What is MM doing ?

Dnine you need to chill out, MM does his job and has done well over the last few years. you need alot to go your way in a season and after two games i wouldnt be an astute judge. Patience. Buckley will come to the helm in two years and he will have all of these same players at his disposal. It is then you can be a judge. Sides are always going to have a good and a bad day. We have a great list and they will be only better by the time Bucks gets there. In the mean time let MM do his job if he fails miserably he will go sooner than you think. You shouldnt get caught up about things you cant change and MM isn;t one your going to get rid of by bitching on an internet site.

Enjoy the season for what it is and learn to be patient

If the people in my football club, are not doing what I believe is in the best interest of it, I will say. I speak what I think, and in doing so, it is not intended to get rid of Malthouse. This thread touched on some of my thoughts over the past few years, and I voiced them. Now I believe that is what this forum is all about. We don't all have to follow the clubs every move blindly, not disagreeing with anything they do. I am not stopping MM from doing his job in any way. There is nothing stopping this momentum of ego. I just can't wait to see the back of it, is all. We have had sides, if dealt with correctly could of won flags, but we have MM instead.

You say MM has done very well over the last few seasons, what do you think of Ports seasons, the years that they dominated every home and away match, smashing everyone that come their way, only to drop straight out of the finals, at the hands of us. Are you complimentary of their successes in these years???? Honestly, what does all this mean, when push comes to shove?? I will tell you, and that is ONE flag in FIFTY years. That's all it means. NO flag in MM's tenure, that's all it means. No one cares about also rans, why do we not know this???

If the people in my football club, are not doing what I believe is in the best interest of it, I will say. I speak what I think, and in doing so, it is not intended to get rid of Malthouse. This thread touched on some of my thoughts over the past few years, and I voiced them. Now I believe that is what this forum is all about. We don't all have to follow the clubs every move blindly, not disagreeing with anything they do. I am not stopping MM from doing his job in any way. There is nothing stopping this momentum of ego. I just can't wait to see the back of it, is all. We have had sides, if dealt with correctly could of won flags, but we have MM instead.

You say MM has done very well over the last few seasons, what do you think of Ports seasons, the years that they dominated every home and away match, smashing everyone that come their way, only to drop straight out of the finals, at the hands of us. Are you complimentary of their successes in these years???? Honestly, what does all this mean, when push comes to shove?? I will tell you, and that is ONE flag in FIFTY years. That's all it means. NO flag in MM's tenure, that's all it means. No one cares about also rans, why do we not know this???

Your opinion.
Others opinions differ and there's no probs with that.

Williams won a flag with Port and now they are struggling. What has changed? The list.

2 games for two wins.
One a very important win which on form was against the odds.
MM made 2 changes to that team, both through injury.

What exactly would you have done if you were MM or any other coach for that matter differently?

Why didn't we smash Melbourne?
Did you see them play last week and this week?

Melbourne did not let us smash them as they did Hawthorn last week. Simple.

Did we lose?

Mate, clearly you're a passionate pie and that is great.

But do you actually read your rants before posting them???

You are critical of MM?? But what in particular apart from past failings with completely different lists are you actually critical of???

What changed from rnd 1 to rnd 2 that was MM's fault??

Williams won a flag with Port and now they are struggling. What has changed? The list.
Port are struggling.....they are 2 from 2, going along just fine are Port. Williams is a great coach, that is the point he has always been a great coach. Coaches don't just lose it overnight....

2 games for two wins.
One a very important win which on form was against the odds.
MM made 2 changes to that team, both through injury.
Pies are exactly where all pies supporters would have hoped at the start of the year 2-0.

We have had forced changes, and blokes like Harry, Beams, Sidey and Thomas look like will improve further in 2010.

But still a sh1t start from MM!
What exactly would you have done if you were MM or any other coach for that matter differently?
They just come up with crap like play kids, or make sure the players are switched on...blah blah blah.

Why didn't we smash Melbourne?
Did you see them play last week and this week?
Melbourne always get 'up' for games against us......why, who the feck knows, some rivalry from back in the 50s??

But the fact is, in rnd 1 the dees were insipid, against us they had a fair dinkum crack and playedc hard contested footy.

Why the massive difference in Melbourne's game????
Melbourne did not let us smash them as they did Hawthorn last week. Simple.
Exactly.......Melbourne actually played a game of footy against us......

Why can their players be so pathetic one week, but then turn it on the next??

And conversely, why can the pies players beat a premiership contender one week.......but then look lost against a struggler the next??

There is no 'easy' answer.
Did we lose?
No..........but hey MM is still sh1t.

