Werribee v Box Hill Hawks

Hansen had 1 kicked on him in the last. Didn't have a lot a marking contents against his own man after the first quarter.

The ball was directed to Dowler a lot in the first until they had to move him up the field.

So he had one goal kicked one him, kicked a goal himself, provided lots of run and got a bit of it. Doesn't seem too bad really.

If he played as a defender and his man did stuff all, he is a fair chance for a game this week. I didn't see the game today, but if he was solid, pulled up well and had a dip, I would play him on Boyle.

So he had one goal kicked one him, kicked a goal himself, provided lots of run and got a bit of it. Doesn't seem too bad really.

Never said it was a bad one. Kicking let him down a bit. It was very passable. I may expect to much from him. Did start very well and did his job.

Bring him in and play him of Franklin.
I just have a feeling Hansen will rise to that challenge.
He is a perfect physical match up.

While his impact the other way varies, I can't remember many VFL reports that said Lachie's man had beaten him.

I have told my mates this many times, that Hansen is the best physical match up for Buddy.

I seriously wouldnt mind it.

im reading sporting pulse at the moment, it says that goldstien was the 3rd best on the ground for werribee and obst the 4th which is good news, hopefully thats enough for goldstien to get in.

Franklin would eat him.

lets just hope that franklin gets supeneded for the high conduct, i watched it, i reckon he could go for one week, hopefully he does and batemen might me out 2 :)

Franklin would eat him.

More than he will eat Spud or Gibson?

Colin Garland did OK and Hansen is a lot better match up. He can run with Franklin up the ground, he has the height and reach, the only question would be over strength - but as much as people want to say Franklin has vastly improved in this (based on a out bodying an off balance Dustin Fletcher) it is not a big concern.

Hansen also has some real closing speed. At the Melb vs North practice match, in the 3 minutes he played he absolutely burned the grass in a chase down of Moloney.

Franklin would eat him.
he'll eat anyone right now.

That said a couple of us were saying yesterday that when you look at it, compared to say Ryder, Gibson gave a pretty good account.

If our midfield performs how it did yesterday against hawthorn and Franklyn kicks straight, he'll kick 17,000 goals.

More than he will eat Spud or Gibson?

Colin Garland did OK and Hansen is a lot better match up. He can run with Franklin up the ground, he has the height and reach, the only question would be over strength - but as much as people want to say Franklin has vastly improved in this (based on a out bodying an off balance Dustin Fletcher) it is not a big concern.

Hansen also has some real closing speed. At the Melb vs North practice match, in the 3 minutes he played he absolutely burned the grass in a chase down of Moloney.

Garland is a wicked athlete. His acceleration is quality and he closes very quickly.

Lachy could run the distance with him, but he would get burnt at the start of leads and no-one can run with Franklin at the tail end of those massive runs. I thought Ryder was the perfect match-up. He is quick, he jumps higher and he stands off contests to avoid wrestling. What he doesn't have, which is just about the most important quality you need given his athletic prowess over everyone, is the defensive brain to push him to the least dangerous areas and as far away from goal as possible. And you need excellent recovery skills, because the freakish prick butters up like Matt Campbell.

I reckon Hansen will be great for us, but he can't take Franklin now. He just can't.

Kangaroos listed players for Werribee
Seniors

26.Hansen- like last week, he didn't dominate the game but was serviceable in defence. Also kicked a goal.

29.Goldstein- had 34 hit outs and 10 disposals in what was possible his best game in Werribee colours. Rotated effectively in the ruck with McKinnon.

30.Greenwood- a serviceable performance from returning from injury last week. Struggled to hit targets, but was aggressive around the packs and speedy as usual.

32.Ross- got some of the ball around the ground and provided plenty of midfield drive. Unlucky in front of goal as he kicked three behinds.

40.Obst- first game back after a punctured lung against West Coast several weeks ago and got through unscathed. Was good in defence against Dowler and then moved forward to boot a goal.

42.McMahon- 15 disposals and a goal in what was a consistent performance. Worked hard all day and his work rate great, plenty of defensive pressure as well. I agree with a number of posters that he shouldn't have been dropped and should be an inclusion in the AFL side to take on Hawthorn next week.

45.Warren- kicked two goals, but again I feel that his marking let him down and it's what's holding him back from getting some games in the AFL side. Had a purple patch where he was consistently leading the marks category in our side, but has recently let himself down.

Reserves
47.Wilsen- kicked two goals and spent time in defence. Was again best and is definitely not far away from making his senior VFL debut in the coming weeks after making the initial squad in recent weeks.

You don't think that after missing so much footy with a leg injury (which means he wouldn't have done much running) requires a good 3-4 weeks of VFL?

I mean, Franklin would leave him vomitting out of exaustion at quarter time.

Are serious about trying to win the game or have we given up the 2008 season?

Garland is a wicked athlete. His acceleration is quality and he closes very quickly.

Lachy could run the distance with him, but he would get burnt at the start of leads and no-one can run with Franklin at the tail end of those massive runs. I thought Ryder was the perfect match-up. He is quick, he jumps higher and he stands off contests to avoid wrestling. What he doesn't have, which is just about the most important quality you need given his athletic prowess over everyone, is the defensive brain to push him to the least dangerous areas and as far away from goal as possible. And you need excellent recovery skills, because the freakish prick butters up like Matt Campbell.

I reckon Hansen will be great for us, but he can't take Franklin now. He just can't.

Hansen is quicker of the mark (and over distance) than Gibson or Firrito, and has 6 cm on both of them.

Gibbo was great in the final, but if Franklin had of latched onto a few of those early marks he would have kicked 6. He is latching onto to all of them this year. In rd. 3 Gibbo got a few bad calls, but he will get them again because when Franklin has is arms fully stretched, Gibson just cannot reach the spoil without making contact with his arms.

Gibson, Firrito or Thompson are all going to get torched by him unless our midfield plays like it did in the 90s. Hansen is the best one-on-one match-up - with everyone helping him out.

Hansen on Franklin
Gibson on Roughead
Thompson on Boyle
Urquhart on Rioli
Spud on Osbourne with a licence to run and rotating in the midfield with Harding.

You don't think that after missing so much footy with a leg injury (which means he wouldn't have done much running) requires a good 3-4 weeks of VFL?

I mean, Franklin would leave him vomitting out of exaustion at quarter time.

Are serious about trying to win the game or have we given up the 2008 season?

Hansen won our 3.2km time trial after one pre-season and coming of a base of once a week training at under 18 level. He has a freakish tank and I don't think the 5 weeks off will impact him very much at all.

I am very serious about winning (it is ____ing Hawthorn - I don't think I will sleep this week) - and I think we can, but Buddy in our current defensive set up will run amok. Two key forwards kicked 7 and 8 in consecutive weeks. Franklin will kick 10.

Time to be a bit daring. hansen has the tools - throw him the challenge.

Apologies for late posting of my player reports.

Went got home at about 7pm and had some dinner, then had to write the reports in my book.

Hope everyone finds them informative as usual.

We are playing at Bellerive Oval against Tassie next week and it's a TV game (1:10 pm start), so make sure you all tune in if possible.

You got my back Crazy
Always.

Apologies for late posting of my player reports.

Went got home at about 7pm and had some dinner, then had to write the reports in my book.

Hope everyone finds them informative as usual.

We are playing at Bellerive Oval against Tassie next week and it's a TV game (1:10 pm start), so make sure you all tune in if possible.
Ben, do not ever apologise for being late.

And dont be so paranoid, brother.

I got paranoid because I copped it last week from a number of posters for being late with putting up my player reports from the game against Coburg.