Apologies for the egomaniac have my own thread thing, but there’s a bit too much to post to lob it in elsewhere. I’m going to add to this up until the draft so stay tuned. Please feel free to ask questions.
First off a disclaimer for all you lovely folk out there. I live in Melbourne. This means I unfortunately don’t get as much exposure as I’d like to the interstate boys, including SA, besides champs and some tapes. In addition my work has kept me away from the U18s a bit this year so I won’t be as thorough on the field as I’d like to be, more honing in on the boys I like (no homo) and players I have tracked. It won’t touch on everything I want to as some things are best kept to myself at this stage. If I’ve seen a bad game from a player who’s played well in other games, it will hurt my views, visa-versa. Also, as I watch VFL a bit, you’ll see a tendency to put these blokes in as well.
Anyway, here goes nothing. I hope it’s of some use to you footy tragics, please don’t take it as gospel, it’s just my brief opinion on some players, our situation and what I’ve seen.
Favourites:
If you know my draft tendencies, you’ll likely know who will pop up here. I have a penchant for the small man (still have wood over PRESTIA), as well as athleticism, X Factor, upside and aggressive players. Please keep in mind these are not guys I think we’ll get, not a list of ‘best’ players, just an assortment of blokes I like (hmmmm again no homo).
Chad WINGARD – SA – Mid – 18yo – 182cmI’m a little unsure as to what GWS’s issue with Wingard is. Clearly a top 3 player in this draft and I’d probably take him with #1. Perhaps they have issues with his bodies durability or his repeat concussions, but you have that many picks in this draft, take this kid you knobs.
He’s still slight, but he’s a very silky and smart player. Couple with that his ability to make good decisions by foot and his attack on the ball and you have a very well rounded player. Dominated the jumping at camp and put in very good agility times, I think he was a little underdone which affected his sprint, but he still went sub 3.
Could play anywhere during his career, small forward, HBF, wing, but too talented not to end up in the middle, where his evasiveness, quick hands and decisions will come to the fore. Should be top three and thus well out of our thoughts.
Draft Range – 3-6
Toby GREENE – VIC – Mid – 18yo – 181cmI love this little kid, perhaps my favourite in this draft and before explaining him, I’ll explain why. Watching him during the champs I saw him win a contested ball, feed his team mate by quick hand, push HARD to the next contest after the ball was cleared, get to the next stoppage where his team mate was tackled hard, ball spilled, he gets it, side-steps two and another smart release handball, followed by a quick mouth off and push to the bloke who got his team mate, before following up again to the next stoppage. That’s Toby in a nutshell. Competitive, fiery, work horse.
His standout features are his nose for the footy (don’t have the stats on me, but he would have averaged in the 30’s for the champs, school footy and TAC footy all year), his evasiveness (something that doesn’t show up in agility testing) and his hands. His decision by hand and how soft and quick they are make him very suited to modern midfield roles where decisions are split second and quick handballs are constantly fired out. His handball receives are elite, ala Brad CROUCH, where he will run to the perfect spot to receive the next one. His work rate is fantastic, shown with a shuttle of 15.15 and a 3km of 3.27, both excellent for his age. Couple his work rate with his competitiveness and you’ve got a bloke that won’t quit on you, There’s a bit of Rory Sloane about this kid, gets the job done and with a spunk that doesn’t come off as arrogant, but as a neutral supporter you say ‘damn I like that boy’.
I’m pretty sure Brisbane are keen with 8, Port have interest at 6 and GWS want to snare him. Not in our range but one to keep an eye out for as a kid who’s fun to watch (unless he goes to Port).
Draft Range – 4-8
Hayden CROZIER – Vic – Fwd/Mid – 17yo – 185cm
I’ve made it no secret I like this kid. I can understand all the concerns over his consistency and pure fire, but seriously is too talented to fall near us (unfortunately). I’d have taken Greene then Crozier at 10 if we had it.
Just scraping in to this years draft crop, and underdeveloped even for his age group, he’s still very raw. Yes he's never torn a game open, or put in consistent stretches of the season where he's been up and going the whole time, but he's still 17 (will be for a couple more months), was forced to play in a poor Rangers squad, often filling holes and playing all over the shop (Key Forward, Key Back, Wing, Mid forward, Mid Back....Mid), then slotting into a Metro squad with more than enough rangy flanker with a game plan centred around a man mountain. He's not had the best of chances to really get his consistency going. Still averaged 18.7 touches at 67% for the Rangers, which isn't too bad for a stop gap flanker.
