War over Warnock

Or Fremantle simply get him with pick 3. Now THAT would be funny.
You bet it would.

Turn a guy who doesn't want to be there into the highest paid player on your list to go through exactly the same thing next year, while pick 24 finishes a fine season for us.........

Great laugh.:thumbsu::D

Do Freo supporters genuinely believe Melbourne will needlessly give them Pick 19 if the Warnock deal with the Blues falls through?

I'm sure Melbourne's administrators are nice guys, but I doubt they do charity.

agree - melbourne would be licking there lips - dick teasing freo with 19, and with the deadline clock ticking - they will try and bargain with them - like warnock and freo's 3rd rounder for pick 19. What would they have to lose?

i reckon freo will get pick 24 or nothing for him - and knowing freo - they will get nada - 0

Am i wrong in saying that a player in his 1st contract can not be traded???

I know Freo delisted Collard last year after his 1st year in footy, but i thought there was a clause about trading 2nd year players...

Collard was delisted and wasn't traded. Someone can correct me if I'm wrong but we paid for him to play at Richmond this season.

I thought as long as all parties agreed to the trade you could trade first year players.

You bet it would.

Turn a guy who doesn't want to be there into the highest paid player on your list to go through exactly the same thing next year, while pick 24 finishes a fine season for us.........

Firstly, what price do you expect him to put on his head exactly?

Secondly, watching him rot at West Perth for a year would be funny. In 2010 he might not be so fussy about which club he ends up at, so long as it is in Victoria.

Am i wrong in saying that a player in his 1st contract can not be traded???

I know Freo delisted Collard last year after his 1st year in footy, but i thought there was a clause about trading 2nd year players...

I can't find anything other than this

4.4.5 Drafted Player Bound for 23 Months
(a) Subject to Rule 4.4.5(b), any Player selected by a Club at the
National Draft Selection Meeting or otherwise included on the
Primary List of a Club, shall be ineligible to be included on the
Primary List of any other Club for a period of 23 months from the
date upon which he is selected or included on the Primary List.
(b) Rule 4.4.5(a) does not apply where the Player:
(i) enters into a Contract of Service with the Club for at least
one AFL Season;
(ii) is exchanged under Rule 4.3; or
(iii) is deleted from a Club’s Primary List other than pursuant to
Rule 5.7(b).

Rule 4.3 is in regards to player exchange.

I think the players can be traded so long as they agree.

You bet it would.

Sorry BB, it wouldn't be until 2010, and by then, it's off to the Gold Coast

4.5.2 Nominated Football Payments
4.5.2.1 Offer and acceptance
(a) A Player, (other than a first year draft choice Player or
such a Player in his second year), may specify in the
nomination lodged pursuant to Rule 4.4.3 the Football
Payments which he will require if he is selected at a Draft
Selection Meeting.
(b) By so specifying the Football Payments he will require,
the Player shall be taken to have made an offer to the
Club which selects him at a Draft Selection Meeting, to
accept employment in return for the Football Payments so
specified.
(c) The Club which selects a Player who has specified the
Football Payments which he will require shall be deemed
to have accepted the offer set out in (b) above.
(d) Immediately following the Draft Selection Meeting, the
Player and the Club to whom (c) above applies, shall
execute a Contract of Service providing for the Football
Payments specified by the Player in accordance with (a)
above.
(e) If a Player nominates his Football Payments he must do
so for a minimum period of two years.

agree - melbourne would be licking there lips - dick teasing freo with 19, and with the deadline clock ticking - they will try and bargain with them - like warnock and freo's 3rd rounder for pick 19. What would they have to lose?

i reckon freo will get pick 24 or nothing for him - and knowing freo - they will get nada - 0
& carlton lose nothing, yet gain someone with the same amount of potential with pick 24... Win Win for us i reckon

Freo will be the laughing stock of the competition if they dont take pick 24... no matter what message they have sent...

it would be so funny if no trade can be done, Warnock puts a price on his head that Melbourne could not afford and Carlton get him with Pick 6 in the PSD....

A real possibility....

1 reason it won't happen I think Freo has just as much room in the cap as carlton with all the delistings / retirements etc.
Lets say Warnock lists himself at 4 years at $350k per year.
If freo redrafts him he is locked away at Freo for 4 years.
He won't want to take that risk.

Warnock will be getting just as desparate as the clubs about now

I am so impressed with Freo playing hardball. The football world was shocked last year when Carlotn through sheer imcopetence and ******edness on the football field were in a position to negotiate a deal that saw them get the number one pick and Judd. Meanwhile Freo have been an easy target at trade time, one example could be when finals bound Collingwood traded tarrant for Medhurst and pick 8.

That is why it is pleasing in a few respects that Freo are playing hardball on this one.

Don't be too impressed - wait and see if Freo actually come out ahead. They may still get nothing for him, or if they do settle for pick 24 they have wasted a week where they could have been looking at other options on their list ...
So far they have achieved nothing ... sounds like typical freo to me so far.

Why can't we do
Adam Bentick and Setanta O'hailpin
for
Pick 38 and 42

then
Pick 24 and 42
for
Warnock and pick 53
????????????

