Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2

The fixture is fine. It has equalised the league. There are certainly issues but those are the easily fixable ones. For example, no more Carlton on Friday nights, teams like Hawthorn playing home games at Etihad etc. But as a whole, I feel like it is one the contributing factors to the evenness across the competition in the past few years.

There is nothing wrong with passing it to another player after the 30 seconds, and it is often to a player that is in a better position for goal.
If teams don't want it to happen against them, then MAN UP

i like Ben Brown a lot.... but against us he used up close to his 30 seconds, and then started his run up for goal.... then passed off to a player.

Because of his long run up, he was starting on the wing. Something not right with that.

The afl wants gws to win a flag ...and heavily looked after them

The pies get the easiest draw every year

Changing the game will just create a bigger divide between best and worst ...good teams will just thrash average teams by more points

The afl wants gws to win a flag ...and heavily looked after them

The pies get the easiest draw every year

Changing the game will just create a bigger divide between best and worst ...good teams will just thrash average teams by more points

The best draw the Pies could get is to play interstate every week.... they normally win.

a large number of people watch the seasons unfold in front of their eyes and understand who is getting the rub of the green and why. some like to pretend that people are just bias when it has nothing to do with their own club but the code as a whole

LOL mate explain why to me

Agree about Western Bulldogs being tacky as hell. Even West Melbourne Bulldogs would be preferable IMO.

Likewise if Richmond became Eastern Tigers or St. Kilda became Southern Saints, awful, just awful.

But I liked Footscray as a title. Their club supporters may feel differently.

The fixture is fine. It has equalised the league. There are certainly issues but those are the easily fixable ones. For example, no more Carlton on Friday nights, teams like Hawthorn playing home games at Etihad etc. But as a whole, I feel like it is one the contributing factors to the evenness across the competition in the past few years.
Definitely unpopular.

The joke of a fixture is embarrassingly bad.

Agree about Western Bulldogs being tacky as hell. Even West Melbourne Bulldogs would be preferable IMO.

Likewise if Richmond became Eastern Tigers or St. Kilda became Southern Saints, awful, just awful.

It’s such a distinctive suburb with its own identity too. The Scragger image always meant something.

Fair enough if Dogs fans want to keep the Western Bulldogs title, but choosing to become Footscray when they went stand-alone in the VFL was a great move.

It’s such a distinctive suburb with its own identity too. The Scragger image always meant something.

Fair enough if Dogs fans want to keep the Western Bulldogs title, but choosing to become Footscray when they went stand-alone in the VFL was a great move.
Totally agree.

I have no issues with this. You sell home games to Tassie, therefore you have already compromised the draw. You make money from selling home games, so you can use that as offset for the money clubs lose by playing at Etihad. Leave Tassie and you can have 10 home games at MCG like Richmond, Collingwood and Melbourne have.

I want nothing more than for us to leave Tassie. Probably an unpopular opinion as well.

That isn't unpopular, as evidenced above. I don't think rational dogs supporters would not be able to see arguments for both sides of that debate.

My initial post was in regards to opposition fans still using Footscray. It has been 20 years, to continue is petty or old stick in the mud type stuff.

That isn't unpopular, as evidenced above. I don't think rational dogs supporters would not be able to see arguments for both sides of that debate.

My initial post was in regards to opposition fans still using Footscray. It has been 20 years, to continue is petty or old stick in the mud type stuff.
I've never thought about it TBH.

I just call them Bulldogs. There are probably lots of people who innocently call them Footscray through decades of habit.

Milne is the best and most consistent small forward I have seen in my 25yrs watching footy.
He was not as exciting as some, and Betts has arguably had a better peak, but over that time I can't think of any player who's had a better career in that role. (And I'm talking about pure small forwards, not guys who were midfielders/wings who spent a lot of time up forward, or transitioned there when older).

Rightly, or wrongly, he copped a lot of flack for an alleged off-field indiscretion, and that stuck with him his whole career (funnily though Montagna never copped the same degree of flack) - and that would've been very tough to handle, but i reckon it would've driven him a lot as well.

People also ridiculously underrate Jeff Farmer. His stats compare favourably with all modern day small forwards but never gets talked about in these discussions.

i like Ben Brown a lot.... but against us he used up close to his 30 seconds, and then started his run up for goal.... then passed off to a player.

Because of his long run up, he was starting on the wing. Something not right with that.

Easiest way to stop it is as soon as the timer reaches zero it is play on regardless of where the player is.

Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2