Forget 'The Mark'.....no wait, don't, because that wouldn't be doing justice to what a ripper that was. But that sums up Hayden, he got the Metro boys going with that piece of flair, then stuck it down Greene's throat to share the wealth. Very grounded lad who knows exactly where he is in his development and what he needs to do. He understood his endurance needed work last year, he then put in a 73rd percentile shuttle run. He understands he's underweight, that will be fixed (in time.... ).
What really gets me going about Crozier is how well he does everything, without being the old 'jack of all trades, master of none'. He uses both feet, both hands, uses the ball very well, makes good decisions, impacts the game, understands defensive football. It's all there ready to explode. He has a knowledge of where things are, like all good footballers, and this, along with his speed, agility and desire to stay on his toes (probably for fear of becoming road kill) gives him time with the ball, which heightens his decision making.
From an athletic point of view, he's the crem de la crem of this years draft. 85% 5 meter, 89% 10 and 95th percentile 20 meter. 94th percentile agility. 76th percentile repeats. The best right foot running vert. I mentioned his improved endurance before.
I see him going a bit earlier than the phantoms around here unfortunately, in the teens, so again this is a favourite we won’t see.
Draft Range – 10-20 (though the Walrus goes earlier)
Devon SMITH – Vic – Mid/Fwd – 18yo – 174cm
As with Toby Greene, Smith has that ‘spunk’ about him. It’s that aggressive, competitive workhorse thing…..something I obviously value I guess. Devon really had an impressive start to the year, before having an ‘ok’ champ series and ‘ok’ end of the year at the Falcons, where things were hard for everyone involved.
His value isn’t his height (smallest at DC), but his other athletic testing was ALL high. Good vert, fast 5, 10 and 20 (87th percentile) as well as a 15.23 shuttle, 10.28 3k and VO2max of 64.8 which is superb. That elite endurance and speed combo means if he was 184cm instead of 174cm, he goes EARLY. But alas, he’s short, and as such will likely develop into a mid/fwd at best, or more likely, the Jaryd Blair type Fwd/Mid.
When you watch this lad play, you really do appreciate his game. Again like Greene, he has a nose for the footy, a desire to be at EVERY stoppage and watch out if the little fella gets his mits on you in a tackle (anyone see him tear down the BIG Brody GRUNDY? Hilarious!). It’s this prospect that I like, he has defensive forward ability, meaning if he does fail as a mid, he has the desire and ability to play as a small forward. He has a solid nose for the goal (as shown with a bag of 6 in the chips) without being Rioli like at all, and a solid array of skill by hand and foot, but they both need work. His decision making also needs a touch of polish.
He’s sure to be one who will have at least 5 recruiters saying ‘my boy’ which makes me believe he’ll be snapped up a bit before our pick, so yet another who we likely won’t have to know much about
Draft Range – 8-20
Sam FROST – VIC – KPD – 18yo – 194cm
As far as Key Defenders go…..well you’re looking at maybe the best, maybe the 5th best, depending on your personal views and what you want in a KPD. TOMLINSON is probably the best KPD in the draft, but FROST is right behind, with tools TOMLINSON doesn’t poses (though he would like some of his).
First, his background. A lot is being made about his volleyball background, but alas, he is not a convert, he’s a sport nut, like everyone else in his family. He also played Netball….basketball as well, but was playing footy the whole time and made that his sole objective when the time came. We can all have a laugh about his ‘dig’ during a game, but we’re not teaching him from scratch.
Key advantages of Mr FROST. Easy, his athleticism. Don’t get all ants in the pants, not pure footballer etc etc, because most defenders don’t starts as KPD’s anyway, they learn. Sam didn’t compete in the testing stage of DC, but you can bet he would have tested VERY well. He’s very quick off the mark, agile, long, big jump and all the lovely things ‘upside’ people like me get their jollies off about. His second big advantage is his desire to hurt the opposition. Not fly kick in the head style, but to take off and rebound. There are very few KPF’s in the game who have the defensive desire to keep the reigns on this bloke and he’ll have fun burning off blokes when his time comes.
