VFL vs Geelong today

• Thread starter Thread starter pipeline

pipeline are you any relation to stanley? because your reports always seem very stanlety orintated, and plus you're always at the vfl so you must have a reason for attending
Just a query anyway? appreciate your reports, heard from a geelong mate that cook was very good, and stanley good as well.
I'd bring cook in this week, perhaps for a run with role on selwood. I'm a bit more up beat on cook than most. I believe stanley will get his chance this year, it's only a matter of time for him, personally i dont know why there is so much love for him because he has definately looked fish out a water at afl level, however i've heard he has improved dramatically and could be a stong bodied mid we crave.
Any reports on keefe, rounds, bennel etc did they play?

Yep, I'm his mother.

Sorry about those I missed out on. I always start out with good intentions of trying to cover everyone but one person just can't do it. As the game goes on you tend to just get more focussed on the players who are doing well - or bad in some cases. And then when you get home, watch some more footy, think back over the game, the detail blurs and you're left with a lot of impressions. I'm not a professional reporter and there are plenty of posters on this board who know more about footy than me so I don't claim anything I write as gospel. Just my views and people can take them or leave them. I'll defend them if I think it's warranted because that's what we all do on this board but I wouldn't punch anyone in the head over my opinion and I couldn't be bothered getting into a full scale slanging match either.

For info, I've explained before why I love the two's and as for Danny, as a two's regular, he's the best I've seen apart from Daisy's few games and Pendles. I'll keep reporting it as I see it and if Danny drops off, you'll hear that from me too. And if he gets a fair crack at the seniors and doesn't make it, I'll be satisfied and the dabate will be over. But I really, really like what I see and I think he'd be an asset. I'd better go now and tuck him up in bed!;)

If anyone ever meets Dannys old man at a VFL game you wont meet nicer bloke with such great footy knowledge and he is a massive MM supporter.

He would be one of dannys harshest critics too, last year he was complaining about his foot skils i laughed and said at least he is getting it he then explained who he was lol.

I would say he was there yesterday being a geelong boy

So in a football team, you want "equality of opportunity"
Yep and if it backfires you would then want Malthouse out for not picking the best team.

Its about selecting the best available, its not some sort of democracy

Hey Chase, in the interests of board harmony I'm proposing an alternative DS t-shirt, with FREE DANNY STANLEY on the front and MALTHOUSE IS OUR MENTOR on the back.

Thanks for the report Pipeline, I always enjoy reading your opinion on our boys playing in the VFL and not just because I'm on the Stanley bandwagon. Your reports are always thorough, informative and well written.

As for Stanley, I think I'm beyond the point of wondering when he will get another senior gig. You would have to think it will happen at some stage if he keeps up his current form, but I'm continually bewildered when players get the nod ahead of him without showing the same form.

I understand that in some cases players are selected because they offer something specific and Stanley has probably suffered in recent seasons because of a perceived lack of versatility; where players such as Cook and Wellingham have been favoured.

Personally, I've never bought into Stanley's apparent weaknesses; such as his supposed poor disposal, decision making and so forth. He had a few forgettable moments in some of his AFL appearances, but so has every other player who ever got the call-up.

I don't think any of the people who are hoping Stanley gets a gig believe him to be a sure thing, but we all want him to at least get a decent opportunity to prove whether his excellence at VFL level can be transferred to AFL level.

I don't want to speculate as to what might go on behind closed doors at the club, but the Stanley situation really doesn't make sense from a practical perspective. We've struggled in the clearances - not just so far this year but in past seasons - and he has been performing in that capacity.

I couldn't fathom why Stanley wasn't one of the emergencies for this week's game, given he didn't play in the practice match the week before so it's not like his form could have dropped. On a wet day, when we're struggling for clearances, he would have been great in the midfield against Melbourne. That's taking nothing away from Beamer who was fantastic on debut.

I know I shouldn't do this, I know I'm being sucked in and I know you're really A J Ayer and you'd like nothing better than to debate the existence of God over sherry and cakes for the next four hundred years but I've wound the clocks back an hour already and it's not that late, so here goes......

In football matters I'd describe myself more as a Burkean, you a Sophist.

