What emotions did you have post game?

Was my first fathers day, eating brekkie at a hotel with my lovelies, reading the sports section with a full page shot of Petrie, sun, coffee...t'was a great morning.
Was also my first Father's Day so vey similar but replace hotel with home in bed and "sports section" with bigfooty :)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Did anyone in M14 spot the guy who was celebrating by raising one arm and doing an "air syringe" motion into his forearm towards anyone in black and red. Thinking it may have been one of us.
I did do that to one smarta*s Essendon supporter that left early with about 2 mins to go. But im sure i wasnt the only one haha

I was expecting a win against * so not as much exuberance as others. More just relief we didn't blow it again.

This week is a different matter though. Playing a genuinely good opponent not some average team scraping into finals means this will be a real test of what we are made of.

Will be very nervous going into the weekend - if we get up my excitement will be highest it has been since 1990s.

yea i got emotional after game because not only because we won and was a great game to watch but it was our first finals win in 7 years and 7years ago our club was struggling we had to fight hard to keep our great club in melbourne 7 years later we have done some much since then new facilitys, membership has grown we are nearly out of debt thats why the other reasons why i got emotional it was a great feeling

Like others here it was the first final that my kids had been to as they were only 3 and 4 in 2007.

Well start of the game we were all fired up and yelling ball n carrying on.
Halftime my daughter was playing on her IPad and disinterested ,my son was looking like his pet dog had been runover and pissed off ( loved that he cared so much)

Then the third quarter happened and we went all troppo when we started kicking goals kids were really going off.
Actually got into heated argument with * fan due to my son calling their team *s and cheats - it really got me fired up and I wasnt going quietly.

Three quarter time went to kids we will run all over them.

Last quarter was so hard as it could of gone either way.

Final siren it was relief for me but the kids just had so much joy in their faces and had a big hug then sang the song over and over.

That win has made them Roos for life.

Thanks North Melbourne.

I woke up early, fired up the projector and started streaming the match with my * supporting housemate (not hardcore, and Englishman who somehow got handed a * jersey the first time he went to Oz. I KNOW, I KNOW I should have gotten to him first!)

First quarter I was sanguine. Second quarter I got SO MAD. Just so frustrated at our inability to score, move the ball, etc. Half time I was filthy, just cursing our inability to be consistent, I haven't felt as down since after the Carlton loss earlier this year.

But third quarter I almost broke my couch with how often I was jumping up and fist pumping every time we scored a goal. God knows what my neighbours thought was going on, with periodic utterances of 'YES! BROWN!' through the walls. Perhaps they thought I was baking and the cake came out right, perhaps they thought I was playing Trivial Pursuit and was an Art and Literature specialist.

But by the end, I not only had a passion for the club bubbling up that I haven't felt since the late 90s, I had a smile on my face that I haven't wiped off since. I have watched the replay, listened to the replay commentary from MMM and SEN (MMM commentary of Petrie's 2 goals is bloody fantastic btw!)

Just ****ing awesome!

Last edited by a moderator:
umad.gif

I reckon I saw the pre-cursor to this,........there was a wannabe tough old * supporter who got the shits at a bloke who stood up at an exciting run of North play......just not worth it, but some dicks just can't help themselves.
Prick should be banned from the footy for life. There's kids at the footy, what a flog.

This happened to me too in the MCC, but I didn't get bashed up which is nice.
Best game I've ever been to. I watched the 07 game from London. 99 was still early north days for me (ex Fitzroy) and I was still developing my love for the team. The game was just purely and simply incredible. The run of goals in the 3rd were just the best thing. My fiancé (also North) and I were just going nuts, and some idiot * supporter told me to sit down after the Gibson goal. I have him a short serve and just kept going for broke. Im watching the replay tonight. Bring on the catters!

You're not helping your reputation.

The neighbours' reaction, not mine. NTTAWWT.

As for my reputation, if my Scandinavian hair can't convince people I'm not of Asian roots, I dunno what will.

Like others here it was the first final that my kids had been to as they were only 3 and 4 in 2007.
Yeah, mine were 4 and 2 in 2007, so their first final. The younger one in particular loved it, and he's usually the less fanatical of the two. So great to share that with them.

As for me, at the end of the game I was a little bit
320577343.gif

Well here we are again.

Another monumental win, another monumental hangover, another destroyed voice box.

I've got to admit that after the good guys flogged the vile thing that's lower than pond scum last week, I was at an all time high.

This week is a little different. I'm prouder than a first time Dad at the moment of our boys, but the gloss has been taken off somewhat with the Harvey thing, the umpiring thing, the soft utensil Selwood thing.

I'm feeling a mixture of both joy and anger at the same time as I type this. The terrible reeming we copped from the umpiring really has me a bit shaken and I know it's a very foil hat thing to say, but sometimes I think there IS an agenda at play. I'm trying to ignore it, but in reality I'm a little bit pissed off.

Think I'll crack open a red and watch the 1st quarter again.

Top 4 baby!