Warnock and 69 for 24 56 72 confirmed

At least Schwab had the balls to do deals and get what he went after. If he said something would happen, you could damn well count on it happening.

This lot have lost Carr for nothing, talked the talk all week, and when it's come to showing some balls they've been left wanting. They make Gary Ablett look tough.

Now you're just being silly Chook.

Sure Schwab would get what he went after, that's because he didn't care what it cost when he brought players in. When he actually traded players out we didn't do that well, Polak and pick 13 for pick 8 was crap, as was trading 1 for Croad then giving him back 2 years later for pick 10. By your logic if Carlton had traded pick 6 for Warnock it would have been a win from a Carlton pov because they got what they went after?

If 24 and 56 was the best offer, what could they do? It's not Harvey and Bond's fault that we have 10 spots to fill on our list and have a vice captain that doesn't want to be here. It is however Schwab's fault that we got nothing for Carr because Port are getting even for the 2 players Schwab lured from Port into the PSD.

I agree, much better to throw away draft picks in the last hour of trade week than bring in a couple of draft picks. :rolleyes:

What would you have done differently Chook?

Pick 24 and some scraps not sure why Freo carried on so much they could of had this 4 days ago

I think Big Red is speaking more sense than any Freo supporters.

Why make a big stand all week if when push comes to shove you are just going to fold?

They look like fools (or bigger fools than they already looked).

If they were always going to settle, they should have found someone with some negotiation skills and sent them in and tried to get something close to a reasonable deal. All they have done is whine and moan that 24 is not good enough for a week and accepted some scraps at the last minute. It's pathetic.

I don't see what the big deal is. We were never going to win this one when they had all the cards. Would have been different if we weren't trying to fill about 10 spots on the list and actually had some bargaining power. Schwabb would have thrown in our first rounder for Lance Whitnall.
Plus we were never going to get anything for Josh. Williams would rather murder Carr in cold blood than pay anything to get him back. Don't be suprised if he plays it the 2's for payback or they simply don't pick him up.
Plenty of picks, deep draft, I'm happy.

I think when Carlton said no we should have gone all medieval on their asses and threatened them with a good stoning and stuff, followed by some figure-4-leg locks and then sent Robbie to PSD for nothing, so we could then flagellate ourselves forever about our shit list, and that when we got more than 2 injuries, Harves and and Chris Scott have to pull on hte boots.QUOTE]

Just tweaked that a little for you chook :thumbsu:

Now you're just being silly Chook.

Sure Schwab would get what he went after, that's because he didn't care what it cost when he brought players in. When he actually traded players out we didn't do that well, Polak and pick 13 for pick 8 was crap, as was trading 1 for Croad then giving him back 2 years later for pick 10. By your logic if Carlton had traded pick 6 for Warnock it would have been a win from a Carlton pov because they got what they went after?

Not so sure. Clearly we were lacking key position players, and in that draft/trading we secure Croad, MacPharlin and Polak, which collectively could have cemented our KP needs for a very long time.

Pick 1 for a key position player is not too bad an ask, and Croad was young with a reasonable track record? That Croad did not work out here has a fair bit to do with factors outside of Schwab. And I thought we did pretty well to get pick 10 for him when we did. Doesn't disguise the fact that history shows we lost in all of that, but the decision making was not so poor.

Why make a big stand all week if when push comes to shove you are just going to fold?

If they were always going to settle, they should have found someone with some negotiation skills and sent them in and tried to get something close to a reasonable deal. All they have done is whine and moan that 24 is not good enough for a week and accepted some scraps at the last minute. It's pathetic.

Look pretty early in the week we offered 24 and some other picks and I just do not understand why they dragged it out like this as who knows u may have been able to use those picks to do other deals it is just a tad silly I reckon

Because we didn't know midweek what Carlton's best offer would be. Who was to say on Wednesday when they were only offering 24 that they wouldn't throw in 40 today?

You can send in all the negotiators in the world, but if Carlton only think he's worth 24 what can you do?

Like I asked before, what would you have done differently? Melbourne couldn't afford the $$$$$ so we were always going to accept whatever Carlton offered at 1.30pm EDST on Friday.

Can you really be angry at us though?

@All the people hating on Carlton - What did you expect us to do? The AFL is a competition. Each team is trying to out do the other so why would you expect us to go easy or offer you a better deal than we have to?

It's business boys. Plain and simple.

ps. for what it's worth I reckon Carlton got screwed and I'd be very happy if I was a Freo supporter. Wtf has he done to warrant pick 24 in such a deep draft?

Look pretty early in the week we offered 24 and some other picks and I just do not understand why they dragged it out like this as who knows u may have been able to use those picks to do other deals it is just a tad silly I reckon

Believe me Big Red, that's a good thing from where I'm sitting. We probably would have given up pick 24 for Farren Ray.

I will be watching closely to see if Carlton use their new pick 69 - wouldn't it be bloody ironic if they passed

Carlton's first three picks in the draft are now 6, 40 and 69 and they must use all of them.

Whilst it may look like Freo have wasted 4 days because they could have got pick 24 on the first day - I would imagine they were using that time to see if there was another club prepared to offer a better trade that they could then convince Warnock to go to instead.

Hardly Freo's fault that a better deal never came along

Carlton's first three picks in the draft are now 6, 40 and 69 and they must use all of them.

Whilst it may look like Freo have wasted 4 days because they could have got pick 24 on the first day - I would imagine they were using that time to see if there was another club prepared to offer a better trade that they could then convince Warnock to go to instead.

Hardly Freo's fault that a better deal never came along

See, it's not that hard...if a numpty Eagles mod can see, what;s wrong with the rest of you? :D

Bond said as much in the article.