Game 1 2007(?) vs Melbourne. Danny debuts on a HBF and is holding Silvia(?) to a couple of kicks and looking right at home. Robbo meanwhile is looking good and already has i on Harry when Harry goes off with a crook shoulder late in the first Q. MM moves Danny to full back. For the nest almost two quarters Robbo gives Danny a torrid time but only scores 2 goals! MM moves Toovey on to Robbo because Danny can't cope. Robbo kicks another 4 on Toovey in a bit over a quarter. Meanwhile Danny goes back and shuts Silvia down again. Dropped.

Game 2 Vs Swans in Sydney(?) 2007(?) Danny plays a very reasonable game in a good win away. MM says he did quite well, played a good shut down role on ??? Dropped.

2008 first game against Blues. Danny makes two howlers by being run down twice by Gibbs, one after a hospital handpass from a senior player who left him hanging out to dry, and one because Gibbs just plain got him. Danny also runs down Gibbs in thr same quarter and the same way but no-one cares. He also takes out O'Halpin with a legit cannonnball bump that sends the huge sook off the ground. Gets dragged and with limited game time thereafter plays a reasonable game. Dropped.

Freo 2008. Whole team plays like crap. Danny takes a brilliant mark (endorsed by Tim Watson) and has horror shot in horror conditions. Plays well for the rest of the game as affirmed by MM. Dropped.

Talk about plucking the low-lying fruits. Honestly. Are we to believe that the faceless men in plaid suits on the Collingwood selection committee couldn't contain their Machiavellian urges to spurn Stanley in a never-ending vendetta, or could it possibly have been the result of his failure to make a significant impact on AFL games, or his possible value in the next game? Negating Colin Sylvia, what a feather! Luckily we were able to overcome Sydney in round 12 2007 after Danny's dropping after the Melbourne game.

I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and assume your mention of round one being against Melbourne is meant to mean our first game against Melbourne, which was in round 11. But there are a fair few question marks here, and I don't mean just in your analysis, but in factual recollection. It's hard to take your analysis and memory of the games he played seriously when you can't remember who he played such a great shut-down role against versus Sydney.

Danny gets stitched up by Gibbs, but...Too many buts and what ifs.

Total game time - about 2 games worth.
Total game time in preferred position - maybe 1 quarter.

Meanwhile other players (no need for names) string game after horrible game together. Meantime too, Danny goes back to the two's and continues to say "Sorry Mick, trying hard here, doing the only thing I can do, which is to dominate at the next level down." He has never been as bad as you and all his other knockers make out and has at least deserved more than one game in a row.

Over to you AJ but I'm out.

Danny Stanley must now have more conspiracy theories around him than JFK. Other young players have been given chances ahead of Stanley, but to my mind have taken their opportunities when given a shot or been dropped. When J-Mac came in post the Shaw / Didak incident, he put the runs on the board and deserved to be mainatined? No? Wellingham and Cook have been dumped also when they failed to impress.

There's no point screaming about fair opportunities and not being played in the right role. If you can't make it as a viable and adaptable spare parts man in AFL as an up and coming player, you have problems. Burns was an in and under player, but you could always trust him around the ground - to pick up valuable disposals, take marks and kick a goal.

In Danny's last game against Frementle, he was only above Cook in his disposals as a midfielder. When he played in the NAB he apparently had 100% disposal efficiency, but we all know that is no gauge. To find space and effect the game is more important than bald stats.

I think he should be given opportunities to play if he does well at VFL level and if he might fit the opposition, but, please, no more of the Danny needs to play his special role in the mid (as opposed to Swan, O'Bree, Pendles, Davis, Thomas, Lockyer, J-Mac) or else he is being ripped off. He's not the Lamb of God, but a peripheral player that needs to show a capacity outside of the nuggety extractor role in which he is meant to excel.

If he keeps playing well at VFL level and we play a team like North or Sydney, I'm for giving him a go for sure, but enough with the histrionics.

Well said OS. I thought Pipeline was describing the greatest player of the modern era in his description. Maybe he is Danny's manager?????????

Now now Kevin, don't disrespect the demiurge.

Tangentially, the Ultra Tune man is back on the scene so make sure you stay on the road.

Now now Kevin, don't disrespect the demiurge.

Tangentially, the Ultra Tune man is back on the scene so make sure you stay on the road.

I know OS. He's even got INDEPENDENT RESEARCH. MY God, that proves it, doesn't it????

Could you imagine being a truely independent researcher turning up to his office, "Well Mr Icantseeyourneck, research is in, and it says that Ultratune is crap. Complete crap actually with a confidence interval of 0.00005". Not much element of doubt there MR........

