I think it will better for the state leagues, it will level the playing field and improve the integrity of the various comps.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
And while they do that, bring back 16 a side as well!I can't wait for the return of the VFA. A true Sunday only comp.
The most important question is though, if reserves returns, will Geelongs reserve premierships carry over?
Is there any credible talk of a return to the reserves? Or just bigfooty threads?
There's huge money spent flying NEAFL teams around the country that could be spread across QLD, NSW, ACT and NT and end up with 4 much stronger leagues all operating at a solid semi-professional level. The money could be spent on better coaching and development in those leagues as is. They miss out on the test of playing against the AFL clubs reserves and the better sides from NSW/QLD but in general the standard for a lot of sides goes up. It probably makes it easier for them to attract fans and local sponsors and to build strong community clubs if they are playing in the same region each week. I always though the NEAFL was a comp created purely for the development of the 4 Northern teams so they weren't disadvantaged and maybe for the NT Thunder and not to do anything positive for NSW and QLD grassroots footy.
Probably a similar thing for the WAFL. Sure they don't get the test against Freo or West Coast but the comp can build it's own strength and there's not the mismatch of sometimes very strong AFL reserves sides when teams have healthy injury lists and sometimes very weak teams. The league loses interest from the casual fan but gains integrity as a competition.
Obviously it's nice to test recruits at a higher standard but development might actually be better by having guys play in more even and consistent leagues. They can also emphasise the state league games to test the best state v state at open and under 21 ages. AFL Vic (I think) today announced an upgrade to the 'young guns' VFL/TAC games they run here for young VFL and 19 year olds to showcase the best players who are in the mix for the draft so there's other ways to showcase development of players.
Turning the top level of community footy at QLD and NSW back over to regional comps should only help their long term survival. The struggles in Tassie are largely due to the AFL creating a state wide league very few wanted, which is similar to the NEAFL being a 4 state/territory league instead of strong regional leagues in each area.You see the benefits of narrowing the talent path & its may help the game at the highest level but at what cost to our game nationally - at a time country footy across the nation is struggling for survival.
So we'll plan to limit those negatives for Vic teams, but bugger non-Vic teams? Awesome...I don’t know how it’ll work but I can’t see the Vic clubs wanting to take part in a national reserves comp. It’s expensive, the travel isn’t a good thing for the players or their recovery, and they have enough teams to have a reserves league among themselves. There’s no benefits of it at all.
They may be forced to by the AFL but I don’t see that happening as they still hold the balance of power and the league is pretty Vic-centric itself.
Fairly sure the Premier League reserves is split into North and South. Wonder if we’d have a Vic reserves comp (10 clubs) and a national reserves comp (8 clubs).
Reckon there’s some chance we’ll see a reserves comp in Vic and status quo elsewhere.
So we'll plan to limit those negatives for Vic teams, but bugger non-Vic teams? Awesome...
Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Shit attitude. The AFL has set themselves up as the governing body for footy in this country. Its up to them to come up with a Whole of footy plan(a Pyramid like the English Football League structure) that provides a structure for all parts of our game to be sustainable, strong, healthy and contribute to the game in their own way. We need to learn from Soccer. If we're united we can be so much greater, Divided we will struggle. If the AFL oversee the demise of the 140+ year old SANFL, I guarantee there'll be negative consequences for the game in SA. Maybe not right away, but they will come.Who gives a shit, they have tried to bring us down for a hundred years. Let them die!
If it's done properly the VFL could become a fantastic league, not compromised by the AFL teams trying to develop players.
Nah, they’ve made their bed with our club, they can die in it.Shit attitude. The AFL has set themselves up as the governing body for footy in this country. Its up to them to come up with a Whole of footy plan(a Pyramid like the English Football League structure) that provides a structure for all parts of our game to be sustainable, strong, healthy and contribute to the game in their own way. We need to learn from Soccer. If we're united we can be so much greater, Divided we will struggle. If the AFL oversee the demise of the 140+ year old SANFL, I guarantee there'll be negative consequences for the game in SA. Maybe not right away, but they will come.
For those non South Australians this is why so many footy fans in Adelaide hate Port and its nothing to do with jealousy as they will tell you..This is the typical Port attitude. "we're alright so f*ck the rest of ya." You've lived down to my expectations. congrats.Nah, they’ve made their bed with our club, they can die in it.
The SANFL is all that is wrong with SA footy, the sooner their cronyism is removed the better for everyone.
Cry me a river, the SANFL have done everything they can to screw Port.That is a typical Port attitude. we're alright so f*ck the rest of ya. Youve lived down to my expectations. congrats.
The reality is that the WAFL, SANFL and VFL will still be a higher level of footy than AFL reserves.
AFL reserves will be full of colts players who are not developed and never played against men in their life, be on AFL lists attached to the buzz word potential which supporters love.
The AFL will promote it as the second tier which the supporters will believe and because they have an AFL club jumper and name the supporters will think they are special players and worth taking an interest in.
The AFL reserves will be a better standard as any potential mature age draftee will be far better off being a top up player in the reserves comp. The bulldogs vfl team as won two of the last four vfl premierships, the top up players have either been experienced players or promising potential draftees of which three have ended up on AFL lists in the past two years.
Originally I think they were going to make just a Victorian teams comp a few years back when they were thinking about bringing it backI don’t know how it’ll work but I can’t see the Vic clubs wanting to take part in a national reserves comp. It’s expensive, the travel isn’t a good thing for the players or their recovery, and they have enough teams to have a reserves league among themselves. There’s no benefits of it at all.
They may be forced to by the AFL but I don’t see that happening as they still hold the balance of power and the league is pretty Vic-centric itself.
Fairly sure the Premier League reserves is split into North and South. Wonder if we’d have a Vic reserves comp (10 clubs) and a national reserves comp (8 clubs).
Reckon there’s some chance we’ll see a reserves comp in Vic and status quo elsewhere.