That said, he’ll probably produce a few MATTNER type cringes and he bursts off his man to see nothing but field ahead of him at times, but you can teach him when to go and can tone him down easier than tone him up. He’s also got to put on a few KG’s to get to AFL weight, which judging by his frame, shouldn’t be an issue. He’s also got to tidy up the disposal. It isn’t horrid, but it’s definitely not a strong point of his game.
He reads the ball well, indicating he could perhaps play some 3rd tall at the beginning of his career, but ultimately I think a run away CHB role would be suitable.
He has a very high range in this draft, based on need. Could go in the teens, could go in the 40’s, depending on which teams want KPD’s. He is however, by default, in our 27 pick range. And, as has been recently been brought to this boards attention, we are interested and have been keeping a keen eye.
Draft Range – 14-41
Brad HILL- WA – Mid/Utility – 18yo – 179cm
HILL is one of the man, man, many players in this draft with glaring deficiencies to his game. However, he’s one of the few with MASSIVE ticks to categories you have to love, such as pace, agility, endurance, leap and anything else DC had a category for. Mr Draft Camp.
Had my eye on Hill from just before the champs and he had a solid champ series and an epic DC. There’s results you can’t ignor.
He's not a big body, and by that I mean he's small, very small. Height isn't too bad for a wingman, but man he's light. He's got a lot of work to do in the gym, even more so than Stephen. Most years he would have probably slid to the rookie draft for this reason....because you won't see him much for a while until he's more developed, but this year gambles are going to come early.
I'll real off his combine highlights. The lowest skinfold of anyone at camp. Not only is there minimal muscle on him, there's NO fat. Excellent hand span for his height and pretty long arms which will help with aerial contests long term. He also hit the 78th percentile in the running right foot vertical. THE quickest man at camp over 5, 91st percentile over 10 and 96th percentile over 20. 88th percentile in the agility. So like his brother, he's lightning fast and can turn on a dime. Also put in a record breaking (for a weeks or so I guess ) shuttle run, breaking 16 and the best 3km time trial at 9.52. That's already AFL elite standard.
So off the bat you've got a player who has elite speed, agility, quickness and distance running. There the ingredients you want when you're cooking up some wingman stew.
When you see him play, there's obvious comparison to his brother, just you won't see it over the entire course of the game. What you will see at this stage is a flash where you say wow, then he'll go missing for a bit. He needs to learn how to impact a game over the entire course of proceedings as well as fine ways to get involved if things aren't working (like Stephen does). He also needs to up his desire for hard footy and learn the ‘tricks’ of being an outside mid. This is ok, because this pick is a 2 year lock away anyway while he puts on weight and core strength.
His skills are good. They're not in Stephen's category of being extremely good, but they're good. He needs to work on ways to find more loose footy to capitalise on this, really learning when to take off, when to push in and all the fun things you can learn by watching hours upon hours of Dale Thomas tape......and that's what he will do. Dare I say you bring him in against the Pies to run with him and learn. I'm half serious about that too.
He’s another that will polarise both people on BF and recruiters. Could go anywhere from 21 to 50, really hard to pinpoint, but he’s another that will be in our range.
Draft Range – 21-55
Murray NEWMAN – WA – Mid/Fwd – 18yo – 179cmI believe Newman may go a little earlier than some phantoms have him. I think he’s a first round prospect in this draft and someone will like what they see.
He’s a very quick and agile slight kid who, despite his size, attacks the footy with disregard. His best attributes would be his balance, evasiveness, pace and use/decision with the footy. He hits his targets well on his trusty left foot and is ‘capable’ of darting them in. At the moment his kick has a little arc on it, but it’s more a control thing.
He breaks lines well as a mid, and uses his agility, hardness and balance to be Pendlebury-esque at times. Ultimately, I can’t see him ever stacking on the serious weight required to play in the guts of an AFL game, so he’ll likely end up in the Sharrod WELLINGHAM role as a wing who pushes into stoppages. Early on in his career, you’ll see a GARTLETT role. Using his pace, foot skills and evasiveness to push up from HFF and damage on the way back.
Solid around goals and this, along with his attack on the ball, team work and desire to tackle will make him able to play as a small forward early on in his career. As I said I think he’s a first round prospect, but I think he could be available at 27.
