VAFA D1 new thread for 2007

i believe the time keepers may have been at odds as to when the siren needed to be pushed. Is this correct?

Us mentone boys are over it, we are just looking forwarding to having another chance this weekend. Who cares about umpires, marks, punching, time keepers, all I know is that Oakleigh won by 1 point end of story. We at Mentone are just looking forward to another challenge this week against Hampton.

i believe the time keepers may have been at odds as to when the siren needed to be pushed. Is this correct?
A valiant attempt to stir the pot but one that has no grounds ... even so, the game is done and dusted. If I were them, I would focus on a rampant Hampton.

I tell you what I believe, some of the Oakleigh supporters showed their true character after the siren went ... as just an observer on the day I couldn't believe how some of them decided to take the opportunity to incite the Mentone crowd rather than just enjoy their win. No wonder their club has had to fork out hundreds and hundreds of dollars in fines to the MSJFL for poor behaviour by club officials and players, they seem to have poor leadership through out the club.

Makes want to say ... I hope they get thumped in the Grand Final and not win a game in C Section in 2008.

A valiant attempt to stir the pot but one that has no grounds ... even so, the game is done and dusted. If I were them, I would focus on a rampant Hampton.

I tell you what I believe, some of the Oakleigh supporters showed their true character after the siren went ... as just an observer on the day I couldn't believe how some of them decided to take the opportunity to incite the Mentone crowd rather than just enjoy their win. No wonder their club has had to fork out hundreds and hundreds of dollars in fines to the MSJFL for poor behaviour by club officials and players, they seem to have poor leadership through out the club.

Makes want to say ... I hope they get thumped in the Grand Final and not win a game in C Section in 2008.

there is no way in the world the Mentone supporters would ever bunch together behind the goals and carry on like that........... NOT!!!!

Not sure about that uncle mick. From where I was I actually thought the Oakleigh forward (who has an uncanny resemblance to a certain retiring St Kilda full forward) had a fair piece of it too. I wouldn't put it past Snowy to have got his hands on it. He probably took 10 hangers on sunday. Can play.

Agreed - should have he punched though? A rush behind would have won Mentonians the game....

Outrageous.

Feel free to come down and support the Rovers boys on GF day if we do make it through.

there is no way in the world the Mentone supporters would ever bunch together behind the goals and carry on like that........... NOT!!!!

not much of a fan there dermie...?

who said the spring carnival was dead??? we're down to a 3 horse race with the prahran stable suffering a severe bout of the equine flu. oakleigh have a slender lead over mentone at the 400m and hampton are a little further back with sheldon cracking the whip. can the rovers juggernaut continue to impress with their late run or have OM's got enough in them to hold them out so close to the line?

Agreed - should have he punched though? A rush behind would have won Mentonians the game....

Outrageous.

What about the umpire picking up the ball and throwing it back to the Oakleigh player?
What about Dermott Cleary missing 3 goals straight in front?
How could a scoreboard guy get it so wrong?

The what if's can go on and on...

Who cares.

What about the umpire picking up the ball and throwing it back to the Oakleigh player?

Who cares.

This whole forum is about 'what if's' mate. Thanks largely to our club icon Jascave. Get over it.

I'm just curious as to the actual outcome and the circumstances behind it, because meanwhile we were spanking Prahran at Chelt.

'What if' you just give me your answer instead of giving me more 'what if's'?

Outrageous. Spare me. Not great. Thats not fantastic.

100 points win in finals in any league around Australia-whether it's SANFL, WAFL, VAFA, AFL etc-are pretty rare events. I can remember a few that stands out- Essendon defeating Collingwood by 130+ in the 1984 preliminary final, Essendon defeating the Kangaroos by 100+ in the 2000 qualifying final, Woodville-West Torrens defeating Central Districts by 100+ in the 2004 SANFL Grand Final. The average winning margin in a VAFA final-any final-by my guess, would be around 18-24 points, or close to it. Only a very, very good team could win a final by 100 points, especially a elimination type final like the first semi.

OE lost 2 grand finals in a row by more than 100 points in 200 and 2001.

I witnessed Old Trinity's Club XVIII defeat Caulfield Grammarians by 161 points in their 1st semi last year, and they backed up with a 27 point loss the next week.

Jascave - the flipside of your claim is only a poor side would LOSE a final by 100+ points. Fact is, once you're 9 or 10 goals behind, you can easily chuck it in as the size of the loss is irrelevant.

Having said that, I have tipped Hampton to win this week. ;)

Jase, you'd wanna do a bit of research before throwing out a figure like 24 points being an average winning margin in Amateur finals. I certainly wouldn't be surprised if you do have your hands on that stat, but for anyone to take it serious you might want to show evidence of it. Granted it was an exceptional performance, the job is far from over. We want to win the next 8 quarters of footy before spruiking off about a 101 win in a semi final. First focus is to get a C Section berth.

firsthome - what planet are you on there old boy? There was no mention of 'what if'. The question was 'should he have punched?', probably moreso, was it possible that a point could've been forced from that last contest? No mention of umpires, Cleary or the scoreboard.

What can be said of the game at TBO on Sunday? With Snow apparently pulling in the big grabs it looks as though Oakleigh might have been the more dominant side....

Who cares.

Don't worry about me old soldier!
Im a gun and did my fair share on Sunday. We got up and will enjoy the weekend off and the fact that we KNOW we will be in C section next year, and we will continue rising!

I wonder how many i'll jail in the Final? The BOG medal will look good around my neck.

saw hampton after our second side ended prahrans season and that was the best footy seen in d1 for a few years. it was nothing like the side we beat twice this year. won't be beaten if they put in performances like that over the next two weeks.

Apologies to OE. It was 126 in 2000 and 65 in 2001. Also in relation to Jas and close margins. In D1 only, the closest winning margin in the last 13 years has been 16 points

...and not forgetting their 32 point lead at 3 QR time in the 1999 preliminary final against BT....that they lost!!!

They are known chokers...on the topic of big losses in finals HBP..how could we forget BTs golden effort of having 13 goals kicked against them in one undisciplined quater in the Grand Final of that same year (1999). Dear me, playing 3 players short for 20min hurts on the scoreboard...???

Almost as rare as a 100 point loss? :D

They are known chokers...on the topic of big losses in finals HBP..how could we forget BTs golden effort of having 13 goals kicked against them in one undisciplined quater in the Grand Final of that same year (1999). Dear me, playing 3 players short for 20min hurts on the scoreboard...???

Almost as rare as a 100 point loss? :D

we had 13 goals kicked against us in 1 qtr....and still only lost by 20 points. hardly could be considered a big loss

costly quarter though. what happened?

as the Gerbil (Conduct Unbecoming) said, we had 2 sent off (both found not guilty at tribunal) and AJAX took full advantage. They were kicking to the Pavilion end at Sandy, with a howling gale and were kicking them from everywhere!

How'd u go on Sat? training would've been a pleasure last night?