Because we didn't know midweek what Carlton's best offer would be. Who was to say on Wednesday when they were only offering 24 that they wouldn't throw in 40 today?

You can send in all the negotiators in the world, but if Carlton only think he's worth 24 what can you do?

Like I asked before, what would you have done differently? Melbourne couldn't afford the $$$$$ so we were always going to accept whatever Carlton offered at 1.30pm EDST on Friday.

But did we send in anyone with negotiation skills? It certainly doesn't look like it. We convinced them to do absolutely nothing.

I'm more angry about the pathetic stance of '24 is not enough' all week long and the grandstanding about letting him go to the draft only to turn around at the last minute and accept exactly what was on offer a week before trade week even started.

We lost out on the trade. That's bad enough.

The way we did it is worse.

The thing i'm hoping for is that he hasnt been fit for a full season since he has been here and i really hope that continues throughout the rest of his career. Hopefully thise hamstring, shoulder, foot etc problems continue throughout the next 10 yrs.

Schwab and Connolly could have done any better?

In 5 days of trade week all they have managed to do is to convince one of their best players to stay with the club.

CC was at his media best saying they might be players in the Warnock deal, and the Prismall deal and considered Lovett. And he came out with diddly squat. Fair dinkum, he's so full of hot air, he's part of climate change.

Schwab and Connolly could have done any better?

In 5 days of trade week all they have managed to do is to convince one of their best players to stay with the club.

CC was at his media best saying they might be players in the Warnock deal, and the Prismall deal and considered Lovett. And he came out with diddly squat. Fair dinkum, he's so full of hot air, he's part of climate change.

I think CC & Schwabby's lack of involvement this week is more of a damning reflection as to exactly where Melbourne are at than anything. I don't think even Freo at it's worst in 2001 was anywhere near where they are now and there's another 9 options in Melbourne, while there was only ever 1 here.

I'm more angry about the pathetic stance of '24 is not enough' all week long and the grandstanding about letting him go to the draft only to turn around at the last minute and accept exactly what was on offer a week before trade week even started.

Maybe I missed something while I was overseas watching the Grand Prix, but can you clarify this? I don't recall reading anything to that effect on this board or in the media...

What was on offer before trade week started?

The thing i'm hoping for is that he hasnt been fit for a full season since he has been here and i really hope that continues throughout the rest of his career. Hopefully thise hamstring, shoulder, foot etc problems continue throughout the next 10 yrs.

Don't say that man, I'm as pissed of about the situation as anybody but I think we need to refrain from any comments like that. The guy is super talented and although his lack of loyalty to the club was nothing short of disgusting I hope he does fulfill his potential and become the player he could be. I just find it unbelievable how we can lose the best young ruckman in the comp for effectively a second round pick. Warnock will probably end up better than any ruckman taken in the draft this year.

Better to get scraps then Fxxk All.....

We are slowly becoming the biggest whiners in the AFL and play the blame game it was his fault no its his...lets just get on with what we have and what we can control and that is supporting our team.... if someone doesnt want to play for us then seeya later and if we get anything then count our blessings.... Looking forward to supporting the young guys we have and the new guys we will be getting in the draft....and off course pav , sandy , mcpharlap , etc etc

Crap Deal. Better than nothing but underwhelming in the end. Carlton have now jumped to my number 1 most hated team in the AFL. I hope Warnock plays less than 20 games for the rest of his career.
I really feel sorry for you with this type of sentiment.

Why do people always have to turn themselves into victims at this time of year?

I honestly hope pick 24 turns out to be a good player for you guys.

Good luck at the draft table guys and good luck with your pre-season.:thumbsu:

Kiss My Arse.*

*;) In the nicest possible way, of course.

Don't worry about anything this guy says, Bluebear, because most of the Freo posters don't... he's the ingrown hair of our board.... a general nuisance...

I think under the circumstances we broke even... we would've wanted something better than a 2nd rounder (ie something inside 20) as a singular pick, but you would have had to trade with another club to get it. By the same token, you would've been ripped off if we got your 2nd AND 3rd pick, hence you never offering it... plus you could've just taken the 2nd rounder off the table alltogether and we'd have been royally stuffed...

One of those situations where you can't get out of whole thing clean...
That's why trade week sucks the saggy ones for at least 2 clubs each year...

I agree with everything Chook has said...

*Waits for the paddles*

Pretty poor effort i would have said... one extra pick in the 987th round? Yeah... that was all worth it.. :rolleyes:

Don't say that man, I'm as pissed of about the situation as anybody but I think we need to refrain from any comments like that. The guy is super talented and although his lack of loyalty to the club was nothing short of disgusting I hope he does fulfill his potential and become the player he could be. I just find it unbelievable how we can lose the best young ruckman in the comp for effectively a second round pick. Warnock will probably end up better than any ruckman taken in the draft this year.

Because at the end of the day he wasn't worth a first rounder... we know that and so did Carlton...
The problem was that Carlton couldn't get something in between 6 and 24 without a 3rd club getting involved...

Maybe I missed something while I was overseas watching the Grand Prix, but can you clarify this? I don't recall reading anything to that effect on this board or in the media...

What was on offer before trade week started?

Carlton offered up pick 24 at draft camp. Lo and behold, at the end of trade week, we got pick 24 (and a nothing pick added in to save face).

Because at the end of the day he wasn't worth a first rounder... we know that and so did Carlton...
The problem was that Carlton couldn't get something in between 6 and 24 without a 3rd club getting involved...

And that's exactly what Carlton want you to believe. Did they try to get something? No.

Warnock and 69 for 24 56 72 confirmed