Draft Range – 14-30
Alex FORSTER – SA – Utility – 18yo – 189cmFORSTER really caught my eye at the champ games with his really top line 1%ers. Now for some that may sound a bit like a who gives a flying ****, but it’s a trait that really gives players the ability to make it at AFL level. When you’re a good team mate, you have a massive leg up.
There’s a thought out there that he’s a bit of a jack of all trades, master of none, but he’s almost a master of being a jack of all trades…..if that makes sense.
Initially I was a bit off-put as to where he would play. He played the 3rd tall/lose defender role very well, but he may not have the height/bulk to do so in the big leagues. He’s a touch on the slow side to get too involved in the middle at this stage, but that’s where he’d want to ultimately end up I imagine, in some sort of inside mid role.
There’s nothing flashy about FORSTER, he just goes about his business. He’s a good tackler, leaves his man well on defence, reads the play very well and makes good decisions with the footy. A coach’s player. At the end of the game you say ‘yeah he played pretty well’ without noticing him a whole lot during. Even his kicks, while effective, aren’t flashy, they spin in a workman like way, I’m not actually sure how he does it.
Late first to second round, so in line with our picks.
Draft Range – 18-38
Jack FROST – VIC – KPD – 19yo – 194cmJack was unlucky to miss out last year on a rookie spot and has since been playing for Willy in the VFL. First off, he’s really got a lot of learning to do, mostly on how to play as a KPD, when to be where is a big thing for him and he needs confidence stat! He’s got a great frame to be a long term KPD when he puts weight on (needs it) and his athleticism is like his brothers…elite.
His kicking needs some work, mostly his confidence while he kicks. You can actually tell he’s being tentative with the ball. BACK YOURSELF IN SON! He’s coming off a hip surgery which he’s just had so this will apparently increase his athleticism…..wait wot? Will be a cougar out there if it does.
He’s a competitive beast like his brother, getting in tackles, throwing the body around etc, but REALLY, REALLY needs to learn the game, and with that grow his confidence in himself that he is good enough. His terrific closing speed and long arms give that FLETCHER style where did he come from spoils.
He’ll likely be around in the RD, but someone may go late-ish draft, I’d be browsing at #64.
Tom SUNDBERG – VIC – Mid - 22yo – 184cmTom really shot out of the blue this year with some scintillating form for the Collingwood VFL team. To put into terms what I mean about his form, he played 13 matches in the H&A season, garnering 11 bests and 11 goals. Of his 11 bests, 5 were best on, 3 were second best and the remaining 3 were third best. That's form. Injury slowed him down in the later part of the year and stopped him from doing testing at State Screening.
I'll get my little over the top player comparison out of the way, but he reminds me a Dane Swan a lot. Burst speed, ability to stand up in tackles, the un-football like shape of his body and straight-back run and the get it done style in which he conducts himself.
Over the top comparisons aside, Tom's calling card this year has been his work rate and ability to get on the end of loose footy. He takes off at the right times and works his ass of to find space. To compliment his hard running and good footy IQ are his good disposal (can be a tad loopy, but always hits its mark) and more importantly his decision making. He understands where to put the footy so his team mates can run onto it, this is both by hand and foot. It's incredibly frustrating to see the amount of current players who kick where their team mates are, and not where they will or should be. Also uses both sides of the body, though the right foot is 'workman like'
Like SWAN (oh crap I did it again), besides being an outside mid because their nose for the footy and work rate, most of his good work is done in close. He has very quick hands and a quicker decision making ability in close. He'll whip a handball out in a flash to the right spot, and has the core strength and natural built to get the hard footy and bully his way about in tight, as well as stand up in tackles while options open.
He has an aggressive mind set in the way he plays his footy (see all my picks ) where he's taking off quick, getting to dangerous spots and looking to use the center as much as he can. He's a big fan of gut running in wave down the center and linking by handball. Very good team mate as he'll give it off when appropriate. That said, he loves getting on the end of a shot at the sticks as he's pretty accurate around goals with a nose for the big one.
He is about to turn 23 later this year, so despite being a late bloomer, there isn't freak upside. He's also not extremely tall for the 'modern day' mid and will no longer be able to bully people like in the VFL. However I believe he has more than enough AFL tools and is far too good for a second tier league. Will play senior footy next year and will get the coach and players onside quick.
