What you do for a living?

You're already that much cooler than me. That must be awesome! Do you get first access to exclusive footage and stuff? And what about talking to journos and footy departments? That must be pretty cool.

Cooler than you haha not sure about that gaz. Yeah my edit suite is connected to a server that has all the weeks matches highlights with different camera angles etc. Got into work this morning and rewatched all the Melbourne goals from the Rich game just for a pep up. Everyone is pretty cool, fun environment. Bruce is extremely nice, he also has an extraordinary memory. Met him when I first started then spoke to him about a year later (don't see him to often) and he remembered my name, girlfriends name, asked about things that we briefly chatted bout upon the first meeting. I never intended to work in footy, now it just consumes me. Haha

I had RMIT come in for some Uni stuff today, looked through a book they gave out and I can't remember whether this was the average score or required score, but it was 94.15 :eek:

The fact I'm doing VCE over 3 years helps boost my eventual score, but that's still huge.

What course are you hoping to get into and where abouts?

Well...I'm not 100% sure yet.

I mentioned that I'm doing VCE over 3 years, because I'm in an acceleration program (skipped year 8) and I wanted to finish at the same time as all of my mates and I didn't like the idea of a gap year.

But still, 94's a big score and I'd shit myself if I got that :D

Also, preferably Melbourne or RMIT.

I mentioned that I'm doing VCE over 3 years, because I'm in an acceleration program (skipped year 8) and I wanted to finish at the same time as all of my mates and I didn't like the idea of a gap year.

If you skipped year 8, surely you can smash a 94!

Apparently I'm smart...

I'd say I'm slightly above average compared to those who are in normal year 11 (16-17 year olds), but I don't really put enough effort in, or so I've been told :p

I'm been a nurse for the past 6 months. just finished my degree and started my grad year in mental heath, eventually want to work in Crisis Assessment and treatment (CAT team) for some serious excitement.

Year 12 is the most over inflated experiance of ones life IMO.
I got a pretty good T.E.R in year 12 although I still screwed around alot all so I could get in to an Engineering degree. After 6 months of doing the degree I knew this wasn't the direction I wanted to go towards and so I lasted a year and a half before I left. Worked full time for a couple of years until I was 22 and went back to uni and did an Accounting & Finance degree. At the moment I make pretty good cash for doing what I do and to think until I went back to uni and did Accounting I have never did any business subjects in my life.

Now compare this to two of my other friends.

The two of them both left school in year 11, so they only ever completed year 10.
One got a job as an electrician, finished as an apprentice at 21. Started sub contracting at 22, before employing a few guys to work with him when he was roughly 24. Now at 29-30 he has 15 odd guys working for him at any time, hardly works himself because of how well his business is. I earn close to a 6 figure sum a year and he absolutely dwarfs me in earnings.
My other mate decided he wanted to go and do Accounting the same time as me and since he had been out of school for 3 years he got into Accounting at a TAFE. Did that for 2 years and then completed a bachelors degree on top of that, despite never finishing year 11. He ended up finishing his degree 6 months after me and works for KPMG now.

So tell me why is such a big emphasis put on year 12 being the be all and end all when it's not?

Editor at ch7 (sports office) basically 9 months a year of AFL. Cut the pkgs you might see at halftime, also things like key players highlights etc. Eventually want to direct, films/ads.

I was just wondering the other day who did this. Now I know, and knowing is half the battle :thumbsu:

So tell me why is such a big emphasis put on year 12 being the be all and end all when it's not?
Because schools (at least private ones) are ranked according to how their students perform in year 12, so it's in their interest to ramp it up as the most important thing in the world, because for them it determines the fees they can get away with and the students that will apply.

I guess it also teaches students how much they really are capable of, and how much work it takes to fulfil that potential.

But to all those guys studying currently: it is far, FAR FAR more important to spend time working out which course you want to do and why, than spending time worrying about whether you'll get the requirements. The university system is FULL of backdoors into courses for those who are more passionate than academically gifted.

I did commerce because I had two fantastic economics teachers in years 11-12 and really enjoyed it. Lecturers are a significantly different beast to teachers though, and I've spent the last 2 years or so hating commerce, hating uni and by extension hating life. The thought of working in some big corporation like 90% of my fellow commerce students makes me feel physically ill. So yeah, put a lot of time into thinking about what you like doing, what your passionate about, which industries cater for people like you and what you'll need to study (if anything) in order to work there.

Because schools (at least private ones) are ranked according to how their students perform in year 12, so it's in their interest to ramp it up as the most important thing in the world, because for them it determines the fees they can get away with and the students that will apply.

I guess it also teaches students how much they really are capable of, and how much work it takes to fulfil that potential.

