What happens to the State Leagues with the return of the Reserves?

I think it could strengthen the state leagues if done properly.

You would potentially dissolve the NEAFL as I'm pretty sure a key point of it was to provide a the norther clubs with are decent standard for their reserve teams

How does dissolving the NEAFL do anything for our game nationally, just as downgrading the WAFL would equal lowering the standard of WA footy, why do it?

There's huge money spent flying NEAFL teams around the country that could be spread across QLD, NSW, ACT and NT and end up with 4 much stronger leagues all operating at a solid semi-professional level. The money could be spent on better coaching and development in those leagues as is. They miss out on the test of playing against the AFL clubs reserves and the better sides from NSW/QLD but in general the standard for a lot of sides goes up. It probably makes it easier for them to attract fans and local sponsors and to build strong community clubs if they are playing in the same region each week. I always though the NEAFL was a comp created purely for the development of the 4 Northern teams so they weren't disadvantaged and maybe for the NT Thunder and not to do anything positive for NSW and QLD grassroots footy.

Probably a similar thing for the WAFL. Sure they don't get the test against Freo or West Coast but the comp can build it's own strength and there's not the mismatch of sometimes very strong AFL reserves sides when teams have healthy injury lists and sometimes very weak teams. The league loses interest from the casual fan but gains integrity as a competition.

Obviously it's nice to test recruits at a higher standard but development might actually be better by having guys play in more even and consistent leagues. They can also emphasise the state league games to test the best state v state at open and under 21 ages. AFL Vic (I think) today announced an upgrade to the 'young guns' VFL/TAC games they run here for young VFL and 19 year olds to showcase the best players who are in the mix for the draft so there's other ways to showcase development of players.

I don't see an issue. What sort of menatllist is going to pay any money, or give up time, to see their team play another reserves side out in some random field? The competition will be all curtain raisers I'd imagine and if that's too difficult, they'll be played somewhere cheap nearby. I don't think it's going to detract any interest or any crowds from the current state leagues.

WAFL and SANFL will return to full entities. I can see Peel Thunder dying but who really gives a shit? Basket case where players are either really good and get drafted at 18, or terrible and barely bother at 22 to the extent they struggle fielding a ressies side. The current issues with those clubs will remain and it's up to them to be open minded and survive in their own way.

VFL will be very interesting. If they do indeed go to a soccer league promotion and relly model, I wonder what clubs will make it up? Is it really smart or easy bringing in former clubs? I'd say the simple way to do it is bring in say 12 more teams from the rest of Melbourne (metro area) that are already self-sufficient. Essentially this would eat at the EDFL/EFL but as far as I know, the big issue with those comps at the moment is there's 2-3 clubs who are consistently offering more than everyone else and thus getting all the coaches and players and dominating every season. It could actually free up those leagues.

You also have the nice added benefit of this 'Northern Blues' and 'Casey Scorpions' horseshit going, and traditional, old, respected clubs would return to being the Preston Bull Ants or the Box Hill Mustangs – full name, original mascot, proper jumper.

You'd then essentially have a more classic, down to earth model all over the joint: southern and northern Tassie leagues, simple regional competitions (in which the new VFL/VFA would be the clear top league for Melbourne metropolitan), and then the WAFL/SANFL retaining integrity. It's going to be easier for those clubs when they're a tram or pooled bus ride away.

Victorian Football Association
Preston
Coburg
Port Melbourne
Williamstown
Sandringham
Werribee
Box Hill
Springvale
Frankston
+ 5 current teams of noted success, proven stability

14 teams, 26 rounds. Top six. Wooden spoon relegated, second bottom in play off versus losing Grand Finalist.

VFA Division Two
5 current teams of noted success, proven stability
5 new teams from relevant, promising, or unrepresented Melbourne regions

Ten teams, 18 rounds. Minor premiers go through to Grand Final, next four play off in finals. Grand Finalist winner is promoted automatically, second plays off against second bottom team of VFA.

I don't see an issue. What sort of menatllist is going to pay any money, or give up time, to see their team play another reserves side out in some random field? The competition will be all curtain raisers I'd imagine and if that's too difficult, they'll be played somewhere cheap nearby. I don't think it's going to detract any interest or any crowds from the current state leagues.

WAFL and SANFL will return to full entities. I can see Peel Thunder dying but who really gives a shit? Basket case where players are either really good and get drafted at 18, or terrible and barely bother at 22 to the extent they struggle fielding a ressies side. The current issues with those clubs will remain and it's up to them to be open minded and survive in their own way.

VFL will be very interesting. If they do indeed go to a soccer league promotion and relly model, I wonder what clubs will make it up? Is it really smart or easy bringing in former clubs? I'd say the simple way to do it is bring in say 12 more teams from the rest of Melbourne (metro area) that are already self-sufficient. Essentially this would eat at the EDFL/EFL but as far as I know, the big issue with those comps at the moment is there's 2-3 clubs who are consistently offering more than everyone else and thus getting all the coaches and players and dominating every season. It could actually free up those leagues.