He’ll probably go late this draft, or RD. One I’d consider with #46, #64 or RD.
First off a disclaimer for all you lovely folk out there. I live in Melbourne. This means I unfortunately don’t get as much exposure as I’d like to the interstate boys, including SA, besides champs and some tapes. In addition my work has kept me away from the U18s a bit this year so I won’t be as thorough on the field as I’d like to be, more honing in on the boys I like (no homo) and players I have tracked. It won’t touch on everything I want to as some things are best kept to myself at this stage. If I’ve seen a bad game from a player who’s played well in other games, it will hurt my views, visa-versa. Also, as I watch VFL a bit, you’ll see a tendency to put these blokes in as well.
Anyway, here goes nothing. I hope it’s of some use to you footy tragics, please don’t take it as gospel, it’s just my brief opinion on some players, our situation and what I’ve seen.
Favourites:
If you know my draft tendencies, you’ll likely know who will pop up here. I have a penchant for the small man (still have wood over PRESTIA), as well as athleticism, X Factor, upside and aggressive players. Please keep in mind these are not guys I think we’ll get, not a list of ‘best’ players, just an assortment of blokes I like (hmmmm again no homo).
Chad WINGARD – SA – Mid – 18yo – 182cmI’m a little unsure as to what GWS’s issue with Wingard is. Clearly a top 3 player in this draft and I’d probably take him with #1. Perhaps they have issues with his bodies durability or his repeat concussions, but you have that many picks in this draft, take this kid you knobs.
He’s still slight, but he’s a very silky and smart player. Couple with that his ability to make good decisions by foot and his attack on the ball and you have a very well rounded player. Dominated the jumping at camp and put in very good agility times, I think he was a little underdone which affected his sprint, but he still went sub 3.
Could play anywhere during his career, small forward, HBF, wing, but too talented not to end up in the middle, where his evasiveness, quick hands and decisions will come to the fore. Should be top three and thus well out of our thoughts.
Draft Range – 3-6
Toby GREENE – VIC – Mid – 18yo – 181cmI love this little kid, perhaps my favourite in this draft and before explaining him, I’ll explain why. Watching him during the champs I saw him win a contested ball, feed his team mate by quick hand, push HARD to the next contest after the ball was cleared, get to the next stoppage where his team mate was tackled hard, ball spilled, he gets it, side-steps two and another smart release handball, followed by a quick mouth off and push to the bloke who got his team mate, before following up again to the next stoppage. That’s Toby in a nutshell. Competitive, fiery, work horse.
His standout features are his nose for the footy (don’t have the stats on me, but he would have averaged in the 30’s for the champs, school footy and TAC footy all year), his evasiveness (something that doesn’t show up in agility testing) and his hands. His decision by hand and how soft and quick they are make him very suited to modern midfield roles where decisions are split second and quick handballs are constantly fired out. His handball receives are elite, ala Brad CROUCH, where he will run to the perfect spot to receive the next one. His work rate is fantastic, shown with a shuttle of 15.15 and a 3km of 3.27, both excellent for his age. Couple his work rate with his competitiveness and you’ve got a bloke that won’t quit on you, There’s a bit of Rory Sloane about this kid, gets the job done and with a spunk that doesn’t come off as arrogant, but as a neutral supporter you say ‘damn I like that boy’.
I’m pretty sure Brisbane are keen with 8, Port have interest at 6 and GWS want to snare him. Not in our range but one to keep an eye out for as a kid who’s fun to watch (unless he goes to Port).
Draft Range – 4-8
Hayden CROZIER – Vic – Fwd/Mid – 17yo – 185cm
I’ve made it no secret I like this kid. I can understand all the concerns over his consistency and pure fire, but seriously is too talented to fall near us (unfortunately). I’d have taken Greene then Crozier at 10 if we had it.
Just scraping in to this years draft crop, and underdeveloped even for his age group, he’s still very raw. Yes he's never torn a game open, or put in consistent stretches of the season where he's been up and going the whole time, but he's still 17 (will be for a couple more months), was forced to play in a poor Rangers squad, often filling holes and playing all over the shop (Key Forward, Key Back, Wing, Mid forward, Mid Back....Mid), then slotting into a Metro squad with more than enough rangy flanker with a game plan centred around a man mountain. He's not had the best of chances to really get his consistency going. Still averaged 18.7 touches at 67% for the Rangers, which isn't too bad for a stop gap flanker.
