GAS PANIC

MINUTES after his AFL club pinched victory, suspended West Coast star Andrew Gaff’s mobile phone buzzed.

It was his joyous Eagles teammates, sending him a snapshot of their celebratory scenes in the Adelaide Oval rooms.

"We took this photo and sent it to Gaffy right after the game, I think our supporters would like to see it."

-Simmo

https://www.news.com.au/sport/i-thi...t/news-story/1f4ef731a142fdd317010a7aca6de0b2

Interesting that after a week where the Eagles have coped criticism for arrogance they do something which on the surface could be taken as nothing more than both arrogant and moronic.

Fair play that they sent messages to Gaff privately but to publicly promote this support via a celebratory picture with special quote from the coach through their social media just comes across as a bit of an f u to the whole situation. Everyone knows the circumstances behind why Gaff isnt playing and whilst no one is saying West Coast shouldnt support him internally one could get the impression that they are almost painting themselves/Gaff as the victim.

After the whole golf fiasco earlier in the week this added instance would surely make people question the thought process of the people running the club.

one could get the impression that they are almost painting themselves/Gaff as the victim.

One could seek to paint anything West Coast do in this whole situation as a negative.

So far the list is:
Sending Gaff back on the ground
Gaff having crocodile tears
Home crowd supporting Gaff
Team mates celebrating a Gaff goal
Coach defending Gaff in press conference
Gaff doing an interview straight after the game
Simpson slamming a question about culture
Defending Gaff at tribunal
Social media post supporting Gaff after a big win.

Probably heaps of other examples of people looking to take a pot shot at every instance.

(PS. what Gaff did was disgraceful and the punishment at the tribunal fitting, public condemnation understandable, but it has gone a bit far and for that, i am happy to see the club and mates support him.)

One could seek to paint anything West Coast do in this whole situation as a negative.

So far the list is:

Probably heaps of other examples of people looking to take a pot shot at every instance.

(PS. what Gaff did was disgraceful and the punishment at the tribunal fitting, public condemnation understandable, but it has gone a bit far and for that, i am happy to see the club and mates support him.)

Isn't that the point though? Why would you give people more amunition to bring up the incident? The promotion of this photo with message does little more than to stir up the outrage again rather than let the dust settle.

If anything I'd imagine that Gaff would just want to move on and try his best to put aside everything about the incident.

So far the list is:

So why rub everyone's noses in it with this B/S , the footy gods are laughing with you now but we all know what that means

Death by ' bunta '

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Isn't that the point though? Why would you give people more amunition to bring up the incident? The promotion of this photo with message does little more than to stir up the outrage again rather than let the dust settle.

If anything I'd imagine that Gaff would just want to move on and try his best to put aside everything about the incident.
Reckon the media treatment and etc pissed alot Eagles fans as well. The social media posts are intended for us fans and not everyone else. It would please a lot of fans to see the boys have a laugh and send their support to a team mate.

So why rub everyone's noses in it with this B/S , the footy gods are laughing with you now but we all know what that means

Death by ' bunta '

What the hell did your mob do to the footy gods 20 years ago then? Must've been bad

It stirs up the 'outrage' in those who choose to be outraged.

MINUTES after his AFL club pinched victory, suspended West Coast star Andrew Gaff’s mobile phone buzzed.

It was his joyous Eagles teammates, sending him a snapshot of their celebratory scenes in the Adelaide Oval rooms.

"We took this photo and sent it to Gaffy right after the game, I think our supporters would like to see it."

-Simmo

https://www.news.com.au/sport/i-thi...t/news-story/1f4ef731a142fdd317010a7aca6de0b2

Interesting that after a week where the Eagles have coped criticism for arrogance they do something which on the surface could be taken as nothing more than both arrogant and moronic.

Fair play that they sent messages to Gaff privately but to publicly promote this support via a celebratory picture with special quote from the coach through their social media just comes across as a bit of an f u to the whole situation. Everyone knows the circumstances behind why Gaff isnt playing and whilst no one is saying West Coast shouldnt support him internally one could get the impression that they are almost painting themselves/Gaff as the victim.

After the whole golf fiasco earlier in the week this added instance would surely make people question the thought process of the people running the club.

Hard to believe a guy doing life in prison even has access to a mobile. WA prison system is a joke.

I thought it was a bit silly, yeah.

Good god though, is it worth getting upset over? As has been said, literally anything the Eagles did this week was spun as the wrong move, so at that point who cares. Do what you like, pose with boxing gloves for all I care. If you’re going to get slammed for it anyway, might as well lean into it and go full heel.

1c5c0c6b66a05b61d38d488b1f4ec6ac.gif

Death by ' bunta '

If you read what Simmo said - this was for our supporters.

Not directed at the opposition.

But the permanently offended snowflakes use it as an opportunity to melt