Play Nice Was that Gaffs last game for WC?

Many people listen to the radio. I think the WC fans behaved disgracefully. Of course not all of them. But gee what a low point in crowd behaviour. Wonder how they will feel about him sabotaging their premiership quest through his gutless and selfish behaviour?

If Gaff signs on again for WC he is going to get a pretty ugly reception around Perth I reckon. Inexcusable act, and then the tears....spare me. Definition of cowardly act.

And on field I hope he gets the hottest of receptions for the rest of his career from Fremantle, Melbourne and North Melbourne fans and players alike. The Brayshaws have epitomized fair sportsmanship, and Gaff the opposite.
It was an absolutely shocking act but he has been a fair player all of his career so it IS out of character. He should pay his dues with a long stint on the side lines and it should stop there. Really. It's not like Brayshaw will never play again.

The whole "intent" process the AFL has is ridiculous. For incidents off the ball, it should be irrelevant. Someone will try to argue he didn't "intend" to break his jaw.

I feel reckless should only be used in a contested ball situation eg a spoiling attempt that is late and makes contact.

The element of 'intent' has nothing to do with 'intent to break his jaw.'

The question is 'did he intend to strike Brayshaw'

If you throw an aimed punch at a player, its an intentional strike. Every day of the week. Regardless of where it strikes the player, or the damage it causes.

After that you determine where the player was hit, and the severity of the impact.

Yeah righto. Completely exile a player because he made a mistake. Just getting behind one of our own. Doesn’t make what he did right.
You’re missing the point entirely

We are talking about the crowd cheering a coward punch, nowhere was it mentioned that you should exile the player.

Are you deliberately slow?

Just read that gaff was in tears when he came to the bench in the 3rd quarter and Simpson had to rush down to the bench to console him. Poor Andrew, poor poor Andrew. Flog of the year for sure

What would you prefer? Serious question.

For me, I won't forgive the act, but I'd much rather see a bloke regret it than act as if it was okay. I genuinely don't understand your reaction, so I hope you can shed some light on it.

Because there is an exemption for sporting contests.

This goes beyond what the exemption really covers (not that there is a clear definition), but neither the sporting body (in the this case the AFL) nor the courts would be eager to open the door on that can of worms.
i would imagine.
but even by the standards of onfield scuffles and hits, this crosses a line. so far off the ball, the force needed to do that damage, and the fact there is no way Brayshaw could predict that would be coming.....

Not immediately perhaps, but people would've been looking at their phones at 3/4 time.

Some yeah?

Myself for example. I wasn’t hooting and hollaring about Gaff copping the heat after that. Wouldn’t have expected anything less.

But I think it’s a bit rich to insult the entire crowd under the pretence that they were all aware of the incident.

Slate the bloke who punched the guy in the face all you want, he’s absolutely shat the bed on this one.

Two things all you experts out their

Gaff and Brayshaw are good friends so to say this was intentional is a absolute joke.

If Gaff is so dirty, dog, thug that is getting thrown around go and search YouTube and take alook at some of the hits that our now AFL legends did and tell me if you are going to call them out.

Yes he did the wrong thing and will have to live with his actions forever but some of the things written here about a guy player a very brutal game is over the top.
So he’s belted one of his mates and sent him to hospital and that makes it better?

It was an absolutely shocking act but he has been a fair player all of his career so it IS out of character. He should pay his dues with a long stint on the side lines and it should stop there. Really. It's not like Brayshaw will never play again.
I don't think "fair player" card can be played in an intentional punch to the face. There appears to be no provocation or justification, and the AFL is drawing a hard line on head high contact of any kind.

Also, Brayshaw may well have his career impacted, and ceratainly he is the victim of a non football related on-field incident; his face has been re-arranged. His brother wears protective head gear due to concussion injuries. Your ridiculous attempt to trivialise the worst incident in recent AFL times is hopefully not the way the AFL treat it.

What would you prefer? Serious question.

For me, I won't forgive the act, but I'd much rather see a bloke regret it than act as if it was okay. I genuinely don't understand your reaction, so I hope you can shed some light on it.
No good playing the vicitim after you victimized someone yourself. Accept what you did and cop it like a man and if you can’t do that then don’t do it to begin with

Will return for the prelim knocking Richmond out with a goal after the siren to win it

Nope. Played his last game for wc. Will be at North next year.

Dirty ******* campaigner. Thirty-five off the ball? Hate the prick before and hate him even more now.

Eagles fans clapping him too?

But even as bad, Freo players not going in and absolutely ******* him up? Ballas... go out with some style and reclaim some pride from Freo fans, go out on a high and smack this campaigner out.

So basically do to him what he did to Brayshaw?! you sir are a genius. We should adopt that as a theme around the world.

Brain fade, but a dog act. Don’t think his career will recover from this. Like it or not high chance he will be booed by the oppo fans for the rest of his days

In WA certainly, Freo fans will never forgive him and he’ll hear about it wherever he goes. Can’t see him sticking around, the Vic public is a bit less tribal in that way.

Some yeah?

Myself for example. I wasn’t hooting and hollaring about Gaff copping the heat after that. Wouldn’t have expected anything less.

But I think it’s a bit rich to insult the entire crowd under the pretence that they were all aware of the incident.

Slate the bloke who punched the guy in the face all you want, he’s absolutely shat the bed on this one.

Obviously I wasn't there, but word spreads quickly at the footy. Someone nearby always has a phone or radio. Their interest would be piqued by the attacks on Gaff by Freo players.

I can accept the explanation that the applause was mostly "emotional support" though.

Play Nice Was that Gaffs last game for WC?