Forget 'The Mark'.....no wait, don't, because that wouldn't be doing justice to what a ripper that was. But that sums up Hayden, he got the Metro boys going with that piece of flair, then stuck it down Greene's throat to share the wealth. Very grounded lad who knows exactly where he is in his development and what he needs to do. He understood his endurance needed work last year, he then put in a 73rd percentile shuttle run. He understands he's underweight, that will be fixed (in time.... ).
What really gets me going about Crozier is how well he does everything, without being the old 'jack of all trades, master of none'. He uses both feet, both hands, uses the ball very well, makes good decisions, impacts the game, understands defensive football. It's all there ready to explode. He has a knowledge of where things are, like all good footballers, and this, along with his speed, agility and desire to stay on his toes (probably for fear of becoming road kill) gives him time with the ball, which heightens his decision making.
From an athletic point of view, he's the crem de la crem of this years draft. 85% 5 meter, 89% 10 and 95th percentile 20 meter. 94th percentile agility. 76th percentile repeats. The best right foot running vert. I mentioned his improved endurance before.
I see him going a bit earlier than the phantoms around here unfortunately, in the teens, so again this is a favourite we won’t see.
Draft Range – 10-20 (though the Walrus goes earlier)
Devon SMITH – Vic – Mid/Fwd – 18yo – 174cm
As with Toby Greene, Smith has that ‘spunk’ about him. It’s that aggressive, competitive workhorse thing…..something I obviously value I guess. Devon really had an impressive start to the year, before having an ‘ok’ champ series and ‘ok’ end of the year at the Falcons, where things were hard for everyone involved.
His value isn’t his height (smallest at DC), but his other athletic testing was ALL high. Good vert, fast 5, 10 and 20 (87th percentile) as well as a 15.23 shuttle, 10.28 3k and VO2max of 64.8 which is superb. That elite endurance and speed combo means if he was 184cm instead of 174cm, he goes EARLY. But alas, he’s short, and as such will likely develop into a mid/fwd at best, or more likely, the Jaryd Blair type Fwd/Mid.
When you watch this lad play, you really do appreciate his game. Again like Greene, he has a nose for the footy, a desire to be at EVERY stoppage and watch out if the little fella gets his mits on you in a tackle (anyone see him tear down the BIG Brody GRUNDY? Hilarious!). It’s this prospect that I like, he has defensive forward ability, meaning if he does fail as a mid, he has the desire and ability to play as a small forward. He has a solid nose for the goal (as shown with a bag of 6 in the chips) without being Rioli like at all, and a solid array of skill by hand and foot, but they both need work. His decision making also needs a touch of polish.
He’s sure to be one who will have at least 5 recruiters saying ‘my boy’ which makes me believe he’ll be snapped up a bit before our pick, so yet another who we likely won’t have to know much about
Draft Range – 8-20
Sam FROST – VIC – KPD – 18yo – 194cm
As far as Key Defenders go…..well you’re looking at maybe the best, maybe the 5th best, depending on your personal views and what you want in a KPD. TOMLINSON is probably the best KPD in the draft, but FROST is right behind, with tools TOMLINSON doesn’t poses (though he would like some of his).
First, his background. A lot is being made about his volleyball background, but alas, he is not a convert, he’s a sport nut, like everyone else in his family. He also played Netball….basketball as well, but was playing footy the whole time and made that his sole objective when the time came. We can all have a laugh about his ‘dig’ during a game, but we’re not teaching him from scratch.
Key advantages of Mr FROST. Easy, his athleticism. Don’t get all ants in the pants, not pure footballer etc etc, because most defenders don’t starts as KPD’s anyway, they learn. Sam didn’t compete in the testing stage of DC, but you can bet he would have tested VERY well. He’s very quick off the mark, agile, long, big jump and all the lovely things ‘upside’ people like me get their jollies off about. His second big advantage is his desire to hurt the opposition. Not fly kick in the head style, but to take off and rebound. There are very few KPF’s in the game who have the defensive desire to keep the reigns on this bloke and he’ll have fun burning off blokes when his time comes.
