Werribee v Box Hill Hawks

"Official" VFL approved report summary

13.12-90 Box Hill Hawks def.11.16-82 Werribee Tigers

Box Hill Hawks
Goal Kickers: S. Kenna 3, A. Grima 2, D. Morrell, A. Neville, R. Breese, Z. Dawson, B. Dowler, L. McEntee, G. Moss, B. Whitecross

Best Players: C. Pedersen, B. Whitecross, T. Tuck, S. Kenna, J. Kennedy, R. Breese

Werribee Tigers
Goal Kickers: J. Podsiadly 3, B. Warren 2, T. Henderson, S. Wormald, J. Eddy, S. McMahon, L. Hansen, A. Obst

Best Players: D. Gleeson, J. Saker, T. Goldstein, A. Obst, J. Young, J. Sheringham

Hansen is quicker of the mark (and over distance) than Gibson or Firrito,

I would dispute this.

Gibbo was great in the final, but if Franklin had of latched onto a few of those early marks he would have kicked 6. He is latching onto to all of them this year. In rd. 3 Gibbo got a few bad calls, but he will get them again because when Franklin has is arms fully stretched, Gibson just cannot reach the spoil without making contact with his arms.

I reckon they were in about 30 contests that day. Franklin kicked two on the run and 2 from free kicks. He took one mark that he goaled from. Gibson beat him.

Gibson, Firrito or Thompson are all going to get torched by him unless our midfield plays like it did in the 90s. Hansen is the best one-on-one match-up - with everyone helping him out.

I disagree. If Hansen plays, we are best served by him attending every single video and match-up session with Gibson and playing loose down back, using his footy brain to block space and offer something going forward.

You don't think that after missing so much footy with a leg injury (which means he wouldn't have done much running) requires a good 3-4 weeks of VFL?

I mean, Franklin would leave him vomitting out of exaustion at quarter time.

Are serious about trying to win the game or have we given up the 2008 season?

From what i saw yesterday the sky would be the limit for Hansen RIGHT NOW in our defence,as a defensive unit that was the worst display i have seen for many a year,their reading of the play was third rate which left them chasing tail for most of the game,usually i look at the lack of defensive pressure of the midfield as the cause but this had little to do with it,freo's defenders were all over our forwards like a cheap suit.

I got paranoid because I copped it last week from a number of posters for being late with putting up my player reports from the game against Coburg.

They were just taking the piss buddy. Everyone appreciates the work you do for us, and it's a hell of a lot better than what we had last year.

I disagree. If Hansen plays, we are best served by him attending every single video and match-up session with Gibson and playing loose down back, using his footy brain to block space and offer something going forward.

Loose man is a sweet job, but I don't think Hansen has the natural confidence to do it at senior level yet.

He needs a job.

I'm all for throwing blokes into senior footy but not on suicide missions. Franklin is the hottest player in the comp right now. You don't put a bloke in his second season, third game back after five weeks off onto him and say 'all the best son'. He isn't ready. In fact, I wouldn't be sure he's ready for senior footy just yet.

Loose man is a sweet job, but I don't think Hansen has the natural confidence to do it at senior level yet.

I reckon he does. If he one grabbed a belter floating in front of a Buddy contest, he would be fine.

Apologies for late posting of my player reports.

Went got home at about 7pm and had some dinner, then had to write the reports in my book.

Hope everyone finds them informative as usual.

We are playing at Bellerive Oval against Tassie next week and it's a TV game (1:10 pm start), so make sure you all tune in if possible.

If thats Saturday then that would mean we would have to miss watching us play the Hawks.:o

That wont happen, i would think.

We can talk all we like about Franklin matchups but I don't see as the pivotal one. Gibson can contain him to 4 or 5 which is as good as we can expect.

Our problems are firstly the midfield which collectively had a shocker yesterday - we're not talking about 3 blokes bouncing back to form - more like 12-14.

And secondly we need a matchup for Roughhead, and with Firrito in the form he is, I reckon this is the one we need to worry about. Thompson should get the first crack at Roughhead, while Firrito needs to be given a totally different role this week - somewhere on the flank.

Apologies, I was unaware of the clash.

Will still write up my player reports as usual and Wilsen may not be in action, as our reserves have a bye next week.

I walked down to the game today. Ben and the Smithshow have done a good job with their reports. FWIW though.

Entertaining but poor standard game mainly due to ground conditions and Bhorks desperation to win first game. Hard for AFL players to shine through.