It would be a matter of sprinting to the door before the hail of bullets arrived.

Don't worry OS. Woke up one night with the sight of a greasy front tyre from a Morris Minor in bed next to me, so I'm hiding out in a small village in the Andes until things cool down. Luckily they do Collingwood games with sub titles over here. I don't speak Spanish and I was wondering if you could translate. When the Ultra tune man appears on the screen, the caption reads 'El w***er Grandissimo'. Any idea???

Once you have the iron-grip of independant research behind you, I know that should be enough. Like Brand Power and the Ponds Institute - who have done so much to fight the seven signs of ageing - you can't argue with good science. Still, somethings a bit off. I feel under seige.

It's good to hear that I wasn't the only one waking in fright. When I awoke to find my bed covered, rose-petal like, in greased ball-bearings I knew something was a bit skewy.

I'm now seeking safe-haven in the houses of Lube-Mobile mechanics, but the reach of the neckless, charismatic one is ubiqitous in Australia, so I'm going to have to cross the Alps and eke out a living as a destitute peasant. I'll meet you in the resistance centre - I am the Albatross.

I'm going to speak to pipeline (qua Danny Stanley's manager) about getting Danny to do some Ultra Tune ads.

Just so you blokes (excuse the Andy Maherism) can apply the 2-birds-1-stone thinking to your whinging. :)

I'm going to speak to pipeline (qua Danny Stanley's manager) about getting Danny to do some Ultra Tune ads.

Just so you blokes (excuse the Andy Maherism) can apply the 2-birds-1-stone thinking to your whinging. :)

Always drink in moderation MDC.

The mind is willing but the pecking fingers are pink. You're burning me off in replies, and no one will understand this tommorow morning. Damn the youth and their dexterous ways!

Once you have the iron-grip of independant research behind you, I know that should be enough. Like Brand Power and the Ponds Institute - who have done so much to fight the seven signs of ageing - you can't argue with good science. Still, somethings a bit off. I feel under seige.
Don't forget the "Australian Hair and Scalp Foundation", who are such strong advocates of Head & Shoulders products; which is not surprising because the foundation itself is one guy in an office who is actually an employee of the makers of Head & Shoulders.

Anyhoo, back on topic please gents.

Promising reports on Dawesome, I thought. He needs to find some form.

If you ever get a grid graphic on an ad, it makes you step back and think about what you've bought, who you are and where you're going? Far out!

Dawesome awesomeness - please explain squire?

Actually OS I've got a much more disturbing feeling about Ultratune guy...

doctor_who-_sontaran_stratagem.jpg

...but anyhoo...

The word on Stanners sounds great - even if he's not picked in the next few weeks, I've got a good vibe he'll be staking his claim in the top 22 by round 11.

That's what my real dad said. :(

(mods are going to have quite the clean-up job come tomorrow morning, eh?)
MDC ive got money on you for modship

Straighten up and fly right

It was interesting that Melbourne in the first term opened us up through the middle. This is where the better teams kill us. Also constantly playing down the flanks is causing the ball to come to slow into the forward line. I think Stanley deserves a better chance.

Danny Stanley is our new Heath Scotland.
..great! Can we trade him too then?! Stanley is more like our next Iaccobucci. How about you dissect his handful of AFL games and see how his stats and effective disposals rate? There is a wide chasm between VFL and AFL form. All these players deserve a game (based on talent alone) in the midfield before Stanley: Mc Carthy, Beams, Sidebottom, Wellingham. That is why he does not get games. Anyone that rates Stanley over players like JMac are dreaming..

In my opinion the reason Stanley isnt getting a game is because he simply hasnt taken his chances when he had them. He has been given plenty of chances in the past but just hasnt been able to handle the pressure/speed difference of senior footy. He coffs the ball up through poor decision making and/or poor skills. I'm not saying he will never make it...in fact he will most likely get another opportunity soon but when he does he needs to make the most of his opportunity and have faith in his ability. He has great pace, great work ethic and is hard as nails.. he just needs to tighten up his skills. I dont think Mick hates him, i think its just a case of Mick not thinking he has the skills/decision making ability to handle finals pressure and therefore Stanly has to proove Mick wrong when he gets his chance.
You dont get too many chances with Mick but when you do you need to make the most of them. Hopefully Stanley does the next time he gets his chance.