What happens to the State Leagues with the return of the Reserves?

The reality is that the WAFL, SANFL and VFL will still be a higher level of footy than AFL reserves.
AFL reserves will be full of colts players who are not developed and never played against men in their life, be on AFL lists attached to the buzz word potential which supporters love.
The AFL will promote it as the second tier which the supporters will believe and because they have an AFL club jumper and name the supporters will think they are special players and worth taking an interest in.

The most important question is though, if reserves returns, will Geelongs reserve premierships carry over?

It would be counted as a flag for your seconds in your club just like we do with VFA flags won for each of our firsts but because there has not been a reserve grade comp for this league since end of 1999 it will not be this league's reserve grade premiership counts.

From wiki

The reserve grade premiership was held in various formats between 1919 and 1999. It was known as the Victorian Junior Football League from 1919 until 1923, the Seconds from 1924 until 1959, the VFL Reserves from 1960 until 1989, and as the AFL reserves from 1990 until 1999. Until 1991, the competition was run by the VFL/AFL, and from 1992 until 1999 it was administered by the Victorian State Football League.

Season Premiers
1919 Collingwood(1) University-A (1) 6.11 (47) d. 4.8 (32) Melbourne Cricket Ground 45,413 (C-R) 11 October 1919

1920 Collingwood(2) University (2) 7.14 (56) d. 7.2 (44) Melbourne Cricket Ground 58,255 (C-R) 25 September 1920

1921 Essendon (1) Collingwood(1) 10.9 (69) d. 8.13 (61) Melbourne Cricket Ground 43,122 (C-R) 15 October 1921

1922 Collingwood(3) Essendon (1) 8.10 (58) d. 1.9 (15) Melbourne Cricket Ground 50,054 (C-R) 14 October 1922

1923 Geelong (1) Richmond (1) 9.12 (66) d. 5.10 (40) Melbourne Cricket Ground 46,566 (C-R) 20 October 1923

1924 Geelong (2) Essendon (2) Geelong won on forfeit Kardinia Park N/A N/A

1925 Collingwood(4) Fitzroy (1) 13.16 (94) d. 11.4 (70) Melbourne Cricket Ground 64,288 (C-R) 10 October 1925

1926 Carlton (1) Geelong (1) 14.11 (95) d. 5.13 (43) Melbourne Cricket Ground 59,632 (C-R) 9 October 1926

1927 Carlton (2) South Melbourne (1) 12.22 (94) d. 11.9 (75) Melbourne Cricket Ground 4,210 8 October 1927

1928 Carlton (3) Geelong (2) 18.18 (126) d. 14.11 (95) Melbourne Cricket Ground 8,000 27 September 1928

1929 Richmond (1) Geelong (3) 12.8 (80) d. 7.15 (57) Melbourne Cricket Ground 6,544 26 September 1929

1930 Geelong (3) Richmond (2) 14.12 (96) d. 11. (74) Melbourne Cricket Ground 41,495 (C-R) 4 October 1930

1931 Melbourne (1) Geelong (4) 8.13 (61) d. 8.5 (53) Melbourne Cricket Ground 60,712 (C-R) 10 October 1931

1932 Melbourne (2) Essendon (3) 8.12 (60) d. 4.10 (34) Melbourne Cricket Ground 69,724 (C-R) 1 October 1932

1933 Melbourne (3) St Kilda (1) 10.15 (75) d. 10.14 (74) Melbourne Cricket Ground 9,500 28 September 1933

1934 Melbourne (4) Geelong (5) 15.18 (108) d. 12.4 (76) Melbourne Cricket Ground 65,335 (C-R) 13 October 1934

1935 Melbourne (5) Geelong (6) 12.11 (83) d. 9.6 (60) Melbourne Cricket Ground 54,154 (C-R) 5 October 1935

1936 Footscray (1) Melbourne (1) 15.11 (101) d. 6.14 (50) Melbourne Cricket Ground 74,091 (C-R) 3 October 1936

1937 Geelong (4) Collingwood(2) 12.12 (84) d. 9.11 (65) Melbourne Cricket Ground 30 September 1937

1938 Geelong (5) Footscray (1) 12.19 (91) d. 12.8 (80) Melbourne Cricket Ground 5,500 29 September 1938

1939 Melbourne (6) Richmond (2) 22.12 (144) d. 17.13 (115) Melbourne Cricket Ground 4,100 28 September 1939

1940 Collingwood(5) Carlton (1) 6.16 (52) d. 3.12 (30) Melbourne Cricket Ground 70,330 (C-R) 28 September 1940

1941 Essendon (2) Fitzroy (2) 12.16 (88) d.9.17 (71) Melbourne Cricket Ground 79,687 (C-R) 27 September 1941

1942 St Kilda (1) Fitzroy (3) 13.10 (88) d. 7.15 (57) Punt Road Oval 12 September 1942
1943 St Kilda (2) Fitzroy (4) 11.14 (80) d. 8.6 (54) Victoria Park 18 September 1943
1944 Fitzroy (1) Collingwood(3) 11.12 (78) d. 9.9 (63) Victoria Park 7,500 23 September 1944
