Dave The Man

Collingwood Magpies - Alan Didak 2009 Player Sponsor
Storm,Victory,Blue Jays
I saw him play the 1st quater and a Small bit of the 2nd then did not see him for the rest of the night, So What Happend?

He was taken off.

He needs another year in the VFL. Not even close to ready at the moment.
Agree a Year in the VFL as the number 1 target will help him because still needs to learn about Postioning and Where to lead too

This is the question of the pre season.

At the end of the finals series last year, he looked ready to explode.

What Happened to Dawes? (since then)
Think he changed his Body Shape and Also no AFL Team knew about Dawes but they did after last year

Nothing he is doing what he was doing last year.

When given actual respect (meaning a defender) and our mids got strangled dawes looked lost and useless.

Tonight dawes got matched by a real defender our mids got choked, dawes looked shit.

back to the VFL to learn the trade, like i said all PS when someone wanted him selected ahead of rocca every week

When given actual respect (meaning a defender) and our mids got strangled dawes looked lost and useless.

Tonight dawes got matched by a real defender our mids got choked, dawes looked shit.

back to the VFL to learn the trade, like i said all PS when someone wanted him selected ahead of rocca every week

No - Dawes will be bottom of the Depth Chart for Tall Forwards but Good Season in the VFL will help that.

He does have the Potential he just needs to learn the game more

No - Dawes will be bottom of the Depth Chart for Tall Forwards but Good Season in the VFL will help that.

He does have the Potential he just needs to learn the game more
Thats what i was telling YOU and many others all summer

Not just you Opti! But you're right, he's doing exactly what he did last year and the year before that. It's got nothing to do with his knee reco, it's his make-up. Someone posted a few days ago that Dawes was full of primal aggression or some such and that he ran around looking as though he was trying to stop himself punching everone out. Well my bet is that he's never thrown a punch in his life and never will. One thing you can't teach is physical aggression (and I don't mean just running around throwing punches) and presence. Dawes doesn't make anyone think twice about the contest and all the time in the world at VFL level won't change him. If he's going to make it, it has to be on skill, nothing else.

I'll stick up for most of the players, but I'm not going to for Dawes.

The kid is timid and doesn't work hard enough to get anywhere near the position to find the footy.

The midfield didn't help any of our forwards, and even though I'm still unsure about JA, at least he worked hard when he was an option. Dawes however.

I really want Rusling back in the side.

Just further evidence to dispel the myth that we don't need Rocca and that players with 100% less experience have somehow overtaken him....
Dawes may become a good player but not until he has at least 1 full year under his belt.

Bring on the Rocca....:thumbsu:

Dawes may have certain talents, but he does not run to the right spots. He just gets in the way of everyone else and brings his man into spots that congest the forward line. If he doesn't improve that, it's the backline or no footy career

Hello, being telling you this for the past few years. He is build like a brick dunny but is more timid than my Grandmother. He is a sook and his body language is appalling. On watching the VFL game last week he came off the ground in the third quarter and stormed off to the change rooms not waiting to watch his team mates play. Last night I was at the game and he disappeared again saw him later already changed. What is his problem!!!!!
He looked good a few times in the VFL after receiving as someone has said before silver service from Stanners who passes it straight to him lace out everytime. But that is it.... Can't bend and can't mark without dropping his head. It is horrible to watch really.

When your as slow as he is you need solid dukes, he doesn't have this. You need a willingness to crash into contests to force a spillage he doesn't have this.

Twice Dawes choose to sit out and stay down in aerial contests, when your major asset is your size (and that IMO is Dawes only AFL standard aspect other then his field kicking which is no use if you can't get the ball) then you need to make that count by both stretching your defenders by grabbing the ball high and by making aerial contests with your size. I have said for ages Dawes needs at least another year at VFL level and he needs to play as the number one target in the VFL.

Though it pains me to admit it, Dawes is not living up to expectations. Comparisons with Tristan Walker are a bit over the top. Already Dawes plays plays far better at VFL level than Walker ever did. 'Looking lost' and 'out of his depth' certainly aptly describe his performances this year. A year alternating at CHF/FF in the VFL with one or two senior games to check his progress along the way is the recipe for my man. Sorry Dawes - I pumped you up too early. Mind you, Dawes is not the only player who suffered a major reality check last night - just the most obvious one.

God some of you guys love to stick the boots in:rolleyes:
I was at the game last night and we got flogged around the stoppages.
It would have been a nightmare being a Collingwood forward last night.
As far as i remember, Dawes started the game. He disappeared very quickly and on where to be seen. I do not think he had that much game time last night. To be honest, even Buddy Franklin or Fev would have struggled in the Collingwood forward line last night with the delivery they got.
However, it was a NAB cup game.
We will see in a few weeks where we are really at.

he played vfl today...
I hope he got ran into the ground too.

keep flogging him until he pulls his finger out, has size, has endurance lacks ticker

I have said it before, Dawes doesnt know whether he is a lead up forward or a pack buster. MM would prefer he lead I would say, get clean possession, but I'd say Dawes has spent all his playing time up until AFL footy, being the biggest kid out there and crashing into smaller bodies.

Well, the time has to come, either be one or the other, but dont be a witches hat which is what he looks like at the moment. A deer caught in the headlights I think I described him as a few months back

Far too harsh , still adapting to the pace and the experience of AFL football. Timid only because he is not confident yet , similar to Reid. He didn't get much of a chance last night and our forwards had no chance to succeed regardless. Agressive VFL footballer , who is used as the focal point of the team.
FuManchu is right regarding the confusion regarding his role. More suited as a lead up at this stage , but people want another Rocca like presence , which isn't common , particularly in 20 year old kids.

I hope he got ran into the ground too.

keep flogging him until he pulls his finger out, has size, has endurance lacks ticker

Played only a Half I noticed he always plays behind and was also Intresting was when he got caught behind the ball and did not get it he just yelled out 'F**k!!!" and just looked totaly Frustrated.

Those he did come back in the 4th quater already changed