But to all those guys studying currently: it is far, FAR FAR more important to spend time working out which course you want to do and why, than spending time worrying about whether you'll get the requirements. The university system is FULL of backdoors into courses for those who are more passionate than academically gifted.

I did commerce because I had two fantastic economics teachers in years 11-12 and really enjoyed it. Lecturers are a significantly different beast to teachers though, and I've spent the last 2 years or so hating commerce, hating uni and by extension hating life. The thought of working in some big corporation like 90% of my fellow commerce students makes me feel physically ill. So yeah, put a lot of time into thinking about what you like doing, what your passionate about, which industries cater for people like you and what you'll need to study (if anything) in order to work there.

This. Good summary.

If you skipped year 8, surely you can smash a 94!
Would agree with this. Just work hard and there's your ticket!

I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed but 95 is my aim.

As my hairdresser (yep, you heard me) told me, just pull your finger out in VCE and you'll be fine. No ifs or buts or hows, just work and work and you win. The bloke owns a massive salon and does what he likes.

Sound advice in my opinion.

Year 12 is the most over inflated experiance of ones life IMO.
I got a pretty good T.E.R in year 12 although I still screwed around alot all so I could get in to an Engineering degree. After 6 months of doing the degree I knew this wasn't the direction I wanted to go towards and so I lasted a year and a half before I left. Worked full time for a couple of years until I was 22 and went back to uni and did an Accounting & Finance degree. At the moment I make pretty good cash for doing what I do and to think until I went back to uni and did Accounting I have never did any business subjects in my life.

Now compare this to two of my other friends.

The two of them both left school in year 11, so they only ever completed year 10.
One got a job as an electrician, finished as an apprentice at 21. Started sub contracting at 22, before employing a few guys to work with him when he was roughly 24. Now at 29-30 he has 15 odd guys working for him at any time, hardly works himself because of how well his business is. I earn close to a 6 figure sum a year and he absolutely dwarfs me in earnings.
My other mate decided he wanted to go and do Accounting the same time as me and since he had been out of school for 3 years he got into Accounting at a TAFE. Did that for 2 years and then completed a bachelors degree on top of that, despite never finishing year 11. He ended up finishing his degree 6 months after me and works for KPMG now.

You sounded like me early on in my degree, was doing Engineering/Commerce and a year and a half in I hated Engineering. Was considering dropping it for straight Commerce but my girlfriend convinced me to finish it. In the end I found that both bored me equally, so when I finished I applied for both jobs as an accountant and engineer. Landed an engineering job in the end, in a consultancy firm.

Started to look toward Project Management as a possible path for the future, completed a Diploma of Project Management at TAFE during my first year as a graduate and because of it got put on the team to engineering project management team (more of a technical PM role) for this years Grand Prix.

To comment on your mates who went to TAFE over uni, all of my mates who went to TAFE to do a trade earn more than any of my mates or myself who went to uni and also don't have a $40k plus HECS debt to pay back!

I don't want to sound like an elitist snob here...

...but anyone not studying astrophysics is a chump ;)

Not a fan ;) I reckon I could dominate science in uni, but sick of Maths. Even though I'm good at it.

Maths and physics at uni is a whole different kettle of fish to at school. Those with masses of natural talent in those areas, seemingly including MM there, smash it with few problems, while the rest of us (like me) battle hard and end up (most likely) failing physics.

So the Physics Department is full of geniuses who can't teach to save themselves and can't understand the struggles those like me.

I'm glad to be rid of both departments as of a couple of weeks ago.

/incoherent rant

Related topic here: I'm looking at trying to get into sports journalism, not really phased exactly where. Footy would be great but I follow a wide range, so could almost certainly go for any of footy, cricket, cycling, soccer or Olympic sports if need be. In particular though, I'd love to get into commentary.

Any ideas as to how one would go about it?

Related topic here: I'm looking at trying to get into sports journalism, not really phased exactly where. Footy would be great but I follow a wide range, so could almost certainly go for any of footy, cricket, cycling, soccer or Olympic sports if need be. In particular though, I'd love to get into commentary.

Any ideas as to how one would go about it?

Its a hard field to get into journalism. Knowing people would be adventageous

Try emailing some people. If you send them samples of your work you'd be surprised how many are willing to listen.

I'm been a nurse for the past 6 months. just finished my degree and started my grad year in mental heath, eventually want to work in Crisis Assessment and treatment (CAT team) for some serious excitement.

Good luck BS

I've done a few placements with CAT teams and it is good, hard work. But there really is some wonderful stuff being down out there :thumbsu:

2nd year Accounting at RMIT. It's thrilling stuff.
What area are you hoping for once you finish your degree? Big4, mid-tier, banking , government?