1945 Footscray (2) Fitzroy (5) 9.16 (70) d. 9.3 (57) Victoria Park 6,500 22 September 1945
1946 Richmond
1947 North Melbourne
1948 Geelong
1949 Melbourne
  • 1950 Essendon
  • 1951 Carlton
  • 1952 Essendon
  • 1953 Carlton
  • 1954 Richmond
  • 1955 Richmond
  • 1956 Melbourne
  • 1957 North Melbourne
  • 1958 Hawthorn
  • 1959 Hawthorn
  • 1960 Geelong
  • 1961 St Kilda
  • 1962 Footscray
  • 1963 Geelong
  • 1964 Geelong
  • 1965 Collingwood
  • 1966 Richmond
  • 1967 North Melbourne
  • 1968 Essendon
  • 1969 Melbourne
  • 1970 Melbourne
  • 1971 Richmond
  • 1972 Hawthorn
  • 1973 Richmond
  • 1974 Fitzroy
  • 1975 Geelong
  • 1976 Collingwood
  • 1977 Richmond
  • 1978 North Melbourne
  • 1979 North Melbourne
  • 1980 Geelong
  • 1981 Geelong
  • 1982 Geelong
  • 1983 Essendon
  • 1984 Melbourne
  • 1985 Hawthorn
  • 1986 Carlton
  • 1987 Carlton
  • 1988 Footscray
  • 1989 Fitzroy
  • 1990 Carlton
  • 1991 Brisbane Bears
  • 1992 Essendon
  • 1993 Melbourne
  • 1994 Footscray
  • 1995 North Melbourne
  • 1996 North Melbourne
  • 1997 Richmond
  • 1998 Western Bulldogs (Footscray )
  • 1999 Essendon

There's huge money spent flying NEAFL teams around the country that could be spread across QLD, NSW, ACT and NT and end up with 4 much stronger leagues all operating at a solid semi-professional level. The money could be spent on better coaching and development in those leagues as is. They miss out on the test of playing against the AFL clubs reserves and the better sides from NSW/QLD but in general the standard for a lot of sides goes up. It probably makes it easier for them to attract fans and local sponsors and to build strong community clubs if they are playing in the same region each week. I always though the NEAFL was a comp created purely for the development of the 4 Northern teams so they weren't disadvantaged and maybe for the NT Thunder and not to do anything positive for NSW and QLD grassroots footy.

Probably a similar thing for the WAFL. Sure they don't get the test against Freo or West Coast but the comp can build it's own strength and there's not the mismatch of sometimes very strong AFL reserves sides when teams have healthy injury lists and sometimes very weak teams. The league loses interest from the casual fan but gains integrity as a competition.

Obviously it's nice to test recruits at a higher standard but development might actually be better by having guys play in more even and consistent leagues. They can also emphasise the state league games to test the best state v state at open and under 21 ages. AFL Vic (I think) today announced an upgrade to the 'young guns' VFL/TAC games they run here for young VFL and 19 year olds to showcase the best players who are in the mix for the draft so there's other ways to showcase development of players.

You see the benefits of narrowing the talent path & its may help the game at the highest level but at what cost to our game nationally - at a time country footy across the nation is struggling for survival.

Turning the top level of community footy at QLD and NSW back over to regional comps should only help their long term survival. The struggles in Tassie are largely due to the AFL creating a state wide league very few wanted, which is similar to the NEAFL being a 4 state/territory league instead of strong regional leagues in each area.

I think there will be very little impact on the WAFL and SANFL. People don't go to those games to watch AFL players. Not much will change.

Nobody will actually support reserves footy. I can't think of a professional league in world sport where reserves are supported and/or commercially viable. There may be some, but they are outliers.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

I don’t know how it’ll work but I can’t see the Vic clubs wanting to take part in a national reserves comp. It’s expensive, the travel isn’t a good thing for the players or their recovery, and they have enough teams to have a reserves league among themselves. There’s no benefits of it at all.