How about you stop telling people how to support the club, and what to think. I am not jumping into your posts and saying how wrong you've got it,

Oh please, that's all you ever do! You spent all last year dominating the Malthouse thread and shouting down anyone who tried to offer a counterpoint.

I get that you're not a fan of Malthouse, and I respect your right to think that, but don't act as if you're some shy retiring petal who never gets a chance to say what you think. You have spent a hell of a lot of time on this board ridiculing anyone who disagrees with you, no matter how even handed and reserved their support for Malthouse may be. There was a period of time when anytime someone disagreed with you in your little "I hate Malthouse thread", you would put them on ignore and encourage everyone to do the same.

To the matter at hand, for what it's worth, I do grow weary of hearing Malthouse say he could tell during the week that players were "flat". He must have said it a dozen times that I can remember over the years. This has to have been the most exciting pre-season at Collingwood in a long time with our on field acquisitions, and the return of Buckley. The win in Round 1 should have had the players bouncing off the walls all week. How they could be flat is beyond me, but I hope that the next time Malthouse notices it mid-week, he puts the rocket up them then and there, rather than wait until quarter time on game day, and bemoan the fact in the press conference.

We all suspected that MM was too big headed to make the transition easily. Parkin managed to do it, and take backwards steps to allow it to be done in harmony, and Parkin won premierships. He had every reason to believe he was better than Wayne Britton but didn't. His sole focus was what was good for the Carlton football club. Leigh Matthews could see that Brisbane would be better off moving forward with a young more exciting coach, even though he just won three flags. Malthouse just has too big an ego, he only cares about himself. I really wish he would just step aside, and let us get on with it with Bucks as senior coach.
What are you talking about?? Parkin n Brittain and a smooth transition?? And even if it was, Brittain took the Blues to a wooden spoon in Brittains second year as coach.........perhaps he was a sh1t senior coach and not ready to take over from a bloke like Parkin??

Since 2003, Malthouse went from the father figure, to the coach that only had some of his players 100% commitment. He is aggressive to the point, that no one would dare admit that to be true, so we will never know 100%.
What the feck does any of that mean??

Since 2003 though, other clubs have come from behind us, to win premierships, where as, apparently we haven't had the right opportunity with the players we have got. I don't believe that, I believe had a better coach been in control of Collingwood, we would of won a flag by now, and not just come close.
What??

I think you are saying we have had the cattle but it has been MM that has actually cost us a flag.

Doubt you would find the most die-hard pies fan that would actually ever consider our list to have been the best in any year that MM has been coach.

This limbo period, will more than likely stuff up any chance for us, especially with the transition, not being embraced by Mr Ego. Like Ted Whitten, the extention to the ten year contract, will finish with no ultimate success to speak of.
Mr. Ego

Yep you dont like MM.

Dont try and pretend your rants are based on anything but dislike of MM.

Unity.........:rolleyes:

Go Pies!

Half of you have never even coached an Auskick team and are just armchair experts..
Your opinions are old and boring to read. MM is gold.. We need guys like Cloke to stand up if we're to become a threat this year.. Didak, Medhurst, Davis, and a couple of others need to find consistency... We have the best training facilities and the best coaches going around and the players are flat in round 2..That's crap.

Everybody should stay positive, at least we won.
Exactly my thoughts, I think some people have a hugely inflated opinion of their footballing abilities.
Most wouldn't get in the back door of a junior football club as a water bottle carrier

To me is my frustration that there's no consistency in his coaching. Against the Bulldogs we used the corridor and players were running back into space in the forwardline. When we playe dthe Demons it was around the boundary line again. This could be for a number of reasons though players to lazy to create space or Mick not wasting his best game plans for lowly opposition :rolleyes:

" The players were flat all week" !!

Well, why not rest a few of the flat players and bring in some youngsters like MacCaffer, Dawes, Rusling, Barham into the side ?

In MM's ususal post match blame game, it's NEVER him, it's always about a player/players or the opposition. He NEVER takes the blame for losses or bad performances.

Every club knows that the best way to beat the Woods at the G is to go down the corridor. Ball spent all his time waving when he was alone in their and not once was he acknowledged.

Biggest mistake today was the finger pointing by players... bad sign !
I think your exactly right. If anyone heckles you for your comments ignore them. They are under the illusion Mick is there friend and belive in Scientology too probably

Aha! The Evil MickMaster Theory! - determined to bring us down from the inside. :eek: And you have the cheek to scorn the Scientologists.:rolleyes:

To me is my frustration that there's no consistency in his coaching. Against the Bulldogs we used the corridor and players were running back into space in the forwardline. When we playe dthe Demons it was around the boundary line again. This could be for a number of reasons though players to lazy to create space or Mick not wasting his best game plans for lowly opposition :rolleyes:

From my viewing Collingwood is a predominantly defensive team, but so are most teams, because Coaches will tell you defensive teams will win the majority of flags, but not always. We used the boundary the majority of the time against the dogs with some attacks going through the middle, but no where near the majority of the time.
Against Melbourne we did much the same.