That said, he’ll probably produce a few MATTNER type cringes and he bursts off his man to see nothing but field ahead of him at times, but you can teach him when to go and can tone him down easier than tone him up. He’s also got to put on a few KG’s to get to AFL weight, which judging by his frame, shouldn’t be an issue. He’s also got to tidy up the disposal. It isn’t horrid, but it’s definitely not a strong point of his game.
He reads the ball well, indicating he could perhaps play some 3rd tall at the beginning of his career, but ultimately I think a run away CHB role would be suitable.
He has a very high range in this draft, based on need. Could go in the teens, could go in the 40’s, depending on which teams want KPD’s. He is however, by default, in our 27 pick range. And, as has been recently been brought to this boards attention, we are interested and have been keeping a keen eye.
Draft Range – 14-41
Brad HILL- WA – Mid/Utility – 18yo – 179cm
HILL is one of the man, man, many players in this draft with glaring deficiencies to his game. However, he’s one of the few with MASSIVE ticks to categories you have to love, such as pace, agility, endurance, leap and anything else DC had a category for. Mr Draft Camp.
Had my eye on Hill from just before the champs and he had a solid champ series and an epic DC. There’s results you can’t ignor.
He's not a big body, and by that I mean he's small, very small. Height isn't too bad for a wingman, but man he's light. He's got a lot of work to do in the gym, even more so than Stephen. Most years he would have probably slid to the rookie draft for this reason....because you won't see him much for a while until he's more developed, but this year gambles are going to come early.
I'll real off his combine highlights. The lowest skinfold of anyone at camp. Not only is there minimal muscle on him, there's NO fat. Excellent hand span for his height and pretty long arms which will help with aerial contests long term. He also hit the 78th percentile in the running right foot vertical. THE quickest man at camp over 5, 91st percentile over 10 and 96th percentile over 20. 88th percentile in the agility. So like his brother, he's lightning fast and can turn on a dime. Also put in a record breaking (for a weeks or so I guess ) shuttle run, breaking 16 and the best 3km time trial at 9.52. That's already AFL elite standard.
So off the bat you've got a player who has elite speed, agility, quickness and distance running. There the ingredients you want when you're cooking up some wingman stew.
When you see him play, there's obvious comparison to his brother, just you won't see it over the entire course of the game. What you will see at this stage is a flash where you say wow, then he'll go missing for a bit. He needs to learn how to impact a game over the entire course of proceedings as well as fine ways to get involved if things aren't working (like Stephen does). He also needs to up his desire for hard footy and learn the ‘tricks’ of being an outside mid. This is ok, because this pick is a 2 year lock away anyway while he puts on weight and core strength.
His skills are good. They're not in Stephen's category of being extremely good, but they're good. He needs to work on ways to find more loose footy to capitalise on this, really learning when to take off, when to push in and all the fun things you can learn by watching hours upon hours of Dale Thomas tape......and that's what he will do. Dare I say you bring him in against the Pies to run with him and learn. I'm half serious about that too.
He’s another that will polarise both people on BF and recruiters. Could go anywhere from 21 to 50, really hard to pinpoint, but he’s another that will be in our range.
Draft Range – 21-55
Murray NEWMAN – WA – Mid/Fwd – 18yo – 179cmI believe Newman may go a little earlier than some phantoms have him. I think he’s a first round prospect in this draft and someone will like what they see.
He’s a very quick and agile slight kid who, despite his size, attacks the footy with disregard. His best attributes would be his balance, evasiveness, pace and use/decision with the footy. He hits his targets well on his trusty left foot and is ‘capable’ of darting them in. At the moment his kick has a little arc on it, but it’s more a control thing.
He breaks lines well as a mid, and uses his agility, hardness and balance to be Pendlebury-esque at times. Ultimately, I can’t see him ever stacking on the serious weight required to play in the guts of an AFL game, so he’ll likely end up in the Sharrod WELLINGHAM role as a wing who pushes into stoppages. Early on in his career, you’ll see a GARTLETT role. Using his pace, foot skills and evasiveness to push up from HFF and damage on the way back.
Solid around goals and this, along with his attack on the ball, team work and desire to tackle will make him able to play as a small forward early on in his career. As I said I think he’s a first round prospect, but I think he could be available at 27.