You also have the nice added benefit of this 'Northern Blues' and 'Casey Scorpions' horseshit going, and traditional, old, respected clubs would return to being the Preston Bull Ants or the Box Hill Mustangs – full name, original mascot, proper jumper.

You'd then essentially have a more classic, down to earth model all over the joint: southern and northern Tassie leagues, simple regional competitions (in which the new VFL/VFA would be the clear top league for Melbourne metropolitan), and then the WAFL/SANFL retaining integrity. It's going to be easier for those clubs when they're a tram or pooled bus ride away.

Won’t be curtain raisers in Melbourne as the G and Docklands can’t handle the traffic, they already have 40-50 games each.

Could play at Punt Rd for the G if Richmond are open to it. Docklands, who knows.

Won’t be curtain raisers in Melbourne as the G and Docklands can’t handle the traffic, they already have 40-50 games each.

Could play at Punt Rd for the G if Richmond are open to it. Docklands, who knows.
Well make Optus Oval the designated ground, if not for Carlton, Bullies, North, possibly Dees, Sainters, and Hawks. I'm sure the Pies at Lexus is fine. Having it close by on game day is the right idea.

That way the AFL can spin it to the government: at least two games a round in winter, AFLW, pre-season hub, and quite a few TAC and local finals there as well. Would be enough to get the funding to clean up and modernise the existing stands, chuck a new one behind the tram-end goals, and possibly even completely redo the stand where the commentators are.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/vfl-competition-is-a-mess.1062049/page-13#post-51041211

Once the AFL clubs leave I think the remaining VFL clubs could just go back to local leagues.

From there a Melbourne-wide league could develop IF the clubs wanted it. Won't happen if they don't.

It would have to include promotion and relegation as if it doesn't it'll just go the way of any other league which doesn't have it, and die as the clubs weaken. You have to be able to regenerate as times change and population shifts. P&R is the only natural way to make that happen.

If it is to happen then

Merge the EDFL and NFL to create a true Northern league.

Then you have Northern, Eastern, Southern and Western Leagues.

VFL Division 1
VFL Division 2 North West
VFL Division 2 South East

Bottom 2 from VFL D1 are relegated
Premiers of VFL D2 are both promoted

Bottom 2 of both VFL D2 are relegated to the local leagues.

Premiers of 4 local leagues are promoted to VFL D2.

That way it's always regenerated with strong, growing clubs at the top level. And every other level retains a local feel - VFL D2 is just slightly wider - North with West and South with East.

Forget regional clubs. It's never worked as they haven't had the support that country leagues have. Frankston could of course join as they're basically a Southern suburb of Melbourne anyway... in fact I reckon other Peninsula / Nepean clubs would be keen to join the Southern league too.

If this happens, and I can't see much stopping it, it will impact the WAFL and probably the SANFL severely. Probably finish off the WAFL as it is currently.
The AFL and their lickspittle servant the WAFC have done just about everything they can in terms of ringbarking and sidelining the comp over here for many years now.
I do wonder what this means in terms of squad sizes for AFL clubs in comparison to the size they are now.
It is still my belief that Football needs strong and relatively independent leagues on the lower levels to produce good players for the top leagues. I can't see this being the case anymore and I think the AFL will continue to do untold damage to the lower leagues until such a time as it gets to a crisis point and then they'll have to change.

Hopefully the VFL becomes an actual state league and not just a Melbourne league.
Teams from Bendigo, Ballarat, Shepparton, Wondonga ect....

Minimum 44 healthy players week in week out ,interesting problem . Travel emergency ?

Hopefully the VFL becomes an actual state league and not just a Melbourne league.
Teams from Bendigo, Ballarat, Shepparton, Wondonga ect....
Seems no reason for country footballers to want to play in a regional comp. They earn more in the country leagues, and don't have to travel.

Yeah that's fair enough. I had a mate play for the Box Hill Hawks a few years ago as a 19-20 year old. Returned to our local suburban club as they were paying him more. I'm not sure the VFL will survive with an AFL reserve league

If this happens, and I can't see much stopping it, it will impact the WAFL and probably the SANFL severely. Probably finish off the WAFL as it is currently.
The AFL and their lickspittle servant the WAFC have done just about everything they can in terms of ringbarking and sidelining the comp over here for many years now.
I do wonder what this means in terms of squad sizes for AFL clubs in comparison to the size they are now.
It is still my belief that Football needs strong and relatively independent leagues on the lower levels to produce good players for the top leagues. I can't see this being the case anymore and I think the AFL will continue to do untold damage to the lower leagues until such a time as it gets to a crisis point and then they'll have to change.
This.

AFL has basically applied glyphosate to the garden that is the state leagues. It'll be dead inside 10 years

In the mean time they'll be coming up with their own new inventions to replace it

Alignmengs and Zones were the first real sign of that. This just confirms the nuclear option.

What happens to the State Leagues with the return of the Reserves?