I don't think our game plan changes that much, it is defensive and that is done on purpose.

Its interesting to note that most of the teams that use the middle got beaten on the weekend
The Dogs won but beat nothing much
Geelong are up to day and are probably the exception.

St kilda use almost the identical game plan that we use, Reiwoldt takes nearly all his marks leading to the flanks.

Franklin also leads to the flanks
J Brown leads wide too
Sydney are probably the most defensive of all the teams.

If Malthouse is wrong, then so are the majority of Coaches

From my viewing Collingwood is a predominantly defensive team, but so are most teams, because Coaches will tell you defensive teams will win the majority of flags, but not always. We used the boundary the majority of the time against the dogs with some attacks going through the middle, but no where near the majority of the time.
Against Melbourne we did much the same.

I don't think our game plan changes that much, it is defensive and that is done on purpose.

Its interesting to note that most of the teams that use the middle got beaten on the weekend
The Dogs won but beat nothing much
Geelong are up to day and are probably the exception.

St kilda use almost the identical game plan that we use, Reiwoldt takes nearly all his marks leading to the flanks.

Franklin also leads to the flanks
J Brown leads wide too
Sydney are probably the most defensive of all the teams.

If Malthouse is wrong, then so are the majority of Coaches

Brown, Franklin lead all over the 50 arc, Brisbane enter balance not predominantly wide.

Hawks again go both wide and through the guts.

None of the teams that do go wide go as wide as us most go down the flank close to the center square we go wide close to the boundary. 1st quarter against the dees we went very wide and the dee's blew us away.

Brown, Franklin lead all over the 50 arc, Brisbane enter balance not predominantly wide.

Hawks again go both wide and through the guts.

None of the teams that do go wide go as wide as us most go down the flank close to the center square we go wide close to the boundary. 1st quarter against the dees we went very wide and the dee's blew us away.

Yep, I kind of agree with most of that, except J Brown is very wide most of the time unless its from a centre clearance.

Don't get me wrong the Dees played the middle very well, but the two goals that put us in front came from mistakes they made in the corridor.
That is the point, if you play the corridor and make a mistake it will cost you big time. I think Geelong are the only exception to this rule.
If you make a mistake out wide the chances are it will not cost you as bad and the boundary line comes into play. Collingwood pride themselves at winning stoppages so boundary line throw ins are seen as a positive to us.

Hence we play wide, because we win more than we lose.

It is a risk you have to take though Dusty, against the dogs we turned it over in the center too but we can score so rapidly that giving 2 goals away doesn't hurt as much when you can score 4 through fast attacking direct movement.

Also kicking OOF hurts us against the Dee's when going too wide, allows them to center in the midfield because not only didn't we use it we don't protect it.

Most dominant sides attack the guts a 1st priority then go wide as a plan b.

Are we going to hear more irrational ranting from you this year.
Your anti-MM arguments were comprehensively "smashed" last year, and you continue with the invective.

To repeat just one stat from last year. First time coaches (ie coaches without experience as assistants) are almost guaranteed to fail.
The only exception is Lethal - therefore your simplistic view that BUCKS is the answer is naive.

Yes Naive - and the fact that you fail to make any case for a PROVEN, suitable qualified and credentialled replacement for MM, just relegates your argument to one of "change for change sake".

Or more specifically irrational, pathological and unjustified bais against MM.

Grow a pair - you did your dash on this topic last year and were exposed as a fool, who unlike other anti MM poster sensible enough to acknowledge they were proven wrong with their early season crisiticsm, you continued with your biased stance.
You will continue to lack perspective on this topic, and the justification that it is "your opinion", is just code for a hatred of MM that know no bounds.

Are we going to hear more irrational ranting from you this year.
Your anti-MM arguments were comprehensively "smashed" last year, and you continue with the invective.

To repeat just one stat from last year. First time coaches (ie coaches without experience as assistants) are almost guaranteed to fail.
The only exception is Lethal - therefore your simplistic view that BUCKS is the answer is naive.

Yes Naive - and the fact that you fail to make any case for a PROVEN, suitable qualified and credentialled replacement for MM, just relegates your argument to one of "change for change sake".

Or more specifically irrational, pathological and unjustified bais against MM.