Obst: Thought he was poor early. Excusable if this was his first game back after that injury though. Nearly did the impossible and make Dowler look like a good footballer. Did improve as the game went on and got well on top of Dowler. He does contest hard. (Too hard at one stage as gave away a critical 50 in last 1/4). But can see why Laidley would like him. Also went foward when Werribee had to score to win game and did ok. IMO is not AFL standard yet. a WIP.

Ross: Thought he was NMFC best. Worked hard in midfield/forward all day in heavy conditions that don't suit his light build. His disposal is still a worry though.

Goldstein: I have a lot of time for the GoldPalmer but still think he needs a another year before being unleashed on the big time. H's injury may change that and he certainly may be able to do the second ruckman job if he is only expected to do that. Won a lot of taps this week and competed hard (but mainly ineffectively) at ground level. Slightly disappointed in the actual taps. I have seen the GoldPalmer do some Nolanesque palming of the ball in previous games but a lot this week just seemed to go back to the scrum.

Thommo: The great man walked right past me with his son. I nearly fainted. Didn't detect a limp.

Sinclair's Beanie: A disgrace.

McMahon: He should have been in Fremantle (still shaking my head over that selection)and perhaps he played like he thought he should have been to. Did some good work but i really expected that he should do more. He is AFL standard and should either do more or be expected to do more at this level. Seemed to play half forward and only got really involved in the game in short passages.

Warren: Did some good things Couple of ripper marks. Again conditions didn't suit his slight frame and for mine he struggles at ground level. To play at AFl level will really need to lift in that area. But he does have a go.

Greenwood: Did some good work. Can kick. Made some mistakes including doing something (which i didn't see) that gave the BHorks a gift goal at critical stage of last 1/4. A long way from senior football on that game.

Whoops: Forget Hansen. FWIW. Played a serviceable game. His opponents were quiet (I think). I have a ? over his speed/reaction over first 5 metres. Needs to improve that immensley to be able to play defence on top players at AFL level. Again, like McMahon, really want to see more at VFL level. He seemed to be given 3rd best forward not Ist which is what i would hope. Or Center half forward where i have seen him do well in VFL.

I have heard (second hand of course) that some in our playing group have serious doubts Hansen will make it as a senior footballer. Certainly not this year. Another pre season may be required.

Personally, I would play him as 3rd/4th tall forward in seniors to do the "lead up" role that Azza did for a while. Use that "tank" to run his opponent ragged. Give hime 4-6 weeks guaranteed games. Time to be brave and forward thinking at the selection table.

Or he could be added to the team.

What do you think of him Benny? AFL potential?

Yeah, he could make his senior debut against Tassie next week.

I would say AFL material at this stage, but I think I need to see how he goes at VFL senior level before I will make more of an informed decision.

Moves very well for his size, goes in hard at the contest, take a good grab and leads well too. Isn't afraid to get in hard either, which can be the case with some young talls.

His form in the reserves has been god enough to get a look for a senior game and it could very well be next week.

Versatile enough to be play well as both a tall forward or a key defender, our reserves coach Troy Mitchell and the North Melbourne development coach David Newitt have been tracking his progress.

Whoops: Forget Hansen.

I have heard (second hand of course) that some in our playing group have serious doubts Hansen will make it as a senior footballer. Certainly not this year.

I'm not having a crack at you 7577........, but I seriously wonder where this crap originates from?

Princes Park?

West Lakes?

Subiaco?

I'm not having a crack at you 7577........, but I seriously wonder where this crap originates from?

Princes Park?

West Lakes?

Subiaco?

Coach maybe? What do you think was the nail in the coffin for Nev?

I said it before, this Hansen decision was it.

But i wana see how good this kid is before closing the chapter on Nev.

Whoops: Forget Hansen. FWIW. Played a serviceable game. His opponents were quiet (I think). I have a ? over his speed/reaction over first 5 metres. Needs to improve that immensley to be able to play defence on top players at AFL level. Again, like McMahon, really want to see more at VFL level. He seemed to be given 3rd best forward not Ist which is what i would hope. Or Center half forward where i have seen him do well in VFL.

I have heard (second hand of course) that some in our playing group have serious doubts Hansen will make it as a senior footballer. Certainly not this year. Another pre season may be required.

Personally, I would play him as 3rd/4th tall forward in seniors to do the "lead up" role that Azza did for a while. Use that "tank" to run his opponent ragged. Give hime 4-6 weeks guaranteed games. Time to be brave and forward thinking at the selection table.

yep surprisingly u hear this quite a bit

hope the young man comes good but geez u gotta be worried