Why cant they just do 69 and get on in life surly:D

It would be even more funny when Fremantle take him with pick 3 in the PSD :thumbsu:

Nobody would laugh more than me.... Freo re-drafting a player that told them he wants to leave... paying him $500,000 for the year and then having him leave out of spite 12 months later for nothing. That would certainly be a "Fremantle" type move :D

What about this as a trade

In: Picks 6 and 24
Out: O'keefe and pick 12

In: Pick 12
Out: Warnock

In: Warnock and O'keefe
Out: Pick 6 and 24

Fremantle probably will have to give up pick 37 or 53 to sydney too

What do you think?

Freo will be the laughing stock of the competition if they dont take pick 24... no matter what message they have sent...

And the good thing is they will still be the laughing stock of the AFL if they do take it.... it appears they value Warnock so highly :rolleyes: If they take pick 24 then every Freo supporter in here will have to take another one on the chin again when everyone laughs at them for giving away a good player for next to nothing. Hey they said so themselves.

Nobody would laugh more than me.... Freo re-drafting a player that told them he wants to leave... paying him $500,000 for the year and then having him leave out of spite 12 months later for nothing. That would certainly be a "Fremantle" type move :D

If a Player nominates his Football Payments he must do so for a minimum period of two years.

That takes Warnock into Gold Coast territory. Guess we'll find out how much he really loves his mum.

If a Player nominates his Football Payments he must do so for a minimum period of two years.

That takes Warnock into Gold Coast territory. Guess we'll find out how much he really loves his mum.

Nothing would surprise me... I mean this is Freo. They did the same thing to Clive Waterhouse who dad was dying.... forced him to stay in Perth even though he was on TV in tears begging Freo to let him go back to Adelaide. :thumbsdown:

So you couldn't be bothered to read the posts at the top of the page to see that your grand plan has just one little flaw

FFS stop comparing footy players to people with ordinary jobs. they are under a whole different set of laws and isn't warnock under contract? :rolleyes:

Wow, AFL footballers have a law onto themselves! :eek::p
What a revelation!

Yes football may be their job but this is a completely different industry to other careers. The players know this going into their footy career.

Freo are not telling Robbie he has to go to Carlton, Robbie is telling Freo he wants to go there. So essentially he is holding the club ransom.
Freo would be happy to deal with any other club if they came up with the right deal and it has been like this for years and shouldn't change for mummy's boys wanting to go home after spending 3 years away. This is the industry.

And the problem with that is?

Ummmm because that is the model we are currently under?

He is our player and during trade period we do get to say where he goes or at least have to agree to it. After trade week we have no say.

It is very noble though ...when GC come in I look forward to you accepting GC's pick 30 for Hampson not because it is the right compensation but simply because it is the right thing to do.

It is funny how a lot of Carlton 'Amnesty International' supporters are here now ....where were you when Thornton was being denied his basic human rights in moving to Hawthorn? You cost him a premiership medallion too ...how do you sleep at night?

We have screwed with a few clubs minds using the PSD when we were down there.

In essence I don't care if it is challenged - it will happen eventually.

Don't really know why everyone is getting their knickers in a knot ....we think A, Carlton think B - one cracks or both don't.

Warnock will be playing football next year and getting paid. What is the big deal it has happened before and it will happen again.

Poor odl Melbourne finish last and suddenly everyone cares that a good player is going to drop.

Absolutely, i've mentioned it as nauseum that we'll be on the worng end in the future - Hampson, Gibbs, whoever. Club will need to be ensuring players don get out of contract because once they do, no law will allow players be forced to work where they dont want to

Just another case leading to the straw that'll break the camels back

Even putting this Warnock situation aside, this has to be accepted as the status quo should all parties withdraw their support of trade week. And pissing a player off by ignoring their rights and wishes to pursue their career where they wish will only draw it closer

Aren/t you the schmucks that didnt take Franklin or Pavlich :confused:

Carlton can't afford the deal to fall through. Collingwood are still carrying the stigma of the failed Nick Stevans deal. Players do not trust the pies to land deals as a result of it and it is one of the reasons we fail to attract players to the club.

Carlton have enticed him, they need to satisy Freo or face the same outcome we did re Stevans, except this time they will not be the ones benefiting. If they can't or won't do the deal that's their choice, same as it is Freo's to say no.

So you couldn't be bothered to read the posts at the top of the page to see that your grand plan has just one little flaw

Excellent. So you'll pay him $1,000,000 and he'll sit out of footy for 2 years out of spite :D

Yup I'm sure Freo are reallllllly going to do that. So much for caring about the players welfare and what they like.... Freo are going to force someone against their will to remain in a city on the other side of Australia.... out of spite for not getting better than pick 24 for somebody that has done absolutely nothing in AFL football.

You could just see it now... every single kid to be drafted in the next 10 years will up front refuse to go to Fremantle with their track record of treating players.

What about this as a trade

In: Picks 6 and 24
Out: O'keefe and pick 12

In: Pick 12
Out: Warnock

In: Warnock and O'keefe
Out: Pick 6 and 24

Fremantle probably will have to give up pick 37 or 53 to sydney too

What do you think?

Freo can't afford to give away a single pick they need all the players they can get. Also, Carlton won't part with pick 6.

LOL pick 12 for a guy not even considered good enough to be in the Dockers 22.... you guys have your hands on it.

Didnt you read the bottom part mate yeah i agree 12 is a bit high thats why we would have to give another trade. For the amount of money carlton are willing to pay him he must be worth somthing.