Grow a pair - you did your dash on this topic last year and were exposed as a fool, who unlike other anti MM poster sensible enough to acknowledge they were proven wrong with their early season crisiticsm, you continued with your biased stance.
You will continue to lack perspective on this topic, and the justification that it is "your opinion", is just code for a hatred of MM that know no bounds.

Same morons making the same points. Remember we did a poll, remember that that poll favoured a Malty less Collingwood? Of course you wouldn't, you believe what you want, I am not at you to change your mind, your a lost cause, that wouldn't have a clue.

There is alot of supporters that don't like Malty, but your best defence is trying to convince me that I am isolated in my view, to appear that you know what your talking about. I know I am not isolated, I know there is about a 60/40 split down the middle of Collingwood Supporters. I also know that Malty STILL hasn't won a flag, in 16 years. That is dreadful, I don't care what SPIN you put on it No Spin. Ironic? I reckon!

Now don't tell me what to think, and I will afford you the same respect. If I want to hate Malty, I bloody well will. And if you want to love him, GOOD ON YOU. I came on here, to voice my support for the opening post. He is right, in my opinion. Now unless I am not entitled to that, crawl back into your hole, MM lover, I don't take advice from fruitloops.

THE END

What evidence is their that the game has passed MM??

He surely has had something to do with the rapid increase in rotations that is occurring these days, surely a modern tactic.

If he was so ordinary why are clubs poaching his assistants to become the new senior coach??

Simple the Game has gone past Mick and having 2 more years of MM was a Mistake by the Club and Eddie
Yet we are two wins from two games and beat the pre season premiership favourite by 6 goals on their dung heap?

Well FMD, throw it in now boys, winning two from two isnt good enough.

Give it up and head home no good winning just means the game is past you

Yep, I kind of agree with most of that, except J Brown is very wide most of the time unless its from a centre clearance.

Don't get me wrong the Dees played the middle very well, but the two goals that put us in front came from mistakes they made in the corridor.
That is the point, if you play the corridor and make a mistake it will cost you big time. I think Geelong are the only exception to this rule.
If you make a mistake out wide the chances are it will not cost you as bad and the boundary line comes into play. Collingwood pride themselves at winning stoppages so boundary line throw ins are seen as a positive to us.

Hence we play wide, because we win more than we lose.

true. If you make an error in the corridor it can cost you. But playing wide allows the good teams to push back through the middle and flood the defense much easier. Both Cloke and Anthony (and even Fraser and Dawes) are leading forwards so this doesn't help them as their leading space is taken away. On the other hand- if we play wide and turn it over in play, we are out of position and the ball moves through the middle creating an easy scoring opportunity for the opposition.

We should be winning more stoppages than what we lose. Wellingham has been a great improver in this area. The Demons flooded the stoppages and were harder in this area. Bailey got this right. Even when we had the ball in our hands we were tackled and the ball spilled free and they were quicker to react.

Most of Melbourne's break aways into the forward line came from having almost nobody in their forward half of the ground and our defenders being caught of of position.

The pies have to find the right balance of playing through the middle and along the boundary line so the forwards can set up accordingly. If we keep playing wide, we don't really have a proper use for a CHF.

MM refusal to Change thing in the Game...

Happens many times where a Player is getting Destroyed by his Oppenent and Mick keeps the Players there to get Destroyed or When a Gameplan is not working he does not change it
icon_evil.gif

Good Example: Saturday Pettard was making Heater his Biatch but would you think MM would try and stop him. NO he just let Newton destory Heater.

I still think giving MM 2 more years was a Mistake as I think the game has gone past old MM

Re: MM refusal to Change thing in the Game...

Happens many times where a Player is getting Destroyed by his Oppenent and Mick keeps the Players there to get Destroyed or When a Gameplan is not working he does not change it
icon_evil.gif

Good Example: Saturday Newton was making Heater his Biatch but would you think MM would try and stop him. NO he just let Newton destory Heater.

I still think giving MM 2 more years was a Mistake as I think the game has gone past old MM

Spare us, please.
Heater was beaten by Petterd. Soundly. Reid played on Newton.
Newton is no good.
Neither is your thread.

Heath shaw was on pettard

newton green were covered at different times by Reid and Harry

Dave if you are going to take useless ****en pot shots get the players right

You would think we are two losses no wins after winning nothing in the pre season, some of you would find fault in a premiership

Heath shaw was on pettard

newton green were covered at different times by Reid and Harry

Dave if you are going to take useless ****en pot shots get the players right

You would think we are two losses no wins after winning nothing in the pre season, some of you would find fault in a premiership

Fixed my Mistake,

Well really we should be 1-1 we where F**king Lucky we where playing against Kids. A more Seasoned Club would of Flooged us