Draft Range – 14-30
Alex FORSTER – SA – Utility – 18yo – 189cmFORSTER really caught my eye at the champ games with his really top line 1%ers. Now for some that may sound a bit like a who gives a flying ****, but it’s a trait that really gives players the ability to make it at AFL level. When you’re a good team mate, you have a massive leg up.
There’s a thought out there that he’s a bit of a jack of all trades, master of none, but he’s almost a master of being a jack of all trades…..if that makes sense.
Initially I was a bit off-put as to where he would play. He played the 3rd tall/lose defender role very well, but he may not have the height/bulk to do so in the big leagues. He’s a touch on the slow side to get too involved in the middle at this stage, but that’s where he’d want to ultimately end up I imagine, in some sort of inside mid role.
There’s nothing flashy about FORSTER, he just goes about his business. He’s a good tackler, leaves his man well on defence, reads the play very well and makes good decisions with the footy. A coach’s player. At the end of the game you say ‘yeah he played pretty well’ without noticing him a whole lot during. Even his kicks, while effective, aren’t flashy, they spin in a workman like way, I’m not actually sure how he does it.
Late first to second round, so in line with our picks.
Draft Range – 18-38
Jack FROST – VIC – KPD – 19yo – 194cmJack was unlucky to miss out last year on a rookie spot and has since been playing for Willy in the VFL. First off, he’s really got a lot of learning to do, mostly on how to play as a KPD, when to be where is a big thing for him and he needs confidence stat! He’s got a great frame to be a long term KPD when he puts weight on (needs it) and his athleticism is like his brothers…elite.
His kicking needs some work, mostly his confidence while he kicks. You can actually tell he’s being tentative with the ball. BACK YOURSELF IN SON! He’s coming off a hip surgery which he’s just had so this will apparently increase his athleticism…..wait wot? Will be a cougar out there if it does.
He’s a competitive beast like his brother, getting in tackles, throwing the body around etc, but REALLY, REALLY needs to learn the game, and with that grow his confidence in himself that he is good enough. His terrific closing speed and long arms give that FLETCHER style where did he come from spoils.
He’ll likely be around in the RD, but someone may go late-ish draft, I’d be browsing at #64.
Tom SUNDBERG – VIC – Mid - 22yo – 184cmTom really shot out of the blue this year with some scintillating form for the Collingwood VFL team. To put into terms what I mean about his form, he played 13 matches in the H&A season, garnering 11 bests and 11 goals. Of his 11 bests, 5 were best on, 3 were second best and the remaining 3 were third best. That's form. Injury slowed him down in the later part of the year and stopped him from doing testing at State Screening.
I'll get my little over the top player comparison out of the way, but he reminds me a Dane Swan a lot. Burst speed, ability to stand up in tackles, the un-football like shape of his body and straight-back run and the get it done style in which he conducts himself.
Over the top comparisons aside, Tom's calling card this year has been his work rate and ability to get on the end of loose footy. He takes off at the right times and works his ass of to find space. To compliment his hard running and good footy IQ are his good disposal (can be a tad loopy, but always hits its mark) and more importantly his decision making. He understands where to put the footy so his team mates can run onto it, this is both by hand and foot. It's incredibly frustrating to see the amount of current players who kick where their team mates are, and not where they will or should be. Also uses both sides of the body, though the right foot is 'workman like'
Like SWAN (oh crap I did it again), besides being an outside mid because their nose for the footy and work rate, most of his good work is done in close. He has very quick hands and a quicker decision making ability in close. He'll whip a handball out in a flash to the right spot, and has the core strength and natural built to get the hard footy and bully his way about in tight, as well as stand up in tackles while options open.
He has an aggressive mind set in the way he plays his footy (see all my picks ) where he's taking off quick, getting to dangerous spots and looking to use the center as much as he can. He's a big fan of gut running in wave down the center and linking by handball. Very good team mate as he'll give it off when appropriate. That said, he loves getting on the end of a shot at the sticks as he's pretty accurate around goals with a nose for the big one.
He is about to turn 23 later this year, so despite being a late bloomer, there isn't freak upside. He's also not extremely tall for the 'modern day' mid and will no longer be able to bully people like in the VFL. However I believe he has more than enough AFL tools and is far too good for a second tier league. Will play senior footy next year and will get the coach and players onside quick.
He’ll probably go late this draft, or RD. One I’d consider with #46, #64 or RD.