They may be forced to by the AFL but I don’t see that happening as they still hold the balance of power and the league is pretty Vic-centric itself.

Fairly sure the Premier League reserves is split into North and South. Wonder if we’d have a Vic reserves comp (10 clubs) and a national reserves comp (8 clubs).

Reckon there’s some chance we’ll see a reserves comp in Vic and status quo elsewhere.

I don’t know how it’ll work but I can’t see the Vic clubs wanting to take part in a national reserves comp. It’s expensive, the travel isn’t a good thing for the players or their recovery, and they have enough teams to have a reserves league among themselves. There’s no benefits of it at all.

They may be forced to by the AFL but I don’t see that happening as they still hold the balance of power and the league is pretty Vic-centric itself.

Fairly sure the Premier League reserves is split into North and South. Wonder if we’d have a Vic reserves comp (10 clubs) and a national reserves comp (8 clubs).

Reckon there’s some chance we’ll see a reserves comp in Vic and status quo elsewhere.

So we'll plan to limit those negatives for Vic teams, but bugger non-Vic teams? Awesome...

No, think about it rationally.

The decision will be made by the AFL clubs.

Why would ten of them vote for something that is an inferior situation to the current?

As for the other eight, what will they most likely want?

Turn them all into pure development leagues. U21’s, with the main focus being to produce quality players for the AFL and help prepare young guys for their AFL careers

Who gives a shit, they have tried to bring us down for a hundred years. Let them die!
Shit attitude. The AFL has set themselves up as the governing body for footy in this country. Its up to them to come up with a Whole of footy plan(a Pyramid like the English Football League structure) that provides a structure for all parts of our game to be sustainable, strong, healthy and contribute to the game in their own way. We need to learn from Soccer. If we're united we can be so much greater, Divided we will struggle. If the AFL oversee the demise of the 140+ year old SANFL, I guarantee there'll be negative consequences for the game in SA. Maybe not right away, but they will come.

If it's done properly the VFL could become a fantastic league, not compromised by the AFL teams trying to develop players.

It’s a golden opportunity for state leagues to reclaim their competitions. Hopefully they’re smart about it and build themselves into a solid part of the vibrant local footy scene.

Shit attitude. The AFL has set themselves up as the governing body for footy in this country. Its up to them to come up with a Whole of footy plan(a Pyramid like the English Football League structure) that provides a structure for all parts of our game to be sustainable, strong, healthy and contribute to the game in their own way. We need to learn from Soccer. If we're united we can be so much greater, Divided we will struggle. If the AFL oversee the demise of the 140+ year old SANFL, I guarantee there'll be negative consequences for the game in SA. Maybe not right away, but they will come.
Nah, they’ve made their bed with our club, they can die in it.
The SANFL is all that is wrong with SA footy, the sooner their cronyism is removed the better for everyone.

Nah, they’ve made their bed with our club, they can die in it.
The SANFL is all that is wrong with SA footy, the sooner their cronyism is removed the better for everyone.
For those non South Australians this is why so many footy fans in Adelaide hate Port and its nothing to do with jealousy as they will tell you..This is the typical Port attitude. "we're alright so f*ck the rest of ya." You've lived down to my expectations. congrats.

That is a typical Port attitude. we're alright so f*ck the rest of ya. Youve lived down to my expectations. congrats.
Cry me a river, the SANFL have done everything they can to screw Port.

Just because your club was too pussy to follow through, you will whither on the vine.

You’ve lived down to my expectation of an SA pissant, the type who hold our state back.

The reality is that the WAFL, SANFL and VFL will still be a higher level of footy than AFL reserves.
AFL reserves will be full of colts players who are not developed and never played against men in their life, be on AFL lists attached to the buzz word potential which supporters love.
The AFL will promote it as the second tier which the supporters will believe and because they have an AFL club jumper and name the supporters will think they are special players and worth taking an interest in.

The AFL reserves will be a better standard as any potential mature age draftee will be far better off being a top up player in the reserves comp. The bulldogs vfl team as won two of the last four vfl premierships, the top up players have either been experienced players or promising potential draftees of which three have ended up on AFL lists in the past two years.

The standard is irrelevant because they are still reserves sides and nobody really cares about reserves. The WAFL as it stands, are not reserves sides, there are two WAFL clubs with AFL affiliations. Perhaps not so much with Peel, but the bulk of fans going to East Perth games are doing so because they are East Perth, not because they are Eagles fans who want to watch the kids and crabs.

Originally I think they were going to make just a Victorian teams comp a few years back when they were thinking about bringing it back

What happens to the State Leagues with the return of the Reserves?