are going to post questions about banyule dont use a name that directly suggests an involvment with the club (Banyule bears/bear cave). Id suggest that you heard that they lost 'one of their best' because you were plaing in the same game. Your a _____ joke mate.

anyway my tips for the week:
have to agree with winch. ess, OI, OT, BT, Banyule

dalPos may have good foot skills but the kid is an absolute cat! jumps at shadows and never puts his head over the footy. Only got a game last year because his dad was the coach. I cant wait till i get to play on him!

With regards to tips this week winch, yours look pretty good mate, although its not an overly difficult round to tip.

Alright alright, footy tips for this week. Few easy ones here as usual but I'm predicting a wee little upset...

Carey will be beaten by an Essendon team that are not bad by any means and should account for them easily (36+pts)

Camberwell to be the upset of the round and knock off the undefeated Ivanhoe boys (11pts)

Trinity will make light work of the Sharks (10goals+)

Bulleen to beat a dismal Paraidian side (30+pts)

Fitzroy will be at home against Banyule and this will be the highlight of their day. Banyule to win by (80+pts)

Will be another few weeks until the top teams are really tested but I'm picking up pumped up team led by Mckendrick to come out firing! Would be also nice to see Banyule beaten but that won't be happening this week...bw2.

Who were the best players for each team this week?
any stand out players who should been in contention to make the vic team?

who was "one of their best" that banyule lost?
what happened to him?

Who were the best players for each team this week?
any stand out players who should been in contention to make the vic team?

who was "one of their best" that banyule lost?
what happened to him?
What are the criteria for making the vic team?Some teams have players who have only played senior football.
Also good to see O carey beat Ess yest and breathe some life back into the race for the 4.
By the way who won bet reds and yules?

coming from an OT's perspective and the vic squad, our under 19's team are on fire at the moment (4-0) and they're best players are easily Rob Humannn and Matthew Jessop. But we do have 2 under 19 guns playing in the seniors at the moment in Dayne Coulsen-Hoffacker and Luke Paconni. If these 2 keep up their good form you would have to say they are a fair chance to get a look in for the vic squad. Brendan Iezzzi was captain of the vic squad last year and was an under 19 player last season but played all year in the seniors so I don't think that it matters if you play seniors or not. I think that anyone can be picked from either the under 19 division or from under 19's playing seniors for their respective team.

What are the criteria for making the vic team?Some teams have players who have only played senior football.
Also good to see O carey beat Ess yest and breathe some life back into the race for the 4.

As long as you're under 20 on 30 June 2008, then you are eligible.

Pretty safe to say the vast majority of the U19 rep players would be expected to be playing solely in their club's senior side. The VAFA selectors have to find a unit which can beat the AFLQ U21 side, many of whom have been playing in the same competition together for 6 years.

Kids who can't get into their club's senior team, and are therefore playing in the U19 divisions, will be in the minority for sure.

Reasonably easy round, 3 matches are automatic selections.
Carey, Sharks and Parade couldn't win if they started now!
Ivanhoe should be just too good for O Cam and I suspect that you could toss a coin in the other match but Peterson oval is a big home ground advantage so I'll pick the reds
Good work clown. I have no problem with tipping against a team, but statements like this just make you look stupid. Good on the Carey boys and good luck to the Sharks and parade next week

Old Carey had some big ins rumour has it. anyone with the confirmation.
they did well to beat oeg.

seems that OEG should be a top 4 side, althought hey struggle away from home. hopefully they get back to where they should be at - top 4.

Old Carey didnt seem to be the team they were int he first few rounds, good to see.

Good work clown. I have no problem with tipping against a team, but statements like this just make you look stupid. Good on the Carey boys and good luck to the Sharks and parade next week
No problem,more than pleased to admit I got it wrong(see my previous post), but on disclosed form it did look like it would go the other way:o

No probs mate i was a bit harsh. Was at work, bad day, and my team lost by heaps yesterday so was very grumpy.

watching mann. sharks vs trinity on the weekend, the sharks looked the goods, only down by 3 goals at half time, some gun players in that team, but too many average-below average players which other teams account for. trinity just too good in second half. anyone watch that game? physical pressure was great

with all this talk on the under 19's vic squad etc. who are the gun under 19 players running around for their seniors? Who might be a chance for selection. i'll start us off.

OLD TRINITY.
- LUKE PACCONI
- DAYNE COULSEN-HOFFACKER

give us some names of players from your club. try and pick a team early maybe.

Banyule won by 9 points. Apparently the Reds got within 3 late in the game and then the Bears kicked 1 more goal. The battle for 4th spot is going to be interesting.

the sharks looked the goods, only down by 3 goals at half time...trinity just too good in second half.

Mate i am pretty sure the sharks never looked the goods trailing all day and then being run over the top by a much fitter, tougher and more polished OT side.

i mean, i guess 93 points isn't too much of a flogging...

the sharks' pressure around the ball stunned the trinity players, half time scores 37 - 19. i think u gotta give credit where it is due. of course the 2nd half trinity smashed them, although from an onlooker the first half was terrific, the pressure and tackling from both sides was good to watch.

I think you will find, or at least i did that the scores at half time were a little misleading with OT 5.7 (12 scoring shots) to MS 3.1 (4 scoring shots)!

But if you read my post properly i said that your comment about MS looking the goods at half time was a little rash, considering they were still behind by three goals in what was then a low scoring affair!

I will give them credit in the second quarter where they scored two goals and restricted OT to two goals.

OTs best included: Jessop, Humann, Robertson, Howell, Schivo and Weissenfeld.